Earbuds / Compare
Skullcandy Method 540 ANC vs soundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max
Product A: Skullcandy
59 of 166 known
Change Skullcandy Method 540 ANC
Compare the soundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max with
Product B: soundcore
97 of 166 known
Change soundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max
81 of 157 fields differ
- 34 different values
- 47 known for one only
- 16 the same
- 60 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 138 earbuds.
- Quick chargeA: 2hB: 4hsoundcore is 2 h higher.
- Playback per charge with ANC (claimed)A: 9hB: 6.5hSkullcandy is 2.5 h higher.
- With caseA: 40hB: 50hsoundcore is 10 h higher.
- Total with case and ANC (claimed)A: 32hB: 28hSkullcandy is 4 h higher.
Weight
0 to 80 g
Weight per bud
A11g
B5.5g
All 166 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
7 of 8 differ
Series
Model numbers
S2MFW-T001, S2MFW-T987, S2MFW-T7401Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Store product data SKUs: S2MFW-T001 Bone, S2MFW-T987 Primer, S2MFW-T740 True Black.2Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbuds.jsonRead 15 October 2026Store product data SKUs for the three colours.
D1204, D1204Z11, D1204ZB1, D1204G11, D1204GB11Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/products/d1204-liberty-5-pro-max-ai-recording-earbudsRead 14 October 2026US store SKUs D1204Z11 and D1204ZB1. D1204 is the base model on the EU declaration. The EU store uses D1204G11 and D1204GB1. Anker Japan uses D1204N11 and D1204NB1, which are not stored.2Maker product pageeu.soundcore.com/products/d1204-liberty-5-pro-max-ai-recording-earbuds.jsonRead 14 October 2026EU store SKUs D1204G11 (Midnight Black) and D1204GB1 (Titanium Gold).15Regulatory filingsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000035681/en_US/000035681.pdfRead 14 October 2026Declaration names the product soundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max and model D1204.
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Announced
8 January 20268Press articletechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandys-new-earbuds-put-ai-in-your-ears-but-theres-a-catchRead 15 October 2026Article dated 8 January 2026: the newly launched Method 540 ANC.9Reviewtechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandy-method-540-reviewRead 15 October 2026Review: unveiled on January 8, 2026 at the annual CES tech conference.
Status
Available1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Store page has an Add to cart button at 149.99 USD.8Press articletechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandys-new-earbuds-put-ai-in-your-ears-but-theres-a-catchRead 15 October 2026Available now in the US per the article.
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
$149.991Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026US store price 149.99 USD, the same as the launch reporting. Excludes sales tax.8Press articletechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandys-new-earbuds-put-ai-in-your-ears-but-theres-a-catchRead 15 October 2026Available now in the US for 149.99 USD.
$229.991Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/products/d1204-liberty-5-pro-max-ai-recording-earbudsRead 14 October 2026US store price $229.99. The maker comparison page gives $229.99 MSRP as of May 2026. Excludes sales tax.17Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-vs-5-pro-vs-5-vs-4-proRead 14 October 2026Quick comparison table, Liberty 5 Pro Max column: MSRP $229.99. Prices stated as MSRP as of May 2026.24Reviewtomsguide.com/audio/earbuds/soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-reviewRead 14 October 2026Review: $229 at Amazon US at launch, and 199 GBP in the UK.
Launch price (EU)
Not available
€249.992Maker product pageeu.soundcore.com/products/d1204-liberty-5-pro-max-ai-recording-earbuds.jsonRead 14 October 2026EU store price 249.99 matches the German maker blog UVP. The EU store listing was published on 12 August 2026, so the German blog gives the launch evidence.18Maker product pagede.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/liberty-5-vs-liberty-5-pro-vs-liberty-5-pro-maxRead 14 October 2026German maker blog dated 22 May 2026: Preis (UVP) 249.99 EUR for the Liberty 5 Pro Max, with launch promotions in Germany from 21 May. German price, VAT included as published.
