Headsets and headphones / Compare
JBL Live 780NC vs Marshall Milton A.N.C.
Product A: JBL
97 of 161 known
Change JBL Live 780NC
Product B: Marshall
85 of 161 known
Change Marshall Milton A.N.C.
Compare the JBL Live 780NC with
67 of 152 fields differ
- 38 different values
- 29 known for one only
- 34 the same
- 51 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 149 headsets and headphones.
- Quick chargeA: 4hB: 9.5hMarshall is 5.5 h higher.
- Driver sizeA: 40mmB: 32mmJBL is 8 mm higher.
Weight
0 to 400 g
Weight (measured)
A260g
B202g
Headset weight
A260g
B200g
All 161 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
6 of 8 differ
Series
Not available
Model numbers
LIVE 780NC, JBLLIVE780NCBLKAM, JBLLIVE780NCGRNAM, JBLLIVE780NCBLUAM, JBLLIVE780NCWHTAM, JBLLIVE780NCCPGAM2Maker product pagejbl.com/JBLLIVE780NCBLKAM.htmlRead 23 October 2026Exact regulatory model from QSG page 18. Five US sold color SKU codes are the maker color selectors. Sand selector uses CPGAM and is called Champagne in the launch release. Purple and Orange have no unverified SKU added.34Owner's manualsupport.jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwb88657e5/pdfs/LS_JBL_Live_780NC_QSG_NAM.pdfRead 23 October 2026Page 18 exact model LIVE 780NC.
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Announced
19 May 20269Press articlesoundguys.com/marshall-milton-a-n-c-headphones-launch-with-adaptive-anc-and-ldac-157560Read 15 October 2026Launch article dated 19 May 2026: available starting today through Marshall's website, retail from 27 May.10Press articlepopsci.com/gear/marshall-milton-anc-on-ear-headphones-hendrix-anniversary-new-product-announcementRead 15 October 2026Published 19 May 2026: available to buy now at marshall.com.
Status
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
Launch price (EU)
Not available
Markets
Not available
Colours
Black, Green, Blue, White, Sand, Purple, Orange2Maker product pagejbl.com/JBLLIVE780NCBLKAM.htmlRead 23 October 2026Current maker page color names. Launch named Champagne for the finish currently called Sand.
Segment
Design
3 of 7 differ
Form factor
Ear cup enclosure
Wearing style
Folding
Inward1Maker product pagemarshall.com/us/en/product/milton-ancRead 15 October 2026Foldable design: Yes. Tom's Guide says the ear cups fold inwards and Loud and Wireless says they cannot fold flat.6Reviewtomsguide.com/audio/headphones/marshall-milton-anc-reviewRead 15 October 2026The ear cups fold inwards and the headphones come with a cloth case.
Swivelling ear cups
Not available
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available
Lighting zones
Not available
Not available
Drivers and sound
8 of 20 differ
Driver type
Driver size
Drivers per side
Not available
Diaphragm material
Not available
Magnet
Not available
Not available
Frequency response (wired or passive)
Wireless audio transmission band
Not available
Not available
Impedance (passive when specified)
Sensitivity (passive when specified)
Sensitivity reference
THD (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Max input power
Not available
Not available
Max digital audio sample rate
Not available
Not available
Max digital audio bit depth
Not available
Not available
DAC
Not available
Not available
Personalised sound
Not available
Onboard EQ
Not available
Not available
Custom EQ bands
57Reviewtechradar.com/audio/wireless-headphones/marshall-milton-anc-reviewRead 15 October 2026Features: a five-band equalizer alongside a handful of presets.8Reviewexpertreviews.co.uk/technology/headphones-audio/marshall-milton-anc-reviewRead 15 October 2026A rudimentary five-band graphic equaliser.
EQ presets
Studio, Bass, Club, Extreme Bass, Vocal, Jazz8Reviewtechpp.com/2026/09/07/jbl-live-780nc-reviewRead 23 October 2026Six named playback presets in Performance section. My EQ is a user profile, not an additional factory preset.
