SSDs / Compare
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD vs Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Product A: Lexar
22 of 63 known
Change Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Compare the Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4 with
Product B: Sandisk
Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
30 of 63 known
Change Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Compare the Lexar ES3 Portable SSD with
23 of 55 fields differ
- 14 different values
- 9 known for one only
- 4 the same
- 28 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 84 SSDs.
- Write speedA: 1,000MB/sB: 3,700MB/sSandisk is 3.7 times higher.
- Read speedA: 1,050MB/sB: 3,800MB/sSandisk is 3.6 times higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- ALexar: 50 × 10.5 mm
- BSandisk: 68.7 × 11.9 mm
Weight
0 to 150 g
All 63 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
4 of 9 differ
Series
Not available
Not available
Model numbers
LES3XXX001T-RNSNG, LES3XXX002T-RNSNG1Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 2026Part Numbers table, region Global: 1TB LES3XXX001T-RNSNG and 2TB LES3XXX002T-RNSNG. The 2TB code is printed with a space after the dash. The MSRP of $179.99 sits in the 2TB row
GTIN / EAN
Announced
Status
Available1Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 2026The Americas page lists the drive with capacities 1TB and 2TB and a Where to buy link to Amazon3Press releaseamericas.lexar.com/news/lexar-announces-two-portable-ssdsdesigned-to-improve-efficiencyRead 20 October 2026The ES3 is available now
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
From $179.991Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 20263Press releaseamericas.lexar.com/news/lexar-announces-two-portable-ssdsdesigned-to-improve-efficiencyRead 20 October 2026
$279.993Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026Spec table price $279 (2TB) and $429 (4TB), which are Amazon prices at review time and not stated as MSRP6Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd-reviewRead 14 October 2026Review of 3 May 2025 states MSRP $279.99 US for the 2TB and 429.99 US for the 4TB. No maker page states a price7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026Asking price $279.99 (2TB) and $429.99 (4TB) in the US at review time
Launch price (EU)
Not available
Not available
Markets
Not available
Not available
Form factor
Capacity
Interface
1 of 5 differ
Interface
USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps)1Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 2026Specifications, Interface: USB 3.2 Gen 22Maker product pagelexar.com/global/products/Lexar-ES3-Portable-SSDRead 20 October 2026Lexar global page product data: Interface Protocol USB 3.2 Gen 2
PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
PCIe lanes
Not available
Not available
NVMe version
Not available
Not available
Detachable cable
Yes3Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026The cable is a separate item in the box and the drive has a USB-C port7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026The cable is separate from the drive. No USB-A adapter is included
Hardware
None of 7 known
Controller
Not available
Not available
Flash type
Not available
Not available
Flash memory
Not available
Not available
Flash layers
Not available
Not available
DRAM cache
Not available
Not available
DRAM cache size
Not available
Not available
Component sides
Not available
Not available
Performance
2 of 4 differ
Sequential read (claimed)
1,050MB/s1Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 2026Performance: up to 1050MB/s read. Footnote: speeds based on internal testing and actual speed may vary depending on host device. No host or tool is named. The same figure applies to 1TB and 2TB2Maker product pagelexar.com/global/products/Lexar-ES3-Portable-SSDRead 20 October 2026Speed: up to 1050MB/s read3Press releaseamericas.lexar.com/news/lexar-announces-two-portable-ssdsdesigned-to-improve-efficiencyRead 20 October 2026Read speeds reaching 1050MB/s for the SL300 and the ES3, based on internal testing
Sequential write (claimed)
1,000MB/s1Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 2026Performance: up to 1000MB/s write, same footnote2Maker product pagelexar.com/global/products/Lexar-ES3-Portable-SSDRead 20 October 2026Speed: up to 1000MB/s write3Press releaseamericas.lexar.com/news/lexar-announces-two-portable-ssdsdesigned-to-improve-efficiencyRead 20 October 2026Write speeds of 1000MB/s, same footnote
Random 4K read (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K write (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Endurance and reliability
1 of 3 differ
Endurance (TBW)
Not available
Not available
MTBF or MTTF (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Operating temperature
Min0Max50°C1Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 2026Operating Temperature 0 C to 50 C. The storage range of -40 C to 85 C is not stored2Maker product pagelexar.com/global/products/Lexar-ES3-Portable-SSDRead 20 October 2026Operating Temperature 0 C to 50 C (32 F to 122 F)
Power
None of 6 known
