Laptops / Compare
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023) vs Microsoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
Product A: Apple
MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
100 of 179 known
Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 5 15-inch
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M3, 2024)
Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 Chromebook 14M868 (82XJ0000US)
Microsoft Surface Laptop Go 2
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Acer Aspire 3 (A315-24P-R7VH)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, 2026)
Apple MacBook Air 15-inch (M2, 2023)
Apple MacBook Air 15-inch (M3, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Change Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Compare the Microsoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch with
Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 5 15-inch
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M3, 2024)
Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 Chromebook 14M868 (82XJ0000US)
Microsoft Surface Laptop Go 2
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Acer Aspire 3 (A315-24P-R7VH)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, 2026)
Apple MacBook Air 15-inch (M2, 2023)
Apple MacBook Air 15-inch (M3, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)Product B: Microsoft
84 of 179 known
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M1 Pro, 2021)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M1 Pro, 2021)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
Lenovo Yoga Pro 9i (16", Gen 9) 16IMH9 83DN006HGE
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Microsoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5 Pro, 2026)
Change Microsoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
Compare the Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023) with
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M1 Pro, 2021)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M1 Pro, 2021)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
Lenovo Yoga Pro 9i (16", Gen 9) 16IMH9 83DN006HGE
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Microsoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5 Pro, 2026)87 of 171 fields differ
- 49 different values
- 38 known for one only
- 18 the same
- 66 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 220 laptops.
- BatteryA: 69.6WhB: 47.4WhApple is 22.2 Wh higher.
Weight
0 to 3 kg
Weight (published)
A1.6kg
B1.272kg
All 179 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
6 of 9 differ
Series
Model numbers
Announced
Status
Predecessor
Successor
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)26Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Pro-14-2023-M3-Pro-review-Improved-runtimes-and-better-performance.779538.0.htmlRead 23 October 2026Notebookcheck's review of the MacBook Pro 14 with M3 Pro compares it with its predecessor, the MacBook Pro 14 with M2 Pro.27Reviewrtings.com/laptop/reviews/apple/macbook-pro-14-m3-2023Read 23 October 2026RTINGS says the MacBook Pro 14 (M3, 2023), sold with M3 Pro and M3 Max, replaces the MacBook Pro 14 (M2, 2023).
Not available
Launch price (US)
Not available
Launch price (EU)
Markets
Colours
Segment
Not available
Form factor
Chassis
2 of 6 differ
Dimensions
Width312.6Depth221.2Thickness (max)15.5mm(12.3 × 8.7 × 0.6 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111340Read 5 October 2026Size and Weight. Maker centimetres converted exactly to millimetres.
Width308Depth223Thickness (max)14.5mm(12.1 × 8.8 × 0.6 in)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)news.microsoft.com/wp-content/uploads/prod/sites/646/2022/10/Surface-Laptop-5-Fact-Sheet.pdfRead 5 October 2026Published width across screen, depth front-to-back and closed height.
Weight (published)
Lid material
Bottom material
Max hinge angle
Not available
Not available
MIL-STD-810 testing (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Display
11 of 25 differ
Screen size
Native resolution
Pixel density
253.9ppi
200.8ppi
Panel type
IPS13Reviewreviewed.com/laptops/content/microsoft-surface-laptop-5Read 7 October 2026About test laptop row explicitly 13.5-inch IPS LCD 2256x1504 60Hz. Exact i5/8GB test differs only in its 512GB storage. Paragraph explicitly states base 256GB configuration is otherwise identical. Hardware panel technology shared, reviewer measurements are not inherited.17Reviewlesnumeriques.com/ordinateur-portable/microsoft-surface-laptop-5-13-5-core-i5-p71427/test.htmlRead 7 October 202613.5-inch spec row IPS. Review wrong 2496x1664 resolution prose excluded against maker 2256x1504.
Dimming zones
Not available
Not available
Panel part number
Not available
Not available
Screen surface
Glossy13Reviewreviewed.com/laptops/content/microsoft-surface-laptop-5Read 7 October 2026Display section calls the screen mirror-like. Same i5/8GB 13.5-inch fabric chassis, with 512GB SSD. Review expressly says base 256GB model otherwise identical. Measured brightness not copied.17Reviewlesnumeriques.com/ordinateur-portable/microsoft-surface-laptop-5-13-5-core-i5-p71427/test.htmlRead 7 October 2026Display section explicitly highly reflective touch display. No measured 16GB/512GB data inherited.
