{"data":{"slug":"apple-macbook-pro-16-m4-max","type":"laptop","brand":"Apple","name":"MacBook Pro 16-inch (M4 Max, 2024)","aliases":["MacBook Pro 16 M4 Max","MacBook Pro 16-inch M4 Max 2024","MX2W3LL/A"],"release_date":"2024-11-08","url":"https://arkivo.dev/laptops/apple-macbook-pro-16-m4-max","specs":{"series":"MacBook Pro","model_numbers":["MX2W3LL/A","MX313LL/A","A3186","Mac16,5"],"gtins":null,"announce_date":"2024-10-30","status":"discontinued","predecessor":"apple-macbook-pro-16-m3-max","successor":"apple-macbook-pro-16-m5-max","launch_price_usd":3999,"launch_price_eur":null,"markets":["US"],"colors":["Silver","Space Black"],"manufacturer_url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/121554","spec_sheet_url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/121554","manual_url":"https://support.apple.com/guide/macbook-pro/apd921215d6c/2024/mac/15","eprel_registration_number":null,"warranty_years":1,"segment":"creator","form_factor":"clamshell","dimensions_mm":{"width_mm":355.7,"depth_mm":248.1,"thickness_min_mm":null,"thickness_max_mm":16.8},"weight_kg":2.15,"lid_material":"aluminium","bottom_material":"aluminium","hinge_max_angle_deg":null,"mil_std_810":null,"screen_size_in":16.2,"native_resolution":{"width_px":3456,"height_px":2234},"pixel_density_ppi":254,"panel_type":"ips","backlight_type":"mini_led","local_dimming_zones":null,"panel_model":null,"screen_surface":"glossy","is_touchscreen":false,"stylus_support":"none","refresh_rate_modes":[{"width_px":3456,"height_px":2234,"max_hz":120,"vrr":true}],"max_refresh_rate_hz":120,"vrr_technologies":["promotion"],"response_time_gtg_ms":null,"color_depth_bits":10,"brightness_typical_nits":null,"brightness_outdoor_peak_nits":1000,"brightness_hdr_sustained_nits":1000,"brightness_hdr_peak_nits":1600,"srgb_coverage_pct":null,"dci_p3_coverage_pct":null,"adobe_rgb_coverage_pct":null,"hdr_certification":null,"factory_calibrated":null,"secondary_display":null,"cpu":"Apple M4 Max (16-core CPU)","cpu_brand":"apple","cpu_clusters":[{"core_type":"performance","count":12,"core_name":null,"base_ghz":null,"max_ghz":4.5},{"core_type":"efficiency","count":4,"core_name":null,"base_ghz":null,"max_ghz":2.6}],"cpu_core_count":16,"cpu_performance_core_count":12,"cpu_efficiency_core_count":4,"cpu_thread_count":16,"cpu_max_ghz":4.5,"cpu_cache_l3_mb":null,"process_node_nm":3,"cpu_tdp_configured_w":null,"cpu_power_max_w":null,"combined_power_max_w":null,"npu_tops":null,"has_discrete_gpu":false,"gpu":null,"gpu_brand":null,"gpu_vram_gb":null,"gpu_tgp_max_w":null,"gpu_dynamic_boost_w":null,"gpu_boost_clock_mhz":null,"gpu_switching":null,"integrated_gpu":"Apple M4 Max 40-core GPU","ram_gb":48,"ram_type":"lpddr5x","ram_speed_mts":8533,"ram_channels":null,"ram_upgradeable":"soldered","memory_slots":null,"ram_slot_count":null,"ram_free_slot_count":null,"ram_max_gb":128,"storage_gb":1000,"storage_type":"ssd","storage_pcie_gen":4,"storage_slots":null,"m2_slot_count":null,"storage_free_slot_count":null,"storage_pcie_gen_max":null,"ports":[{"type":"magsafe","version":"MagSafe 3","count":1,"side":null,"max_gbps":null,"tb_usb4":null,"dp_alt_mode":null,"charging_in_w":null,"power_out_w":null,"gpu_connection":null},{"type":"usb_c","version":"Thunderbolt 5 / USB 4","count":3,"side":null,"max_gbps":80,"tb_usb4":"thunderbolt_5","dp_alt_mode":true,"charging_in_w":null,"power_out_w":null,"gpu_connection":null},{"type":"hdmi","version":"HDMI 2.1","count":1,"side":null,"max_gbps":null,"tb_usb4":null,"dp_alt_mode":null,"charging_in_w":null,"power_out_w":null,"gpu_connection":null},{"type":"sd_card","version":"SDXC