Power while reading (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Power while writing (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Max power consumption (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Average power in light use (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Sleep power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Measured
6 of 9 differ
Sequential write (measured)
Not available
Random 4K read at queue depth 1 (measured)
Not available
Random 4K write at queue depth 1 (measured)
Not available
Write cache size (measured)
Not available
Not available
3DMark Storage Benchmark
Not available
Highest temperature under load (measured)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (measured)
Not available
Not available
Cooling and build
1 of 4 differ
Heatsink
Not available
Not available
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available
Dust and water rating
Not available
IP653Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026Text says SanDisk states an IP65 rating for water resistance7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026Says SanDisk tested the drive to IEC 60529 IP65, where it withstood water flow (30 kPa) for 3 minutes
Drop test height
2m1Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 2026The row labelled Ingress Protection Rating reads 2-meter anti-drop, so it is a drop rating and not an IP rating. Footnote: internal testing under controlled conditions, actual drop resistance may vary, and damage caused by drops is not covered under warranty. The surface is not named2Maker product pagelexar.com/global/products/Lexar-ES3-Portable-SSDRead 20 October 20262-meter anti-drop, internal testing3Press releaseamericas.lexar.com/news/lexar-announces-two-portable-ssdsdesigned-to-improve-efficiencyRead 20 October 2026Drop resistance up to 2 meters
2m3Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026Text says SanDisk says the drive should survive drops up to two meters. The surface is not stated7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026Says the drive can survive a fall of 2 meters, and the claim does not detail what it fell onto
Security and software
2 of 2 differ
Security
Not available
AES 256-bit hardware encryption, Password protection6Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd-reviewRead 14 October 2026States the drive supports hardware encryption. The review gives no key length7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026Spec table Encryption row reads Hardware. Text says the drive supports hardware encryption8Press articlechargerlab.com/sandisk-unveils-extreme-pro-usb4-portable-ssd-high-speed-durable-storage-up-to-4tbRead 14 October 2026Reads 256-bit AES hardware encryption with password protection. No maker document for this model confirms it, and TechRadar and TheSSDReview confirm hardware encryption
Software
Compatibility
1 of 1 differ
Platforms
Dimensions and weight
2 of 2 differ
Dimensions
Length100.6Width50Height10.5mm(4 × 2 × 0.4 in)2Maker product pagelexar.com/global/products/Lexar-ES3-Portable-SSDRead 20 October 2026Module Size 100.6mm x 50mm x 10.5mm. The axes are not named, so 100.6 is the length, 50 the width and 10.5 the thickness. The Americas page gives no size. The Lexar SL300 has the same size
Length140Width68.7Height11.9mm(5.5 × 2.7 × 0.5 in)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Product Dimensions row reads 5.51 x 2.70 x 0.47 in | 140.00 x 68.70 x 11.90 mm. Tom's Hardware prints 140 x 68.58 x 11.94 mm, which is the same size in inches
Weight
In the box
2 of 2 differ
In the box
USB Type-C and USB Type-A all in one cable1Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 2026Included Accessories: USB Type-C and USB Type-A all in one cable
Cables included
ALexar ES3 Portable SSD
| Type | Count |
|---|---|
| 2-in-1 USB-C/USB-A cable | 1 |
BSandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
| Type | Length (m) | Count |
|---|---|---|
| USB-C to USB-C | 0.28 | 1 |
Source3Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026Roughly 11-inch USB-C-to-USB-C cable, which is about 28 cm. TechRadar says the cable is 28cm long and TheSSDReview says 12 inches6Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd-reviewRead 14 October 202612-inch USB4 Type-C to Type-C cable that also powers the drive7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026The 28cm long USB-C cable is the only accessory
Links
Not compared
Product page
americas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssd1Maker product pageamericas.lexar.com/product/lexar-es3-portable-ssdRead 20 October 2026
www.sandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd2Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssdRead 14 October 2026The SanDisk product page loads its content with scripts, so only its title (2TB SanDisk Extreme PRO with USB4) could be read. The data sheet and reviews carry the specs
Spec sheet
Not available
documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd.pdf1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Two-page SanDisk data sheet for the Extreme PRO with USB4, copyright 2024, hosted on documents.sandisk.com
Manual
Not available
Not available
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)

