Marshall, Bass Boost, Mid Boost, Treble Boost, Mid Reduction8Reviewexpertreviews.co.uk/technology/headphones-audio/marshall-milton-anc-reviewRead 15 October 2026Four preset EQs in addition to the default Marshall one: Bass Boost, Mid Boost, Treble Boost and Mid Reduction. Two custom slots.
Volume limit
Not available
Not available
Spatial audio
2 of 3 differ
Spatial audio support
Spatial audio licence included
Not available
Not available
Noise cancelling
4 of 10 differ
Active noise cancelling
Adaptive ANC
ANC levels
Not available
ANC attenuation (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Transparency mode
Adjustable transparency
Not available
Conversation detection
Not available
Not available
Wind noise reduction
Not available
Not available
Measured
7 of 21 differ
Frequency response notes
The lab response has strong bass emphasis and comparatively balanced mids and treble. The Studio preset reduces the bass boost.12Reviewlesnumeriques.com/casque-bluetooth/jbl-live-780c-p78011/test.htmlRead 23 October 2026Audio section discusses its measured curves. Default profile compared with Studio. Firmware and rig not stated in public article.
The reviewer's sweep shows strong bass, a slightly recessed midrange and upper mids and treble that are a little too bright, close to sibilance.13Reviewloudnwireless.com/blog/marshall-milton-anc-review-better-than-expected-but-Read 15 October 2026Frequency sweep in the review: bass is deep, mids slightly recessed, upper mids and highs a bit too bright and close to sibilance. The reviewer's target and test rig are not stated.
Bass amount
Not available
Not available
Treble amount
Not available
Not available
Deviation from target
Not available
Not available
Consistency between fittings
Not available
Not available
Harmonic distortion
Not available
Not available
Sound leakage
Not available
Not available
Measured noise isolation
Not available
Not available
Noise isolation (measured, best)
Not available
Not available
Passive isolation (measured)
Not available
Not available
Mic quality notes
Quiet-room speech is clear. Background-noise reduction reduces speech quality as noise increases. Very loud transport noise can exceed its limits.12Reviewlesnumeriques.com/casque-bluetooth/jbl-live-780c-p78011/test.htmlRead 23 October 2026Micro section evaluates quiet and noisy environments. Codec, recording rig and firmware not stated.
A recorded Google Meet call sounded scratchy and not true to life. A call outdoors on a windy day came through without wind buffeting.6Reviewtomsguide.com/audio/headphones/marshall-milton-anc-reviewRead 15 October 2026Call quality section: voice sounded scratchy and not true to life on a Google Meet call and a recording. Good wind reduction on an outdoor call.
Mic low-frequency extension
Not available
Not available
Mic high-frequency extension
Not available
Not available
Mic speech-to-noise ratio
Not available
Not available
Measured latency
AJBL Live 780NC
| Connection | Latency (ms) |
|---|---|
| Bluetooth | 150 |
BMarshall Milton A.N.C.
Not availableBluetooth latency (measured, worst)
150ms
Not available
2.4 GHz latency (measured, worst)
Not available
Not available
Measured battery life
AJBL Live 780NC
| Connection | ANC | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Bluetooth | Yes | 47.5 |
| Bluetooth | No | 75 |
BMarshall Milton A.N.C.
| Connection | ANC | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Bluetooth | No | 81 |
Battery life (measured, max)
75h
81h
Clamping force
Not available
Not available
Weight (measured)
Microphone
7 of 16 differ
Microphone
Microphone element
Not available
Not available
Microphone pickup pattern
Not available
Not available
Voice microphones
Total microphones
Not available
Mic frequency response
Not available
Not available
Mic sensitivity
Not available
Mic signal-to-noise
Not available
Not available
Mic sample rate
Not available
Not available
Mic noise reduction
Not available
Flip to mute
Not available
Not available
Mute indicator
Not available
Not available
Sidetone
Not available
Adjustable sidetone
Not available
Foam microphone windscreen
Not available
Not available
Connectivity
7 of 20 differ
Audio connections
Analog source plugs
3.5 mm TRS16Maker spec sheet (PDF)jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw67d8ecda/pdfs/JBL_Live_780NC_Specsheet_EN.pdfRead 23 October 2026QSG page 10 drawing shows stereo 3.5 mm source plug with two insulation rings.34Owner's manualsupport.jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwb88657e5/pdfs/LS_JBL_Live_780NC_QSG_NAM.pdfRead 23 October 2026Page 10 image shows two insulation rings on the stereo 3.5 mm source plug.
