Smartwatches / Compare
Garmin fēnix 9 vs Garmin Instinct 3 Solar
Product A: Garmin
91 of 150 known
Change Garmin fēnix 9
Product B: Garmin
71 of 150 known
Change Garmin Instinct 3 Solar
55 of 141 fields differ
- 33 different values
- 22 known for one only
- 32 the same
- 54 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 101 smartwatches.
- Battery lifeA: 240hB: 672hInstinct 3 Solar is 432 h higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- Afēnix 9: 43 × 43 mm
- BInstinct 3 Solar: 45 × 45 mm
All 150 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
7 of 10 differ
Series
Model numbers
010-04761-00, 010-04761-10, 010-04761-05, 010-04762-00, 010-04762-10, 010-04763-00, 010-04763-101Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026US store SKUs for the base fēnix 9 (no Pro, no inReach, AMOLED). 43 mm: 010-04761-00 Fog Gray and 010-04761-10 Pebble Gray. 47 mm: 010-04762-00 and 010-04762-10. 51 mm: 010-04763-00 and 010-04763-10. 010-04761-05 is the Singapore SKU. Garmin UK and EU stores sell the same hardware under -01 and -11 numbers, which are not added.4Maker product pagegarmin.com.sg/products/wearables/fenix-9-43-fog-grayRead 14 October 2026Part Number 010-04761-05, fēnix 9 - 43 mm, Titanium with Fog Gray Silicone Band. Same 43 mm spec table as the US SKU.
010-02934-00, 010-02935-00, 010-02935-02, A048831Regulatory filingstatic.garmin.com/pumac/Instinct%203,%C2%A050mm,%20Solar.pdfRead 13 October 2026Garmin compliance package (Chile SUBTEL, dated 27 Feb 2026) for Instinct 3, 50mm, Solar: model A04883. The 45 mm model number is not stated in a maker document, so it is not stored.2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026US part numbers: 010-02934-00 (45 mm Solar) and 010-02935-00 and 010-02935-02 (50 mm Solar). The Solar Tactical Edition SKUs (010-02934-50, 010-02935-50) are a separately named model and are excluded. The Instinct 3 AMOLED models are a separate product.
GTIN / EAN
753759380960, 753759380984, 753759381004, 753759381028, 753759381042, 75375938106610Retailer pageabt.com/Garmin-Fenix-9-Smartwatch-43mm-Titanium-with-Fog-Gray-Silicone-Band-0100476100/p/248241.htmlRead 14 October 2026Product data for 010-04761-00 gives GTIN-13 0753759380960. Stored as the 12-digit UPC 753759380960.11Retailer pageabt.com/Garmin-Fenix-9-Smartwatch-43mm-Titanium-with-Pebble-Gray-Silicone-Band-0100476110/p/248242.htmlRead 14 October 2026Product data for 010-04761-10 gives GTIN-13 0753759380984. Stored as the 12-digit UPC 753759380984.12Retailer pageabt.com/Garmin-fenix-9-Smartwatch-47mm-in-Titanium-with-Pebble-Gray-Silicone-Band-0100476200/p/248243.htmlRead 14 October 2026Product data for 010-04762-00 gives GTIN-13 0753759381004. Stored as the 12-digit UPC 753759381004.13Retailer pageabt.com/Garmin-fenix-9-Smartwatch-47mm-in-Carbon-Gray-DLC-Titanium-with-Black-Silicone-Band-0100476210/p/248244.htmlRead 14 October 2026Product data for 010-04762-10 gives GTIN-13 0753759381028. Stored as the 12-digit UPC 753759381028.14Retailer pageabt.com/Garmin-fenix-9-GPS-Smartwatch-51mm-in-Titanium-with-Pebble-Gray-Silicone-Band-0100476300/p/248245.htmlRead 14 October 2026Product data for 010-04763-00 gives GTIN-13 0753759381042. Stored as the 12-digit UPC 753759381042.15Retailer pageabt.com/Garmin-fenix-9-Smartwatch-51mm-in-Carbon-Gray-DLC-Titanium-with-Black-Silicone-Band-0100476310/p/248246.htmlRead 14 October 2026Product data for 010-04763-10 gives GTIN-13 0753759381066. Stored as the 12-digit UPC 753759381066.
