{"data":{"slug":"apple-macbook-air-13-intel-2020","type":"laptop","brand":"Apple","name":"MacBook Air 13-inch (Intel, 2020)","aliases":["MacBook Air Retina 13-inch Early 2020","MacBook Air MWTL2LL/A"],"release_date":"2020-03","url":"https://arkivo.dev/laptops/apple-macbook-air-13-intel-2020","specs":{"series":"MacBook Air","model_numbers":["MWTL2LL/A"],"gtins":["190199256170"],"announce_date":"2020-03-18","status":"discontinued","predecessor":null,"successor":"apple-macbook-air-13-m1","launch_price_usd":999,"launch_price_eur":null,"markets":["US"],"colors":["Gold"],"manufacturer_url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/111991","spec_sheet_url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/111991","manual_url":"https://cdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1931_macbook-air-13-2020-qsg.pdf","eprel_registration_number":null,"warranty_years":1,"segment":null,"form_factor":null,"dimensions_mm":{"width_mm":304.1,"depth_mm":212.4,"thickness_min_mm":4.1,"thickness_max_mm":16.1},"weight_kg":1.29,"lid_material":"aluminium","bottom_material":"aluminium","hinge_max_angle_deg":null,"mil_std_810":null,"screen_size_in":13.3,"native_resolution":{"width_px":2560,"height_px":1600},"pixel_density_ppi":227,"panel_type":"ips","backlight_type":null,"local_dimming_zones":null,"panel_model":"APPA042","screen_surface":"glossy","is_touchscreen":false,"stylus_support":null,"refresh_rate_modes":[{"width_px":2560,"height_px":1600,"max_hz":60,"vrr":null}],"max_refresh_rate_hz":60,"vrr_technologies":null,"response_time_gtg_ms":null,"color_depth_bits":null,"brightness_typical_nits":null,"brightness_outdoor_peak_nits":null,"brightness_hdr_sustained_nits":null,"brightness_hdr_peak_nits":null,"srgb_coverage_pct":null,"dci_p3_coverage_pct":null,"adobe_rgb_coverage_pct":null,"hdr_certification":null,"factory_calibrated":null,"secondary_display":null,"cpu":"Intel Core i3 (1.1 GHz, dual-core, 10th generation)","cpu_brand":"intel","cpu_clusters":[{"core_type":null,"count":2,"core_name":null,"base_ghz":1.1,"max_ghz":3.2}],"cpu_core_count":2,"cpu_performance_core_count":null,"cpu_efficiency_core_count":null,"cpu_thread_count":4,"cpu_max_ghz":3.2,"cpu_cache_l3_mb":4,"process_node_nm":10,"cpu_tdp_configured_w":null,"cpu_power_max_w":null,"combined_power_max_w":null,"npu_tops":null,"has_discrete_gpu":false,"gpu":null,"gpu_brand":null,"gpu_vram_gb":null,"gpu_tgp_max_w":null,"gpu_dynamic_boost_w":null,"gpu_boost_clock_mhz":null,"gpu_switching":null,"integrated_gpu":"Intel Iris Plus Graphics","ram_gb":8,"ram_type":"lpddr4x","ram_speed_mts":3733,"ram_channels":null,"ram_upgradeable":"soldered","memory_slots":null,"ram_slot_count":null,"ram_free_slot_count":null,"ram_max_gb":16,"storage_gb":256,"storage_type":"ssd","storage_pcie_gen":null,"storage_slots":null,"m2_slot_count":null,"storage_free_slot_count":null,"storage_pcie_gen_max":null,"ports":[{"type":"usb_c","version":"Thunderbolt 3 / USB 3.1 Gen 2","count":2,"side":null,"max_gbps":40,"tb_usb4":"thunderbolt_3","dp_alt_mode":true,"charging_in_w":null,"power_out_w":null,"gpu_connection":null},{"type":"audio_3_5mm","version":null,"count":1,"side":null,"max_gbps":null,"tb_usb4":null,"dp_alt_mode":null,"charging_in_w":null,"power_out_w":null,"gpu_connection":null}],"usb_c_port_count":2,"has_thunderbolt":true,"hdmi_version_max":null,"has_sd_card_reader":false,"ethernet_max_gbps":null,"usb_c_charging_w":null,"wifi_standard":"wifi_5","wifi_bands":null,"wifi_module":null,"bluetooth_version":"5.0","cellular":null,"keyboard_layouts":null,"keyboard_switch_type":"scissor","keyboard_backlight":null,"numpad":null,"key_travel_mm":1,"pointing_stick":null,"touchpad_size_mm":null,"touchpad_type":"haptic","webcam_resolution":"720p FaceTime HD","windows_hello_ir":null,"webcam_privacy":null,"speaker_count":null,"speaker_total_power_w":null,"audio_features":["Dolby Atmos","Wide stereo sound"],"microphone_count":3,"battery_wh":49.9,"battery_life_claimed":[{"use_case":"web_browsing","hours":11},{"use_case":"video_playback","hours":12}],"charger_w":30,"charger_connector":"usb_c","charge_time_0_50_min":null,"fan_count":1,"vapor_chamber":null,"liquid_metal":null,"power_modes":null,"fingerprint_sensor":"power_button","tpm_version":null,"enterprise_management":null,"kensington_lock":null,"os":"macOS