Markets
US, GB, EU, CA1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026US store. The UK, EU and Canada stores list the same three SKUs in their product data.3Maker product pageskullcandy.co.uk/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbuds.jsonRead 15 October 2026UK store product data lists the same SKUs, priced in GBP. GBP is not stored.4Maker product pageskullcandy.eu/en-de/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbuds.jsonRead 15 October 2026EU store product data lists the same SKUs, priced in EUR. No launch price source was found for the EU, so no EUR price is stored.5Maker product pageskullcandy.ca/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbuds.jsonRead 15 October 2026Canada store product data lists the same SKUs, priced in CAD.
US, EU1Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/products/d1204-liberty-5-pro-max-ai-recording-earbudsRead 14 October 2026US store. The EU store is a second maker source for the EU market.2Maker product pageeu.soundcore.com/products/d1204-liberty-5-pro-max-ai-recording-earbuds.jsonRead 14 October 2026EU store product data lists the Liberty 5 Pro Max with SKUs D1204G11 and D1204GB1.
Colours
Bone, Primer, True Black1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Colour selector: Bone, Primer and True Black. TechRadar saw only black and white at its review time.2Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbuds.jsonRead 15 October 2026Store product data: option values Bone, Primer and True Black.
Segment
Design
1 of 4 differ
Form factor
Bud shape
Use one bud alone
Either bud3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Controls table has a Using Single Earbud column. The support FAQ says either the left or the right earbud can be used alone.8Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/Can-I-use-a-single-soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-left-right-earbud-independently-Can-it-output-stereo-soundRead 14 October 2026FAQ: the left or the right earbud can be used independently and still outputs stereo sound.
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available
Drivers and sound
9 of 17 differ
Drivers per bud
ASkullcandy Method 540 ANC
| Diameter (mm) |
|---|
| 12 |
Source1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Technical Specifications: Driver Diameter 12mm. The page does not state the driver type, the role or the count per earbud.9Reviewtechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandy-method-540-reviewRead 15 October 2026Review: 12mm drivers with tuning by Bose.
Bsoundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max
| Type | Role | Diameter (mm) | Count per earbud |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dynamic | Full range | 9.2 | 1 |
Driver type
Not available
Driver size
12mm
9.2mm
Drivers per bud
Not available
1
Diaphragm material
Not available
Not available
Frequency response
Impedance
Sensitivity
Not available
Not available
Sensitivity reference
Not available
Not available
Max sample rate
Not available
Not available
Max bit depth
Not available
Not available
Adaptive EQ
Not available
Not available
Personalised sound
Not available
Onboard EQ
Not available
Not available
Custom EQ bands
EQ presets
Music, Bass Boost, Podcast1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Feature list: 3 Preset EQ modes (Music, Bass Boost and Podcast). The help page adds a Custom mode, which is not stored as a preset.6Owner's manualskullcandy.com/blogs/product-help/method-540-ancRead 15 October 2026Preset EQ section lists Music, Bass Boost, Podcast and Custom. One sentence also names movies, which the list does not. Custom is not stored as a preset.
soundcore Signature, Clear Vocals, Powerful Bass, Calm and Soothing, Balanced for Pure Enjoyment3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Sound Effects lists five presets. SoundGuys counts four presets in its review. The guide list is used. Custom slots are excluded.
Volume limit
Not available
Not available
Spatial audio
2 of 2 differ
Spatial audio
Not available
Dolby Audio3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Dolby Audio section. The maker German page calls it Dolby Atmos with head tracking.18Maker product pagede.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/liberty-5-vs-liberty-5-pro-vs-liberty-5-pro-maxRead 14 October 2026The page names Dolby Atmos with head tracking. The user guide names Dolby Audio, which is the stored name.
Head tracking
Not available
Yes3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Dolby Audio section, Music Mode: Head Tracking makes surround sound follow head movement. Fixed mode is spatial audio without head tracking.18Maker product pagede.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/liberty-5-vs-liberty-5-pro-vs-liberty-5-pro-maxRead 14 October 2026The page states Dolby Atmos with head tracking.