Not available
Announced
Status
Predecessor
Garmin fēnix 8 AMOLED6Press releasegarmin.com/en-US/newsroom/press-release/outdoor/garmin-expands-its-flagship-performance-smartwatch-lineup-with-fenix9-and-fenix9-proRead 14 October 2026The release says the display is twice as bright as its predecessor. The Garmin store page makes the same comparison with the fēnix 8.16Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Garmin-releases-new-high-end-smartwatch-globally-with-brighter-AMOLED-display-and-29-days-battery-life.1378019.0.htmlRead 23 October 2026Notebookcheck says the Fenix 9 directly replaces the Fenix 8.17Reviewdcrainmaker.com/2024/08/garmin-fenix-8-in-depth-review.htmlRead 23 October 2026DC Rainmaker's Fenix 8 review carries a note saying it has been replaced by the Garmin Fenix 9 AMOLED.
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
$999.996Press releasegarmin.com/en-US/newsroom/press-release/outdoor/garmin-expands-its-flagship-performance-smartwatch-lineup-with-fenix9-and-fenix9-proRead 14 October 2026fēnix 9 starts at $999.99 (US). The release gives no per-size prices. Per-size launch prices come from the5krunner.9Spec databasethe5krunner.com/specs/garmin/fenix-9Read 14 October 2026Launch prices: $999.99 for 43 and 47 mm and $1,099.99 for 51 mm. The page does not split the DLC SKUs, so launch prices are stored only for the titanium Fog Gray and Pebble Gray SKUs.
$399.992Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026Garmin US pages list 349.99 USD for 45 mm and 399.99 USD for 50 mm now. The5krunner gives launch prices of 399.99 USD for 45 mm and 449.99 USD for 50 mm. The press release says solar models start at 399.99 USD. US price excludes sales tax.3Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1316857Read 13 October 2026Current US price 399.99 USD. Not used as the launch price.5Press releasegarmin.com/en-US/newsroom/press-release/outdoor/introducing-the-instinct-3-series-from-garmin-rugged-smartwatches-now-with-amoled-displaysRead 13 October 2026Solar charging models start at 399.99 USD suggested retail.6Spec databasethe5krunner.com/specs/garmin/instinct-3-solarRead 13 October 2026Launch price 399.99 USD for 45 mm and 449.99 USD for 50 mm.
Launch price (EU)
Not available
Markets
US, SG1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 20264Maker product pagegarmin.com.sg/products/wearables/fenix-9-43-fog-grayRead 14 October 2026Singapore store page for 010-04761-05.
Not available
Colours
Titanium with Fog Gray Silicone Band, Titanium with Pebble Gray Silicone Band, Carbon Gray DLC Titanium with Black Silicone Band1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 20264Maker product pagegarmin.com.sg/products/wearables/fenix-9-43-fog-grayRead 14 October 2026
Black with Black Band, Black with Charcoal Band, Sunburst with Sunburst/Gray Band2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026SKU variation names on the 45 mm and 50 mm Solar pages.
Segment
OS updates promised
Not available
Not available
Security updates until
25 August 20287Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-GB/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-01Read 14 October 2026Specs > Security Information on the UK store page for the fēnix 9 43 mm: Security updates until at least 2028-08-25. This is a stated minimum, not a promised end date. The AU store page shows the same date.9Spec databasethe5krunner.com/specs/garmin/fenix-9Read 14 October 2026Lists Security updates until 2028-08-25, in agreement with the Garmin UK page.
Not available
Case
6 of 8 differ
Case size
Case shape
Case material
Case material (as published)
Fiber-reinforced polymer with titanium rear cover and titanium bezel1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026General > Case material and Bezel material, 43 mm page.
Fiber-reinforced polymer case with fiber-reinforced polymer/aluminum bezel2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026
Back
Titanium rear cover1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026General > Case material: titanium rear cover.
Not available
Case dimensions
Height43Width43Thickness13.8mm(1.7 × 1.7 × 0.5 in)1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026General > Physical size 43 x 43 x 13.8 mm. Exclusions such as the sensor protrusion are not stated.
Height45Width45Thickness14.9mm(1.8 × 1.8 × 0.6 in)2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026Physical size 45 x 45 x 14.9 mm. The 50 mm page lists 50 x 50 x 14.4 mm. The page gives no sensor-bump condition. The weight row is a single unqualified figure and is not stored.3Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1316857Read 13 October 2026Physical size 50 x 50 x 14.4 mm.
Weight (case only)
Not available
Weight with strap
Not available
Durability
4 of 8 differ
Water resistance
10ATM1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Watch water rating 10 ATM.5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026Specifications: water rating 10 ATM. The device withstands pressure equivalent to a depth of 100 m.