Touchscreen
Stylus
Not available
Refresh rate modes
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Maximum operating refresh (Hz) | VRR |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3024 | 1964 | 120 | Yes |
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Maximum operating refresh (Hz) | VRR |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2256 | 1504 | 60 | No |
Max refresh rate
120Hz
60Hz
Adaptive sync
Not available
Gray-to-gray response time (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Native panel colour depth
Not available
Not available
Brightness (SDR, claimed)
Not available
Peak brightness (SDR outdoors, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Sustained brightness (HDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Peak brightness (HDR, claimed)
Not available
sRGB coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Adobe RGB coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
HDR certification
Not available
Not available
Factory calibrated
Second display
Not available
Not available
Processor
10 of 14 differ
Processor
Processor brand
Core configuration
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
| Core type | Count |
|---|---|
| Performance | 6 |
| Efficiency | 4 |
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
| Core type | Count | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 2 | 4.4 |
| Efficiency | 8 | 3.3 |
CPU cores
10
10
Cores labelled performance
6
2
Cores labelled efficiency
4
8
Threads
Max boost clock
Not available
4.4GHz
L3 cache
Not available
Sustained CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Peak CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Combined CPU and GPU power
Not available
Not available
Graphics
1 of 9 differ
Discrete GPU
GPU
Not available
Not available
GPU brand
Not available
Not available
VRAM
Not available
Not available
Max GPU power (TGP)
Not available
Not available
Dynamic Boost
Not available
Not available
GPU boost clock
Not available
Not available
GPU switching
Not available
Not available
Integrated GPU
Memory
5 of 9 differ
Installed RAM
16GB1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111340Read 5 October 2026Memory section. Original base 16 GB, matched to maker US part-number inventory.8Maker product pageapple.com/shop/product/fphe3ll/aRead 5 October 2026Maker Overview and Memory sections explicitly 16 GB unified memory for matching original CPU/GPU/SSD configuration.
RAM type
Memory channels
RAM upgrade
Memory slots
Not available
Not available
RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Free RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Maximum supported RAM
Storage
4 of 7 differ
Installed storage
Storage type
NVMe SSD1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111340Read 5 October 2026Maker Storage section states SSD. The matching exact 512 GB review explicitly supplies the NVMe classification. No PCIe generation or measured speed is inferred from the maker claim.11Reviewreviewed.com/laptops/content/apple-macbook-pro-14-m2-pro-2023-reviewRead 7 October 2026Actual About the laptop we tested inventory explicitly identifies the base M2 Pro 10 CPU / 16 GPU, 16 GB memory and 512 GB NVMe SSD. This refines the maker SSD classification without borrowing measured throughput or a different storage configuration.
Installed drive PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
Storage slots
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Not availableBMicrosoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
| Form factor | Interface | Count | Occupied |
|---|---|---|---|
| M.2 2230 | PCIe NVMe | 1 | Yes |
Source11Retailer pagebhphotovideo.com/c/product/1729183-REG/microsoft_qzi_00001_13_5_multi_touch_surface_laptop.htmlRead 7 October 2026Exact QZI-00001 Storage Expansion 1x M.2 Slot PCIe Occupied and 1x 256 GB M.2 NVMe SSD. Kingston exact Surface Laptop 5 compatibility page states M.2 NVMe 2230 single-sided, and 13.5-inch review states removable NVMe 2230. No slot PCIe generation/lanes inferred from replacement drive.12Spec databasekingston.com/en/memory/search/model/106998/microsoft-surface-laptop-5-13-5-inch-15-inchRead 7 October 2026System storage Bus Architecture explicitly SSD M.2 NVMe 2230 single-sided. Exact Surface Laptop 5 family compatibility includes i5-1235U consumer. 4.0 replacement SSD does not prove original slot generation.17Reviewlesnumeriques.com/ordinateur-portable/microsoft-surface-laptop-5-13-5-core-i5-p71427/test.htmlRead 7 October 2026Construction explicitly removable NVMe 2230 SSD. RAM/SSD capacity differs, physical slot shared.