Noise cancelling
6 of 11 differ
Active noise cancelling
ANC type
Hybrid18Maker product pagede.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/liberty-5-vs-liberty-5-pro-vs-liberty-5-pro-maxRead 14 October 2026Adaptive ANC 4.0 uses 8 sensors that monitor ambient noise and residual noise in the ear canal in real time. External plus in-ear sensing is stored as hybrid. The maker does not use the word hybrid.20Press releaseprnewswire.com/apac/news-releases/earbuds-that-think-anker-unveils-soundcore-liberty-5-pro-and-liberty-5-pro-max-with-ankers-first-neural-net-chip-302780254.htmlRead 14 October 2026Launch release: Adaptive ANC 4.0 monitors external and residual in-ear noise.
ANC microphones in both earbuds
Not available
Adaptive ANC
Not available
Yes3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Ambient Sound section: Adaptive mode tunes noise cancellation to the environment.17Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-vs-5-pro-vs-5-vs-4-proRead 14 October 2026Table: ANC 4.0 with 10 sensors on the Thus AI chip.
ANC levels
Not available
ANC attenuation (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Transparency mode
Adjustable transparency
Yes1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Feature list: Adjustable Stay-Aware Mode. The help page describes a slider in the app.6Owner's manualskullcandy.com/blogs/product-help/method-540-ancRead 15 October 2026Adjustable ANC and Stay-Aware section: a slider in the app sets the Stay-Aware level.
Not available
Automatic ANC and transparency blend
Not available
Not available
Conversation detection
Not available
Wind noise reduction
Not available
Measured
2 of 23 differ
Frequency response notes (measured)
Not available
The default tuning is bass-forward. The reviewer found that ANC changes the sound and that the highest custom EQ band does not reach far enough to restore treble brilliance.23Reviewsoundguys.com/anker-soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-review-more-case-more-features-157579Read 14 October 2026Reviewer listening notes on a unit supplied by the maker, one-week test. Codec, firmware and target curve are not reported. No numeric bass or treble value is stored.
Bass amount (measured)
Not available
Not available
Treble amount (measured)
Not available
Not available
Deviation from target (measured)
Not available
Not available
Consistency between fittings (measured)
Not available
Not available
Harmonic distortion (measured)
Not available
Not available
Sound leakage (measured)
Not available
Not available
Noise isolation (measured)
Not available
Not available
Noise isolation, best (measured)
Not available
Not available
Passive isolation (measured)
Not available
Not available
Call quality notes (measured)
Not available
Voices were clear in ideal conditions with occasional pops or crackles. Noise rejection was a slight step up from the Liberty 5 Pro. Wind noise was mostly suppressed and speech took on a slightly reverberant quality.23Reviewsoundguys.com/anker-soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-review-more-case-more-features-157579Read 14 October 2026Reviewer ideal, office, street, wind and reverberant tests. Phone, codec and firmware are not reported. No numeric microphone value is stored.
Mic low-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
Mic high-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
Mic speech-to-noise ratio (measured)
Not available
Not available
Latency (measured)
Not available
Not available
Bluetooth latency, worst (measured)
Not available
Not available
2.4 GHz latency, worst (measured)
Not available
Not available
Latency in game mode (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (measured)
Not available
Not available
Longest tested use per charge
Not available
Not available
Battery life with case (measured)
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Weight per bud (measured)
Not available
Not available
Microphones and calls
4 of 7 differ
Voice microphones in both earbuds
Not available
All microphones in both earbuds
Not available
Bone conduction voice sensor
Not available
Yes1Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/products/d1204-liberty-5-pro-max-ai-recording-earbudsRead 14 October 2026Page text: 10 sensors with the Thus AI chip. The launch release names two bone conduction sensors.20Press releaseprnewswire.com/apac/news-releases/earbuds-that-think-anker-unveils-soundcore-liberty-5-pro-and-liberty-5-pro-max-with-ankers-first-neural-net-chip-302780254.htmlRead 14 October 2026Launch release: two bone conduction sensors detect the vibration of the speaker's cranial bones.
Mic noise reduction
AI1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Feature list: Clear Voice Smart Mic. The help page says it uses artificial intelligence to isolate the speaker's voice.6Owner's manualskullcandy.com/blogs/product-help/method-540-ancRead 15 October 2026Clear Voice Smart Mic section: artificial intelligence isolates the speaker's voice and reduces background noise.
