Earbuds / Compare
Apple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning) vs Nothing Ear (2)
Product A: Apple
81 of 166 known
Change Apple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning)
Product B: Nothing
86 of 166 known
Change Nothing Ear (2)
Compare the Apple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning) with
91 of 157 fields differ
- 34 different values
- 57 known for one only
- 15 the same
- 51 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 138 earbuds.
- Quick chargeA: 1hB: 1.8hNothing is 0.8 h higher.
- Playback per charge with ANC (claimed)A: 6hB: 4hApple is 2 h higher.
- Total with case and ANC (claimed)A: 30hB: 22.5hApple is 7.5 h higher.
- With caseA: 30hB: 36hNothing is 6 h higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AApple: 21.8 × 30.9 mm
- BNothing: 21.5 × 29.4 mm
Weight
0 to 80 g
Weight per bud
A5.3g
B4.5g
Case weight
A50.8g
B51.9g
All 166 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
7 of 8 differ
Series
Model numbers
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Announced
Status
Not available
Not available
Predecessor
Apple AirPods Pro 13Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2022/09/apple-announces-the-next-generation-of-airpods-proRead 6 October 2026The release compares against the first generation AirPods Pro as the predecessor.
Not available
Successor
Apple AirPods Pro 324Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2025/09/introducing-airpods-pro-3-the-ultimate-audio-experienceRead 23 October 2026Apple's September 2025 release compares AirPods Pro 3 with AirPods Pro 2 and calls it the previous generation.25Press articlemacrumors.com/2025/09/10/apples-new-look-airpods-lineupRead 23 October 2026MacRumors says Apple discontinued AirPods Pro 2 to make room for AirPods Pro 3 at the same price as the previous generation model.
Launch price (US)
Launch price (EU)
Colours
Not available
Design
1 of 4 differ
Form factor
Bud shape
Use one bud alone
Not available
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available
Drivers and sound
9 of 17 differ
Drivers per bud
AApple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning)
| Count per earbud |
|---|
| 1 |
BNothing Ear (2)
| Type | Diameter (mm) | Count per earbud |
|---|---|---|
| Dynamic | 11.6 | 1 |
Driver type
Not available
Driver size
Not available
11.6mm
Drivers per bud
1
1
Diaphragm material
Not available
Frequency response
Not available
Not available
Impedance
Not available
Not available
Sensitivity
Not available
Not available
Sensitivity reference
Not available
Not available
Max sample rate
Not available
Max bit depth
Not available
Personalised sound
Onboard EQ
Not available
Custom EQ bands
314Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/customize-eq-te819024i19r/webRead 6 October 2026Customize EQ: Low, Mid and High sliders. The linked supported-models list names AirPods Pro 2.15Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/106340Read 6 October 2026Firmware 9A348 adds Custom EQ with low, mid and high adjustment on AirPods Pro 2 and later.
Not available
EQ presets
Not available
Not available
Volume limit
Not available
Not available
Spatial audio
2 of 2 differ
Spatial audio
Personalized Spatial Audio1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026Listed as Personalized Spatial Audio with dynamic head tracking. Footnote 1 requires compatible hardware, software and content.
Not available
Noise cancelling
7 of 11 differ
Active noise cancelling
ANC type
Not available
Not available
ANC microphones in both earbuds
Not available
Not available
Adaptive ANC
Not available
ANC levels
Not available
ANC attenuation (claimed)
Not available
Transparency mode
Adjustable transparency
Not available
Automatic ANC and transparency blend
Not available
Conversation detection
Not available
Wind noise reduction
Not available
Measured
4 of 23 differ
Frequency response notes (measured)
Bass and mids closely follow the SoundGuys headphone preference curve. The treble is under-emphasized relative to that curve, with significant deviation above 8 kHz.23Reviewsoundguys.com/apple-airpods-pro-2nd-generation-review-78938Read 6 October 2026Objective measurements section against the SoundGuys headphone preference curve. Same 2022 test unit. No plotted values converted to numbers.
