Smartwatches / Compare
Amazfit Active Max vs Garmin Forerunner 970
Product A: Amazfit
85 of 150 known
Change Amazfit Active Max
Product B: Garmin
82 of 150 known
Change Garmin Forerunner 970
64 of 141 fields differ
- 34 different values
- 30 known for one only
- 29 the same
- 48 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 101 smartwatches.
- Battery life with GPSA: 64hB: 26hAmazfit is 38 h higher.
- Battery lifeA: 600hB: 360hAmazfit is 240 h higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AAmazfit: 48.5 × 48.5 mm
- BGarmin: 47 × 47 mm
All 150 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
6 of 10 differ
Series
Model numbers
010-02969-00, 010-02969-01, 010-02969-02, 010-02969-10, 010-02969-11, 010-02969-121Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1462801Read 30 September 2026US part numbers 010-02969-00, -01, -022Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-GB/p/1462801Read 30 September 2026
GTIN / EAN
8500716187612Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-max.jsRead 14 October 2026Store barcode 850071618761.
753759349899, 753759349905, 075375934991210Retailer pageabt.com/Garmin-Forerunner-970-Smartwatch-47mm-Carbon-Gray-DLC-Titanium-Case-with-Black-Translucent-Whitestone-Band-0100296900/p/224204.htmlRead 30 September 2026Visible UPC 753759349899 for 00, 753759349905 for 01, and related Product JSON-LD gtin13 0753759349912 for 02.11Retailer pageabt.com/Garmin-Forerunner-970-Smartwatch-47mm-Whitestone-Titanium-Case-with-Whitestone-Translucent-Amp-Yellow-Band-0100296901/p/224205.htmlRead 30 September 2026Visible UPC 753759349905 for exact 010-02969-01.
Announced
Status
Predecessor
Not available
Garmin Forerunner 96517Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Forerunner-970-Garmin-replaces-Forerunner-965-with-new-smartwatch-that-arrives-for-749.1017596.0.htmlRead 23 October 2026Notebookcheck's headline says Garmin replaces the Forerunner 965 with the Forerunner 970 and the text says the 970 effectively succeeds the 965.
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
Launch price (EU)
Not available
Markets
Colours
Carbon Gray DLC Titanium with Black Case, Titanium with Whitestone Case, Soft Gold Titanium with French Gray Case1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1462801Read 30 September 2026
Segment
OS updates promised
Not available
Not available
Security updates until
Not available
Not available
Case
5 of 8 differ
Case size
Case shape
Case material
Case material (as published)
Aluminum alloy frame with polymer case1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026
Fiber-reinforced polymer case with titanium bezel9Reviewirunfar.com/garmin-forerunner-970-reviewRead 30 September 2026Design and Fit section explicitly distinguishes the polymer case and titanium bezel.
Back
Not available
Not available
Case dimensions
Height48.5Width48.5Thickness12.2mm(1.9 × 1.9 × 0.5 in)1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Technical Specifications > Dimensions (without heart rate base): 48.5 x 48.5 x 12.2 mm.
Height47Width47Thickness12.9mm(1.9 × 1.9 × 0.5 in)1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1462801Read 30 September 2026
Weight (case only)
Not available
Weight with strap
Not available
Not available
Durability
2 of 8 differ
Water resistance
5ATM1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Water-Resistance Grade 5 ATM. Footnote 14: 50 m static, tested to ISO 22810:2010 by TUV-SUD.4Owner's manualteamplush.by/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/ebee4a37f9738b85defbef6b93194aef44753e63015757d5d56ccbd7659e6d1e_optim_cropped.pdfRead 14 October 2026Basic Parameters: water resistance rating 5 ATM. Repair and Maintenance says the watch cannot be used for snorkeling, diving or high-speed water activities.
Water resistance standard
Not available
Dust and water rating
Not available
Not available
Dive rating
Not available
Not available
Max dive depth
Not available
Not available
MIL-STD-810
Not available
Not available
MIL-STD-810 tests
Not available
Not available
Operating temperature
Display
6 of 14 differ
Display type
Display type (as published)
Screen size
Resolution
Pixel density
Not available
Display area
Not available
Not available
Touchscreen
Max refresh rate
Not available
Not available
Min refresh rate
Not available
Not available
Peak brightness
Not available
Minimum brightness
Not available
Not available
Always-on display
Yes1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Technical Specifications > Battery lists AoD mode battery life of up to 10 days.5Owner's manualsupport.amazfit.com/en/amazfit_active_max/files/user-manual.pdf.pdfRead 14 October 2026Always On Display: enable the AOD in Settings > Display. Standby screen keeps time and some watch face information.