Call audio bandwidth
Not available
Not available
Mic mute control
Not available
Not available
Connectivity
5 of 18 differ
Chip
Not available
Connections
Bluetooth
6.13Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Specs: BT 6.1.4Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/ca/product-description/a08e200000QplFqAAJRead 14 October 2026Spec list: BT 6.1.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: earbuds and case both use Bluetooth 6.1.17Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-vs-5-pro-vs-5-vs-4-proRead 14 October 2026Table: Bluetooth 6.1.
Bluetooth codecs
Not available
SBC, AAC, LDAC3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026The LDAC section covers LDAC. The support FAQ lists AAC, SBC and LDAC.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: AAC, SBC and LDAC.17Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-vs-5-pro-vs-5-vs-4-proRead 14 October 2026Table: SBC, AAC, LDAC.
Bluetooth profiles
Not available
Not available
LE Audio
Not available
Not available
Auracast
Not available
Not available
Multipoint
Yes1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Feature list: Multipoint Pairing.6Owner's manualskullcandy.com/blogs/product-help/method-540-ancRead 15 October 2026Multipoint Pairing section: pair with two devices at once, but they do not play simultaneously.10Reviewsoundguys.com/skullcandy-method-540-anc-gets-skull-ai-151116Read 15 October 2026News article: Bluetooth multipoint.
Multipoint devices
33Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Default 2 simultaneous devices, maximum 3.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: connection to up to 3 devices.23Reviewsoundguys.com/anker-soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-review-more-case-more-features-157579Read 14 October 2026Review: up to three devices at once, and LDAC is unavailable when three are connected.
Multipoint with LDAC
Not available
Not available
Paired devices remembered
Not available
Not available
Automatic switching between own devices
Not available
Not available
Fast pairing
Google Fast Pair1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Feature list: Google Fast Pair.10Reviewsoundguys.com/skullcandy-method-540-anc-gets-skull-ai-151116Read 15 October 2026News article: Bluetooth 5.3, Google Fast Pair and Bluetooth multipoint.
Google Fast Pair3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Powering On and Pairing: Google Fast Pair on Android 6.0 and later.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: the earbuds support Google Fast Pair.
Audio sharing
Not available
Not available
Wireless range (claimed)
Not available
Wireless receiver
Not available
Not available
Receiver connector
Not available
Not available
Simultaneous 2.4 GHz and Bluetooth audio
Not available
Not available
Latency
3 of 3 differ
Low latency mode
Yes1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Skullcandy help page lists Low-Latency Mode in the app. The product page does not.6Owner's manualskullcandy.com/blogs/product-help/method-540-ancRead 15 October 2026App list: turn on Low-Latency Mode to improve performance for gaming or streaming video. TechRadar also lists it.9Reviewtechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandy-method-540-reviewRead 15 October 2026Review: the app can turn on low-latency mode.
Not available
Claimed latency
ASkullcandy Method 540 ANC
Not availableBsoundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max
| Connection | Mode | Latency (ms) |
|---|---|---|
| Bluetooth | Standard Bluetooth connection | 350 |
Lowest claimed latency
Not available
350ms
Compatibility
3 of 4 differ
Platforms
Not available
Android, iOS, Windows, macOS3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026The support FAQ on computers covers Windows and macOS. The guide shows Android pairing.12Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/How-do-I-configure-audio-settings-for-soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-on-a-computerRead 14 October 2026FAQ covers Windows and macOS audio setup.