UHS-II","count":1,"side":null,"max_gbps":null,"tb_usb4":null,"dp_alt_mode":null,"charging_in_w":null,"power_out_w":null,"gpu_connection":null},{"type":"audio_3_5mm","version":null,"count":1,"side":null,"max_gbps":null,"tb_usb4":null,"dp_alt_mode":null,"charging_in_w":null,"power_out_w":null,"gpu_connection":null}],"usb_c_port_count":3,"has_thunderbolt":true,"hdmi_version_max":"HDMI 2.1","has_sd_card_reader":true,"ethernet_max_gbps":null,"usb_c_charging_w":null,"wifi_standard":"wifi_6e","wifi_bands":["2.4ghz","5ghz","6ghz"],"wifi_module":"Broadcom 0x4388","bluetooth_version":"5.3","cellular":null,"keyboard_layouts":["ANSI (78 keys)"],"keyboard_switch_type":"scissor","keyboard_backlight":"backlit_unspecified","numpad":false,"key_travel_mm":null,"pointing_stick":null,"touchpad_size_mm":null,"touchpad_type":"haptic","webcam_resolution":"12 MP","windows_hello_ir":false,"webcam_privacy":null,"speaker_count":6,"speaker_total_power_w":null,"audio_features":["Spatial Audio","Dolby Atmos","Force-cancelling woofers"],"microphone_count":3,"battery_wh":99.6,"battery_life_claimed":[{"use_case":"video_streaming","hours":21},{"use_case":"web_browsing","hours":14}],"charger_w":140,"charger_connector":"magsafe","charge_time_0_50_min":30,"fan_count":2,"vapor_chamber":null,"liquid_metal":null,"power_modes":[{"name":"Low Power Mode","cpu_power_w":null,"gpu_power_w":null},{"name":"Automatic","cpu_power_w":null,"gpu_power_w":null},{"name":"High Power Mode","cpu_power_w":null,"gpu_power_w":null}],"fingerprint_sensor":"power_button","tpm_version":null,"enterprise_management":null,"kensington_lock":null,"os":"macOS Sequoia","os_family":"macos","security_updates_until":null,"measured_sdr_brightness_nits":null,"measured_brightness_avg_nits":null,"measured_contrast_ratio":null,"measured_hdr_peak_nits":null,"measured_srgb_coverage_pct":null,"measured_dci_p3_coverage_pct":null,"measured_color_accuracy_delta_e":null,"measured_pwm_detected":null,"measured_pwm_frequency_hz":null,"measured_pwm_below_brightness_pct":null,"measured_response_black_white_ms":null,"measured_response_gray_gray_ms":null,"benchmark_cinebench_2024_single":178,"benchmark_cinebench_2024_multi":2069,"benchmark_geekbench_single":3880,"benchmark_geekbench_multi":25760,"benchmark_3dmark_time_spy_graphics":null,"benchmark_3dmark_steel_nomad":null,"measured_ssd_read_mbs":5061,"game_fps_measured":[{"game":"Baldur's Gate 3","width_px":1920,"height_px":1080,"preset":"Ultra","upscaling":"Off","ray_tracing":null,"avg_fps":99,"low_1pct_fps":null},{"game":"Cyberpunk 2077","width_px":1920,"height_px":1080,"preset":"Ultra","upscaling":"Off","ray_tracing":null,"avg_fps":47.4,"low_1pct_fps":null},{"game":"Total War: Pharaoh","width_px":1920,"height_px":1080,"preset":"Ultra","upscaling":null,"ray_tracing":null,"avg_fps":56,"low_1pct_fps":null},{"game":"The Witcher 3","width_px":1920,"height_px":1080,"preset":"Ultra (HBAO+)","upscaling":null,"ray_tracing":null,"avg_fps":107,"low_1pct_fps":null},{"game":"Shadow of the Tomb Raider","width_px":1920,"height_px":1080,"preset":"Highest (TAA)","upscaling":null,"ray_tracing":null,"avg_fps":129,"low_1pct_fps":null}],"fan_noise_measured":[{"power_mode":"Automatic","load":"idle","noise_dba":24.1},{"power_mode":"Automatic","load":"max_load","noise_dba":42.2}],"measured_noise_max_dba":42.2,"measured_noise_gaming_dba":null,"measured_temp_top_max_c":42.8,"measured_temp_bottom_max_c":42.3,"measured_temp_palmrest_c":30.8,"measured_cpu_stress_temp_c":null,"measured_cpu_stress_clock_ghz":null,"measured_gpu_gaming_temp_c":null,"battery_runtime_measured":[{"test":"wifi_websurfing","brightness_nits":150,"power_mode":"Automatic","hours":17.9667},{"test":"wifi_websurfing","brightness_nits":null,"power_mode":"Automatic","hours":6.75},{"test":"video_playback","brightness_nits":150,"power_mode":"Automatic","hours":21.75},{"test":"max_load","brightness_nits":null,"power_mode":"Automatic","hours":1.0833}],"measured_battery_wifi_h":17.9667,"measured_battery_video_h":21.75,"measured_charge_time_min":null,"measured_power_idle_w":15.6,"measured_power_gaming_w":116.2,"measured_power_max_w":143.7,"measured_cpu_sustained_power_w":50,"measured_gpu_gaming_power_w":null,"measured_weight_kg":2.149,"intel_evo":null,"copilot_plus_pc":null,"color_certifications":null,"energy_star":true,"epeat":"gold","other_certifications":null,"in_the_box":["16-inch MacBook Pro","140W USB-C Power Adapter","USB-C to MagSafe 3 Cable (2 m)"],"charger_in_box":true,"warranty_service_type":["carry_in","mail_in"]},"variants":[],"sources":[{"url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/121554","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["manufacturer_url","spec_sheet_url","dimensions_mm","weight_kg","lid_material","bottom_material","screen_size_in","native_resolution","brightness_outdoor_peak_nits","brightness_hdr_sustained_nits","brightness_hdr_peak_nits","refresh_rate_modes","vrr_technologies","cpu","cpu_brand","cpu_clusters","has_discrete_gpu","integrated_gpu","ram_gb","ram_max_gb","storage_gb","storage_type","ports","wifi_standard","bluetooth_version","keyboard_layouts","keyboard_backlight","numpad","touchpad_type","webcam_resolution","speaker_count","audio_features","microphone_count","battery_wh","battery_life_claimed","charger_w","charger_connector","in_the_box","charger_in_box","energy_star","os_family","colors"],"notes":{"cpu":"Chip section. The M4 Max comes in a 14-core CPU with 32-core GPU and a 16-core CPU with 40-core GPU. The stored product is the 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU configuration.","cpu_clusters":"Chip section lists the 16-core CPU as 12 performance and 4 efficiency cores. Clocks come from the Notebookcheck review.","integrated_gpu":"Chip section. 40-core GPU goes with the 16-core CPU.","ram_gb":"Memory section lists 48 GB as a configuration of the 16-core CPU. 48 GB is the base memory of the stored 16-core, 40-core model (EveryMac).","ram_max_gb":"Maximum purchase-time memory for the 16-core CPU configuration (128 GB). Not a post-purchase upgrade.","storage_gb":"Storage section. 1 TB base for the stored configuration. Footnote: 1 TB = 1 trillion bytes. Drive model and PCIe generation are not published by Apple.","weight_kg":"Size and Weight. M4 Max row, 2.15 kg. Weight varies by configuration and manufacturing process.","dimensions_mm":"Size and Weight. Published 1.68 x 35.57 x 24.81 cm converted exactly to mm.","brightness_hdr_peak_nits":"1600 nits peak, HDR content only, below 25 C (footnote 3).","brightness_hdr_sustained_nits":"1000 nits sustained full-screen XDR brightness, HDR content only. No duration stated.","brightness_outdoor_peak_nits":"SDR brightness up to 1000 nits outdoors. Ambient light conditions and duration are not stated.","refresh_rate_modes":"ProMotion adaptive refresh up to 120 Hz at the native 3456 x 2234 resolution.","ports":"Charging and Expansion: three Thunderbolt 5 (USB-C) ports, HDMI, SDXC card slot, MagSafe 3, 3.5 mm headphone jack. Connector sides are not stored because the