SSDs / Compare
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V2) vs Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Product A: Sandisk
26 of 63 known
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO
Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
Western Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Kingston XS2000
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Change Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V2)
Compare the Sandisk Portable SSD (E30) with
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO
Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
Western Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Kingston XS2000
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)Product B: Sandisk
20 of 63 known
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Kingston XS2000
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
OWC Envoy Ultra
Change Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Compare the Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V2) with
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Kingston XS2000
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
OWC Envoy Ultra17 of 55 fields differ
- 9 different values
- 8 known for one only
- 5 the same
- 33 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 84 SSDs.
- Read speedA: 1,050MB/sB: 800MB/sExtreme Portable SSD (V2) is 250 MB/s higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AExtreme Portable SSD (V2): 52.4 × 9 mm
- BPortable SSD (E30): 46.9 × 9.9 mm
All 63 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
5 of 9 differ
Series
Not available
Model numbers
SDSSDE61-500G-G25, SDSSDE61-1T00-G25, SDSSDE61-1T00-G25B, SDSSDE61-1T00-G25M, SDSSDE61-2T00-G25, SDSSDE61-2T00-G25B, SDSSDE61-2T00-G25M, SDSSDE61-4T00-G25, SDSSDE61-4T00-G25B, SDSSDE61-4T00-G25M, SDSSDE61-8T00-G251Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026Model Numbers table: 500GB SDSSDE61-500G-G25. 1TB, 2TB and 4TB each have G25, G25B (Sky Blue) and G25M (Monterey Blue). 8TB SDSSDE61-8T00-G25
GTIN / EAN
619659182588, 619659182557, 619659204778, 619659205157, 619659184674, 619659205058, 619659205041, 619659184704, 619659204754, 619659205027, 6196592089981Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026UPCs are in the page's SKU data. 500GB 619659182588. 1TB 619659182557, 619659204778 (G25B), 619659205157 (G25M). 2TB 619659184674, 619659205058, 619659205041. 4TB 619659184704, 619659204754, 619659205027. 8TB 619659208998
619659204877, 6196592048533Retailer pageshop.cisilion.com/sandisk-sdssde30-1t00-g26-external-solid-state-drive-1-tb-usb-type-c-3-2-gen-2-3-1-gen-2-black-sdssde30-1t00-g26.htmlRead 15 October 2026EAN 0619659204877 for SDSSDE30-1T00-G26, stored without the leading zero. eBay lists the same UPC4Retailer pageshop.cisilion.com/sandisk-sdssde30-2t00-g26-external-solid-state-drive-2-tb-usb-type-c-3-2-gen-2-3-1-gen-2-black-sdssde30-2t00-g26.htmlRead 15 October 2026EAN 0619659204853 for SDSSDE30-2T00-G26, stored without the leading zero
Announced
30 September 20203Reviewstoragereview.com/review/sandisk-extreme-portable-ssd-v2-reviewRead 15 October 202630 September 2020, the launch day named in the review4Reviewlegitreviews.com/sandisk-extreme-portable-ssd-v2-1tb-review_222422Read 15 October 202630 September 2020
Not available
Status
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)6Press releasesandisk.com/en-us/company/newsroom/press-releases/2026/2026-02-24-sandisk-introduces-next-generation-portable-ssd-portfolio-to-support-faster-more-demanding-workflows-and-ai-developed-contentRead 23 October 2026Sandisk says the new Extreme Portable SSD has nearly twice the speed of its predecessor.7Reviewtechradar.com/computing/storage-backup/the-sandisk-extreme-1tb-is-one-of-our-favorite-portable-rugged-ssds-ever-fast-sleek-and-now-with-a-usd60-discountRead 23 October 2026TechRadar says the newer Extreme Portable SSD at 2000 MB/s is a jump over the 1050 MB/s previous generation of the same drive.