Connection per platform
ASkullcandy Method 540 ANC
Not availableBsoundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max
| Platform | Connection | Microphone works |
|---|---|---|
| Android | Bluetooth | Not available |
| iOS | Bluetooth | Not available |
| Windows | Bluetooth | Yes |
| macOS | Bluetooth | Yes |
Features that need a specific device
ASkullcandy Method 540 ANC
| Feature | Needs |
|---|---|
| Skull AI | Needs the Skull-iQ app. It is free for a limited time and then a monthly or yearly subscription. |
| Spotify Tap | Needs the Spotify app on the phone and an active Spotify account. |
| Multipoint | Two devices stay connected but they do not play audio at the same time. Turn multipoint off in the app before a firmware update. |
| Skullcandy app | Supported on mobile devices only. There is no app support on PC, iPad or MacBook. |
Bsoundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max
| Feature | Needs |
|---|---|
| LDAC | Android 8.0 or later. Not supported on iOS. Turn it on in the soundcore app under Sound Mode. The support FAQ says LDAC cannot be enabled together with AI Sound Enhancement, Dolby Audio or Multi-Device Connection. The user guide says LDAC is unavailable only when three devices are connected. LDAC shortens playback time. |
| AI Note-Taker | The charging case must be connected to the soundcore app as its own Bluetooth device. Recording works without a phone. Transcription and summaries need the app and a network connection. A free Starter plan gives 120 minutes of AI transcription per month for 24 months. |
| AI translation | Latest soundcore app with the earbuds connected to the app. Multi-Device Connection must be turned off. Face-to-face translation also works when the earbuds are not connected to the app. |
| Easy Chat | Available only in ANC mode. |
| Remote camera | Earbuds connected to the phone by Bluetooth and the phone camera open. Not supported on some phones. |
| Phone voice assistant | Not set by default. Assign it in the soundcore app to a double press, triple press or long press. A single press cannot be assigned. |
Source3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026LDAC, Multi-Device Connection, AI translation, Easy Chat, Remote Photo Snap and AI Assistant sections. AI Note-Taker needs the case connected to the app as its own device.7Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/How-do-I-enable-LDAC-on-soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-Where-can-I-do-thisRead 14 October 2026FAQ: LDAC is not supported on iOS and cannot be enabled together with AI Sound Enhancement, Dolby Audio or Multi-Device Connection. The user guide says only three simultaneous devices block LDAC. The sources conflict, so multipoint_ldac is not stored.11Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/How-do-I-trigger-my-phone-s-voice-assistant-using-soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-MaxRead 14 October 2026FAQ: assign the phone voice assistant in the app. A single press cannot be used.
Official licence
Not available
Not available
Battery and charging
13 of 13 differ
Battery per bud
Not available
62mAh3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Specs: 62 mAh x 2 earbuds. Typical or rated basis is not stated. The safety sheet gives a nominal battery voltage of 3.85 V.4Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/ca/product-description/a08e200000QplFqAAJRead 14 October 2026Spec list: 62 mAh x 2 for the earbuds.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: 62 mAh per earbud, about 1 hour to charge fully.
User-replaceable earbud battery
Not available
Claimed battery life
ASkullcandy Method 540 ANC
| Mode | Includes case recharges | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| ANC on | No | 9 |
| ANC on | Yes | 32 |
| ANC off | No | 11 |
| ANC off | Yes | 40 |
Bsoundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max
| Mode | Codec | Spatial audio | Includes case recharges | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANC off | Not available | Not available | No | 12 |
| ANC off | Not available | Not available | Yes | 50 |
| ANC on | Not available | Not available | No | 6.5 |
| ANC on | Not available | Not available | Yes | 28 |
| Transparency | Not available | Not available | No | 6 |
| Call | Not available | Not available | No | 4 |
| ANC off | LDAC | Not available | No | 8 |
| ANC on | LDAC | Not available | No | 4.5 |
| ANC off | Not available | Yes | No | 8 |
| ANC on | Not available | Yes | No | 5 |
Source3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Specs: ANC off up to 12 h and 50 h with the case. ANC on up to 6.5 h and 28 h with the case. ANC plus voice call 4 h. ANC plus Dolby Audio 5 h. ANC plus LDAC 4.5 h. The support FAQ adds Transparency 6 h, Normal mode plus Dolby 8 h and Normal mode plus LDAC 8 h. The maker tests at 50 percent volume on factory settings.6Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/What-should-I-do-if-the-battery-life-of-my-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-earbuds-and-charging-case-is-shorter-than-expectedRead 14 October 2026Battery life list: Noise Cancellation 6.5 h and 28 h with the case, Transparency 6 h, Adaptive 6.5 h, Calls plus ANC 4 h, LDAC plus ANC 4.5 h, Dolby Atmos plus ANC 5 h, Normal mode 12 h and 50 h with the case, Normal plus Dolby 8 h, Normal plus LDAC 8 h. Measured in the Anker lab at room temperature, factory settings and 50 percent volume with music playing. An ANC Extreme row lists 2.5 h and 10.5 h with the case when multiple features run at once. It is not stored because the feature mix is not stated.17Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-vs-5-pro-vs-5-vs-4-proRead 14 October 2026Table: 12 h and 50 h with ANC off, 6.5 h and 28 h with ANC on, 5 minutes gives 4 hours.