Apple tour page only captions the 14-inch side views. Symmetric 80 Gbps comes from the Intel source. Apple's up to 120 Gbps is the asymmetric Bandwidth Boost figure.","battery_wh":"Footnote 17 states an actual rating of 99.6 Wh. The rounded 100 Wh headline is not stored.","battery_life_claimed":"Apple model-level maxima for the 16-inch MacBook Pro with M4 Max: up to 21 hours video streaming and 14 hours wireless web. Apple tested August to October 2024 on preproduction systems with the 14-core CPU, 32-core GPU, 36 GB, 2 TB configuration. The stored 16-core, 40-core, 48 GB model was not the tested one. Wireless web browsed 25 websites over Wi-Fi. Streaming used 1080p Safari content over Wi-Fi. Display brightness eight clicks from the bottom, keyboard backlight off. Claims, not measurements. Battery life varies by use and configuration.","charger_w":"Battery and Power and In the Box. 140W USB-C Power Adapter.","charger_connector":"USB-C to MagSafe 3 cable at the laptop end.","in_the_box":"In the Box. Polishing cloth only comes with the optional nano-texture display and is excluded.","keyboard_layouts":"US keyboard has 78 keys. ISO has 79.","keyboard_backlight":"Backlit Magic Keyboard. Apple does not state the lighting colour or type.","numpad":"Apple lists a 78-key (US) keyboard with 12 function keys and an inverted-T arrow cluster. No numeric keypad is listed.","touchpad_type":"Force Touch trackpad with pressure sensing. Treated as the haptic type.","colors":"Finish: Space Black, Silver.","os_family":"macOS."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2024/10/new-macbook-pro-features-m4-family-of-chips-and-apple-intelligence/","kind":"press_release","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["release_date","announce_date","series","segment","markets"],"notes":{"release_date":"Apple states general availability on 2024-11-08 and preorders from 2024-10-30. EveryMac confirms the 16-core, 40-core model in stores 2024-11-08.","segment":"Apple markets the MacBook Pro for pro workflows. Stored as creator like the other MacBook Pro entries."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2024/10/apple-introduces-m4-pro-and-m4-max/","kind":"press_release","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["process_node_nm"],"notes":{"process_node_nm":"M4 family is built on second-generation 3-nanometer technology."}},{"url":"https://everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-m4-max-16-core-cpu-40-core-gpu-16-2024-specs.html","kind":"spec_database","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["model_numbers","launch_price_usd","status","ram_upgradeable","ram_type","ports","form_factor","os"],"notes":{"model_numbers":"A3186, Mac16,5. Order numbers MX2W3LL/A (Silver) and MX313LL/A (Space Black), both 48 GB / 1 TB.","launch_price_usd":"Original US price US$3,999 for the 48 GB / 1 TB, 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU model. Excludes sales tax.","status":"EveryMac lists the model as discontinued on 2026-03-03.","ram_upgradeable":"Unified memory, onboard, not upgradable.","ram_type":"EveryMac lists unified memory without the chip type. LPDDR5X-8533 comes from the Notebookcheck review.","ports":"Lists HDMI 2.1 and an SDXC slot with UHS-II support.","os":"Shipped with macOS 15.0 (Sequoia), with a prompt to update to 15.1 for Apple Intelligence.","form_factor":"Hinged laptop chassis with a fixed keyboard. No detachable or 360-degree mode is claimed."