Laptops / Compare
Apple MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015) vs Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)
Product A: Apple
MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015)
83 of 179 known
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 13.5-inch
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch (M1, 2020)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 13.5-inch (Ryzen 5)
Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch (Intel, 2020, four Thunderbolt 3 ports)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 15-inch (Ryzen 5)
Microsoft Surface Laptop Go (2020)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 15-inch (Ryzen 7)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Acer Swift Go 14 AI SFG14-01-X006
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (7th Edition, X Plus)
Change Apple MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015)
Compare the Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020) with
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 13.5-inch
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch (M1, 2020)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 13.5-inch (Ryzen 5)
Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch (Intel, 2020, four Thunderbolt 3 ports)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 15-inch (Ryzen 5)
Microsoft Surface Laptop Go (2020)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 15-inch (Ryzen 7)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Acer Swift Go 14 AI SFG14-01-X006
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (7th Edition, X Plus)Product B: Apple
MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)
88 of 179 known
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13-inch (1st Edition, 2025)
Acer Googlebook 14 GP714-91N-50A0
Microsoft Surface Laptop Go 3
ASUS Zenbook A14 UX3407QA (Snapdragon X Plus)
Microsoft Surface Laptop Go (2020)
Dell XPS Googlebook LDX13267
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
Dell XPS 13 (DX13260)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 13.5-inch (Ryzen 5)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 13.5-inch
Change Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)
Compare the Apple MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015) with
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13-inch (1st Edition, 2025)
Acer Googlebook 14 GP714-91N-50A0
Microsoft Surface Laptop Go 3
ASUS Zenbook A14 UX3407QA (Snapdragon X Plus)
Microsoft Surface Laptop Go (2020)
Dell XPS Googlebook LDX13267
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
Dell XPS 13 (DX13260)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 13.5-inch (Ryzen 5)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 13.5-inch68 of 171 fields differ
- 47 different values
- 21 known for one only
- 23 the same
- 80 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 220 laptops.
- BatteryA: 38WhB: 49.9WhMacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020) is 11.9 Wh higher.
- Battery life on Wi-FiA: 8.53hB: 11.02hMacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020) is 2.49 h higher.
Weight
0 to 3 kg
Weight (published)
A1.08kg
B1.29kg
All 179 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
4 of 9 differ
Series
Model numbers
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Announced
Status
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Not available
Launch price (US)
Launch price (EU)
Not available
Not available
Markets
Colours
Segment
Not available
Not available
Chassis
2 of 6 differ
Dimensions
Width300Depth192Thickness (min)3Thickness (max)17mm(11.8 × 7.6 × 0.1 to 0.7 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/112441Read 10 October 2026Maker centimetres converted exactly to millimetres, including wedge minimum and maximum. Rounded inch conversions excluded.
Width304.1Depth212.4Thickness (min)4.1Thickness (max)16.1mm(12 × 8.4 × 0.2 to 0.6 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111991Read 5 October 2026Maker centimetres converted exactly to millimetres. Published wedge minimum 4.1 mm and maximum 16.1 mm. Retailer rounded metric conversions excluded.
Weight (published)
Lid material
Bottom material
Max hinge angle
Not available
Not available
MIL-STD-810 testing (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Display
7 of 25 differ
Screen size
Native resolution
Pixel density
135.1ppi
227ppi
Panel type
Backlight
Not available
Not available
Dimming zones
Not available
Not available
Panel part number
Screen surface
Touchscreen
Stylus
Not available
Not available
Refresh rate modes
AApple MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015)
Not availableBApple MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Maximum operating refresh (Hz) |
|---|---|---|
| 2560 | 1600 | 60 |
Max refresh rate
Not available
60Hz
Adaptive sync
Not available
Not available
Gray-to-gray response time (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Native panel colour depth
Not available
Not available
Brightness (SDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Peak brightness (SDR outdoors, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Sustained brightness (HDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Peak brightness (HDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
sRGB coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Adobe RGB coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
HDR certification
Not available
Not available
Factory calibrated
Not available
Not available
Second display
Not available
Not available
Processor
5 of 14 differ
Processor
Intel Core i5 (1.6 GHz, dual-core, 5th generation)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/112441Read 10 October 2026Original maker base 1.6 GHz dual-core Core i5, matched to original US SKU inventory. Fifth generation explicitly original maker announcement. Specific CPU suffix, thread count and process node not inferred.4Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2015/03/09Apple-Updates-13-inch-MacBook-Pro-with-Retina-Display-MacBook-AirRead 5 October 2026Maker original announcement expressly fifth-generation Intel Core processors for updated Air. Exact base Core i5 identity and configured clocks remain supported by exact model sheet.