Water resistance standard
Not available
Not available
Dust and water rating
Not available
Not available
Dive rating
Not available
Max dive depth
Not available
MIL-STD-810
Yes1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Feature text: tested to U.S. military standards for thermal, shock and water resistance. The standard is not named MIL-STD-810 on this page. Stored as true to match the fēnix 8 file.4Maker product pagegarmin.com.sg/products/wearables/fenix-9-43-fog-grayRead 14 October 2026
MIL-STD-810 tests
Operating temperature
Display
9 of 14 differ
Display type
Display type (as published)
Monochrome, sunlight-visible, transflective memory-in-pixel (MIP)2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026
Screen size
Not available
Resolution
Pixel density
Not available
Not available
Display area
Not available
Not available
Touchscreen
Max refresh rate
Not available
Not available
Min refresh rate
Not available
Not available
Peak brightness
2,000nits8Reviewdcrainmaker.com/2026/09/garmin-fenix9-series-pro-inreach-solar-in-depth-review.htmlRead 14 October 2026What's New lists display brightness raised to 2,000 nits on the base model series and 3,000 nits on the Pro series. Garmin's own pages give no nit value for the base model. Peak claim, not a measurement.9Spec databasethe5krunner.com/specs/garmin/fenix-9Read 14 October 2026Lists AMOLED at about 2,000 nits, in agreement with DC Rainmaker.
Not available
Minimum brightness
Not available
Not available
Always-on display
Yes1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026The manual says the Always On Display option is available on fēnix 9/9 Pro AMOLED models.5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026Display settings: Always On Display option, available on fēnix 9/9 Pro AMOLED models only.
Not available
Display cover
Display cover (as published)
Platform
1 of 15 differ
Platform
OS at launch
Not available
Not available
Software
Not available
Not available
Latest OS
Not available
Not available
Works with
Phone requirement
Not available
Not available
App store
Voice assistants
Voice Commands, Phone Assistant1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 20265Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026Voice Commands run on the watch. The Phone Assistant uses the paired phone.
Not available
Chipset
Not available
Not available
Process
Not available
Not available
CPU cores
Not available
Not available
CPU configuration
Not available
Not available
Max CPU clock
Not available
Not available
GPU
Not available
Not available
Low-power coprocessor
Not available
Not available
Memory
1 of 2 differ
RAM
Not available
Not available
Health sensors
3 of 8 differ
Heart rate sensor
Garmin Elevate Gen 51Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Spec table names the Garmin Elevate wrist heart rate monitor. The Gen 5 name comes from DC Rainmaker.8Reviewdcrainmaker.com/2026/09/garmin-fenix9-series-pro-inreach-solar-in-depth-review.htmlRead 14 October 2026The fēnix 9 series uses Garmin's Elevate Gen5 optical heart rate sensor.
Garmin Elevate wrist heart rate monitor2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026Garmin Elevate wrist heart rate monitor. No generation is named.
ECG capability
Blood oxygen sensing
Skin temperature sensing
Not available
Blood pressure feature
Not available
Not available
Body composition sensor
Not available
Not available
Skin conductance (EDA)
Not available
Not available
Medical clearances
Not available
Not available
Motion and environment sensors
3 of 9 differ
Accelerometer
Accelerometer range
Not available
Not available
Gyroscope
Barometric altimeter
Compass
Ambient light sensor
Not available
Depth gauge
Not available
Depth gauge range
Not available
Water temperature sensor
Not available
Not available
Health and fitness
3 of 5 differ
Health features
Continuous heart rate, Heart rate alerts, ECG app, Blood oxygen app, Heart rate variability, Sleep tracking, Sleep stages, Stress tracking, Readiness score, Cycle tracking, Temperature-based ovulation1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Heart rate every second, abnormal heart rate alerts, ECG app, Pulse Ox, HRV status, sleep score and sleep stages, all-day stress, training readiness, women's health with past ovulation estimates and skin temperature. Breathing variations during sleep are not medically certified sleep apnea notifications, so that option is not stored.
Continuous heart rate, Heart rate alerts, Blood oxygen app, Heart rate variability, Sleep tracking, Stress tracking, Readiness score, Cycle tracking2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026Heart rate every second, high and low abnormal heart rate alerts, Pulse Ox, HRV status, advanced sleep, all-day stress, training readiness and women's health. No sleep stage breakdown is named.
Fitness features
VO2 max, Training load, Recovery advice, Running dynamics, Running power, Pool swim, Open water swim, Strength rep counting, Interval workouts, Route navigation, Turn-by-turn navigation, Trackback, Climb detection, Golf courses, Ski resort maps1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Spec table lists VO2 max, training load, recovery time, running dynamics, running power, open-water and pool swim metrics, automatic rep counting, improved intervals, courses with turn-by-turn directions, TracBack, trail-run auto climb and ClimbPro, 43,000 preloaded golf courses and preloaded ski resort maps. Move IQ is listed without a description, so auto workout detection is not stored. More than 100 activity profiles is not an exact count.
