Laptops / Compare
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024) vs Microsoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
Product A: Apple
MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
83 of 179 known
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M3 Max, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3, 2023)
Lenovo Yoga Pro 9i (16", Gen 9) 16IMH9 83DN006HGE
Framework Laptop 16 (2023, Ryzen 9 7940HS, Radeon RX 7700S)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4, 2024)
Change Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
Compare the Microsoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050) with
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M3 Max, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3, 2023)
Lenovo Yoga Pro 9i (16", Gen 9) 16IMH9 83DN006HGE
Framework Laptop 16 (2023, Ryzen 9 7940HS, Radeon RX 7700S)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M2 Pro, 2023)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4, 2024)Product B: Microsoft
Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
81 of 179 known
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5 Max, 2026)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
HP OmniBook Ultra Flip 14-fh0047nr
Lenovo Yoga Pro 9i (16", Gen 9) 16IMH9 83DN006HGE
Dell 14 Premium DA14250 Core Ultra 7 255H OLED
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5, 2025)
ASUS ProArt PX13 (2026) HN7306EA
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5 Pro, 2026)
Change Microsoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
Compare the Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024) with
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5 Max, 2026)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Pro, 2024)
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M3 Pro, 2023)
HP OmniBook Ultra Flip 14-fh0047nr
Lenovo Yoga Pro 9i (16", Gen 9) 16IMH9 83DN006HGE
Dell 14 Premium DA14250 Core Ultra 7 255H OLED
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5, 2025)
ASUS ProArt PX13 (2026) HN7306EA
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5 Pro, 2026)75 of 171 fields differ
- 37 different values
- 38 known for one only
- 21 the same
- 75 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 220 laptops.
- Peak brightness (HDR, claimed)A: 1,600nitsB: 650nitsApple is 950 nits higher.
- BatteryA: 72.4WhB: 58WhApple is 14.4 Wh higher.
Weight
0 to 3 kg
Weight (published)
A1.62kg
B1.98kg
All 179 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
7 of 9 differ
Series
Model numbers
MX2G3LL/A, MX2K3LL/A, A3185, Mac16,61Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121553Read 13 October 2026Page covers M4 Pro and M4 Max. Order numbers, A3185 and Mac16,6 come from EveryMac.4Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-m4-max-14-core-cpu-32-core-gpu-14-2024-specs.htmlRead 13 October 2026Apple order number MX2G3LL/A (Silver, 36 GB and 1 TB standard configuration), MX2K3LL/A for the same configuration in Space Black, model number A3185 (EMC 8623), model ID Mac16,6.
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Not available
Announced
Status
Not available
Predecessor
Not available
Microsoft Surface Laptop Studio (RTX 3050 Ti)13Reviewengadget.com/microsofts-surface-laptop-studio-2-has-a-13th-gen-intel-cpu-and-rtx-40-series-gpu-options-152547778.htmlRead 23 October 2026Engadget calls the Surface Laptop Studio 2 the sequel to the Surface Laptop Studio and compares it to its predecessor.14Press articlepcworld.com/article/2084157/microsoft-surface-laptop-studio-2-review.htmlRead 23 October 2026PCWorld's review describes the Surface Laptop Studio 2 as the successor to the first-generation Surface Laptop Studio.
Successor
Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5 Max, 2026)18Reviewtechradar.com/computing/macbooks/the-apple-macbook-pro-m5-pro-and-m5-max-are-official-heres-whats-newRead 23 October 2026TechRadar says the MacBook Pro with M5 Pro and M5 Max replaces last year's M4 versions and compares the 14-inch M5 Max with the M4 Max model.
Not available
Launch price (US)
Not available
Markets
Colours
Segment
Chassis
2 of 6 differ
Dimensions
Width312.6Depth221.2Thickness (max)15.5mm(12.3 × 8.7 × 0.6 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121553Read 13 October 2026Size and Weight: 1.55 cm x 31.26 cm x 22.12 cm. Published centimetres converted exactly to millimetres.