Intel Core i3 (1.1 GHz, dual-core, 10th generation)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111991Read 5 October 2026Exact original base dual-core 1.1 GHz Core i3 row. Original maker and inventory do not state the custom processor suffix, so neither suffix nor chip process node/thread count is inferred.
Processor brand
Core configuration
AApple MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015)
| Count | Base clock (GHz) | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 1.6 | 2.7 |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)
| Count | Base clock (GHz) | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 1.1 | 3.2 |
CPU cores
2
2
Cores labelled performance
Not available
Not available
Cores labelled efficiency
Not available
Not available
Threads
46Reviewifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook+Air+11-Inch+Early+2015+Teardown/38268Read 7 October 2026Step 6 identifies installed Core i5-5250U in the 4 GB/128 GB teardown. Intel supplies thread specification.8Maker product pageintel.com/content/www/us/en/products/sku/84984/intel-core-i55250u-processor-3m-cache-up-to-2-70-ghz/specifications.htmlRead 10 October 2026Intel Total Threads for i5-5250U. Exact installed processor identified independently in matching 4 GB/128 GB iFixit Step 6 and Notebookcheck review. Generic CPU TDP is not a laptop power limit.
Max boost clock
2.7GHz
3.2GHz
L3 cache
Process
14nm6Reviewifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook+Air+11-Inch+Early+2015+Teardown/38268Read 7 October 2026Step 6 installed i5-5250U identity scopes Intel lithography value.8Maker product pageintel.com/content/www/us/en/products/sku/84984/intel-core-i55250u-processor-3m-cache-up-to-2-70-ghz/specifications.htmlRead 10 October 2026Intel i5-5250U Lithography 14 nm. Exact processor identified by matching iFixit Step 6.
10nm11Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook-air/specs/macbook-air-core-i3-1.1-dual-core-13-retina-display-2020-scissor-specs.htmlRead 7 October 2026Exact model overview identifies 10 nm Ice Lake Core i3-1000NG4. Custom Apple chip suffix also identified by matching Notebookcheck review. Public indexed maker-independent specification read.18Maker product pageintel.com/content/www/us/en/products/sku/196586/intel-core-i31000ng4-processor-4m-cache-up-to-3-20-ghz/specifications.htmlRead 7 October 2026Intel Essentials for exact i3-1000NG4 states Lithography 10 nm. Chip maker evidence corroborates EveryMac without borrowing a different Core i3 suffix.
Sustained CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Peak CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Combined CPU and GPU power
Not available
Not available
NPU performance
Not available
Not available
Graphics
1 of 9 differ
Discrete GPU
GPU
Not available
Not available
GPU brand
Not available
Not available
VRAM
Not available
Not available
Max GPU power (TGP)
Not available
Not available
Dynamic Boost
Not available
Not available
GPU boost clock
Not available
Not available
GPU switching
Not available
Not available
Integrated GPU
Intel HD Graphics 60001Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/112441Read 10 October 2026
Memory
5 of 9 differ
Installed RAM
RAM type
RAM speed
1,600MT/s1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/112441Read 10 October 2026Maker publishes 1600 MHz LPDDR3. The Intel Core i5-5250U page lists LPDDR3 1600/1866 as data-rate grades, so 1600 is the LPDDR3-1600 transfer rate in MT/s and not a DRAM clock.8Maker product pageintel.com/content/www/us/en/products/sku/84984/intel-core-i55250u-processor-3m-cache-up-to-2-70-ghz/specifications.htmlRead 10 October 2026Memory Types row: DDR3L 1333/1600, LPDDR3 1600/1866. Supports the reading of the maker's 1600 MHz LPDDR3 as 1600 MT/s.
