Computers / Laptops

AppleCreator laptop
MacBook Pro 16-inch (M3 Max, 2023)
Released 7 November 2023.2Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2023/10/apple-unveils-new-macbook-pro-featuring-m3-chipsRead 10 October 2026Orders from Monday, October 30, 2023. Arriving to customers and in stores from Tuesday, November 7, 2023. The stored date is the first US retail availability Last checked 23 October 2026.
- Screen size
- 16.2in
- Processor
- Apple M3 Max (14-core CPU)
- GPU
- Apple M3 Max 30-core GPU
- Weight (published)
- 2.16kg
79 of 179 fields known.
At a glance
Battery
Higher than 94% of other laptops.
Brightness (SDR, claimed)
Higher than 93% of other laptops.
Ports
- MagSafe 3
- 3 USB-C Thunderbolt 4 / USB 4
- 3.5 mm audio
- HDMI 2.1
- SD card SDXC
General
- Series
- MacBook Pro1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026MacBook Pro (16-inch, Nov 2023)
- Model numbers
- MRW33LL/A, MRW73LL/A, A2991, Mac15,114Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-m3-max-14-core-cpu-30-core-gpu-16-late-2023-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Order number MRW33LL/A is Space Black and MRW73LL/A is Silver. Model number A2991 (EMC 8408). Model ID Mac15,11, unique to this 14-core CPU and 30-core GPU 16-inch model
- GTIN / EAN
- Not available
- Announced
- 30 October 20232Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2023/10/apple-unveils-new-macbook-pro-featuring-m3-chipsRead 10 October 2026Press release dated October 30, 2023
- Predecessor
- Not available
- Successor
- Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Max, 2024)16Reviewrtings.com/laptop/reviews/apple/macbook-pro-16-2024Read 23 October 2026RTINGS says the MacBook Pro 16 (2024), sold with M4 Pro and M4 Max, replaces the MacBook Pro 16 (M3, 2023).
- Launch price (EU)
- Not available
- Colours
- Space Black, Silver1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Finish: Space Black and Silver4Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-m3-max-14-core-cpu-30-core-gpu-16-late-2023-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Offered in silver and Space Black
Chassis
Front and side, drawn to scale.
- Dimensions
- Width355.7Depth248.1Thickness (max)16.8mm(14 × 9.8 × 0.7 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Size and Weight: height 1.68 cm, width 35.57 cm, depth 24.81 cm. Published centimetres converted exactly to millimetres. Thickness is the single published height
- Weight (published)
- 2.16kg(4.8 lb)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Size and Weight, M3 Max row: 4.8 pounds (2.16 kg). Weight varies by configuration and manufacturing process
- Lid material
- Aluminium1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Environment section: 100% recycled aluminum in the enclosure
- Bottom material
- Aluminium1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Environment section: 100% recycled aluminum in the enclosure
- Max hinge angle
- Not available
- MIL-STD-810 testing (claimed)
- Not available
Display
- Screen size
- 16.2in(41.1 cm)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 202616.2-inch diagonal, measured as a standard rectangular shape. Actual viewable area is less
- Native resolution
- 3456 × 2234px1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026
- Pixel density
- 254ppi
- Panel type
- Not available
- Backlight
- Mini-LED5Spec databaseifixit.com/Device/MacBook_Pro_16%22_Late_2023Read 10 October 202616.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR mini-LED display
- Dimming zones
- Not available
- Panel part number
- Not available
- Touchscreen
- No7Retailer pagebhphotovideo.com/c/product/1793623-REG/apple_mrw73ll_a_16_macbook_pro_m3.htmlRead 10 October 2026Same listing: Touchscreen No8Retailer pagebestbuy.com/site/6534635.pRead 10 October 2026Best Buy lists the Space Black M3 Max 14-core, 30-core, 36GB, 1TB model with touch screen false. Read through the public search index
- Stylus
- Not available
- Refresh rate modes
Width (px) Height (px) Maximum operating refresh (Hz) VRR 3456 2234 120 Yes - Max refresh rate
- 120Hz
- Adaptive sync
- ProMotion1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026ProMotion technology for adaptive refresh rates
- Gray-to-gray response time (claimed)
- Not available
- Native panel colour depth
