Earbuds / Compare
Apple AirPods 4 vs Apple AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case)
Product A: Apple
76 of 166 known
Change Apple AirPods 4
Compare the Apple AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case) with
Product B: Apple
AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case)
78 of 166 known
Change Apple AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case)
46 of 157 fields differ
- 21 different values
- 25 known for one only
- 37 the same
- 74 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 138 earbuds.
- With caseA: 30hB: 20hAirPods 4 is 10 h higher.
- Battery lifeA: 5hB: 6hAirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case) is 1 h higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AAirPods 4: 18.3 × 30.2 mm
- BAirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case): 18.3 × 30.2 mm
Weight
0 to 80 g
Weight per bud
A4.3g
B4.3g
Case weight
A32.3g
B32.3g
All 166 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
3 of 8 differ
Series
Model numbers
A3053, A3050, A3054, A3058, MXP63LL/A4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/109525Read 5 October 2026Exact generation heading names the earbuds. Charging case heading gives A3058. No sibling generation or case revision is included.16Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/purchase/contracts/docs/NASPO_PSS_Apple_Branded.pdfRead 7 October 2026Apple US NASPO price catalogue, Accessories row MXP63LL/A names AirPods 4. Separate MXP93LL/A row explicitly names AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation. Only standard USB-C case hardware is retained.
A3531, A3532, A3533, A3530, MKFW4LL/A, MKFW4ZM/A5Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/109525Read 30 September 2026Identify your AirPods: A3531/A3532/A3533 earbuds with A3530 USB-C case. MKFW4 part numbers from US and German store configuration records.6Maker product pageapple.com/shop/buy-airpods/airpods-5Read 30 September 2026Product offers and store configuration records explicitly give MKFW4LL/A for USB-C edition.7Maker product pageapple.com/de/shop/buy-airpods/airpods-5Read 30 September 2026German store configuration record explicitly gives MKFW4ZM/A for USB-C edition.
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Announced
Status
Not available
Predecessor
Apple AirPods 333Reviewrtings.com/headphones/reviews/apple/airpods-4-truly-wirelessRead 23 October 2026RTINGS calls the AirPods 4 without noise cancelling the successor to the AirPods 3rd generation.34Reviewrtings.com/headphones/reviews/apple/airpods-3rd-generation-truly-wirelessRead 23 October 2026RTINGS says the AirPods 3 were replaced by the AirPods 4.
Apple AirPods 410Reviewsoundguys.com/apple-airpods-5-review-163483Read 7 October 2026Review introduction identifies AirPods 5 as the replacement for the entry-level AirPods 4. USB-C reference maps to the standard predecessor.28Reviewrtings.com/headphones/reviews/apple/airpods-4-truly-wirelessRead 23 October 2026RTINGS marks the AirPods 4 as replaced by the AirPods 5.
Successor
Apple AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case)33Reviewrtings.com/headphones/reviews/apple/airpods-4-truly-wirelessRead 23 October 2026RTINGS marks the AirPods 4 as replaced by the AirPods 5.35Reviewsoundguys.com/apple-airpods-5-review-163483Read 23 October 2026SoundGuys says the AirPods 5 replace the AirPods 4 as the entry point into Apple's lineup.
Not available
Launch price (US)
$1293Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/09/apple-introduces-airpods-5-with-best-in-class-open-ear-active-noise-cancellationRead 30 September 2026$129 for AirPods 5, $149 for AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case6Maker product pageapple.com/shop/buy-airpods/airpods-5Read 30 September 2026MKFW4LL/A AirPods 5 $129.00, MKFT4LL/A AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case $149.00
Launch price (EU)
Markets
US, DE6Maker product pageapple.com/shop/buy-airpods/airpods-5Read 30 September 2026US maker purchase page: exact product available in regional purchase configuration.7Maker product pageapple.com/de/shop/buy-airpods/airpods-5Read 30 September 2026German maker purchase page: exact product available in regional purchase configuration. Regional SKU rows documented in variant verification.