Width323Depth230Thickness (max)22mm(12.7 × 9.1 × 0.9 in)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)news.microsoft.com/wp-content/uploads/prod/sites/664/2023/09/Surface-Laptop-Studio-2-Fact-Sheet.pdfRead 7 October 2026Size and Weight. Published 323 mm across the display stored as width, 230 mm front-to-back as depth, 22 mm closed height. No rounded inch conversion.
Weight (published)
Lid material
Bottom material
Max hinge angle
Not available
Not available
MIL-STD-810 testing (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Display
13 of 25 differ
Screen size
Native resolution
Pixel density
253.9ppi
200.9ppi
Panel type
Backlight
Not available
Dimming zones
Not available
Not available
Panel part number
Not available
Not available
Screen surface
Touchscreen
Refresh rate modes
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Maximum operating refresh (Hz) | VRR |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3024 | 1964 | 120 | Yes |
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Maximum operating refresh (Hz) |
|---|---|---|
| 2400 | 1600 | 120 |
Max refresh rate
120Hz
120Hz
Adaptive sync
Gray-to-gray response time (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Native panel colour depth
Not available
Not available
Brightness (SDR, claimed)
Not available
Peak brightness (SDR outdoors, claimed)
Not available
Sustained brightness (HDR, claimed)
Not available
Peak brightness (HDR, claimed)
sRGB coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Adobe RGB coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
HDR certification
Not available
Factory calibrated
Second display
Not available
Not available
Processor
9 of 14 differ
Processor
Processor brand
Core configuration
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
| Core type | Count | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 10 | 4.5 |
| Efficiency | 4 | Not available |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121553Read 13 October 2026Chip section: 10 performance cores and 4 efficiency cores. Apple publishes no clocks. The performance maximum comes from EveryMac.4Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-m4-max-14-core-cpu-32-core-gpu-14-2024-specs.htmlRead 13 October 2026Processor Speed: 4.5 GHz. EveryMac says third-party software reports this clock speed. Stored as the performance cluster maximum. No efficiency cluster clock is stored.
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
| Core type | Count | Base clock (GHz) | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Performance | 6 | 2.4 | 5 |
| Efficiency | 8 | 1.8 | 3.7 |
Source4Maker product pageintel.com/content/www/us/en/products/sku/232128/intel-core-i713700h-processor-24m-cache-up-to-5-00-ghz/specifications.htmlRead 5 October 2026Intel CPU Specifications: 6 performance and 8 efficient cores, maximum turbo 5 GHz on P cores and 3.7 GHz on E cores. Chip specifications only. Laptop configured/sustained power limits are not inferred from 45 W/115 W processor power figures.11Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.intel.com/newsroom/2023/client-computing/Intel-13th-Gen-Core-Mobile-Press-Deck.pdfRead 7 October 2026Exact i7-13700H table: six P cores, eight E cores, P max 5.0 GHz/E max 3.7 GHz, P base 2.4 GHz/E base 1.8 GHz. Chip nominal base clocks, not observed laptop sustained clocks or configured power limits.
CPU cores
14
14
Cores labelled performance
10
6
Cores labelled efficiency
4
8
Threads
Max boost clock
4.5GHz
5GHz
Process
Not available
Sustained CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Peak CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Combined CPU and GPU power
Not available
Not available
NPU performance
Not available
Not available
Graphics
7 of 9 differ
Discrete GPU
GPU
Not available
GPU brand
Not available
Dynamic Boost
Not available
Not available
GPU boost clock
Not available
GPU switching
Not available
Not available
Integrated GPU
Apple M4 Max 32-core GPU1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121553Read 13 October 2026Chip section: 32-core GPU for the 14-core CPU configuration.
Not available
Memory
3 of 9 differ
Installed RAM
RAM type
RAM speed
Not available
Memory channels
Not available
Not available
RAM upgrade
Memory slots
Not available
Not available
RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Free RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Maximum supported RAM
36GB1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121553Read 13 October 2026Memory section lists 48GB, 64GB and 128GB options only for the M4 Max with 16-core CPU. EveryMac states 36 GB is the maximum for this 14-core CPU and 32-core GPU combination.4Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-m4-max-14-core-cpu-32-core-gpu-14-2024-specs.htmlRead 13 October 2026Maximum RAM: 36 GB for this 14-core CPU and 32-core GPU configuration. Only the 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU option offers 48, 64 and 128 GB.