}},{"url":"https://www.notebookcheck.com/Apple-MacBook-Pro-16-M4-Max-im-Test-Der-M4-Max-ist-einer-der-schnellsten-Mobilprozessoren.925344.0.html","kind":"measurement","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["cpu_clusters","cpu_thread_count","ram_type","ram_speed_mts","storage_pcie_gen","wifi_module","windows_hello_ir","fan_count","measured_weight_kg","benchmark_cinebench_2024_single","benchmark_cinebench_2024_multi","benchmark_geekbench_single","benchmark_geekbench_multi","measured_ssd_read_mbs","game_fps_measured","fan_noise_measured","measured_temp_top_max_c","measured_temp_bottom_max_c","measured_temp_palmrest_c","battery_runtime_measured","measured_power_idle_w","measured_power_gaming_w","measured_power_max_w","measured_cpu_sustained_power_w"],"notes":{"cpu_clusters":"Spec table: 12 x 4.5 GHz P-core, 4 x 2.6 GHz E-core. Base clocks are not published.","ram_speed_mts":"Spec table lists LPDDR5X-8533 for the tested 48 GB unit.","storage_pcie_gen":"Review text: PCIe 4.0 SSD (Apple SSD AP1024Z, 1024 GB).","wifi_module":"Spec table: Broadcom 0x14E4, 0x4388 (Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 5.3).","windows_hello_ir":"Pro and contra list: webcam without Face ID. Touch ID is the only biometric.","fan_count":"Review text: cooling with two fans.","measured_weight_kg":"Tested unit: 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 48 GB, 1 TB. Weighed 2.149 kg, power adapter 349 g.","benchmark_cinebench_2024_single":"Cinebench 2024 single core, 178 points. The review runs benchmarks in the default Automatic mode.","benchmark_cinebench_2024_multi":"Cinebench 2024 multi core, 2069 points in High Performance mode. The Automatic run scored 2015 points.","benchmark_geekbench_single":"Geekbench 6.7 single-core, Automatic mode.","benchmark_geekbench_multi":"Geekbench 6.7 multi-core, Automatic mode.","measured_ssd_read_mbs":"Blackmagic Disk Speed Test, 5 GB read 5060.9 MB/s. Write 6242.8 MB/s.","game_fps_measured":"Native macOS titles at 1920 x 1080, preset as named in the review, Automatic mode. Cyberpunk 2077 with FSR off. Average fps only.","fan_noise_measured":"Measured at 15 cm with an Earthworks M23R. Ambient 24.1 dB(A). Idle 24.1 dB(A). Load in Automatic mode reaches about 42.2 dB(A). The 54.7 dB(A) stress-test peak is not stored because the review does not name its power mode.","measured_temp_top_max_c":"Stress test, hottest point on the top. Automatic mode.","measured_temp_bottom_max_c":"Stress test, hottest point on the bottom. Automatic mode.","measured_temp_palmrest_c":"Palm rest and touchpad area under load.","battery_runtime_measured":"Review Wi-Fi test at 150 nits: 17 h 58 min. Wi-Fi test at maximum SDR brightness: 6 h 45 min. Big Buck Bunny H.264 1080p at 150 nits: 21 h 45 min. Full-brightness load test: 1 h 05 min. Automatic mode per the review's stated default.","measured_power_idle_w":"Highest idle reading 15.6 W. Idle minimum 4.7 W, average 15.5 W.","measured_power_gaming_w":"Cyberpunk 2077 Ultra, 116.2 W average.","measured_power_max_w":"Load maximum 143.7 W, short peak with the 140 W adapter.","measured_cpu_sustained_power_w":"CPU multi-core load settles at about 50 W after a short 57 W burst in Automatic mode."}},{"url":"https://hmc-tech.com/laptops/macbook-pro-16-m4-max-late-2024","kind":"spec_database","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["keyboard_switch_type","color_depth_bits"],"notes":{"keyboard_switch_type":"Lists scissor switches for the 16-inch M4 Max.","color_depth_bits":"Lists 10-bit colour. Apple states 1 billion colours, which matches 10 bits per channel. The page describes the 14-core, 32-core model with the same display."