Colours
Segment
Not available
Not available
Design
0 of 4 differ
Form factor
Bud shape
Use one bud alone
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available
Drivers and sound
6 of 17 differ
Drivers per bud
AApple AirPods 4
| Count per earbud |
|---|
| 1 |
BApple AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case)
Not availableDriver size
Not available
Not available
Drivers per bud
1
Not available
Diaphragm material
Not available
Not available
Impedance
Not available
Not available
Sensitivity
Not available
Not available
Sensitivity reference
Not available
Not available
Max sample rate
Not available
Not available
Max bit depth
Not available
Not available
Adaptive EQ
Personalised sound
Not available
Onboard EQ
Yes8Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-euro/guide/airpods/te819024i19r/webRead 5 October 2026Custom EQ settings are stored on the AirPods and carry across paired devices. Model eligibility is confirmed by the linked supported-model list.9Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-euro/guide/airpods/aside/glosrqz3g8xj/27/web/27Read 5 October 2026
Custom EQ bands
38Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-euro/guide/airpods/te819024i19r/webRead 5 October 2026Current guide is for iOS 27, iPadOS 27 and macOS 27. Three adjustable bands on eligible AirPods 4 and Pro 2.9Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-euro/guide/airpods/aside/glosrqz3g8xj/27/web/27Read 5 October 2026Supported list explicitly includes AirPods 4 both models and AirPods Pro 2. Requires current compatible Apple software.
312Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/customize-eq-te819024i19r/webRead 30 September 2026Customize EQ: Low, Mid and High controls. Supported-models appendix explicitly includes this model. Current feature, requires compatible Apple software and firmware.13Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-nz/guide/airpods/aside/glosrqz3g8xj/27/web/27Read 30 September 2026Custom EQ supported models: AirPods 4 and AirPods 5 both editions, AirPods Pro 2/3 and AirPods Max 2.
EQ presets
Not available
Volume limit
Not available
Not available
Spatial audio
0 of 2 differ
Spatial audio
Personalized Spatial Audio1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121203Read 5 October 2026
Noise cancelling
7 of 11 differ
Active noise cancelling
ANC microphones in both earbuds
Not available
Not available
ANC levels
Not available
Not available
ANC attenuation (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Transparency mode
Adjustable transparency
Not available
Not available
Automatic ANC and transparency blend
Conversation detection
Measured
4 of 23 differ
Frequency response notes (measured)
Not available
Not available
Bass amount (measured)
Not available
Not available
Treble amount (measured)
Not available
Not available
Deviation from target (measured)
Not available
Not available
Consistency between fittings (measured)
Not available
Not available
Harmonic distortion (measured)
Not available
Not available
Sound leakage (measured)
Not available
Not available
Noise isolation (measured)
Not available
Not available
Noise isolation, best (measured)
Not available
Not available
Passive isolation (measured)
Not available
Not available
Call quality notes (measured)
iPhone Voice Memos recordings reject background noise but sometimes also cut out the voice.30Measurementsoundguys.com/apple-airpods-4-review-124236Read 7 October 2026Standard non-ANC sample. Review recordings use an iPhone Voice Memos app and ideal, office, street, windy and reverberant scenes. Text states background rejection is fairly good but occasionally the algorithm cuts the voice. iPhone model, codec and firmware are not specified. This is the tested host-side Voice Isolation path, not universal Android behavior.
SoundGuys found clear, intelligible voices with background-noise rejection in its microphone tests. Wind reduced quality but voices generally stayed intelligible.18Measurementsoundguys.com/apple-airpods-5-review-163483Read 7 October 2026Purchased both editions and tested for four days. Own demos cover ideal, office, street, windy and reverberant conditions. Host, codec, firmware and call app are not disclosed. The review evaluates both models and reports this result jointly. No numerical microphone score is inferred.
Mic low-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
Mic high-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
Mic speech-to-noise ratio (measured)
Not available
Not available
Latency (measured)
Not available
Not available
Bluetooth latency, worst (measured)
Not available
Not available
2.4 GHz latency, worst (measured)
Not available
Not available
Latency in game mode (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (measured)
AApple AirPods 4
| ANC | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| No | 6.35 |
BApple AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case)
Not availableLongest tested use per charge
6.35h
Not available
Battery life with case (measured)
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Weight per bud (measured)
Not available
Microphones and calls
2 of 7 differ
Voice microphones in both earbuds
Not available
Not available
All microphones in both earbuds
Not available
Bone conduction voice sensor
Not available
Not available
Mic noise reduction
Not available
Call audio bandwidth
Not available
Not available
Mic mute control
Sidetone
Not available
Not available
Connectivity
1 of 18 differ
Chip
Connections
Bluetooth
Bluetooth codecs
Bluetooth profiles
Not available
Not available
LE Audio
Not available
Not available
Auracast
Not available
Not available
Multipoint
Not available
Not available
Multipoint devices
Not available
Not available
Multipoint with LDAC
Not available
Not available
Paired devices remembered
Not available
Not available
Automatic switching between own devices
Yes2Maker product pageapple.com/airpods-5Read 30 September 202615Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/switch-airpods-between-apple-devices-dev228ba3df8/webRead 30 September 2026Automatic switching supported for AirPods 3/4/5 and Pro with compatible Apple devices signed into the same Apple Account.