Longest claimed use per charge
11h
12h
Playback per charge with ANC (claimed)
9h
6.5h
Playback per charge without ANC (claimed)
11h
12h
Total with case (claimed)
40h
50h
Total with case and ANC (claimed)
32h
28h
Talk time (claimed)
Not available
4h
Full charge time, buds
Not available
60min3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Specs: charging time up to 1 hour for the earbuds.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: 1 hour. A second answer says less than 1 hour. The user guide says up to 1 hour. 60 minutes is stored as the maker's upper figure.
Charging guidance
Not available
The earbuds charge fully in about 1 hour. The case charges in about 3 hours by cable with the earbuds removed. Input is 5 V 1 A. The case uses about 2 percent of its battery per day when idle.6Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/What-should-I-do-if-the-battery-life-of-my-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-earbuds-and-charging-case-is-shorter-than-expectedRead 14 October 2026FAQ: the case uses about 2 percent of its battery per day when idle.
Quick charge time
5min3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Charging section: a 5-minute charge of the earbuds gives 4 hours of playtime.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: a 5-minute charge provides 4 hours of playtime in Normal mode.
Earbud playback after quick charge
4h3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Charging section: 5 minutes gives 4 hours of playtime. The support FAQ states Normal mode and earbuds charged from 0 percent.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: a 5-minute charge provides 4 hours of playtime in Normal mode.6Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/What-should-I-do-if-the-battery-life-of-my-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-earbuds-and-charging-case-is-shorter-than-expectedRead 14 October 2026FAQ: 5 minutes gives 4 hours in Normal mode, with the earbuds charged from 0 percent.
Charging case
7 of 10 differ
Case battery
Not available
690mAh3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Specs: 690 mAh charging case.4Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/ca/product-description/a08e200000QplFqAAJRead 14 October 2026Spec list: 690 mAh for the charging case.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: 690 mAh, about 3 hours to charge fully.
User-replaceable case battery
Not available
Case charging port
Case full charge time
Not available
180min3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Charging section: recharging the case with the earbuds removed takes 3 hours by cable. Specs: up to 3 hours for the case.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: the case charges in 3 hours. A second answer gives under 3 hours for earbuds plus case by cable.
Wireless charging
Not available
Wireless standards
Not available
Wireless charging power
Not available
Not available
Speaker in case
Not available
Yes5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026The FAQ lists face-to-face translation on the case. SoundGuys states the case has a built-in speaker and microphone.23Reviewsoundguys.com/anker-soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-review-more-case-more-features-157579Read 14 October 2026Review: the case has its own built-in microphone and speaker.
Screen on case
Not available
Yes1Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/products/d1204-liberty-5-pro-max-ai-recording-earbudsRead 14 October 2026Page text: a 1.78 inch AMOLED display on the charging case.3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Overview lists the Smart Screen on the case. Smart Screen section lists twelve features.18Maker product pagede.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/liberty-5-vs-liberty-5-pro-vs-liberty-5-pro-maxRead 14 October 2026The page states a 1.78 inch AMOLED touchscreen case.
Case works as audio transmitter
Not available
Not available
Controls
4 of 5 differ
Controls
Touch6Owner's manualskullcandy.com/blogs/product-help/method-540-ancRead 15 October 2026Quick start default controls use taps and a 1 second hold on either bud. TechRadar says the controls are touch. The help page also calls the control a Main Function Button.9Reviewtechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandy-method-540-reviewRead 15 October 2026Review: each bud has touch controls if you tap on its body.
Earbud volume control
Swipe3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Controls table: slide up or down on the touch area changes the volume.8Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/Can-I-use-a-single-soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-left-right-earbud-independently-Can-it-output-stereo-soundRead 14 October 2026FAQ: swipe up or down on the touch area. Swipe cannot be customised.9Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/How-do-I-adjust-the-volume-of-soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-using-the-earbudsRead 14 October 2026FAQ: swipe on the logo panel. Up raises the volume and down lowers it.