RTINGS, Balanced EQ preset: fairly neutral. Its graph shows less bass than is audible because of a fitting issue on the test rig. Underemphasised mid-mid and bright, clear sibilants. SoundGuys, default tuning: about 10 dB above its preference curve around 5 kHz, a scooped 400 Hz to 1 kHz range and mildly exaggerated bass and sub-bass.6Measurementsoundguys.com/nothing-ear-2-review-88883Read 10 October 2026SoundGuys measured the default tuning with its preference curve: about 10 dB louder around 5 kHz, scooped between 400 Hz and 1 kHz, mildly exaggerated bass and sub-bass.7Measurementrtings.com/headphones/tools/compare/nothing-ear-2-vs-beats-studio-buds-plus-true-wireless/38605/39443Read 10 October 2026Public RTINGS Sound Profile text for the Ear (2). It tested the Balanced EQ preset. Numeric bass and treble amounts are locked, so they are not stored.
Bass amount (measured)
Not available
Not available
Treble amount (measured)
Not available
Not available
Deviation from target (measured)
Not available
Not available
Consistency between fittings (measured)
Not available
Not available
Harmonic distortion (measured)
Not available
Not available
Sound leakage (measured)
Not available
Not available
Noise isolation (measured)
Not available
Not available
Noise isolation, best (measured)
Not available
Not available
Passive isolation (measured)
Not available
Not available
Call quality notes (measured)
Voice pickup sounds good in ideal conditions. Background noise rejection can drop words in office noise, and voices are very hard to hear in wind.23Reviewsoundguys.com/apple-airpods-pro-2nd-generation-review-78938Read 6 October 2026Published ideal, office, street and windy microphone demos from the same review.
Voice is present and understandable but very thin and distorted. Noise handling is good in moderately noisy places, with slightly affected vocal quality in loud noises.7Measurementrtings.com/headphones/tools/compare/nothing-ear-2-vs-beats-studio-buds-plus-true-wireless/38605/39443Read 10 October 2026Public RTINGS Recording Quality and Noise Handling text.
Mic low-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
Mic high-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
Mic speech-to-noise ratio (measured)
Not available
Not available
Latency (measured)
Not available
Not available
Bluetooth latency, worst (measured)
Not available
Not available
2.4 GHz latency, worst (measured)
Not available
Not available
Latency in game mode (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (measured)
AApple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning)
| ANC | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Yes | 5.72 |
BNothing Ear (2)
| ANC | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Not available | 5.6 |
| Yes | 6.12 |
Source6Measurementsoundguys.com/nothing-ear-2-review-88883Read 10 October 20266 hours 7 minutes with ANC on at SoundGuys standardized conditions: continuous playback at 75 dB(SPL) until the battery drains. Firmware 1.0.1.85, Nothing X 2.2.0.7Measurementrtings.com/headphones/tools/compare/nothing-ear-2-vs-beats-studio-buds-plus-true-wireless/38605/39443Read 10 October 2026Public RTINGS review text: the maker advertises 6.3 hours and RTINGS measured 5.6 hours. ANC state, codec and volume are not stated for the measurement. The numeric result block on the page is locked.
Longest tested use per charge
5.72h
6.12h
Battery life with case (measured)
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Weight per bud (measured)
Not available
Not available
Microphones and calls
4 of 7 differ
Voice microphones in both earbuds
Not available
All microphones in both earbuds
Not available
Bone conduction voice sensor
Not available
Not available
Mic noise reduction
Not available
Call audio bandwidth
Not available
Not available
Mic mute control
Not available
Sidetone
Not available
Not available
Connectivity
8 of 18 differ
Chip
Not available
Connections
Bluetooth
Bluetooth codecs
Bluetooth profiles
Not available
LE Audio
Not available
Not available
Auracast
Not available
Not available
Multipoint devices
Not available
Multipoint with LDAC
Not available
Not available
Paired devices remembered
Not available
Not available
Automatic switching between own devices
Not available
Fast pairing
Apple one-tap setup3Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2022/09/apple-announces-the-next-generation-of-airpods-proRead 6 October 2026Instant pairing to all Apple devices. Setup prompt on a nearby iPhone is described in the SoundGuys pairing steps.23Reviewsoundguys.com/apple-airpods-pro-2nd-generation-review-78938Read 6 October 2026Pairing steps: open the case near the iPhone and press Connect on the pop-up card.