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)5Retailer pagebhphotovideo.com/c/replacement_for/1773430-REG/sandisk_sdssde30_2t00_g26_e30_2tb_800mb_s_portable.htmlRead 21 October 2026B&H marks the 2TB SDSSDE30-2T00-G26 as discontinued and lists the SDSSDE31-2T00-G25, the SANDISK Portable SSD V3, as its replacement. Sandisk's own store still sells the drive, so the status stays available6Press articlenotebookcheck.com/Sandisk-E31-Kompakte-SSD-mit-bis-zu-2-TB-und-drei-Jahren-Garantie-startet-weltweit.1403869.0.htmlRead 21 October 2026Notebookcheck article of 20 September 2026 on the Portable SSD (V3) calls it lighter by about 8 g than its predecessor (33.2 g against 40 g), about 200 MB/s faster (1,000 against 800 MB/s) and with a fixed eyelet in place of the predecessor's rubber hook. Those values match this drive. The article does not name the E30
Launch price (EU)
Not available
Not available
Markets
Not available
Not available
Colours
Black, Sky Blue, Monterey Blue1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026Model Numbers table labels Black, Sky Blue and Monterey Blue. 500GB and 8TB are listed in black only
Not available
Form factor
Capacity
500 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB, 4 TB, 8 TB1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026Capacity selector lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB, 4TB and 8TB. Footnote 1: 1TB is 1,000,000,000,000 bytes. The 2023 datasheet lists only 500GB to 4TB2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Available capacities row reads 500GB, 1TB, 2TB, 4TB. The product page adds 8TB
1 TB, 2 TB1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-usb-3-2-ssdRead 15 October 2026Specifications show 1TB and 2TB for the G26 model numbers2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026
Interface
0 of 5 differ
Interface
USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps)1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026Interface highlight reads USB 3.2 Gen 22Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Interface row reads USB 3.2 Gen 23Reviewstoragereview.com/review/sandisk-extreme-portable-ssd-v2-reviewRead 15 October 2026Specifications table: USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gb/s), backward compatible with USB 3.2 Gen 1, USB Type-C connection
USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps)1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-usb-3-2-ssdRead 15 October 2026Interface row reads USB 3.2 Gen 2, connector USB-C. The page names no USB bridge or flash controller2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026
PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
PCIe lanes
Not available
Not available
NVMe version
Not available
Not available
Detachable cable
Hardware
None of 7 known
Controller
Not available
Not available
Flash type
Not available
Not available
Flash memory
Not available
Not available
Flash layers
Not available
Not available
DRAM cache
Not available
Not available
DRAM cache size
Not available
Not available
Component sides
Not available
Not available
Performance
2 of 4 differ
Sequential read (claimed)
1,050MB/s1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026Footnote 2: up to 1050MB/s read based on internal testing. Test system: ASUS ROG STRIX Z270E GAMING with an ASMedia USB 3.1 Gen 2 controller, 1TB WD_Black SN750 NVMe, Intel Core i7-7700, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit. Performance may be lower depending on host device, interface and usage. The same figure is shown for every capacity2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Up to 1050MB/s read. Based on internal testing, host not named in the datasheet
800MB/s1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-usb-3-2-ssdRead 15 October 2026Sequential Read Performance 800MB/s. Footnote on the page and in the datasheet says up to 800MB/s read, write speeds lower, based on internal testing. No write speed is published2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Footnote: 1TB-2TB up to 800MB/s read speed, 480GB up to 520MB/s. Write speeds lower. Based on internal testing. 1MB=1,000,000 bytes
Sequential write (claimed)
1,000MB/s1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026Footnote 2: up to 1000MB/s write, same test system. The same figure is shown for every capacity2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Up to 1000MB/s write
Not available
Random 4K read (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K write (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Endurance and reliability
0 of 3 differ
Endurance (TBW)
Not available
Not available
MTBF or MTTF (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Operating temperature
Min0Max45°C2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Operating temperature 0 to 45 C. Storage range of -20 to 85 C is not stored3Reviewstoragereview.com/review/sandisk-extreme-portable-ssd-v2-reviewRead 15 October 20260 to 45 C
Min0Max45°C1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-usb-3-2-ssdRead 15 October 2026Operating Temperature row reads 0°C to 45°C. Non-operating -20°C to 85°C is not stored2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Operating temperature 0°C to 45°C
Power
None of 6 known