32GB8Owner's manualdocuments.cdn.ifixit.com/Kd3f5xXnrXUXdOMe.pdfRead 7 October 2026Complete service PCBA table lists consumer firmware-TPM RTX 4050 boards with 16 GB and 32 GB. The 64 GB boards are RTX 4060. Highest maker-supported factory option for RTX 4050 model is 32 GB. Soldered memory is not upgradable.9Maker product pagemicrosoft.com/en-ae/surface/devices/surface-laptop-studio-2Read 7 October 2026Maker regional page offers RTX 4050 or Iris Xe and explicitly up to 32 GB, with memory options 16 or 32 GB. Corroborated against US consumer sold-configuration table and maker service boards. Regional price and bundles not inherited.
Storage
5 of 7 differ
Installed storage
Storage type
Installed drive PCIe generation
Not available
Storage slots
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
Not availableBMicrosoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
| Form factor | Count | Occupied |
|---|---|---|
| M.2 2280 | 1 | Yes |
M.2 slots
Not available
1
Free storage slots
Not available
0
Maximum slot PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
Ports
3 of 7 differ
Ports
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
| Type | Version | Count | Side | Maximum data rate (Gbps) | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MagSafe | MagSafe 3 | 1 | Left | Not available | Not available | Not available |
| USB-C | Thunderbolt 5 | 2 | Left | 80 | Thunderbolt 5 | Yes |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Left | Not available | Not available | Not available |
| USB-C | Thunderbolt 5 | 1 | Right | 80 | Thunderbolt 5 | Yes |
| HDMI | HDMI 2.1 | 1 | Right | Not available | Not available | Not available |
| SD card | SDXC (UHS-II) | 1 | Right | Not available | Not available | Not available |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121553Read 13 October 2026Charging and Expansion: SDXC card slot, HDMI port, 3.5 mm headphone jack, MagSafe 3 port and three Thunderbolt 5 (USB-C) ports with charging, DisplayPort, Thunderbolt 5 up to 120Gb/s and USB 4 up to 120Gb/s. HDMI version and the SD speed class come from EveryMac. Sides come from the Tom's Hardware review of the base 14-inch model, which says the M4 Pro chassis already had three ports. The symmetric 80 Gbps rate is stored. Apple's 120 Gb/s includes Bandwidth Boost.14Reviewtomshardware.com/laptops/ultrabooks-ultraportables/macbook-pro-14-m4-2024-reviewRead 13 October 2026Review of the base 14-inch M4. Left side: two Thunderbolt ports, MagSafe and 3.5 mm headphone jack. Right side: one Thunderbolt port between the SD reader and HDMI. It says the M4 Pro chassis already had three ports. Used only for the physical port sides.
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
| Type | Version | Count | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | USB4 / Thunderbolt 4 | 2 | Thunderbolt 4 | Yes |
| USB-A | USB 3.1 | 1 | Not available | Not available |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Not available | Not available |
| Other | Surface Connect | 1 | Not available | Not available |
| microSD card | microSDXC | 1 | Not available | Not available |
USB-C ports
3
2
Thunderbolt
Yes
Yes
Highest HDMI version
HDMI 2.1
Not available
Card reader
Yes
Yes
Ethernet speed
Not available
Not available
Maximum USB-C charging input
Not available
Not available
Wireless
2 of 5 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Not available
Wi-Fi module
Not available
Not available
Bluetooth
Keyboard and touchpad
5 of 8 differ
Keyboard layouts
Key switches
Not available
Keyboard backlight
Backlit, type not stated1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121553Read 13 October 2026Backlit Magic Keyboard. The lighting type is not stated.
Not available
Pointing stick
Not available
Not available
Touchpad size
Not available
Not available
Touchpad mechanism
Camera and audio
5 of 7 differ
Webcam
IR face login
Not available
Webcam privacy
Not available
Not available
Built-in speaker drivers
Total speaker power
Not available
Not available
Audio features
Spatial Audio, Dolby Atmos, Force-cancelling woofers1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121553Read 13 October 2026Audio: wide stereo sound, Spatial Audio with Dolby Atmos.