Cable connector on headset
Longest included cable
Headset USB plug or port
Audio over USB-C cable
Passive wired listening
No2Owner's manualassets.ctfassets.net/javen7msabdh/l6VO4po2Qf2P6X69Ba81H/f6165e8f72d8f7d023b6a957a0cba223/Marshall_Milton_OLM_R1_2_1.pdfRead 15 October 2026Connecting a 3.5 mm audio device step I: make sure the headphones are turned on. Expert Reviews says the headphones do not work passively when wired.8Reviewexpertreviews.co.uk/technology/headphones-audio/marshall-milton-anc-reviewRead 15 October 2026The headphones do not operate passively when wired. You have to switch them on.
Wireless receiver
Not available
Wireless receiver connector
Not available
Not available
Wireless range (claimed)
Not available
Bluetooth
Bluetooth codecs
SBC, AAC, LDAC, LC317Reviewlesnumeriques.com/casque-bluetooth/jbl-live-780c-p78011/test.htmlRead 23 October 2026Exact technical table lists all four codecs. LDAC and LE Audio require compatible source devices.37Press releaseprtimes.jp/aRead 23 October 2026Maker Japanese release dated March 19, 2026 page 3 exact 780NC column lists SBC, AAC, LDAC and LC3.
LE Audio
Yes2Owner's manualassets.ctfassets.net/javen7msabdh/l6VO4po2Qf2P6X69Ba81H/f6165e8f72d8f7d023b6a957a0cba223/Marshall_Milton_OLM_R1_2_1.pdfRead 15 October 2026Resetting: remove MILTON A.N.C. and MILTON A.N.C. [LE] from the Bluetooth list. The [LE] entry fits LE Audio. SoundGuys, PopSci and Wifi Hifi state Bluetooth 6.0 with LE Audio.9Press articlesoundguys.com/marshall-milton-a-n-c-headphones-launch-with-adaptive-anc-and-ldac-157560Read 15 October 2026Bluetooth 6.0 with LE Audio support and SBC, AAC, LC3 and LDAC.10Press articlepopsci.com/gear/marshall-milton-anc-on-ear-headphones-hendrix-anniversary-new-product-announcementRead 15 October 2026Bluetooth 6.0 with LE-Audio.
Auracast
Bluetooth multipoint
Multipoint devices
Paired devices remembered
Not available
Mixes 2.4 GHz and Bluetooth audio
Not available
Not available
Fast pairing
Base station
Not available
Not available
Latency
1 of 2 differ
Low latency mode
Not available
Claimed latency
Not available
Not available
Compatibility
2 of 3 differ
Compatible platforms
Windows, Android, iOS, Linux19Reviewsoundphilereview.com/reviews/jbl-live-780nc-review-52281Read 23 October 2026Reviewer explicitly tested wear detection on Linux and music from Pixel 7 Pro. QSG page 4 Windows Swift Pair. HeadphoneCheck confirms iPhone AAC.33Reviewheadphonecheck.com/test/jbl-live-780ncRead 23 October 2026Bluetooth section explicitly iPhone AAC. Mac Auracast testing used an external dongle and is not treated as native Mac Bluetooth proof.34Owner's manualsupport.jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwb88657e5/pdfs/LS_JBL_Live_780NC_QSG_NAM.pdfRead 23 October 2026Page 4 explicitly Windows 10/11 and Android.
