Computers / Laptops

AppleUltrabook laptop
MacBook Air 15-inch (M5, 2026)
Released 11 March 2026.2Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/03/macbook-neo-iphone-17e-ipad-air-with-m4-and-more-are-now-availableRead 5 October 2026March 11, 2026 available-today publication confirms actual Apple Store and online retail of MacBook Air M5 and both sizes of MacBook Pro M5 Pro. The March 3 release separately states this is the first retail day. Last checked 23 October 2026.
- Screen size
- 15.3in
- Processor
- Apple M5
- GPU
- Apple M5 10-core GPU
- Weight (published)
- 1.51kg
88 of 179 fields known.
At a glance
Ports
- MagSafe 3
- 2 USB-C Thunderbolt 4
- 3.5 mm audio
General
- Series
- MacBook Air1Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-the-new-macbook-air-with-m5Read 5 October 2026
- Model numbers
- Mac17,4, MDVQ4LL/A, MDV94LL/A, MDVD4LL/A, MDVH4LL/A8Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102869Read 7 October 2026Exact MacBook Air (15-inch, M5) section gives Mac17,4. 13-inch Mac17,3 excluded. Region-specific base retail parts independently proved by maker US price list.9Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/Apple_US_Education_Institution_Price_List.pdfRead 7 October 2026Current US institutional maker catalog exact 15-inch M5 10 CPU/10 GPU, 16 GB / 512 GB: MDVQ4LL/A Sky Blue, MDV94LL/A Silver, MDVD4LL/A Starlight and MDVH4LL/A Midnight. 24 GB and 1 TB rows excluded. 6/25/26 prices are education/current prices and are not launch MSRP.
- GTIN / EAN
- Not available
- Announced
- 3 March 20261Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-the-new-macbook-air-with-m5Read 5 October 2026
- Predecessor
- Apple MacBook Air 15-inch (M4, 2025)7Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-15-M5-Review-Very-powerful-fanless-and-without-competition.1244905.0.htmlRead 5 October 2026Notebookcheck's review of the MacBook Air 15 M5 says Apple refreshes the 15-inch Air and calls the MacBook Air 15 M4 the previous model.
- Successor
- Not available
- Colours
- Sky Blue, Silver, Starlight, Midnight4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
Chassis
Front and side, drawn to scale.
- Dimensions
- Width340.4Depth237.6Thickness (max)11.5mm(13.4 × 9.4 × 0.5 in)4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Weight (published)
- 1.51kg(3.3 lb)4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Lid material
- Aluminium4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Environment / Materials: aluminium enclosure.
- Bottom material
- Aluminium4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Environment / Materials: aluminium enclosure.
- MIL-STD-810 testing (claimed)
- Not available
Display
- Screen size
- 15.3in(38.9 cm)4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Native resolution
- 2880 × 1864px4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Pixel density
- 224.2ppi
- Backlight
- Not available
- Dimming zones
- Not available
- Panel part number
- Not available
- Stylus
- Not available
- Refresh rate modes
Width (px) Height (px) Maximum operating refresh (Hz) 2880 1864 60 - Max refresh rate
- 60Hz
- Adaptive sync
- Not available
- Gray-to-gray response time (claimed)
- Not available
- Native panel colour depth
- Not available
- Brightness (SDR, claimed)
- 500nits4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Peak brightness (SDR outdoors, claimed)
- Not available
- Sustained brightness (HDR, claimed)
- Not available
- Peak brightness (HDR, claimed)
- Not available
- sRGB coverage (claimed)
- Not available
- DCI-P3 coverage (claimed)
- Not available
- Adobe RGB coverage (claimed)
- Not available
- HDR certification
- Not available
- Factory calibrated
- Not available
- Second display
- Not available
Processor
- Processor
- Apple M54Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Processor brand
- Apple4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Core configuration
Core type Count Core Super 4 Super Efficiency 6 Efficiency - CPU cores
- 10
- Cores labelled performance
- 0
- Cores labelled efficiency
- 6
- Threads
- Not available
- Max boost clock
- Not available
- L3 cache
- Not available
- Sustained CPU power (configured)
- Not available
- Peak CPU power (configured)
- Not available
- Combined CPU and GPU power
- Not available
- NPU performance
- Not available
Graphics
- GPU
- Not available
- GPU brand
- Not available
- VRAM
- Not available
- Max GPU power (TGP)
- Not available
- Dynamic Boost
- Not available
- GPU boost clock
- Not available
- GPU switching
- Not available
- Integrated GPU
- Apple M5 10-core GPU4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
Memory
- RAM speed
- Not available
- Memory channels
- Not available
- Memory slots
- Not available
- RAM slots
- Not available
- Free RAM slots
- Not available
- Maximum supported RAM
- 32GB4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
Storage
- Installed storage
- 512GB4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Storage uses decimal GB. 1 TB equals 1000 GB. Only the base SSD is represented.