Catalina","os_family":"macos","security_updates_until":null,"measured_sdr_brightness_nits":416,"measured_brightness_avg_nits":403.4,"measured_contrast_ratio":1224,"measured_hdr_peak_nits":null,"measured_srgb_coverage_pct":98,"measured_dci_p3_coverage_pct":null,"measured_color_accuracy_delta_e":0.9,"measured_pwm_detected":true,"measured_pwm_frequency_hz":119000,"measured_pwm_below_brightness_pct":75,"measured_response_black_white_ms":28.4,"measured_response_gray_gray_ms":38.4,"benchmark_cinebench_2024_single":null,"benchmark_cinebench_2024_multi":null,"benchmark_geekbench_single":null,"benchmark_geekbench_multi":null,"benchmark_3dmark_time_spy_graphics":null,"benchmark_3dmark_steel_nomad":null,"measured_ssd_read_mbs":null,"game_fps_measured":null,"fan_noise_measured":[{"power_mode":null,"load":"idle","noise_dba":29},{"power_mode":null,"load":"medium_load","noise_dba":31.6},{"power_mode":null,"load":"max_load","noise_dba":39.4}],"measured_noise_max_dba":39.4,"measured_noise_gaming_dba":null,"measured_temp_top_max_c":44.3,"measured_temp_bottom_max_c":40.9,"measured_temp_palmrest_c":29.1,"measured_cpu_stress_temp_c":null,"measured_cpu_stress_clock_ghz":1.5,"measured_gpu_gaming_temp_c":null,"battery_runtime_measured":[{"test":"wifi_websurfing","brightness_nits":150,"power_mode":null,"hours":11.02},{"test":"wifi_websurfing","brightness_nits":null,"power_mode":null,"hours":7.28},{"test":"video_playback","brightness_nits":150,"power_mode":null,"hours":11.1}],"measured_battery_wifi_h":11.02,"measured_battery_video_h":11.1,"measured_charge_time_min":null,"measured_power_idle_w":7,"measured_power_gaming_w":null,"measured_power_max_w":30.6,"measured_cpu_sustained_power_w":null,"measured_gpu_gaming_power_w":null,"measured_weight_kg":null,"intel_evo":null,"copilot_plus_pc":null,"color_certifications":null,"energy_star":true,"epeat":"gold","other_certifications":null,"in_the_box":["MacBook Air","30W USB-C Power Adapter","USB-C Charge Cable (2 m)"],"charger_in_box":true,"warranty_service_type":null},"variants":[],"sources":[{"url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/111991","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-05","fields":["manufacturer_url","spec_sheet_url","dimensions_mm","weight_kg","lid_material","bottom_material","screen_size_in","panel_type","native_resolution","cpu","cpu_brand","cpu_clusters","cpu_cache_l3_mb","integrated_gpu","ram_type","ram_max_gb","storage_type","ports","wifi_standard","bluetooth_version","touchpad_type","webcam_resolution","audio_features","microphone_count","battery_wh","battery_life_claimed","charger_w","charger_connector","os_family","energy_star","in_the_box","charger_in_box"],"notes":{"cpu":"Exact original base dual-core 1.1 GHz Core i3 row. Original maker and inventory do not state the custom processor suffix, so neither suffix nor chip process node/thread count is inferred.","cpu_clusters":"Maker explicitly two cores, 1.1 GHz base and 3.2 GHz Turbo Boost. No later hybrid P/E classification imposed.","cpu_cache_l3_mb":"Maker explicitly 4 MB L3 for retained Core i3. Higher chip-option caches excluded.","ram_type":"Memory section expressly LPDDR4X onboard memory. Published 3733 MHz is not converted into the configured MT/s field without exact transfer-rate proof.","ram_max_gb":"Maker memory section offers 16 GB purchase-time configuration. Retained installed memory remains 8 GB. Does not imply user upgradeability.","storage_type":"Maker explicitly PCIe-based SSD, but does not state installed NVMe protocol or generation. Stored as SSD with interface unspecified by the supported schema enum.","ports":"Two physical USB-C ports support Thunderbolt 3 up to 40 Gb/s, USB 3.1 Gen 2 up to 10 Gb/s and native DisplayPort over USB-C. Highest rate retained once per connector. Audio section states physical 3.5 mm headphone jack. External adapters/eGPUs excluded from installed hardware.","dimensions_mm":"Maker centimetres converted exactly to millimetres. Published wedge minimum 4.1 mm and maximum 16.1 mm. Retailer rounded metric conversions excluded.","weight_kg":"Maker explicitly publishes 1.29 kg laptop weight. Retailer conversion from rounded 2.8 lb to 1.27 kg excluded. Manufacturing/configuration