- Not available
- Brightness (SDR, claimed)
- 600nits1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Display section explicitly specifies SDR brightness 600 nits
- Peak brightness (SDR outdoors, claimed)
- Not available
- Sustained brightness (HDR, claimed)
- 1,000nits1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026XDR brightness: 1000 nits sustained full-screen
- Peak brightness (HDR, claimed)
- 1,600nits1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026XDR brightness: 1600 nits peak (HDR content only), below 25 degrees C
- sRGB coverage (claimed)
- Not available
- DCI-P3 coverage (claimed)
- Not available
- Adobe RGB coverage (claimed)
- Not available
- HDR certification
- Not available
- Second display
- Not available
Processor
- Processor
- Apple M3 Max (14-core CPU)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Chip section: M3 Max with 14-core CPU and 30-core GPU, 300GB/s memory bandwidth. The 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU option is a different product
- Processor brand
- Apple1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026
- Core configuration
Core type Count Max clock (GHz) Performance 10 4.05 Efficiency 4 Not available Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 202614-core CPU with 10 performance cores and 4 efficiency cores. Clock is on the EveryMac and iFixit pages4Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-m3-max-14-core-cpu-30-core-gpu-16-late-2023-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Processor Speed 4.05 GHz as reported by third-party software. Fourteen cores: 10 performance and 4 efficiency. The iFixit device page also lists 4.05 GHz for this model. No clock is stored for the efficiency cores5Spec databaseifixit.com/Device/MacBook_Pro_16%22_Late_2023Read 10 October 2026Model list: A2991, Mac15,11, 4.05 GHz M3 Max 14-Core Processor, 30-Core GPU, 16-Core Neural Engine- CPU cores
- 14
- Cores labelled performance
- 10
- Cores labelled efficiency
- 4
- Threads
- Not available
- Max boost clock
- 4.05GHz
- L3 cache
- Not available
- Sustained CPU power (configured)
- Not available
- Peak CPU power (configured)
- Not available
- Combined CPU and GPU power
- Not available
- NPU performance
- Not available
Graphics
- Discrete GPU
- No1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026The GPU is part of the M3 Max SoC and uses unified memory
- GPU
- Not available
- GPU brand
- Not available
- VRAM
- Not available
- Max GPU power (TGP)
- Not available
- Dynamic Boost
- Not available
- GPU boost clock
- Not available
- GPU switching
- Not available
- Integrated GPU
- Apple M3 Max 30-core GPU1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026M3 Max 30-core GPU
Memory
- Installed RAM
- 36GB1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Apple M3 Max chip: 36GB unified memory as the base. Reference configuration
- RAM speed
- Not available
- Memory channels
- Not available
- Memory slots
- Not available
- RAM slots
- Not available
- Free RAM slots
- Not available
Storage
- Installed storage
- 1TB1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Apple M3 Max chip: 1TB SSD as the base. 1TB is stored as 1000 GB
- Storage type
- SSD (interface unspecified)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Storage section: SSD. The interface is not named, so the generic ssd option is used
- Installed drive PCIe generation
- Not available
- Storage slots
- Not available
- M.2 slots
- Not available
- Free storage slots
- Not available
- Maximum slot PCIe generation
- Not available
Ports
- Ports
Type Version Count Side Maximum data rate (Gbps) Thunderbolt or USB4 DP Alt Mode MagSafe MagSafe 3 1 Left Not available Not available Not available USB-C Thunderbolt 4 / USB 4 2 Left 40 Thunderbolt 4 Yes 3.5 mm audio Not available 1 Left Not available Not available Not available USB-C Thunderbolt 4 / USB 4 1 Right 40 Thunderbolt 4 Yes HDMI HDMI 2.1 1 Right Not available Not available Not available SD card SDXC 1 Right Not available Not available Not available Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Charging and Expansion: SDXC card slot, HDMI port, 3.5 mm headphone jack, MagSafe 3 port, three Thunderbolt 4 (USB-C) ports with up to 40Gb/s. Physical connectors counted once. The HDMI version is on the EveryMac page4Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-m3-max-14-core-cpu-30-core-gpu-16-late-2023-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026HDMI 2.1 port and three Thunderbolt 4 ports9Reviewtomshardware.com/laptops/apple-16-inch-macbook-pro-late-2023Read 10 October 2026Review of the 16-inch late 2023 MacBook Pro. Right side: one HDMI 2.1 port, one Thunderbolt 4 port and an SDXC slot. Left side: MagSafe 3, two more Thunderbolt ports and a 3.5mm headphone jack. The port layout is the same for every configuration- USB-C ports