VO2 max, Training load, Recovery advice, Running dynamics, Running power, Pool swim, Open water swim, Strength rep counting, Interval workouts, Route navigation, Trackback, Climb detection2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026VO2 max, training load, recovery time, running dynamics, running power, pool and open water swim metrics, automatic rep counting, interval training, course guidance, TracBack and trail run auto climb. No maps and no golf course library.
Sport profiles
Not available
Not available
Dive modes
Snorkel, Scuba, single gas, Freedive1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Single-gas and APNEA modes are listed with a Bühlmann ZHL-16c model. Snorkeling is a separate activity profile, stored as in the fēnix 9 Pro file.
Not available
External sensors
Heart rate strap, Power meter, Speed and cadence, Foot pod, Smart trainer1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Spec table lists compatible HRM accessories, power meters, speed and cadence sensors, foot pod capability and smart trainer control. Metrics that need an accessory are not built-in sensors.
Heart rate strap, Power meter, Speed and cadence, Foot pod, Smart trainer2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026Specs name HRM running pace and external HRM, power meter compatible, speed and cadence sensor support, foot pod capable and smart trainer control.
Safety
0 of 6 differ
Fall detection
Not available
Not available
Car crash detection
Not available
Not available
Emergency SOS
Yes1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026The Assistance feature sends a message with a live location link to preset contacts through the paired phone. It does not call emergency services.5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026Requesting Assistance, printed page 126: on a watch without an inReach plan the watch sends an assistance message to preset contacts through the paired phone with a data plan.
Emergency siren
Not available
Not available
Live location sharing
Yes1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Safety and tracking features list Live Event Sharing and LiveTrack through the paired phone.5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026LiveTrack sends a web link to friends and family through the Garmin Connect app.
Positioning
2 of 3 differ
Positioning
Dual-band GNSS
Offline maps
Connectivity
3 of 15 differ
Bluetooth
Bluetooth version
Not available
Not available
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi standard
Not available
Not available
Cellular
No1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026No LTE or inReach hardware on the base fēnix 9. The manual limits LTE and satellite features to the fēnix 9 Pro - inReach.5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026The manual limits LTE connected features to the fēnix 9 Pro - inReach.
Network
Not available
Not available
4G bands
Not available
Not available
5G bands
Not available
Not available
NFC
Contactless payments
Yes2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026Garmin Pay is in the highlight list and the manual.4Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-2C274FD2-F0C3-445C-B0AC-700FECCE12E9/EN-US/Instinct_3_Solar_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 13 October 2026Garmin Pay section: use the watch to pay in participating locations.
Payment services
Ultra-wideband
Not available
Not available
Satellite
None1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026No satellite features on the base fēnix 9. The manual limits satellite features to the fēnix 9 Pro - inReach.5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026The manual limits satellite features to the fēnix 9 Pro - inReach.
Not available
Audio
3 of 4 differ
Speaker
Not available
Microphones
Not available
Not available
Calls on the watch
Phone only1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Bluetooth phone calling and voice assistant support. Calls use the paired phone. Messenger voice calls need the Pro.5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026Calling from the Phone App, printed page 97, needs a paired phone. Messenger calls are Pro-only.
Music on the watch
Controls
1 of 5 differ
Buttons
Named operating buttons
Upper-left button, Middle-left button, Lower-left button, Upper-right button, Lower-right button5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026Button Functions: Upper-left, Middle-left, Lower-left, Upper-right and Lower-right buttons. Band-release latches are not counted.
LIGHT / CTRL, UP / MENU, DOWN / ABC, GPS, BACK / SET4Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-2C274FD2-F0C3-445C-B0AC-700FECCE12E9/EN-US/Instinct_3_Solar_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 13 October 2026Names as printed in the Buttons section.
Crown
Rotating bezel
Gestures
Not available
Not available
Battery and charging
4 of 13 differ
Battery capacity
Not available
Not available
Claimed battery life
AGarmin fēnix 9
| Mode | With solar | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Smartwatch | No | 240 |
| Low power | No | 360 |
| GPS, automatic system selection | No | 18 |
| GPS, automatic system selection with music | No | 7 |
| GPS, dual-band | No | 15 |
| Max battery GPS | No | 49 |
| Extended GPS workout | No | 22 |
| Expedition | No | 240 |
Source1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 202643 mm column of the battery table, also on this page. Days converted to hours. Normal or Balanced activity mode is stored as automatic system selection because the manual says every satellite mode uses SatIQ to select systems dynamically. Max Accuracy is stored as dual-band because DC Rainmaker says it forces multi-band on. Max Battery, Extended and Expedition follow the maker names. Low-power is the maker's low power watch mode.5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026Battery Information, printed page 142: table for fēnix 9 with 43, 47 and 51 mm columns. Satellite Settings and Activity Power Mode Settings describe the modes.