variation applies.","lid_material":"Maker Environment section explicitly 100 percent recycled aluminium enclosure.","bottom_material":"Maker aluminium enclosure.","integrated_gpu":"Maker Graphics section identifies Intel Iris Plus. Optional external Thunderbolt GPU support is not installed discrete graphics.","battery_life_claimed":"Footnote 2 matches retained preproduction February 2020 Core i3 dual-core 1.1 GHz, 8 GB RAM and 256 GB SSD. Wireless web browses 25 popular websites. Movie test plays HD 1080p content in Apple TV app. Both set display brightness to 12 clicks from bottom or 75 percent. Up-to claims, separate from measurements and standby days.","battery_wh":"Maker explicitly 49.9 Wh lithium-polymer battery. No battery actual-rating override appears in footnotes.","charger_w":"Nominal included 30 W adapter output, not maximum accepted USB-C charging input.","charger_connector":"USB-C at laptop end of the supplied charging cable.","touchpad_type":"Exact sheet specifies Force Touch. Separate maker support source explicitly establishes haptic feedback.","microphone_count":"Maker Audio section explicitly three-mic array. Stereo sound does not establish a physical speaker count, so that count is omitted.","in_the_box":"Original standard maker box contents. Optional adapters and later bundles excluded."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/Apple_US_Education_Institution_Price_List-04-15-2020.pdf","kind":"manufacturer_pdf","accessed":"2026-10-05","fields":["model_numbers","colors","markets","ram_gb","storage_gb"],"notes":{"model_numbers":"Original April 15, 2020 Apple US inventory page 2 explicitly lists MWTL2LL/A, Gold, dual-core tenth-generation Core i3 1.1 GHz, 8 GB RAM and 256 GB SSD. Nearby 128 GB education-only SKU MYE72LL/A and AppleCare bundles excluded. Education price is not launch MSRP.","markets":"Maker explicitly US inventory, independently corroborated by original US retailer inventory."}},{"url":"https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1553858-REG/apple_mwtl2ll_a_13_3_macbook_air_with.html","kind":"retailer","accessed":"2026-10-05","fields":["screen_surface","is_touchscreen","has_discrete_gpu"],"notes":{"screen_surface":"Exact original Gold MWTL2LL/A Display table explicitly Glossy.","is_touchscreen":"Exact Display table explicitly Touchscreen No.","has_discrete_gpu":"Exact Performance table explicitly Integrated graphics. External GPU support is not an installed dedicated GPU."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2020/03/new-macbook-air-has-more-to-love-and-is-now-just-999/","kind":"press_release","accessed":"2026-10-05","fields":["series","announce_date","launch_price_usd","key_travel_mm","os"],"notes":{"launch_price_usd":"Maker original consumer US starting MSRP $999, matching retained original Core i3/8 GB/256 GB entry configuration. Lower education price excluded.","key_travel_mm":"Original maker Magic Keyboard announcement explicitly states 1 mm physical key travel.","os":"Maker original March 2020 announcement expressly states every new MacBook Air comes with macOS Catalina. Later Quick Start UI reprint does not change launch OS."}},{"url":"https://cdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1931_macbook-air-13-2020-qsg.pdf","kind":"manual","accessed":"2026-10-05","fields":["manual_url","fingerprint_sensor"],"notes":{"manual_url":"Exact Intel 13-inch 2020 model Quick Start PDF, two pages downloaded/read/rendered. Big Sur Control Center UI reprint used only for unchanged hardware controls.","fingerprint_sensor":"Page 2 hardware diagram explicitly identifies Touch ID as power button."}},{"url":"https://support.apple.com/en-gb/102309","kind":"manual","accessed":"2026-10-05","fields":["touchpad_type"],"notes":{"touchpad_type":"Maker support explicitly states Force Touch trackpads provide haptic feedback. Exact model sheet specifies Force Touch."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/embedded-mac-warranty-us.html","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-05","fields":["warranty_years"],"notes":{"warranty_years":"US one-year limited manufacturer hardware warranty. Paid plans and statutory rights excluded."