Gestures
Single tap: play or pause, answer a call, Double tap: next track, Triple tap: switch between ANC on, Stay-Aware mode and ANC off, Hold for 1 second: end a call, reject an incoming call, or launch Spotify, Hold for 3 seconds: start pairing mode for a second device6Owner's manualskullcandy.com/blogs/product-help/method-540-ancRead 15 October 2026Quick start default user controls. The page text is flattened, so the mapping of actions to gestures follows its order. A 3 second hold on either bud starts pairing mode in the multipoint steps.
Double tap right: play or pause, Double tap left: next track, Double tap left or right: answer or end a call, Hold for 2 seconds: switch between ANC and transparency, or reject an incoming call during a call, Slide up: volume up, Slide down: volume down3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Controls table for dual and single earbud use.8Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/Can-I-use-a-single-soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-left-right-earbud-independently-Can-it-output-stereo-soundRead 14 October 2026FAQ: with a single earbud a double press plays or pauses and a long press switches the ambient sound mode.
Remappable controls
Yes1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Feature list: Customize Button Functions.6Owner's manualskullcandy.com/blogs/product-help/method-540-ancRead 15 October 2026Customize button functions: single, double, triple tap and 1 second hold on both buds can be set in the app. Not every function can be changed.
Yes3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026The guide states controls can be customised in the soundcore app. Swipe volume cannot be customised.11Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/How-do-I-trigger-my-phone-s-voice-assistant-using-soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-MaxRead 14 October 2026FAQ: double press, triple press and long press can be customised. A single press cannot wake the assistant.
Voice assistant
Skull AI1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Page: Skull AI voice assistant, activated with OK, Skully.6Owner's manualskullcandy.com/blogs/product-help/method-540-ancRead 15 October 2026FAQ: Skull AI Beta, OK Skully. Free for a limited time and then paid.
Anka, Phone voice assistant3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026AI Assistant section: Anka is activated with Hey Anka in the soundcore app. The support FAQ shows how to assign the phone's voice assistant.11Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/How-do-I-trigger-my-phone-s-voice-assistant-using-soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-MaxRead 14 October 2026FAQ: the phone's voice assistant is not set by default and can be assigned in the app.
Sensors and health
3 of 9 differ
In-ear detection
Not available
Yes3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Wearing Detection section: playback pauses when an earbud is removed. On by default.23Reviewsoundguys.com/anker-soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-review-more-case-more-features-157579Read 14 October 2026Review lists wear detection among the app features.
Sensors
Not available
Heart rate sensor
Not available
Not available
Skin temperature sensing
Not available
Not available
Hearing aid feature
Not available
Not available
Medical clearances
Not available
Not available
Hearing protection
Not available
Not available
Health features
Not available
Not available
Fit and durability
3 of 7 differ
Ear tips included
S, M, L1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026What's in the box: Ear Gel sizes S, M, L.10Reviewsoundguys.com/skullcandy-method-540-anc-gets-skull-ai-151116Read 15 October 2026News article, 12 January 2026: three pairs of ear tips.
XXS, XS, S, M, L3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Wearing guide shows XXS, XS, S, M and L. M tips are pre-installed.22Maker product pageankerjapan.com/products/d1204Read 14 October 2026Package list: ear tips in 5 sizes.23Reviewsoundguys.com/anker-soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-review-more-case-more-features-157579Read 14 October 2026Review: five sizes of ear tips are included.
Ear tip materials
Not available
Not available
Stabilisers
Fins1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026What's in the box: Fit Fin sizes S, M, L.9Reviewtechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandy-method-540-reviewRead 15 October 2026Review: fins wedge the buds into the ear.
Fins3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Overview lists an ear fin. Size 1 is pre-installed and sizes 0 and 2 are alternatives.22Maker product pageankerjapan.com/products/d1204Read 14 October 2026Package list: ear wings in 3 sizes.