Fast pairing
Audio sharing
Yes2Maker product pageapple.com/airpods-5Read 30 September 202617Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/share-audio-on-iphone-or-ipad-dev3786f35c8/webRead 30 September 2026Share Audio instructions and Change the volume/listening mode paragraph explicitly cover AirPods 4 ANC, AirPods 5 and AirPods Pro. Both headphone sets pair to a supported iPhone/iPad.
Wireless range (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Wireless receiver
Not available
Not available
Receiver connector
Not available
Not available
Simultaneous 2.4 GHz and Bluetooth audio
Not available
Not available
Latency
None of 3 known
Low latency mode
Not available
Not available
Claimed latency
Not available
Not available
Lowest claimed latency
Not available
Not available
Compatibility
3 of 4 differ
Platforms
iOS, macOS, Android1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121203Read 5 October 202614Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-euro/guide/airpods/dev499c9718b/webRead 5 October 2026Android setup explicitly covers AirPods 3, AirPods 4 and AirPods Pro 2. Audio and calls supported, Siri unavailable on non-Apple devices.
iOS, macOS, Android, Windows, Other1Maker product pageapple.com/airpods-5/specsRead 30 September 2026Apple devices. Other covers iPadOS, watchOS, tvOS and visionOS. Non-Apple devices work as Bluetooth headphones with limited functionality10Reviewsoundguys.com/apple-airpods-5-review-163483Read 7 October 2026Many features do not work on Android or Windows, basic playback does
Connection per platform
AApple AirPods 4
| Platform | Connection | Microphone works |
|---|---|---|
| iOS | Bluetooth | Yes |
| macOS | Bluetooth | Yes |
BApple AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case)
| Platform | Connection |
|---|---|
| iOS | Bluetooth |
| macOS | Bluetooth |
| Android | Bluetooth |
| Windows | Bluetooth |
Features that need a specific device
AApple AirPods 4
| Feature | Needs |
|---|---|
| Personalized Spatial Audio profile | iPhone with TrueDepth camera. Compatible content, hardware and software. |
| Custom three-band EQ | Compatible iPhone or iPad with iOS 27 or iPadOS 27, or Mac with macOS 27. Current AirPods firmware. |
| Audio Sharing | Supported iPhone or iPad and a compatible second pair of AirPods or Beats. |
| Headphone Accommodations presets and preference-based setup | Compatible Apple host software. These are host accessibility audio settings. |
| Lossless Audio with ultra-low latency | Apple Vision Pro and current supported software. Uses a proprietary wireless audio protocol. Availability varies by region. |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121203Read 5 October 20268Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-euro/guide/airpods/te819024i19r/webRead 5 October 202632Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/pair-airpods-with-an-apple-device-dev7c85810f2/webRead 7 October 2026Existing requirements retained. Current maker guide explicitly includes AirPods 4 for Vision Pro Lossless Audio with ultra-low latency using a proprietary wireless protocol. No unreported sample rate, bit depth or latency number is added. Other appended requirements follow the directly cited sharing and accommodations guides.