M.2 slots
Not available
1
Free storage slots
Not available
0
Maximum slot PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
Ports
3 of 7 differ
Ports
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
| Type | Version | Count | Maximum data rate (Gbps) | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | Thunderbolt 4 / USB 4 | 3 | 40 | Thunderbolt 4 | Yes |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available |
| MagSafe | MagSafe 3 | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available |
| HDMI | Not available | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available |
| SD card | SDXC | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available |
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
| Type | Version | Count | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | USB4 / Thunderbolt 4 | 1 | Thunderbolt 4 | Yes |
| USB-A | USB 3.1 | 1 | Not available | Not available |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Not available | Not available |
| Other | Surface Connect | 1 | Not available | Not available |
USB-C ports
3
1
Thunderbolt
Yes
Yes
Highest HDMI version
Not available
Not available
Card reader
Yes
No
Ethernet speed
Not available
Not available
Maximum USB-C charging input
Not available
Not available
Wireless
4 of 5 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Not available
Wi-Fi module
Broadcom 0x14E4, 0x4388 WiFi 6E AirPort9Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Pro-14-2023-Entry-Review-Base-model-with-cut-down-M2-Pro-SSD-downgrade-and-slightly-higher-power-draws.700015.0.htmlRead 7 October 2026Exact base review Networking cell identifies Broadcom 0x14E4, 0x4388 WiFi 6E AirPort. Literal device identifiers retained. No guessed module part number.
Not available
Bluetooth
Cellular
No23Retailer pagethepcwholesale.com/product/apple-macbook-pro-newest-model-2023-m2-pro-512gb-ssd-16gb-14-2-3024x1964-liquid-retina-display-macos-ventura-13-space-gray-backlit-keyboard-3Read 7 October 2026Exact MPHE3LL/A specification table states Mobile network connection: N. No mobile modem inferred from Wi-Fi and Bluetooth.25Retailer pagethepcwholesale.com/product/apple-macbook-pro-newest-model-2023-m2-pro-512gb-ssd-16gb-14-2-3024x1964-liquid-retina-display-macos-ventura-13-space-gray-backlit-keyboard-5Read 7 October 2026Independently reopened exact MPHE3LL/A 10 CPU / 16 GPU, 16 GB / 512 GB product table explicitly states Mobile network connection No. This is device hardware absence, not lack of a bundled mobile subscription.
Keyboard and touchpad
5 of 8 differ
Keyboard layouts
Key switches
Not available
Keyboard backlight
Key travel
Not available
Not available
Pointing stick
Not available
Not available
Touchpad size
Not available
Not available
Touchpad mechanism
Haptic1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111340Read 5 October 2026Keyboard and Trackpad identifies Force Touch. Separate Apple trackpad source explicitly establishes haptic feedback.5Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-gb/102309Read 5 October 2026Apple states Force Touch trackpads provide haptic feedback. Exact model sheet specifies Force Touch.
Camera and audio
5 of 7 differ
Webcam
1080p FaceTime HD1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111340Read 5 October 2026
IR face login
Not available
Webcam privacy
Not available
Not available
Built-in speaker drivers
Not available
Total speaker power
Not available
Not available
Audio features
Spatial Audio, Dolby Atmos, Force-cancelling woofers1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111340Read 5 October 2026
Microphones
Battery and power
5 of 5 differ
Battery energy
47.4Wh16Maker spec sheet (PDF)cdn-dynmedia-1.microsoft.com/is/content/microsoftcorp/microsoft/final/en-us/mcaps/dau/documents/redtiger/fy23/Surface%20Laptop%205%20FED%20Fact%20Sheet.pdfRead 7 October 2026Surface Laptop 5 FED Fact Sheet Battery life row explicitly Battery Capacity Nominal 47.4Wh, minimum 45.8Wh. Shared 13.5/15-inch model hardware capacity corroborated by exact 13.5-inch i5/8GB Reviewed unit. iFixit genuine 13.5-inch battery rating 45.8Wh is minimum, not a conflicting nominal capacity. No derived voltage/mAh conversion.18Reviewreviewed.com/laptops/content/microsoft-surface-laptop-5Read 7 October 2026Respectable battery life section states 47.4Wh battery in 13.5-inch i5/8GB/512GB. Paragraph states base 256GB otherwise identical. This corroborates maker nominal capacity and is not runtime.