- 3
- Thunderbolt
- Yes
- Highest HDMI version
- HDMI 2.1
- Card reader
- Yes
- Ethernet speed
- Not available
- Maximum USB-C charging input
- Not available
Wireless
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 6E1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax)
- Wi-Fi bands
- 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz13Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102285Read 10 October 2026MacBook Pro introduced in 2023 or later can join Wi-Fi 6E networks on the 6 GHz band or use only 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. Wi-Fi 6E availability varies by country
- Wi-Fi module
- Not available
- Cellular
- Not available
Keyboard and touchpad
- Keyboard layouts
- ANSI (78 keys)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 202678 (U.S.) or 79 (ISO) keys. US SKU MRW33LL/A is the reference
- Key switches
- Scissor9Reviewtomshardware.com/laptops/apple-16-inch-macbook-pro-late-2023Read 10 October 2026Review: the full-size keyboard uses scissor switches
- Keyboard backlight
- Backlit, type not stated1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Backlit Magic Keyboard. The backlight colour and zones are not published
- Key travel
- Not available
- Pointing stick
- Not available
- Touchpad size
- Not available
Camera and audio
- Webcam
- 1080p FaceTime HD1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 20261080p FaceTime HD camera
- IR face login
- Not available
- Webcam privacy
- Not available
- Built-in speaker drivers
- 61Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Six-speaker sound system with force-cancelling woofers
- Total speaker power
- Not available
- Audio features
- Spatial Audio, Dolby Atmos, Force-cancelling woofers1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Spatial Audio when playing music or video with Dolby Atmos on built-in speakers. Force-cancelling woofers
Battery and power
- Battery energy
- 99.6Wh1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Footnote 3: actual rating 99.6 watt-hours (16-inch model). The rounded 100 Wh headline is not stored
- Claimed battery life
Use case Hours (h) Video playback 22 Web browsing 15 - Adapter rated output
- 140W1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026140W USB-C Power Adapter included
- Laptop charging connector
- MagSafe1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026USB-C to MagSafe 3 cable at the laptop end
Cooling
- Vapor chamber
- Not available
- Liquid metal
- Not available
- Power modes
- Not available
Security
- Fingerprint
- Power button1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026Touch ID. The power button location is in the Apple user guide12Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/macbook-pro/apd921215d6c/2023/mac/14.2Read 10 October 2026Touch ID is described as part of the power button
- TPM
- Not available
- Remote management
- Not available
- Security lock slot
- Not available
Software
- Operating system
- macOS Sonoma2Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2023/10/apple-unveils-new-macbook-pro-featuring-m3-chipsRead 10 October 2026New MacBook Pro ships with macOS Sonoma. Later supported system updates are excluded
- OS family
- macOS2Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2023/10/apple-unveils-new-macbook-pro-featuring-m3-chipsRead 10 October 2026macOS
- Security updates until
- Not available
Measured display
- Brightness (measured, centre)
- Not available
- Brightness (measured, average)
- Not available
- Contrast ratio (measured)
- Not available
- HDR peak brightness (measured)