Connection per platform
AJBL Live 780NC
| Platform | Connection |
|---|---|
| Windows | Bluetooth |
| Android | Bluetooth |
| iOS | Bluetooth |
| Linux | Bluetooth |
Source19Reviewsoundphilereview.com/reviews/jbl-live-780nc-review-52281Read 23 October 2026Only documented playback routes. Call support for each platform is not established, so microphone_works omitted.33Reviewheadphonecheck.com/test/jbl-live-780ncRead 23 October 2026iPhone playback using AAC is an explicit iOS Bluetooth path.34Owner's manualsupport.jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwb88657e5/pdfs/LS_JBL_Live_780NC_QSG_NAM.pdfRead 23 October 2026Page 4 Bluetooth pairing for Android and Microsoft Swift Pair for Windows 10/11.
BMarshall Milton A.N.C.
Not availableOfficial licence
Not available
Not available
Battery and charging
5 of 13 differ
Battery capacity
Not available
Swappable battery
Yes1Maker product pagemarshall.com/us/en/product/milton-ancRead 15 October 2026Exchangeable Battery: Yes. User-replaceable spare parts. TechRadar says the battery sits under a panel on the left ear cup.7Reviewtechradar.com/audio/wireless-headphones/marshall-milton-anc-reviewRead 15 October 2026Under the left earcup you can unscrew a panel to replace the battery.
Batteries included
Not available
Not available
Claimed battery life
AJBL Live 780NC
| Connection | ANC | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Bluetooth | No | 80 |
| Bluetooth | Yes | 50 |
BMarshall Milton A.N.C.
| Connection | ANC | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Bluetooth | Yes | 50 |
| Bluetooth | No | 80 |
Battery life (claimed, max)
80h
80h
Battery life with ANC (claimed)
50h
50h
Battery life without ANC (claimed)
80h
80h
Charging port
Full charge time
Quick charge time
Quick charge playback
Use while charging
Not available
Not available
Charging dock or stand
Not available
Not available
Controls
3 of 6 differ
Controls
Volume control
Game and chat mix
Not available
Not available
Remappable controls
Yes22Owner's manualsupport.jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwb88657e5/pdfs/LS_JBL_Live_780NC_QSG_NAM.pdfRead 23 October 2026Maker datasheet page 2 explicitly customize touch and button functions.35Maker product pagejbl.com/JBLLIVE780NCBLKAM.htmlRead 23 October 2026Customizable through the JBL Headphones app explicitly remaps touch and button functions.
Wear detection
Comfort and build
7 of 11 differ
Headband type
Headband material
Frame material
Metal headband with aluminium yokes23Reviewsoundphilereview.com/reviews/jbl-live-780nc-review-52281Read 23 October 2026Design section metal internal band and solid aluminium yokes. Not a claim that all outer surfaces are metal.
Powder-coated metal arms12Press articlewifihifi.comRead 15 October 2026Powder-coated metal arms, from the launch text.
Ear cup material
Ear pad material
Replaceable ear pads
Ear pad attachment
Not available
Twist lock2Owner's manualassets.ctfassets.net/javen7msabdh/l6VO4po2Qf2P6X69Ba81H/f6165e8f72d8f7d023b6a957a0cba223/Marshall_Milton_OLM_R1_2_1.pdfRead 15 October 2026Cleaning: remove the ear cushions by turning them anticlockwise and refit by turning clockwise to lock. TechRadar calls it bayonet locking.7Reviewtechradar.com/audio/wireless-headphones/marshall-milton-anc-reviewRead 15 October 2026The earcups use bayonet locking and screw off.
Ear pad opening
Width41.5Height60.4mm(1.6 × 2.4 in)24Maker spec sheet (PDF)jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw67d8ecda/pdfs/JBL_Live_780NC_Specsheet_EN.pdfRead 23 October 2026Page 2 exact inner height 60.4 and width 41.5 mm. Cushion height 23 mm is not usable opening depth.