Claimed battery life
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Not availableBMicrosoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
| Use case | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Mixed use | 18 |
Adapter rated output
Laptop charging connector
Charge 0 to 50 % (claimed)
Not available
Cooling
2 of 4 differ
Fans
Vapor chamber
Not available
Not available
Liquid metal
Not available
Not available
Power modes
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
| Name |
|---|
| Low Power Mode |
| Automatic Mode |
Source22Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/macbook-pro/charge-the-battery-apdbc13fd966/2023/mac/13Read 7 October 2026Pinned 2023 Ventura guide Charge the MacBook Pro battery explicitly supports Low Power Mode. Apple About Power Modes at 101613 says Automatic Mode is the default. No configured power limits published. 2023 guide restricts High Power Mode to 16-inch, so it is not listed for this 14-inch M2 Pro.24Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/101613Read 7 October 2026Select a Power Mode section explicitly says Automatic Mode is the default. Low Power Mode for the original 14-inch M2 Pro is independently established by the pinned 2023 guide. Current high-power and low-fan model lists are not borrowed.
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
Not availableSecurity
3 of 4 differ
Fingerprint
TPM
Not available
Remote management
Not available
Not available
Software
2 of 3 differ
Operating system
OS family
Security updates until
Not available
Not available
Measured display
3 of 12 differ
Brightness (measured, centre)
Not available
Not available
Brightness (measured, average)
Not available
Not available
Contrast ratio (measured)
Not available
Not available
HDR peak brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
sRGB coverage (measured)
Not available
PWM flicker found
Not available
Not available
PWM frequency (measured)
Not available
Not available
PWM at or below brightness
Not available
Not available
Response black to white (measured)
Not available
Not available
Response grey to grey (measured)
Not available
Not available
Measured performance
None of 8 known
Cinebench 2024 single-core
Not available
Not available
Cinebench 2024 multi-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 single-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 multi-core
Not available
Not available
3DMark Time Spy graphics
Not available
Not available
3DMark Steel Nomad
Not available
Not available
SSD sequential read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Game frame rates
Not available
Not available
Measured noise and temperature
5 of 9 differ
Fan noise per mode
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
| Load | Noise (dB(A)) |
|---|---|
| Idle | 23.6 |
| Max load | 47.5 |
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
| Load | Noise (dB(A)) |
|---|---|
| Max load | 33.6 |
Max fan noise
47.5dB(A)
33.6dB(A)
Fan noise while gaming
Not available
Not available
Top surface under load
CPU temperature in stress test
Not available
Not available
CPU clock in stress test
Not available
Not available
GPU temperature while gaming
Not available
Not available
Measured battery and power
8 of 10 differ
Battery runtime per test
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
| Test | Brightness (nits) | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Wi-Fi browsing | 150 | 12.9 |
| Wi-Fi browsing | 500 | 6.82 |
| Video playback | Not available | 16.37 |
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch
| Test | Brightness (nits) | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Wi-Fi browsing | Not available | 12.75 |
| Video streaming | 200 | 6.68 |
Source19Measurementlesnumeriques.com/ordinateur-portable/microsoft-surface-laptop-5-13-5-core-i5-p71427/test.htmlRead 10 October 2026Autonomy section: the unit switched off after 6 h 41 min under Netflix at 200 cd/m2, keyboard backlight and Bluetooth off, same protocol as earlier reviews. Power mode not stated. Review unit has 16 GB RAM and 512 GB SSD.20Measurementreviewed.com/laptops/content/microsoft-surface-laptop-5Read 10 October 2026Battery section: 12 h 45 min in the reviewer benchmark that simulates web browsing. Brightness and power mode are not stated. Review unit is i5-1235U with 8 GB RAM and 512 GB SSD, which the review says is otherwise identical to the 256 GB base.
Wi-Fi browsing runtime
12.9h
12.75h
Video runtime
16.37h
6.68h
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
GPU power while gaming (measured)
Not available
Not available
Weight (measured)
Not available
Certifications
1 of 6 differ
Copilot+ PC
Not available
Not available
Colour certifications
Not available
Not available
ENERGY STAR
EPEAT
Other certifications
Not available
Not available
In the box
1 of 2 differ
In the box
14-inch MacBook Pro, 67W USB-C Power Adapter, USB-C to MagSafe 3 Cable (2 m)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111340Read 5 October 2026Original In the Box section and exact base CPU. Includes 67 W adapter and supplied 2 m charging cable. Alternate optional adapters excluded.
Surface Laptop 5 13.5-inch, Power Supply, Quick Start Guide, Safety and warranty documents1Maker spec sheet (PDF)news.microsoft.com/wp-content/uploads/prod/sites/646/2022/10/Surface-Laptop-5-Fact-Sheet.pdfRead 5 October 2026
Warranty
1 of 2 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Warranty service
Not available
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Both are also in the API. Back to all laptops.