- Storage type
- NVMe SSD4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Maker Storage row states the broad SSD category. Exact matching 16 GB/512 GB LaptopMedia review identifies the compatible NVMe subtype and AP0512Z. Protocol detail comes from the review, not this maker row.20Reviewlaptopmedia.com/review/apple-macbook-air-15-3-m5-the-best-15-inch-laptop-for-everyday-useRead 7 October 2026Exact tested 512 GB unit arrived with Apple SSD AP0512Z. Storage section explicitly calls it a soldered, non-upgradable NVMe drive. Compatible subtype refines maker broader SSD claim without contradicting it. Larger Notebookcheck 2 TB drive data is not used. No M.2 slot inferred.
- Installed drive PCIe generation
- 47Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-15-M5-Review-Very-powerful-fanless-and-without-competition.1244905.0.htmlRead 5 October 2026Storage Devices section explicitly identifies the base 512 GB SSD as PCIe 4.0. The reviewed 2 TB drive measurements are excluded.
- Storage slots
- Not available
- M.2 slots
- Not available
- Free storage slots
- Not available
- Maximum slot PCIe generation
- Not available
Ports
- Ports
Type Version Count Side Maximum data rate (Gbps) Thunderbolt or USB4 DP Alt Mode MagSafe MagSafe 3 1 Left Not available Not available Not available USB-C Thunderbolt 4 2 Left 40 Thunderbolt 4 Yes 3.5 mm audio Not available 1 Right Not available Not available Not available Source3Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/macbook-air/take-a-tour-of-macbookair-apd7e765329d/2026/mac/27Read 5 October 2026Tour illustrations establish physical connector sides. Protocols and counts also use the matching tech sheet.4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Charging and Expansion: two physical Thunderbolt 4 USB-C connectors with DisplayPort and charging, at up to 40 Gbps. Sides come from the tour manual.- USB-C ports
- 2
- Thunderbolt
- Yes
- Highest HDMI version
- Not available
- Card reader
- No
- Ethernet speed
- Not available
- Maximum USB-C charging input
- Not available
Wireless
- Wi-Fi module
- Apple N14Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Bluetooth
- 6.04Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Apple writes Bluetooth 6, stored as 6.0.
- Cellular
- Not available
Keyboard and touchpad
- Keyboard layouts
- ANSI, ISO4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Keyboard section explicitly publishes 78 ANSI or 79 ISO keys. No regional sold SKU rows are inferred.
- Keyboard backlight
- Backlit, type not stated4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Exact 15-inch model tech sheet Keyboard and Trackpad section explicitly states Backlit Magic Keyboard. Backlight colour and illumination type are not stated. No white, single-colour or RGB lighting inferred.
- Key travel
- Not available
- Pointing stick
- Not available
- Touchpad size
- Width150Height91mm(5.9 × 3.6 in)20Reviewlaptopmedia.com/review/apple-macbook-air-15-3-m5-the-best-15-inch-laptop-for-everyday-useRead 7 October 2026Exact reference Design section states roughly 150 x 91 mm trackpad. Published approximate width x height. No conversion from rounded inches.
Camera and audio
- Webcam
- 12 MP Center Stage, 1080p video4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- IR face login
- Not available
- Webcam privacy
- Not available
- Built-in speaker drivers
- 64Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Total speaker power
- Not available
- Audio features
- Spatial Audio, Dolby Atmos, Voice Isolation microphone mode, Wide Spectrum microphone mode, Spatial Audio with dynamic head tracking using supported AirPods models4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Exact model Audio section explicitly lists Voice Isolation and Wide Spectrum microphone modes, alongside Spatial Audio and Dolby Atmos. Dynamic head tracking requires supported AirPods, AirPods Pro or AirPods Max. It is not an unconditional built-in-speaker feature.
Battery and power
- Battery energy
- 66.5Wh4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026Battery and Power section.
- Claimed battery life
Use case Hours (h) Video streaming 18 Web browsing 15 - Laptop charging connector
- MagSafe4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
Cooling
- Vapor chamber
- Not available
- Liquid metal
- Not available
- Power modes
Name Automatic Low Power Mode
Security
- Fingerprint
- Power button3Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/macbook-air/take-a-tour-of-macbookair-apd7e765329d/2026/mac/27Read 5 October 2026Top view explicitly identifies Touch ID (power) button.