Power while reading (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Power while writing (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Max power consumption (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Average power in light use (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Sleep power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Measured
None of 9 known
Sequential read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Sequential write (measured)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K read at queue depth 1 (measured)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K write at queue depth 1 (measured)
Not available
Not available
Write cache size (measured)
Not available
Not available
Write speed after the cache (measured)
Not available
Not available
3DMark Storage Benchmark
Not available
Not available
Highest temperature under load (measured)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (measured)
Not available
Not available
Cooling and build
2 of 4 differ
Heatsink
Not available
Not available
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available
Dust and water rating
IP651Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026Footnote 5: IEC 60529 IP65, tested to withstand water flow (30 kPa) for 3 minutes, and limited dust contact does not interfere with operation. The 2020 launch coverage says IP55, and the maker's current page and datasheet say IP652Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Durability row reads IP65 rated for water and dust resistance
Not available
Drop test height
3m1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026Up to three-meter drop protection, based on internal testing. The 2020 launch coverage says two meters. Surface and conditions are not stated2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Up to three-meter drop protection, based on internal testing
2m1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-usb-3-2-ssdRead 15 October 2026Page text says up to two-meter drop protection. The datasheet footnote says based on internal testing. Surface and conditions are not stated2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Highlights say up to two-meter drop protection, footnote 3 says based on internal testing. The datasheet also lists shock resistance up to 1500G, which has no field
Security and software
2 of 2 differ
Security
AES 256-bit hardware encryption, Password protection1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026Page says included password protection featuring 256-bit AES hardware encryption. Footnote 4: password protection is supported by Windows 8, Windows 10 and macOS v10.9+ and does not work with USB Type-C smartphones2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Highlights read hardware encryption. Footnote 2: password protection uses 256-bit AES encryption
Not available
Software
Compatibility
1 of 1 differ
Platforms
Dimensions and weight
2 of 2 differ
Dimensions
Length96.9Width46.9Height9.91mm(3.8 × 1.8 × 0.4 in)2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Row reads 3.81 x 1.85 x 0.39 in. (96.90 x 46.90 x 9.91 mm). The row is labelled H x W x L but 96.9 mm is the long side, so it is stored as length. Cisilion's feed gives the same three values
Weight
Not available
40g(1.4 oz)1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-usb-3-2-ssdRead 15 October 2026Weight row reads 40gms3Retailer pageshop.cisilion.com/sandisk-sdssde30-1t00-g26-external-solid-state-drive-1-tb-usb-type-c-3-2-gen-2-3-1-gen-2-black-sdssde30-1t00-g26.htmlRead 15 October 2026Weight 40 g, matching the maker's page
In the box
2 of 2 differ
In the box
USB-C to USB-C Cable, USB-C to USB-A Adapter, Safety and Warranty Guide1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 2026In The Box reads USB-C to USB-C Cable, USB-C to USB-A Adapter, Safety and Warranty Guide3Reviewstoragereview.com/review/sandisk-extreme-portable-ssd-v2-reviewRead 15 October 2026Inside the box: the drive, a USB Type-C to USB Type-C cable and a USB Type-C to USB Type-A adapter
SanDisk Portable SSD, USB-C to USB-A Cable, Safety and Warranty Guide1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-usb-3-2-ssdRead 15 October 2026In The Box rows, verbatim
Cables included
ASandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V2)
| Type | Count |
|---|---|
| USB-C to USB-C | 1 |
BSandisk Portable SSD (E30)
| Type | Count |
|---|---|
| USB-C to USB-A | 1 |
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdf2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Data Sheet: SanDisk Extreme Portable SSD, dated 4/23, two pages. It is the maker's current datasheet for the V2
documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-usb-3-2-ssd.pdf2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026
Manual
Not available
Not available
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
5years1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/portable-ssd-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2Read 15 October 20265-year limited warranty2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 20265-year limited warranty in the US and 5 years in the rest of the world
3years1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-usb-3-2-ssdRead 15 October 2026Specifications row reads 3-Year Limited Warranty2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/usb-3-2-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-usb-3-2-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Warranty 3-year limited (US only) and 3-year (rest of world)