}},{"url":"https://www.macrumors.com/2020/03/26/hands-on-2020-macbook-air/","kind":"press","accessed":"2026-10-05","fields":["release_date"],"notes":{"release_date":"Contemporaneous March 26 report states the author picked up a new original base Core i3 machine and confirms entry 8 GB/256 GB hardware. Corroborates actual retail within March after March 18 announcement, rather than relying only on planned store availability. Stored month is marketed-model first actual retail, not a separate SKU launch day."}},{"url":"https://www.macrumors.com/2020/03/28/top-stories-ipad-pro-macbook-air-hands-on/","kind":"press","accessed":"2026-10-05","fields":["release_date"],"notes":{"release_date":"March 28 contemporaneous report expressly confirms the new MacBook Air had begun reaching consumers that week. Corroborates actual March retail arrivals, rather than only a media review unit or March 18 planned store date."}},{"url":"https://www.microcenter.com/support/622812/apple-macbook-air-mwtl2ll-a-early-2020-133-laptop-computer-gold?showfullsite=false","kind":"retailer","accessed":"2026-10-07","fields":["gtins","ram_speed_mts"],"notes":{"gtins":"Product Information: exact MWTL2LL/A Gold i3, 8 GB, 256 GB, UPC 190199256170.","ram_speed_mts":"Memory Speed: LPDDR4x-3733. Stored literal rated data-rate designation, corroborated exact matching Notebookcheck LPDDR4X-3733. No doubling of Apple's ambiguously labeled 3733 MHz."}},{"url":"https://everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook-air/specs/macbook-air-core-i3-1.1-dual-core-13-retina-display-2020-scissor-specs.html","kind":"spec_database","accessed":"2026-10-07","fields":["status","process_node_nm"],"notes":{"status":"Introduction/Discontinued table: original Intel Core i3 model discontinued November 10, 2020. Public indexed page text read. Direct page returned 403.","process_node_nm":"Exact model overview identifies 10 nm Ice Lake Core i3-1000NG4. Custom Apple chip suffix also identified by matching Notebookcheck review. Public indexed maker-independent specification read."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2020/03/new-macbook-air-has-more-to-love-and-is-now-just-999/","kind":"press_release","accessed":"2026-10-07","fields":["keyboard_switch_type"],"notes":{"keyboard_switch_type":"New Magic Keyboard section explicitly refined scissor mechanism, 1mm travel. Original 2020 hardware, not later M1."}},{"url":"https://www.ifixit.com/News/36480/theres-something-new-in-the-macbook-air","kind":"review_site","accessed":"2026-10-07","fields":["ram_upgradeable"],"notes":{"ram_upgradeable":"Teardown repairability list explicitly says SSD and RAM soldered. Original March 2020 Intel hardware. No physical RAM or storage slot is fabricated."}},{"url":"https://www.notebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-2020-Review-Is-the-Core-i3-the-better-choice.465534.0.html","kind":"measurement","accessed":"2026-10-07","fields":["measured_sdr_brightness_nits","measured_brightness_avg_nits","measured_contrast_ratio","measured_srgb_coverage_pct","measured_color_accuracy_delta_e","measured_pwm_detected","measured_pwm_frequency_hz","measured_pwm_below_brightness_pct","measured_response_black_white_ms","measured_response_gray_gray_ms","fan_noise_measured","measured_temp_top_max_c","measured_temp_bottom_max_c","measured_temp_palmrest_c","measured_cpu_stress_clock_ghz","measured_power_idle_w","measured_power_max_w","battery_runtime_measured"],"notes":{"measured_sdr_brightness_nits":"Display nine-point grid center 416 nits, macOS 10.15, X-Rite i1Pro 2. Windows is over 30 percent brighter and is not mixed in.","measured_brightness_avg_nits":"Display grid mean 403.4 nits, macOS, X-Rite i1Pro 2.","measured_contrast_ratio":"Display table 1224:1, macOS, black 0.34 nits, X-Rite i1Pro 2.","measured_srgb_coverage_pct":"Updated Display table sRGB coverage 98 percent, Argyll 3D and X-Rite i1Pro 2. Older Argyll 1.6.3 row 97.6 is a different software method.","measured_color_accuracy_delta_e":"Pre-calibration ColorChecker mean 0.9, Delta E 2000, CalMAN sRGB/macOS, X-Rite i1Pro 2. Calibrated 0.6 excluded.","measured_pwm_detected":"PWM test detected flicker at 75 percent and below.","measured_pwm_frequency_hz":"PWM table 119000 Hz at 75 percent brightness or