Not available
Ear tips included
Not available
Not available
Dust and water rating
Not available
Not available
User-replaceable parts
Software
1 of 3 differ
Companion app
App platforms
User firmware updates
Dimensions and weight
1 of 2 differ
Headset weight
Headset dimensions
Not available
Not available
Certifications
0 of 3 differ
Hi-Res Audio
Hi-Res Audio, Hi-Res Audio Wireless28Maker spec sheet (PDF)jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw67d8ecda/pdfs/JBL_Live_780NC_Specsheet_EN.pdfRead 23 October 2026Page 1 explicitly Hi-Res Audio wired and wireless. Wired mode requires power. No inferred USB sample rate.
Hi-Res Audio, Hi-Res Audio Wireless4Maker spec sheet (PDF)assets.ctfassets.net/javen7msabdh/7LqTDh7XJGLQVU2hVArVh6/d91dda4868bd1ffaf838badcf5d057a5/Milton_ANC_-_Legal_and_safety_-_20260204_R1_5_CN.pdfRead 15 October 2026The Milton A.N.C. legal and safety leaflet describes the Hi-Res Audio logo and states that the Hi-Res Audio Wireless logo means playback with a codec certified by the Japan Audio Society. PopSci (from the launch release) calls the driver system Hi-Res Audio certified. The JAS licensee list was not checked.10Press articlepopsci.com/gear/marshall-milton-anc-on-ear-headphones-hendrix-anniversary-new-product-announcementRead 15 October 2026Custom-tuned Hi-Res Audio-certified driver system, 20 Hz to 40 kHz, sources up to 24-bit/96 kHz.
Communication certifications
Not available
Not available
FCC ID
Not available
Not available
Other certifications
Not available
Not available
In the box
2 of 3 differ
In the box
JBL Live 780NC headphones, USB Type-C to analog 3.5mm cable, Carrying pouch, Warranty/Warning, QSG29Maker spec sheet (PDF)jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw67d8ecda/pdfs/JBL_Live_780NC_Specsheet_EN.pdfRead 23 October 2026
Milton A.N.C. headphones, USB-C to 3.5 mm audio cable, USB-C charging cable, Pouch, User manual and legal and safety information1Maker product pagemarshall.com/us/en/product/milton-ancRead 15 October 2026Box contents: headphones, 3.5 mm audio cord, user manual and legal and safety information, USB-C charging cable, pouch. The manual calls the audio lead a USB-C to 3.5 mm cable.
Cables included
AJBL Live 780NC
| Type | Length (m) | Count |
|---|---|---|
| USB Type-C to analog 3.5 mm audio cable | 1.2 | 1 |
BMarshall Milton A.N.C.
| Type | Length (m) | Count |
|---|---|---|
| USB-C to 3.5 mm audio cable | 1.2 | 1 |
| USB-C charging cable | Not available | 1 |
Source8Reviewexpertreviews.co.uk/technology/headphones-audio/marshall-milton-anc-reviewRead 15 October 2026Short USB-C-to-USB-C charging cable and a coiled USB-C-to-3.5mm cable. Lengths are not published.14Reviewheadphonecheck.comRead 15 October 2026Delivery scope: USB-C to mini jack cable and USB-C to USB-C charging cable. Only the audio cable length is given.
Carrying case
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
Manual
support.jbl.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwb88657e5/pdfs/LS_JBL_Live_780NC_QSG_NAM.pdf30Maker product pagejbl.com/JBLLIVE780NCBLKAM.htmlRead 23 October 2026
assets.ctfassets.net/javen7msabdh/l6VO4po2Qf2P6X69Ba81H/f6165e8f72d8f7d023b6a957a0cba223/Marshall_Milton_OLM_R1_2_1.pdf2Owner's manualassets.ctfassets.net/javen7msabdh/l6VO4po2Qf2P6X69Ba81H/f6165e8f72d8f7d023b6a957a0cba223/Marshall_Milton_OLM_R1_2_1.pdfRead 15 October 2026Milton A.N.C. Full Online Manual, release R1.2. English section on pages 3 to 10.
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Both are also in the API. Back to all headsets and headphones.



