BGarmin Instinct 3 Solar
| Mode | With solar | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Smartwatch | No | 672 |
| Low power | No | 1,560 |
| GPS | No | 40 |
| GPS | Yes | 130 |
| GPS, all systems | No | 28 |
| GPS, all systems | Yes | 50 |
| GPS, dual-band | No | 24 |
| GPS, dual-band | Yes | 40 |
| Max battery GPS | No | 100 |
| Expedition | No | 864 |
Source2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 202645 mm: smartwatch 28 days, battery saver watch mode 65 days, GPS only 40 h (130 h with solar), all satellite systems 28 h (50 h), all systems plus multi-band 24 h (40 h), max battery GPS 100 h, expedition GPS 36 days. Solar figures assume use outside in 50,000 lux. Multi-band assumes typical use with SatIQ. Unlimited with solar rows have no number and are not stored. Days are converted to hours exactly.3Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1316857Read 13 October 202650 mm: smartwatch 40 days, battery saver 100 days, GPS only 60 h (260 h with solar), all systems 40 h (80 h), multi-band 34 h (60 h), max battery GPS 150 h, expedition 60 days.4Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-2C274FD2-F0C3-445C-B0AC-700FECCE12E9/EN-US/Instinct_3_Solar_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 13 October 2026Battery Life Information table for the 45 mm and 50 mm Solar. It matches the product pages.
Smartwatch mode (claimed)
240h
672h
AOD battery life (up to)
Not available
Not available
GPS mode (claimed)
Not available
40h
Solar charging
Not available
Charging method
Charging guidance
Not available
Not available
Max charging power (watch)
Not available
Not available
Fast charging
Not available
Not available
Quick charge claim
Not available
Not available
Charge 0 to 80% (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Measured
None of 4 known
Peak brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery tests (measured)
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Strap
4 of 6 differ
Lug width
Quick-release strap
Strap system
QuickFit: 20 mm on the 43 mm case, 22 mm on the 47 mm case, 26 mm on the 51 mm case1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026QuickFit width per case size from each size page: 20 mm (43), 22 mm (47), 26 mm (51).
QuickFit, 22 mm on the 45 mm case and 26 mm on the 50 mm case2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 2026
Strap material
Strap
Strap sizes
AGarmin fēnix 9
| Size | Wrist (min) (mm) | Wrist (max) (mm) |
|---|---|---|
| Silicone band | 108 | 182 |
BGarmin Instinct 3 Solar
| Size | Wrist (min) (mm) | Wrist (max) (mm) |
|---|---|---|
| Silicone band | 137 | 204 |
Regulatory
0 of 3 differ
FCC ID
Not available
SAR limb (US)
Not available
Not available
SAR limb (EU)
Not available
Not available
Other certifications
Not available
Not available
In the box
1 of 2 differ
In the box
fēnix 9 smartwatch, Charging/data cable, Documentation1Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026Complete In the Box list. No mains or USB power adapter.
Instinct® 3 – 45 mm, Solar smartwatch with silicone band, Charging/data cable, Documentation2Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1315317Read 13 October 20263Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/1316857Read 13 October 2026Instinct 3 50 mm Solar smartwatch with silicone band, charging/data cable and documentation.
Power adapter in box
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
www.garmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-001Maker product pagegarmin.com/en-US/p/2021177/pn/010-04761-00Read 14 October 2026
Not available
Manual
www8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdf5Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-708A8F4D-9A78-49CF-9528-DE109BBCC472/EN-US/fenix_9_Series_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 14 October 2026
www8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-2C274FD2-F0C3-445C-B0AC-700FECCE12E9/EN-US/Instinct_3_Solar_OM_EN-US.pdf4Owner's manualwww8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/GUID-2C274FD2-F0C3-445C-B0AC-700FECCE12E9/EN-US/Instinct_3_Solar_OM_EN-US.pdfRead 13 October 2026Instinct 3 Solar series owner's manual. It covers the 45 mm and 50 mm Solar and the Solar Tactical Edition.
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
None of 1 known
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Not available
Not available
Both are also in the API. Back to all smartwatches.