Google Fast Pair, Microsoft Swift Pair1Maker product pageeu.nothing.tech/products/ear-2Read 11 October 2026
Wireless range (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Wireless receiver
Not available
Not available
Receiver connector
Not available
Not available
Simultaneous 2.4 GHz and Bluetooth audio
Not available
Not available
Latency
3 of 3 differ
Low latency mode
Not available
Claimed latency
AApple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning)
Not availableBNothing Ear (2)
| Connection | Mode | Latency (ms) |
|---|---|---|
| Bluetooth | Game mode with a Nothing phone | 120 |
Lowest claimed latency
Not available
120ms
Compatibility
3 of 4 differ
Platforms
iOS, macOS, Android, Other1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026System Requirements list iPhone, iPod touch, iPad, Apple Watch, Mac and Apple TV. Other covers iPadOS, watchOS and tvOS. Footnote 8 says non-Apple devices work as Bluetooth headphones with limited functionality.17Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/108786Read 6 October 2026
Connection per platform
AApple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning)
| Platform | Connection | Microphone works |
|---|---|---|
| iOS | Bluetooth | Not available |
| macOS | Bluetooth | Not available |
| Android | Bluetooth | Yes |
BNothing Ear (2)
Not availableFeatures that need a specific device
AApple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning)
| Feature | Needs |
|---|---|
| Personalized Spatial Audio profile | iPhone with TrueDepth camera required to create a personal profile for Spatial Audio. Compatible hardware, software and content required. |
| Hearing Test and Hearing Aid | AirPods Pro 2 with the latest firmware paired with a compatible iPhone or iPad with iOS 18 or iPadOS 18 and later. Intended for people 18 years old or older. Hearing Aid is also supported on a compatible Mac with macOS Sequoia and later. |
| Hearing Protection | Latest firmware with a compatible iPhone, iPad or Mac with iOS 18, iPadOS 18 or macOS Sequoia and later. The tech specs state availability only in the U.S. and Canada. |
| Live Translation | Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone 15 Pro, iPhone 15 Pro Max or iPhone 16 models or later with the latest iOS. Latest AirPods firmware. Not available in all languages or regions. |
| Custom three-band EQ | Firmware 9A348 or later. Set in the AirPods settings on a supported iPhone, iPad or Mac. |
| Head gestures | Firmware 7A294 or later with iOS 18, iPadOS 18, macOS Sequoia or watchOS 11. Announce Calls and Announce Notifications must be on. |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 20268Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/use-controls-and-gestures-with-your-airpods-devb2c431317/27/web/27Read 6 October 202613Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/translate-in-person-conversations-dev9c215ca94/27/web/27Read 6 October 202614Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/customize-eq-te819024i19r/webRead 6 October 2026Custom EQ is set from the AirPods settings on iPhone, iPad or Mac. The supported-models list names AirPods Pro 2. No operating system version is stated.15Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/106340Read 6 October 2026Firmware 9A348 adds Custom EQ. Firmware 7A294 adds head gestures with iOS 18, iPadOS 18, macOS Sequoia and watchOS 11. Firmware 7B19 enables Hearing Test, Hearing Aid and Hearing Protection with iOS 18.1 or iPadOS 18.1.