BApple AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case)
| Feature | Needs |
|---|---|
| Personalized Spatial Audio | iPhone with TrueDepth camera required to create personalized profile. Not available when using other devices |
| Live Translation | Compatible Apple devices with the latest operating system software when Apple Intelligence is turned on |
| Siri AI | Apple Intelligence-enabled device with iOS 27, macOS 27 or watchOS 27. English beta at launch. Initially unavailable in the EU on iOS, iPadOS and watchOS. |
| Find My | iOS 27 or later |
| Adaptive Audio | Compatible Apple device running the latest iOS or iPadOS, with current AirPods firmware. |
| Voice Isolation | Compatible iPhone, iPad or Mac during calls. Select Voice Isolation in call microphone controls. Current device software and AirPods firmware required. |
Source1Maker product pageapple.com/airpods-5/specsRead 30 September 2026Independently reopened full displayed footnotes: audio functions require latest firmware and current compatible Apple OS. Siri AI beta initial EU restriction, Live Translation language and region limits and Find My iOS 27 minimum preserved.3Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/09/apple-introduces-airpods-5-with-best-in-class-open-ear-active-noise-cancellationRead 30 September 2026Launch release footnotes: TrueDepth Spatial Audio profile, compatible Apple Intelligence device, latest firmware, language/region availability and Siri AI beta restrictions.21Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-ie/108918Read 7 October 2026Adaptive Audio condition: both AirPods 5 models with latest iOS or iPadOS. Maker technical audio footnote separately requires latest firmware on compatible current Apple devices.22Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/answer-calls-airpods3-4-5-airpodspro-devac96438de/webRead 7 October 2026Call guide names compatible iPhone, iPad or Mac Voice Isolation via Control Center or Mic Mode. Technical audio footnote requires current software and firmware. This concerns noise heard by caller, not listening attenuation.
Official licence
Not available
Not available
Battery and charging
7 of 13 differ
Battery per bud
Not available
Not available
User-replaceable earbud battery
Not available
Not available
Claimed battery life
AApple AirPods 4
| Mode | Includes case recharges | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| ANC off | No | 5 |
| ANC off | Yes | 30 |
| Call | No | 4.5 |
| Call | Yes | 20 |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121203Read 5 October 2026Battery and footnotes 10 and 11. AAC playlist, 50% volume, Spatial Audio off, iPhone 16 Pro Max. Five hours earbuds only and 30 hours including case.31Maker product pageapple.com/bh/airpods-4/specsRead 7 October 2026Standard AirPods 4 section gives up to 4.5 h talk per earbud charge and up to 20 h including USB-C case. July/August 2024 preproduction standard A4 with preproduction iPhone 16 Pro Max, prerelease software, 50% volume, Spatial Audio off, cellular phone call until first bud stops. Case-inclusive test repeats charge cycles until both case and earbuds empty. Call codec not specified. Existing music rows retained. ANC edition rows excluded.
BApple AirPods 5 (USB-C Charging Case)
| Mode | Includes case recharges | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| ANC on | No | 4 |
| ANC off | No | 6 |
| ANC on | Yes | 20 |
Longest claimed use per charge
5h
6h
Playback per charge with ANC (claimed)
Not available
4h
Playback per charge without ANC (claimed)
5h
6h
Total with case (claimed)
30h
20h
Total with case and ANC (claimed)
Not available
20h
Talk time (claimed)
4.5h
Not available
Full charge time, buds
Not available
Not available
Charging guidance
Not available
Not available
Quick charge time
Earbud playback after quick charge
Charging case
1 of 10 differ
Case battery
345mAh11Press articlemacrumors.com/2024/10/02/airpods-4-teardown-ifixitRead 5 October 2026Exact non-ANC teardown paragraph reports 345 mAh case cell. Not an earbud capacity.19Review52audio.com/archives/214334.htmlRead 7 October 2026Exact A3058 case and PWGL4 battery label: rated 345 mAh, nominal 3.852 V, rated energy 1.329 Wh. Existing value is unchanged and now has directly identified label evidence. Earbud A3087 cell is 32.1 mAh and is not rounded into the integer field.
Not available
User-replaceable case battery
Not available
Not available
Case charging port
Case full charge time
Not available
Not available
Wireless charging
Wireless standards
Not available
Not available
Wireless charging power
Not available
Not available
Speaker in case
Screen on case
Not available
Not available
Case works as audio transmitter
Not available
Not available
Controls
1 of 5 differ
Controls
Pressure, Head gestures, Voice commands6Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-euro/guide/airpods/devb2c431317/webRead 5 October 2026Model-specific controls section. Force sensor on stem. Pro 2 adds volume swipe. AirPods 4 and Pro 2 support head gestures with Announce Calls and Announce Notifications enabled.