Display cover
Display cover (as published)
Strengthened glass with anti-fingerprint coating1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Touchscreen: strengthened glass plus anti-fingerprint coating. Not sapphire.
Platform
5 of 15 differ
Platform
OS at launch
Not available
Software
Not available
Latest OS
Zepp OS 61Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Software Updates, August 2026 OTA 4: upgraded to Zepp OS 6. The os.zepp.com Zepp OS 6 list also names Active Max.10Maker product pageos.zepp.com/compatibility-zepp-os-6Read 14 October 2026Current maker compatibility list names Amazfit Active Max for Zepp OS 6. This is the current major version, not a patch version. Feature availability varies by watch.
Not available
Works with
Phone requirement
Not available
Current Garmin Connect app: iPhone with iOS 18.2 or later, or Android 9 or later with native Google Play Store support. Android Go is not supported.15Maker product pagesupport.garmin.com/en-SGRead 8 October 2026Current official FAQ read through the public search index: Android 9+, native Google Play Store required, Android Go unsupported. It gives general iOS 18+, while the current Garmin-published App Store listing more precisely requires iOS 18.2. The directly opened FAQ returned a script shell, so indexed access is qualified. Older indexed regional iOS 15/Android 7 text is not used as the current app-install requirement. Compatibility still depends on the phone, and Garmin lists some models that did not pass its tests.16Maker product pageapps.apple.com/us/app/garmin-connect/id583446403Read 8 October 2026Current Garmin International App Store listing explicitly requires iOS 18.2 or later and is for iPhone. This is the current companion-app installation minimum, not a claim that this was the watch's launch minimum or that standalone watch functions require an iPhone.
App store
Voice assistants
Chipset
Not available
Not available
Process
Not available
Not available
CPU cores
Not available
Not available
CPU configuration
Not available
Not available
Max CPU clock
Not available
Not available
GPU
Not available
Not available
Low-power coprocessor
Not available
Not available
Memory
1 of 2 differ
RAM
Not available
Not available
Storage
Health sensors
2 of 8 differ
Heart rate sensor
BioTracker PPG biometric sensor (5 photodiodes and 2 LEDs)1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Sensors > Health: BioTracker PPG biometric sensor (5PD + 2LED).
ECG capability
Blood oxygen sensing
Skin temperature sensing
Blood pressure feature
Not available
Not available
Body composition sensor
Not available
Not available
Skin conductance (EDA)
Not available
Not available
Medical clearances
Not available
Not available
Motion and environment sensors
0 of 9 differ
Accelerometer
Accelerometer range
Not available
Not available
Gyroscope
Barometric altimeter
Compass
Yes1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026The user manual Control Center lists Compass and Barometer. The spec table lists a geomagnetic sensor.5Owner's manualsupport.amazfit.com/en/amazfit_active_max/files/user-manual.pdf.pdfRead 14 October 2026Control center supported features include Barometer and Compass.8Reviewlivescience.com/health/exercise/amazfit-active-max-smartwatch-reviewRead 14 October 2026Review lists single-band GPS, compass and altimeter.
Ambient light sensor
Depth gauge
Not available
Not available
Depth gauge range
Not available
Not available
Water temperature sensor
Not available
Not available
Health and fitness
4 of 5 differ
Health features
Heart rate alerts, Blood oxygen app, Heart rate variability, Sleep tracking, Sleep stages, Stress tracking, Readiness score, Cycle tracking1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Heart rate, SpO2 and stress monitoring, abnormal high and low heart-rate alerts and low SpO2 alerts, sleep stages including REM, sleep HRV, sleep score, BioCharge/HybridCharge energy score and menstrual cycle tracking. Heart-rate sampling can be set to 1 minute at the lowest, so continuous heart rate is not claimed. No ECG, sleep apnea or hypertension features.
Continuous heart rate, Heart rate alerts, ECG app, Blood oxygen app, Heart rate variability, Sleep tracking, Stress tracking, Readiness score, Cycle tracking, Temperature-based ovulation1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1462801Read 30 September 2026Heart rate every second, abnormal heart rate alerts (high and low), Garmin ECG app, Pulse Ox, HRV status, advanced sleep, all-day stress, training readiness, women's health. Ovulation from the press release6Press releasegarmin.com/en-US/newsroom/press-release/sports-fitness/garmin-unveils-the-forerunner-570-and-forerunner-970-its-newest-gps-running-and-triathlon-smartwatches-for-performance-driven-athletesRead 30 September 2026Skin temperature helps provide improved period predictions and past ovulation estimates
Fitness features
Automatic workout detection, VO2 max, Training load, Recovery advice, Pool swim, Open water swim, Strength rep counting, Interval workouts, Route navigation, Turn-by-turn navigation, Ski resort maps1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Smart recognition of 8 sports and 25 strength movements, VO2 max, training load, recovery time, rep, set and rest detection, interval training on the watch, pool and open water swimming modes, offline maps with turn-by-turn directions and imported-route navigation. VO2 max and real-time performance scores work in running modes only. 170+ sports modes is not an exact count.