BNothing Ear (2)
| Feature | Needs |
|---|---|
| Low latency | Latency as low as 120 ms when paired with Nothing phone devices with Game mode turned on. Low Lag Mode is listed for Nothing X and Phone (1). |
| LHDC 5.0 high-resolution streaming | Both Bluetooth devices must support the LHDC transmission protocol. |
| Dual Connection | Must be enabled on the phone. Nothing OS 1.1.4 or higher sets it up in Bluetooth settings. Other Android 6.0 or higher and iOS devices use the Nothing X app. Some laptops can have longer sound switching time. |
| Custom gestures, Personal Sound Profile, Personalised ANC and in-ear detection | Turned on with a phone. Nothing OS 1.1.4 or higher uses Bluetooth settings. Other Android 6.0 or higher and iOS devices use the Nothing X app. |
| Google Fast Pair | Android 6.0 Marshmallow or higher, or Google Play services 11.7 or higher. |
Official licence
Not available
Not available
Battery and charging
12 of 13 differ
Battery per bud
Not available
User-replaceable earbud battery
Not available
Not available
Claimed battery life
AApple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning)
| Mode | Includes case recharges | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| ANC on | No | 6 |
| ANC on | Yes | 30 |
BNothing Ear (2)
| Mode | Codec | Includes case recharges | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ANC off | AAC | No | 6.3 |
| ANC on | Not available | No | 4 |
| ANC off | AAC | Yes | 36 |
| ANC on | Not available | Yes | 22.5 |
| Call | Not available | No | 3.5 |
| Call | Not available | Yes | 20.5 |
Longest claimed use per charge
6h
6.3h
Playback per charge with ANC (claimed)
6h
4h
Playback per charge without ANC (claimed)
Not available
6.3h
Total with case (claimed)
30h
36h
Total with case and ANC (claimed)
30h
22.5h
Talk time (claimed)
Not available
3.5h
Full charge time, buds
Not available
Charging guidance
Not available
With the earbuds inside the case and the case connected by USB-C, the earbuds and case charge from 0 to 100 percent in 90 minutes. Nothing states this figure for the combined charge and does not give a separate case-only time.1Maker product pageeu.nothing.tech/products/ear-2Read 11 October 2026
Quick charge time
Earbud playback after quick charge
Charging case
5 of 10 differ
Case battery
Not available
User-replaceable case battery
Not available
Not available
Case charging port
Case full charge time
Not available
Not available
Wireless charging
Wireless standards
MagSafe, Qi, Apple Watch charger1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026
Wireless charging power
Not available
Speaker in case
Not available
Screen on case
Not available
Not available
Case works as audio transmitter
Not available
Not available
Controls
4 of 5 differ
Controls
Pressure, Swipe, Head gestures, Voice commands8Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/use-controls-and-gestures-with-your-airpods-devb2c431317/27/web/27Read 6 October 2026AirPods Pro 2 controls and gestures: force sensor with volume swipe on the stem, plus head gestures to respond to Siri. Hey Siri voice requests are listed in the tech specs.
Earbud volume control
Gestures
Press once to play, pause, or answer a phone call, Press twice to skip forward, Press three times to skip back, Press and hold to switch between Active Noise Cancellation and Adaptive Transparency, Swipe up or down to adjust volume, Nod your head up and down to accept a call or reply to notifications, Shake your head side to side to decline a call or dismiss notifications1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026First five entries verbatim from the Controls section. Head gesture entries come from the AirPods User Guide.8Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/use-controls-and-gestures-with-your-airpods-devb2c431317/27/web/27Read 6 October 2026Head gestures: nod to accept a call or reply, shake to decline or dismiss. Announce Calls and Announce Notifications must be on.
Single press: play or pause, answer or hang up calls, Double press: skip forward, reject calls, Triple press: skip back, Press and hold: switch between Active Noise Cancellation and Transparency Mode1Maker product pageeu.nothing.tech/products/ear-2Read 11 October 2026Press controls list in technical details.
Remappable controls
Voice assistant
Not available
Sensors and health
5 of 9 differ
In-ear detection
Sensors
Dual beamforming microphones, Inward-facing microphone, Skin-detect sensor, Motion-detecting accelerometer, Speech-detecting accelerometer, Touch control1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026
Heart rate sensor
Not available
Not available
Skin temperature sensing
Not available
Not available
Hearing aid feature
Not available
Medical clearances
FDA authorization (Hearing Aid feature)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026Footnote 12: the Hearing Aid feature has received FDA authorization. Market is the United States.