Earbud volume control
Voice6Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-euro/guide/airpods/devb2c431317/webRead 5 October 202615Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102628Read 5 October 2026Control audio with AirPods Pro 1, AirPods 3, AirPods 4 (both models), or AirPods 5. Explicit Siri volume commands. Requires compatible Apple device and Siri availability.
Gestures
Single press, Double press, Triple press, Press and hold, Nod or shake head6Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-euro/guide/airpods/devb2c431317/webRead 5 October 2026
Press once to play or pause media, Press once to answer a call or mute or unmute, Press once for camera remote, Press twice to end a call, Press twice to skip forward, Press three times to skip back, Press and hold to switch between listening modes, Press both stems at the same time to start Live Translation, Nod your head yes or gently shake your head no when Siri asks1Maker product pageapple.com/airpods-5/specsRead 30 September 2026Swipe up or down to adjust volume exists only on AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case. Live Translation gesture from the press release3Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/09/apple-introduces-airpods-5-with-best-in-class-open-ear-active-noise-cancellationRead 30 September 2026
Remappable controls
Sensors and health
4 of 9 differ
In-ear detection
Sensors
Optical in-ear sensor, Motion-detecting accelerometer, Speech-detecting accelerometer, Force sensor1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121203Read 5 October 2026
Dual beamforming microphones, Inward-facing microphone, Optical in-ear sensor, Motion-detecting accelerometer, Speech-detecting accelerometer, Force sensor1Maker product pageapple.com/airpods-5/specsRead 30 September 2026Sensors: USB-C edition optical in-ear sensor, motion- and speech-detecting accelerometers and force sensor. Microphones retained as listed by Apple.
Heart rate sensor
Not available
Not available
Skin temperature sensing
Not available
Not available
Hearing aid feature
Not available
Medical clearances
Not available
Not available
Hearing test
Not available
Hearing protection
Not available
Health features
Not available
Not available
Fit and durability
3 of 7 differ
Ear tips included
Not available
Not available
Ear tip materials
Not available
Not available
Ear tip fit test
Not available
Not available
Dust and water rating, buds
Dust and water rating, case
Water resistance depth
Not available
Not available
Software
3 of 6 differ
Companion app
Not available
App platforms
Not available
User firmware updates
Finding network
Precision finding
Live translation
Dimensions and weight
0 of 4 differ
Weight per bud
Bud dimensions
Width18.3Height30.2Depth18.1mm(0.7 × 1.2 × 0.7 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121203Read 5 October 2026Size and Weight. Dimensions of one earbud in published metric units.
Width18.3Height30.2Depth18.1mm(0.7 × 1.2 × 0.7 in)1Maker product pageapple.com/airpods-5/specsRead 30 September 2026Each AirPod. Size and weight vary by configuration and manufacturing process
Case weight
Case dimensions
Width50.1Height46.2Depth21.2mm(2 × 1.8 × 0.8 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121203Read 5 October 2026
Width50.1Height46.2Depth21.2mm(2 × 1.8 × 0.8 in)1Maker product pageapple.com/airpods-5/specsRead 30 September 2026Size and Weight named per-bud grams and case height, width, depth rows.
Certifications
0 of 3 differ
Hi-Res Audio
Not available
Not available
Communication certifications
Not available
Not available
FCC IDs
Not available
BCG-A3531, BCG-A353226Regulatory filingfccid.io/BCG-A3531Read 7 October 2026Public Apple Inc FCC grant table identifies BCG-A3531 with Product Code A3531. Maker identification separately maps A3531/A3532/A3533 to standard USB-C edition. Wireless case A3439/A3440 and A3529 IDs excluded. No side assignment or speculative case ID inferred.27Regulatory filingfccid.io/BCG-A3532Read 7 October 2026Public Apple Inc FCC grant table explicitly BCG-A3532, Product Code A3532. Same standard USB-C edition per maker model identification. Side assignment is not inferred.
Other certifications
Not available
Not available
In the box
1 of 2 differ
In the box
AirPods 4, Charging Case (USB-C), Documentation1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121203Read 5 October 2026USB-C charging cable is sold separately.
AirPods 5, Charging Case (USB-C), Documentation1Maker product pageapple.com/airpods-5/specsRead 30 September 2026In the Box: USB-C Charging Case edition. No wireless case or cable included.
Cables included
Not available
Not available
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
0 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Both are also in the API. Back to all earbuds.
