VO2 max, Training load, Recovery advice, Running dynamics, Running power, Pool swim, Open water swim, Strength rep counting, Interval workouts, Route navigation, Turn-by-turn navigation, Trackback, Climb detection, Golf courses1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1462801Read 30 September 2026VO2 max, training load, recovery time, running dynamics, running power, pool and open-water swim, automatic rep counting, interval training, course guidance, TracBack, ClimbPro, 43,000 preloaded golf courses. Turn-by-turn from the press release6Press releasegarmin.com/en-US/newsroom/press-release/sports-fitness/garmin-unveils-the-forerunner-570-and-forerunner-970-its-newest-gps-running-and-triathlon-smartwatches-for-performance-driven-athletesRead 30 September 2026get turn-by-turn directions
Sport profiles
Not available
Not available
Dive modes
Not available
External sensors
Heart rate strap, Power meter, Speed and cadence1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Connection to Peripheral Workout Devices: heart rate belt, running and cycling power meters, cycling speedometer and cadence meter. Footnote 13: Bluetooth LE devices only.
Heart rate strap, Power meter, Speed and cadence, Foot pod, Smart trainer1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1462801Read 30 September 2026HRM, power meter, speed and cadence sensor, foot pod, smart trainer control
Safety
5 of 6 differ
Fall detection
Not available
Car crash detection
Not available
Emergency SOS
Emergency siren
Not available
Not available
Live location sharing
Not available
Positioning
1 of 3 differ
Positioning
GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, QZSS, BeiDou6Spec databasegadgetsandwearables.com/technical-specs/amazfit-active-maxRead 14 October 2026Sensors list GPS, Galileo, GLONASS, QZSS and BeiDou. The maker page says five satellite systems without naming them. Frequency bands are not given.
GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, QZSS, BeiDou1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1462801Read 30 September 2026
Dual-band GNSS
No7Reviewtomsguide.com/wellness/smartwatches/amazfit-active-max-review-a-high-end-garmin-dupe-for-the-price-of-an-entry-level-smartwatchRead 14 October 2026The onboard GPS antenna is a single-band affair.8Reviewlivescience.com/health/exercise/amazfit-active-max-smartwatch-reviewRead 14 October 2026Review calls the GPS single-band. Its unit lists Zepp Pay NFC, so it may be the EMEA edition.
Offline maps
Connectivity
7 of 15 differ
Bluetooth
Bluetooth version
5.31Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Connection: Bluetooth, BLE 5.3.4Owner's manualteamplush.by/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/ebee4a37f9738b85defbef6b93194aef44753e63015757d5d56ccbd7659e6d1e_optim_cropped.pdfRead 14 October 2026Basic Parameters: Bluetooth version V5.3, 2400-2483.5 MHz, output power under 13 dBm.
Not available
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi standard
Not available
Not available
Cellular
Network
Not available
Not available
4G bands
Not available
Not available
5G bands
Not available
Not available
Contactless payments
Not available
Payment services
Not available
Ultra-wideband
Not available
Not available
Satellite
Not available
Not available
Audio
0 of 4 differ
Speaker
Microphones
Not available
Not available
Calls on the watch
Music on the watch
Yes1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 20264GB for up to 100 hours of podcast playback. Continuous GPS usage with music: up to 22 hours. Footnote 1 says podcast support arrives by software update. The FAQ says third-party music apps cannot be installed.7Reviewtomsguide.com/wellness/smartwatches/amazfit-active-max-review-a-high-end-garmin-dupe-for-the-price-of-an-entry-level-smartwatchRead 14 October 20264GB of onboard storage for saving up to 100 hours of music or podcasts.
Controls
4 of 5 differ
Buttons
55Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-025D75CF-3445-49E1-8D81-1AA74AB4E00F/EN-US/Forerunner_970_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 8 October 2026Button Functions lists five buttons6Press releasegarmin.com/en-US/newsroom/press-release/sports-fitness/garmin-unveils-the-forerunner-570-and-forerunner-970-its-newest-gps-running-and-triathlon-smartwatches-for-performance-driven-athletesRead 30 September 2026purpose-built 5-button design
Named operating buttons
Upper-left button, Middle-left button, Lower-left button, Upper-right button, Lower-right button5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-025D75CF-3445-49E1-8D81-1AA74AB4E00F/EN-US/Forerunner_970_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 8 October 2026Introduction > Button Functions, printed pages 6-7. These are the manual-published control names, not invented LIGHT/UP/BACK-LAP labels.