Microphones
Battery and power
5 of 5 differ
Battery energy
Claimed battery life
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
| Use case | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Video streaming | 18 |
| Web browsing | 13 |
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
| Use case | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Mixed use | 18 |
Adapter rated output
Laptop charging connector
Cooling
1 of 4 differ
Fans
Vapor chamber
Not available
Not available
Liquid metal
Not available
Not available
Power modes
AApple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4 Max, 2024)
| Name |
|---|
| Low Power Mode |
| Automatic |
| High Power Mode |
BMicrosoft Surface Laptop Studio 2 (RTX 4050)
Not availableSecurity
2 of 4 differ
Fingerprint
Not available
Remote management
Not available
Not available
Security lock slot
Not available
Not available
Software
2 of 3 differ
Operating system
OS family
Security updates until
Not available
Not available
Measured display
None of 12 known
Brightness (measured, centre)
Not available
Not available
Brightness (measured, average)
Not available
Not available
Contrast ratio (measured)
Not available
Not available
HDR peak brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
sRGB coverage (measured)
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage (measured)
Not available
Not available
Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
Not available
Not available
PWM flicker found
Not available
Not available
PWM frequency (measured)
Not available
Not available
PWM at or below brightness
Not available
Not available
Response black to white (measured)
Not available
Not available
Response grey to grey (measured)
Not available
Not available
Measured performance
None of 8 known
Cinebench 2024 single-core
Not available
Not available
Cinebench 2024 multi-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 single-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 multi-core
Not available
Not available
3DMark Time Spy graphics
Not available
Not available
3DMark Steel Nomad
Not available
Not available
SSD sequential read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Game frame rates
Not available
Not available
Measured noise and temperature
None of 9 known
Fan noise per mode
Not available
Not available
Max fan noise
Not available
Not available
Fan noise while gaming
Not available
Not available
Top surface under load
Not available
Not available
Bottom surface under load
Not available
Not available
Palm rest under load
Not available
Not available
CPU temperature in stress test
Not available
Not available
CPU clock in stress test
Not available
Not available
GPU temperature while gaming
Not available
Not available
Measured battery and power
None of 10 known
Battery runtime per test
Not available
Not available
Wi-Fi browsing runtime
Not available
Not available
Video runtime
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Power draw idle
Not available
Not available
Power draw gaming
Not available
Not available
Power draw max
Not available
Not available
Sustained CPU power (measured)
Not available
Not available
GPU power while gaming (measured)
Not available
Not available
Weight (measured)
Not available
Not available
Certifications
2 of 6 differ
Copilot+ PC
Not available
Not available
Colour certifications
Not available
Not available
EPEAT
Other certifications
Not available
Not available
In the box
1 of 2 differ
In the box
14-inch MacBook Pro, 96W USB-C Power Adapter, USB-C to MagSafe 3 Cable (2 m)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121553Read 13 October 2026In the Box for M4 Pro 14-core or M4 Max: 14-inch MacBook Pro, 96W USB-C Power Adapter, USB-C to MagSafe 3 Cable (2 m). The polishing cloth ships only with the nano-texture option.
Surface Laptop Studio 2, Power supply, Quick start guide, Safety and warranty documents1Maker spec sheet (PDF)news.microsoft.com/wp-content/uploads/prod/sites/664/2023/09/Surface-Laptop-Studio-2-Fact-Sheet.pdfRead 7 October 2026Original consumer In the box section. NVIDIA graphics power supply, Quick start and safety/warranty documents. Slim Pen 2 sold separately, commercial bundles excluded.
Warranty
1 of 2 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Warranty service
Not available
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
news.microsoft.com/wp-content/uploads/prod/sites/664/2023/09/Surface-Laptop-Studio-2-Fact-Sheet.pdf1Maker spec sheet (PDF)news.microsoft.com/wp-content/uploads/prod/sites/664/2023/09/Surface-Laptop-Studio-2-Fact-Sheet.pdfRead 7 October 2026Original maker September 2023 consumer specification PDF. Consumer i7-13700H and selected RTX 4050 rows retained. Commercial i7-13800H and RTX 2000 Ada configurations excluded.
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Both are also in the API. Back to all laptops.