Not available
Hearing test
Hearing protection
Yes1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026Hearing Protection listed under Hearing Health. Footnote 13: available only in the U.S. and Canada, not for impulse sounds or sustained sounds louder than 110 dBA.11Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/adjust-listening-mode-settings-dev6d977ff21/27/web/27Read 6 October 2026Loud Sound Reduction is available with AirPods Pro 2 on iPhone or iPad in some countries or regions.
Not available
Health features
Live Listen audio, Headphone levels, Headphone Accommodations, Conversation Boost1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026Accessibility section names Live Listen audio, Headphone levels, Headphone Accommodations and Conversation Boost.
Not available
Fit and durability
4 of 7 differ
Ear tips included
Ear tip materials
Stabilisers
Not available
Ear tip fit test
Dust and water rating, buds
IPX41Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026Sweat and Water Resistant (IPX4): AirPods Pro and charging case. Footnote 2: tested under IEC 60529 for non-water sports. Resistance is not permanent. This differs from the IP54 rating of the later USB-C model.3Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2022/09/apple-announces-the-next-generation-of-airpods-proRead 6 October 2026
Dust and water rating, case
Water resistance depth
Not available
Not available
Software
5 of 6 differ
Companion app
Not available
App platforms
Not available
User firmware updates
Yes1Maker product pageeu.nothing.tech/products/ear-2Read 11 October 2026Footnote: firmware updates change the actions. The Nothing X notes list Software updates.5Press releasenothing.community/d/1428-ear-2-black-nothing-x-advanced-equaliser-and-all-new-noise-reductionRead 10 October 2026Nothing X software update notes list Ear (2) firmware 1.0.1.101 and say to use Device Settings > Firmware Update.
Finding network
Not available
Precision finding
Yes1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026Chip section: Apple U1 chip in MagSafe Charging Case.18Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/find-your-airpods-dev8e8b93d71/27/web/27Read 6 October 2026AirPods Pro 2 charging case can be located precisely with a UWB-capable iPhone.
Not available
Dimensions and weight
4 of 4 differ
Weight per bud
Bud dimensions
Width21.8Height30.9Depth24mm(0.9 × 1.2 × 0.9 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026
Width21.5Height29.4Depth23.5mm(0.8 × 1.2 × 0.9 in)1Maker product pageeu.nothing.tech/products/ear-2Read 11 October 2026Ear bud: height 29.4 mm, width 21.5 mm, depth 23.5 mm.
Case weight
Case dimensions
Width60.6Height45.2Depth21.7mm(2.4 × 1.8 × 0.9 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026
Width55.5Height55.5Depth22mm(2.2 × 2.2 × 0.9 in)1Maker product pageeu.nothing.tech/products/ear-2Read 11 October 2026Case: height 55.5 mm, width 55.5 mm, depth 22 mm.
Certifications
1 of 3 differ
Hi-Res Audio
Not available
Communication certifications
Not available
Not available
FCC IDs
Not available
Other certifications
Not available
Not available
In the box
2 of 2 differ
In the box
AirPods Pro 2, MagSafe Charging Case with speaker and lanyard loop, Silicone ear tips (four sizes: XS, S, M, L), Lightning to USB-C Cable, Documentation1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111851Read 6 October 2026Verbatim In the Box list. No power adapter is listed. Cable length is not stated.
Pair of earbuds, Ear tips in size S, M, L, Charging case, Type-C cable, Safety information and warranty information, User guide1Maker product pageeu.nothing.tech/products/ear-2Read 11 October 2026
Cables included
AApple AirPods Pro 2 (Lightning)
| Type | Count |
|---|---|
| Lightning to USB-C Cable | 1 |
BNothing Ear (2)
Not availableLinks
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
Manual
support.apple.com/guide/airpods/welcome/web7Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/airpods/welcome/webRead 6 October 2026AirPods User Guide, shared by all AirPods models. Its Which AirPods do I have page says AirPods Pro 2 come with either a Lightning or a USB-C case, so features listed for AirPods Pro 2 cover this model.
Not available
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Not available
Both are also in the API. Back to all earbuds.


