Memory channels
Not available
RAM upgrade
Memory slots
Not available
Not available
RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Free RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Maximum supported RAM
Storage
2 of 7 differ
Installed storage
Storage type
Installed drive PCIe generation
Not available
Storage slots
Not available
Not available
M.2 slots
Not available
Not available
Free storage slots
Not available
Not available
Maximum slot PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
Ports
3 of 7 differ
Ports
AApple MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015)
| Type | Version | Count | Maximum data rate (Gbps) |
|---|---|---|---|
| USB-A | USB 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Mini DisplayPort | Thunderbolt 2 / native Mini DisplayPort | 1 | 20 |
| MagSafe | MagSafe 2 | 1 | Not available |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Not available |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)
| Type | Version | Count | Maximum data rate (Gbps) | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | Thunderbolt 3 / USB 3.1 Gen 2 | 2 | 40 | Thunderbolt 3 | Yes |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available |
USB-C ports
0
2
Thunderbolt
Not available
Yes
Highest HDMI version
Not available
Not available
Card reader
No
No
Ethernet speed
Not available
Not available
Maximum USB-C charging input
Not available
Not available
Wireless
2 of 5 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Not available
Wi-Fi module
Not available
Not available
Bluetooth
Cellular
Not available
Not available
Keyboard and touchpad
5 of 8 differ
Keyboard layouts
Not available
Key switches
Keyboard backlight
Backlit, type not stated1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/112441Read 10 October 2026Maker lists a full-size backlit keyboard with ambient light sensor. Backlight colour and zones are not stated.
Not available
Key travel
Not available
Pointing stick
Not available
Not available
Touchpad size
Not available
Not available
Touchpad mechanism
Mechanical11Reviewmacworld.com/article/667335/macbook-air-11-inch-early-2015-review.htmlRead 10 October 2026Review says the Air does not get the Force Touch trackpad of the 13-inch MacBook Pro, so the click is the physical mechanism. The iFixit trackpad guide adjusts a trackpad depth sensitivity screw, which also fits a mechanical click.14Reviewifixit.com/Guide/MacBook+Air+11-Inch+Early+2015+Trackpad+Replacement/38512Read 10 October 2026Step 6 adjusts the T5 trackpad sensitivity screw to change the trackpad depth sensitivity, which describes a physical click mechanism. No haptic engine is mentioned.
Haptic1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111991Read 5 October 2026Exact sheet specifies Force Touch. Separate maker support source explicitly establishes haptic feedback.6Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-gb/102309Read 5 October 2026Maker support explicitly states Force Touch trackpads provide haptic feedback. Exact model sheet specifies Force Touch.
Camera and audio
2 of 7 differ
Webcam
IR face login
Not available
Not available
Webcam privacy
Not available
Not available
Built-in speaker drivers
Not available
Not available
Total speaker power
Not available
Not available
Audio features
Support for Apple iPhone headset with remote and microphone1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/112441Read 10 October 2026Exact model Audio section. Built-in stereo channels do not establish physical driver count.