- TPM
- Not available
- Remote management
- Not available
- Security lock slot
- Not available
Software
- Operating system
- macOS Tahoe1Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-the-new-macbook-air-with-m5Read 5 October 2026The Power of macOS Tahoe section. Launch operating system, not the currently installed OS.
- Security updates until
- Not available
Measured display
- HDR peak brightness (measured)
- Not available
- DCI-P3 coverage (measured)
- Not available
- Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
- Not available
- PWM frequency (measured)
- Not available
- PWM at or below brightness
- Not available
- Response black to white (measured)
- 25.2ms21Measurementlaptopmedia.com/review/apple-macbook-air-15-3-m5-the-best-15-inch-laptop-for-everyday-useRead 7 October 2026Same matching pixel response method black-to-white and white-to-black, 10 to 90 percent amplitude, combined fall plus rise 25.2 ms. Gray-to-gray 50/80 percent method described but no readable numeric result, so GTG field stays empty.
- Response grey to grey (measured)
- Not available
Measured performance
We could not find any of these 8 fields. Show them
- Cinebench 2024 single-core
- Not available
- Cinebench 2024 multi-core
- Not available
- Geekbench 6 single-core
- Not available
- Geekbench 6 multi-core
- Not available
- 3DMark Time Spy graphics
- Not available
- 3DMark Steel Nomad
- Not available
- SSD sequential read (measured)
- Not available
- Game frame rates
- Not available
Measured noise and temperature
- Fan noise per mode
- Not available
- Max fan noise
- Not available
- Fan noise while gaming
- Not available
- Top surface under load
- Not available
- Bottom surface under load
- Not available
- Palm rest under load
- Not available
- CPU clock in stress test
- Not available
- GPU temperature while gaming
- Not available
Measured battery and power
- Battery runtime per test
Test Brightness (nits) Power mode Hours (h) Video playback 180 Low Power Mode 15.78 - Wi-Fi browsing runtime
- Not available
- Video runtime
- 15.78h
- Full charge time (measured)
- Not available
- Power draw idle
- Not available
- Power draw gaming
- Not available
- Power draw max
- Not available
- GPU power while gaming (measured)
- Not available
- Weight (measured)
- Not available
Certifications
- Intel Evo
- Not available
- Copilot+ PC
- Not available
- Colour certifications
- Not available
- Other certifications
- Not available
In the box
- In the box
- 15-inch MacBook Air, 40W Dynamic Power Adapter with 60W Max, USB-C to MagSafe 3 Cable (2 m)4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026US tech-sheet In the Box. Other markets can omit the adapter.
- Power adapter included
- Yes4Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
Warranty
- Manufacturer warranty (source market)
- 1year12Maker product pageapple.com/legal/warranty/products/embedded-mac-warranty-us.htmlRead 7 October 2026Original new US Mac one-year limited manufacturer hardware warranty from original retail purchase. This is the US reference market only. AppleCare, retailer guarantees and statutory rights excluded.
- Warranty service
- Carry-in, Mail-in12Maker product pageapple.com/legal/warranty/products/embedded-mac-warranty-us.htmlRead 7 October 2026US Warranty Service Options: carry-in at Apple Retail/AASP and mail-in if Apple determines eligibility. Apple chooses appropriate service. DIY parts option cannot be represented by enum.
Links
- Product page
- www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-the-new-macbook-air-with-m51Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-the-new-macbook-air-with-m5Read 5 October 2026
- Spec sheet
- support.apple.com/en-us/1263214Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321Read 8 October 2026
- Manual
- support.apple.com/guide/macbook-air/take-a-tour-of-macbookair-apd7e765329d/2026/mac/273Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/macbook-air/take-a-tour-of-macbookair-apd7e765329d/2026/mac/27Read 5 October 2026
- EPREL registration number
- Not available
Compare with
Pick a laptop to see both side by side. Differences are marked yellow.
Sources
We read 21 sources for this laptop. The numbers match the markers in the sheet.
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/126321
- Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-gb/102309
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102869
- Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/Apple_US_Education_Institution_Price_List.pdf
- Maker product pageapple.com/legal/warranty/products/embedded-mac-warranty-us.html
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/148165
- Certification listepeat.net/computers-and-displays-search-result/page-1/size-25
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/101613
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102378
See a wrong value? Tell us and name the field.
PredecessorApple MacBook Air 15-inch (M4, 2025)