Ear tip fit test
Not available
Dust and water rating, buds
IP553Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026Specs: IP55 for the earbuds only.4Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/ca/product-description/a08e200000QplFqAAJRead 14 October 2026Spec list: IP55 for the earbuds.5Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/article-description/soundcore-Liberty-5-Pro-Max-FAQRead 14 October 2026FAQ: IP55.17Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/blogs/earbuds/soundcore-liberty-5-pro-max-vs-5-pro-vs-5-vs-4-proRead 14 October 2026Table: IP55.
Dust and water rating, case
Not available
Not available
Water resistance depth
Not available
Not available
Software
3 of 6 differ
Companion app
App platforms
User firmware updates
Finding network
Not available
Precision finding
Not available
Not available
Live translation
Not available
Yes1Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/products/d1204-liberty-5-pro-max-ai-recording-earbudsRead 14 October 2026Page text: face-to-face and real-time AI translation. The manual describes both in the soundcore app.3Owner's manualsalesforce-knowledge-download.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000034995/en_US/000034995.pdfRead 14 October 2026AI Translation section: real-time and face-to-face translation.
Dimensions and weight
3 of 4 differ
Weight per bud
Bud dimensions
Not available
Not available
Case weight
72g(2.5 oz)1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Technical Specifications: Case 72g.9Reviewtechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandy-method-540-reviewRead 15 October 2026Review: charging case 72g.
Not available
Case dimensions
Width36Height102Depth29mm(1.4 × 4 × 1.1 in)1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026Product gallery drawing with front and side views: 1.4 in (3.6 cm) wide, 1.1 in (2.9 cm) deep and 4 in (10.2 cm) high. Converted exactly to mm. The height excludes the clip ring. TechRadar gives 3.6 x 2.9 x 10.2 cm for the case.9Reviewtechradar.com/audio/earbuds-airpods/skullcandy-method-540-reviewRead 15 October 2026Review: the case measures 3.6 x 2.9 x 10.2 cm. The axes are not labelled in the text, so the product gallery drawing sets them.
Not available
Certifications
1 of 3 differ
Hi-Res Audio
Not available
Not available
Communication certifications
Not available
Not available
FCC IDs
Not available
Other certifications
Not available
In the box
1 of 2 differ
In the box
Method 540 ANC True Wireless Earbuds, Charging Case, Ear Gel sizes: S, M, L, Fit Fin sizes: S, M, L, User Guide1Maker product pageskullcandy.com/products/method-540-anc-noise-canceling-earbudsRead 15 October 2026What's in the box list. The list shows no cable. The help page mentions an included USB-C charging cable.
Liberty 5 Pro Max earbuds, Charging case, Ear tips in five sizes, Ear fins in three sizes, USB-C charging cable, Quick start guide, Safety instructions22Maker product pageankerjapan.com/products/d1204Read 14 October 2026Anker Japan package list: the earbuds, charging case, ear tips in 5 sizes, ear wings in 3 sizes, a USB-C and USB-A cable, a quick start guide and a safety manual. This is the Japan package. The user guide mentions a provided USB-C cable.
Cables included
ASkullcandy Method 540 ANC
| Type | Count |
|---|---|
| USB-C charging cable | 1 |
Bsoundcore Liberty 5 Pro Max
| Type | Count |
|---|---|
| USB-C charging cable | 1 |
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
Not available
service.soundcore.com/ca/product-description/a08e200000QplFqAAJ4Maker product pageservice.soundcore.com/ca/product-description/a08e200000QplFqAAJRead 14 October 2026Support product page for the Liberty 5 Pro Max. It lists the user guides, the EU declaration and a short spec list. No standalone datasheet was found.
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
1.5years14Maker spec sheet (PDF)lp.ankerjapan.com/hubfs/aoos/manual/D1204Safety.pdfRead 14 October 2026Safety sheet: 18-month limited warranty, with a 12-month warranty for India. US store warranty page also lists 18 months for headphones. The year count is 1.5.16Maker product pageus.soundcore.com/pages/warrantyRead 14 October 2026US store warranty page: Headphones, all series, 18 months. US market.
Both are also in the API. Back to all earbuds.



