Crown
Rotating bezel
Not available
Gestures
Cover the screen to turn it off5Owner's manualsupport.amazfit.com/en/amazfit_active_max/files/user-manual.pdf.pdfRead 14 October 2026Basic operations, page 2: cover the screen to turn it off.
Not available
Battery and charging
8 of 13 differ
Battery capacity
658mAh1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026658 mAh, rated value.
Not available
Claimed battery life
AAmazfit Active Max
| Mode | With solar | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Smartwatch | No | 600 |
| Heavy use | No | 312 |
| Always-on | No | 240 |
| GPS | No | 64 |
| GPS with music | No | 22 |
BGarmin Forerunner 970
| Mode | With solar | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Smartwatch | No | 360 |
| GPS | No | 26 |
| GPS, automatic system selection | No | 23 |
| GPS, dual-band | No | 21 |
| GPS with music | No | 14 |
| GPS, automatic system selection with music | No | 13 |
| GPS, dual-band with music | No | 12 |
Smartwatch mode (claimed)
600h
360h
AOD battery life (up to)
240h
Not available
GPS mode (claimed)
64h
26h
Solar charging
Not available
Not available
Charging method
Charging guidance
Input DC 5 V, 500 mA max. The product manual recommends a power adapter with a charging current of 1 A or more. The USB-C cable is not included.4Owner's manualteamplush.by/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/ebee4a37f9738b85defbef6b93194aef44753e63015757d5d56ccbd7659e6d1e_optim_cropped.pdfRead 14 October 2026Basic Parameters: Input DC 5 V 500 mA MAX. Charging the Watch note 2 recommends a power adapter with 1 A or more. The US page says the USB-C cable is not included.
Not available
Max charging power (watch)
Not available
Not available
Fast charging
Not available
Not available
Quick charge claim
Not available
Not available
Charge 0 to 80% (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Measured
2 of 4 differ
Peak brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery tests (measured)
AAmazfit Active Max
Not availableBGarmin Forerunner 970
| Test | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| GPS activity | 25 |
| Mixed use, always-on | 60 |
Source7Reviewdcrainmaker.com/2025/06/garmin-forerunner-970-in-depth-review-brillance.htmlRead 30 September 2026Basics > battery: observational 2.5 days with AOD and high default brightness, plus GPS workouts. 60 h is an exact conversion of the stated 2.5 days, but not a standardized lab benchmark.8Measurementoutdoorgearlab.com/reviews/camping-and-hiking/gps-watch/garmin-forerunner-970Read 30 September 2026Battery Life section: 25 hours continuously recorded in normal GPS mode. A separate 60 h mixed-use AOD observation from DC Rainmaker uses default high brightness and 1-3 h GPS workouts per day.
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
95min8Measurementoutdoorgearlab.com/reviews/camping-and-hiking/gps-watch/garmin-forerunner-970Read 30 September 2026Measured Charging Time table: 95 min. Watch case 47 mm. Charger/adapter and precise endpoints are not specified on the product review page.13Reviewoutdoorgearlab.com/topics/camping-and-hiking/best-gps-watchRead 30 September 2026Forerunner 970 table: measured charging time 95 min. Battery Life methodology describes empty-to-full charging and default settings. Charger/adapter not specified.
Strap
3 of 6 differ
Lug width
Quick-release strap
Not available
Strap system
Strap material
Strap
Not available
Not available
Strap sizes
AAmazfit Active Max
Not availableBGarmin Forerunner 970
| Wrist (min) (mm) | Wrist (max) (mm) |
|---|---|
| 135 | 205 |
Regulatory
1 of 3 differ
FCC ID
Not available
Not available
SAR limb (US)
Not available
Not available
SAR limb (EU)
Not available
Other certifications
Not available
Not available
In the box
1 of 2 differ
In the box
Smartwatch (including standard strap), Magnetic charging head (no cable), Instruction manual1Maker product pageus.amazfit.com/products/active-maxRead 14 October 2026Packing List. The page notes the USB-C charging cable is not included.
Forerunner 970 GPS running watch, Charging cable, Documentation1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1462801Read 30 September 2026In the Box tab
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Both are also in the API. Back to all smartwatches.