Dolby Atmos, Wide stereo sound1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111991Read 5 October 2026
Microphones
Battery and power
4 of 5 differ
Battery energy
Claimed battery life
AApple MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015)
| Use case | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Web browsing | 9 |
| Video playback | 10 |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)
| Use case | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Web browsing | 11 |
| Video playback | 12 |
Adapter rated output
Laptop charging connector
Charge 0 to 50 % (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Cooling
0 of 4 differ
Fans
Vapor chamber
Not available
Not available
Liquid metal
Not available
Not available
Power modes
Not available
Not available
Security
2 of 4 differ
Fingerprint
Not available
TPM
Not available
Not available
Remote management
Not available
Not available
Software
1 of 3 differ
Operating system
OS family
Security updates until
Not available
Not available
Measured display
10 of 12 differ
Brightness (measured, centre)
Brightness (measured, average)
Contrast ratio (measured)
HDR peak brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
sRGB coverage (measured)
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage (measured)
Not available
Not available
Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
Not available
PWM flicker found
PWM frequency (measured)
Not available
PWM at or below brightness
Not available
Response black to white (measured)
Not available
Response grey to grey (measured)
Not available
Measured performance
None of 8 known
Cinebench 2024 single-core
Not available
Not available
Cinebench 2024 multi-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 single-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 multi-core
Not available
Not available
3DMark Time Spy graphics
Not available
Not available
3DMark Steel Nomad
Not available
Not available
SSD sequential read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Game frame rates
Not available
Not available
Measured noise and temperature
7 of 9 differ
Fan noise per mode
AApple MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015)
| Load | Noise (dB(A)) |
|---|---|
| Idle | 29 |
| Medium load | 35.2 |
| Max load | 43.1 |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)
| Load | Noise (dB(A)) |
|---|---|
| Idle | 29 |
| Medium load | 31.6 |
| Max load | 39.4 |
Max fan noise
43.1dB(A)
39.4dB(A)
Fan noise while gaming
Not available
Not available
Top surface under load
Bottom surface under load
Palm rest under load
CPU temperature in stress test
Not available
CPU clock in stress test
GPU temperature while gaming
Not available
Not available
Measured battery and power
5 of 10 differ
Battery runtime per test
AApple MacBook Air 11-inch (Early 2015)
| Test | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Wi-Fi browsing | 8.53 |
| Max load | 1.53 |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)
| Test | Brightness (nits) | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Wi-Fi browsing | 150 | 11.02 |
| Wi-Fi browsing | Not available | 7.28 |
| Video playback | 150 | 11.1 |
Wi-Fi browsing runtime
8.53h
11.02h
Video runtime
Not available
11.1h
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Power draw idle
Power draw gaming
Not available
Not available
Power draw max
Sustained CPU power (measured)
Not available
Not available
GPU power while gaming (measured)
Not available
Not available
Weight (measured)
Not available
Not available
Certifications
0 of 6 differ
Intel Evo
Not available
Not available
Copilot+ PC
Not available
Not available
Colour certifications
Not available
Not available
ENERGY STAR
EPEAT
Other certifications
Not available
Not available
In the box
1 of 2 differ
In the box
MacBook Air, Power adapter, AC wall plug, Power cord1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/112441Read 10 October 2026Original standard maker box, including AC wall plug and power cord. Optional adapters and later bundles excluded.
MacBook Air, 30W USB-C Power Adapter, USB-C Charge Cable (2 m)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111991Read 5 October 2026Original standard maker box contents. Optional adapters and later bundles excluded.
Warranty
0 of 2 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Warranty service
Not available
Not available
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
Manual
cdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1696_macbook-air-11-early2015-qs.pdf5Owner's manualcdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1696_macbook-air-11-early2015-qs.pdfRead 10 October 2026Exact 11-inch Early 2015 Quick Start, six pages downloaded/read/rendered. Copyright 2017 Siri UI reprint used for unchanged hardware only, not launch OS. Page 3 expressly identifies USB 3, TB2, magnetic MagSafe 2 and Multi-Touch trackpad.
cdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1931_macbook-air-13-2020-qsg.pdf5Owner's manualcdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1931_macbook-air-13-2020-qsg.pdfRead 5 October 2026Exact Intel 13-inch 2020 model Quick Start PDF, two pages downloaded/read/rendered. Big Sur Control Center UI reprint used only for unchanged hardware controls.
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Both are also in the API. Back to all laptops.