below.","measured_pwm_below_brightness_pct":"PWM threshold 75 percent.","measured_response_black_white_ms":"Black-white-black combined 28.4 ms: 16 rise plus 12.4 fall.","measured_response_gray_gray_ms":"50 to 80 percent grey combined 38.4 ms: 20.4 rise plus 18 fall.","fan_noise_measured":"Noise table idle 29, load average 31.6, max 39.4 dB(A). Audix TM1/Arta at 15 cm, background 29 dBA. Power mode not stated. Idle indistinguishable from room noise. No separate gaming result invented.","measured_temp_top_max_c":"Matching i3 / 8 GB / 256 GB unit. Max-load upper surface grid 44.3 C. Voltcraft IR-900, room 21 C. Review stress text identifies simultaneous CPU and iGPU load. Exact OS and power mode for the surface grid are not explicitly stated.","measured_temp_bottom_max_c":"Matching max-load bottom surface grid 40.9 C, Voltcraft IR-900, room 21 C. Exact OS and power mode unstated. Combined CPU/iGPU stress described by review.","measured_temp_palmrest_c":"Matching stress-grid palmrest/touchpad maximum 29.1 C. Exact OS and power mode unstated. Voltcraft IR-900, room 21 C.","measured_cpu_stress_clock_ghz":"Stress text: two CPU cores sustain 1.5 GHz while iGPU 400 MHz. Simultaneous CPU+iGPU load. SoC 11 W is not CPU-only power.","measured_power_idle_w":"Power table highest idle 7 W AC input, Metrahit Energy. Exact OS/power mode unstated.","measured_power_max_w":"Power table maximum 30.6 W AC input, Metrahit Energy. AC input may exceed nominal 30 W adapter output due to conversion loss. OS/power mode unstated.","battery_runtime_measured":"macOS 10.15. First row Safari 13.1 Wi-Fi 11h01 (11.02 h) at 150 nits. Second Safari max-brightness 7h17 (7.28 h), numeric maximum luminance not assumed. Third Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p 11h06 at 150 nits. Power mode/firmware unstated. Windows 7.5 h is approximate and excluded."}},{"url":"https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/MacBook+Air+13-Inch+Early+2020+Fan+Replacement/142675","kind":"review_site","accessed":"2026-10-07","fields":["fan_count"],"notes":{"fan_count":"Exact Early 2020 Intel fan replacement guide. Complete opened-device photographs show one chassis fan. Replacement parts list contains one fan. Matching Core i3 review describes the same single chassis fan."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_w_Retina_PER_July2020.pdf","kind":"manufacturer_pdf","accessed":"2026-10-07","fields":["epeat"],"notes":{"epeat":"Original Intel 2020 Environmental Report, p8 endnote 2: EPEAT Gold in United States and Canada. First page explicitly US 256 GB configuration, March 18, 2020 introduction. Historical original rating, excludes later M1 November report."}},{"url":"https://www.notebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-2020-Review-Is-the-Core-i3-the-better-choice.465534.0.html","kind":"review_site","accessed":"2026-10-07","fields":["panel_model","refresh_rate_modes"],"notes":{"panel_model":"Gold Core i3/8 GB/256 GB review unit, specification and Display sections: APPA042. Suppliers may vary. No i5 panel measurement inherited.","refresh_rate_modes":"Matching Gold Core i3 specification table: native 2560 x 1600, 60 Hz built-in display. No other operating modes inferred."}},{"url":"https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/products/sku/196586/intel-core-i31000ng4-processor-4m-cache-up-to-3-20-ghz/specifications.html","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-07","fields":["cpu_thread_count","process_node_nm"],"notes":{"cpu_thread_count":"Exact Core i3-1000NG4 chip is identified in matching i3/8 GB/256 GB Notebookcheck sample. Intel CPU Specifications states Total Threads 4 and Total Cores 2.","process_node_nm":"Intel Essentials for exact i3-1000NG4 states Lithography 10 nm. Chip maker evidence corroborates EveryMac without borrowing a different Core i3 suffix."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2020/11/introducing-the-next-generation-of-mac/","kind":"press_release","accessed":"2026-10-23","fields":["successor"],"notes":{"successor":"Apple compares the MacBook Air with M1 with the previous-generation Intel Core i7 13-inch MacBook Air."}}],"fields_filled":88,"updated":"2026-10-23"},"meta":{"api_version":"1","docs":"https://arkivo.dev/api"}}