- 1,546nits10Measurementtomsguide.com/reviews/macbook-pro-16-inch-m3-max-2023Read 10 October 2026HDR content on 10 percent of the display: 1,546 nits (1,123 nits for 100 percent). Test unit was the M3 Max 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB RAM and 8TB SSD model. The display panel is the same in every 16-inch configuration
- sRGB coverage (measured)
- Not available
- DCI-P3 coverage (measured)
- Not available
- Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
- 0.1110Measurementtomsguide.com/reviews/macbook-pro-16-inch-m3-max-2023Read 10 October 2026Delta-E 0.11 with a colorimeter. Delta E formula, colour profile and mode are not stated. Test unit was the 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB RAM and 8TB SSD model with the same display panel
- PWM flicker found
- Not available
- PWM frequency (measured)
- Not available
- PWM at or below brightness
- Not available
- Response black to white (measured)
- Not available
- Response grey to grey (measured)
- Not available
Measured performance
We could not find any of these 8 fields. Show them
- Cinebench 2024 single-core
- Not available
- Cinebench 2024 multi-core
- Not available
- Geekbench 6 single-core
- Not available
- Geekbench 6 multi-core
- Not available
- 3DMark Time Spy graphics
- Not available
- 3DMark Steel Nomad
- Not available
- SSD sequential read (measured)
- Not available
- Game frame rates
- Not available
Measured noise and temperature
We could not find any of these 9 fields. Show them
- Fan noise per mode
- Not available
- Max fan noise
- Not available
- Fan noise while gaming
- Not available
- Top surface under load
- Not available
- Bottom surface under load
- Not available
- Palm rest under load
- Not available
- CPU temperature in stress test
- Not available
- CPU clock in stress test
- Not available
- GPU temperature while gaming
- Not available
Measured battery and power
We could not find any of these 10 fields. Show them
- Battery runtime per test
- Not available
- Wi-Fi browsing runtime
- Not available
- Video runtime
- Not available
- Full charge time (measured)
- Not available
- Power draw idle
- Not available
- Power draw gaming
- Not available
- Power draw max
- Not available
- Sustained CPU power (measured)
- Not available
- GPU power while gaming (measured)
- Not available
- Weight (measured)
- Not available
Certifications
- Intel Evo
- Not available
- Copilot+ PC
- Not available
- Colour certifications
- Not available
- ENERGY STAR
- Yes1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026ENERGY STAR certified
- Other certifications
- Not available
In the box
- In the box
- 16-inch MacBook Pro, 140W USB-C Power Adapter, USB-C to MagSafe 3 Cable (2 m)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026In the Box: 16-inch MacBook Pro, 140W USB-C Power Adapter, USB-C to MagSafe 3 Cable (2 m)
- Power adapter included
- Yes1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026
Warranty
- Manufacturer warranty (source market)
- 1year15Maker product pageapple.com/legal/warranty/products/embedded-mac-warranty-us.htmlRead 10 October 2026Market US. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty. AppleCare and statutory rights are excluded
- Warranty service
- Not available
Links
- Product page
- support.apple.com/en-us/1177371Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026
- Spec sheet
- support.apple.com/en-us/1177371Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737Read 10 October 2026
- Manual
- support.apple.com/guide/macbook-pro/apd921215d6c/2023/mac/14.212Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/macbook-pro/apd921215d6c/2023/mac/14.2Read 10 October 2026Apple MacBook Pro User Guide for macOS Sonoma 14.2 and later
- EPREL registration number
- Not available
Compare with
Pick a laptop to see both side by side. Differences are marked yellow.
Sources
We read 16 sources for this laptop. The numbers match the markers in the sheet.
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/117737
- Spec databaseifixit.com/Device/MacBook_Pro_16%22_Late_2023
- Retailer pagebestbuy.com/site/6534635.p
- Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/16-inch_MacBook_Pro_PER_Oct2023.pdf
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102285
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/105101
- Maker product pageapple.com/legal/warranty/products/embedded-mac-warranty-us.html
See a wrong value? Tell us and name the field.