}},{"url":"https://support.apple.com/guide/macbook-pro/apd921215d6c/2024/mac/15","kind":"manual","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["manual_url","fingerprint_sensor"],"notes":{"fingerprint_sensor":"Touch ID sensor is built into the power button."}},{"url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/102378","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["charge_time_0_50_min"],"notes":{"charge_time_0_50_min":"Apple fast-charge page and the in-the-box guide: the 140W adapter fast-charges the 16-inch MacBook Pro to about 50 percent in about 30 minutes. Timing varies by settings and conditions. Apple's test models listed there are not M4 Max."}},{"url":"https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/newsroom/news/intel-introduces-thunderbolt-5-standard.html","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["ports"],"notes":{"ports":"Thunderbolt 5 delivers 80 Gbps bidirectional. Bandwidth Boost up to 120 Gbps is a display mode and is not stored as the symmetric rate."}},{"url":"https://support.apple.com/guide/deployment/wi-fi-and-ethernet-specifications-dep268652e6c/web","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["wifi_bands"],"notes":{"wifi_bands":"Apple lists 802.11ax at 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and 6 GHz for the 2024 16-inch MacBook Pro group. The 6 GHz band depends on the region."}},{"url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/101613","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["power_modes"],"notes":{"power_modes":"Modes: Low Power Mode, Automatic and High Power Mode. Automatic is the default. High Power Mode is available on 2024 or later MacBook Pro with a Pro or Max chip. No power limits are published."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/embedded-mac-warranty-us.html","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["warranty_years","warranty_service_type"],"notes":{"warranty_years":"US one-year limited hardware warranty from original retail purchase. AppleCare is excluded.","warranty_service_type":"Carry-in to an Apple Store or authorized provider, or mail-in. No onsite service is listed."}},{"url":"https://apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/MacBook_Pro_16-inch_PER_Oct2024.pdf","kind":"manufacturer_pdf","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["epeat"],"notes":{"epeat":"Footnote 6: MacBook Pro 16-inch achieved a Gold rating in the United States and Canada under IEEE 1680.1 and is listed on the EPEAT Registry."}},{"url":"https://www.macrumors.com/2026/03/06/apple-discontinued-these-15-products-this-week/","kind":"press","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["status"],"notes":{"status":"MacRumors reports Apple discontinued the 2024 MacBook Pro models in March 2026."}},{"url":"https://www.notebookcheck.org/Apple-MacBook-Pro-16-2024-M4-Max.920036.0.html","kind":"spec_database","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["panel_type","backlight_type","screen_surface","is_touchscreen","stylus_support"],"notes":{"panel_type":"Spec page lists a 16.2 inch IPS panel. Backlight is mini-LED per the review.","backlight_type":"Review spec table: Mini-LED.","screen_surface":"Review spec table: glossy. The nano-texture option is not the reference.","is_touchscreen":"No touch screen. The review lists none.","stylus_support":"No stylus support is listed."}},{"url":"https://www.rtings.com/laptop/reviews/apple/macbook-pro-16-2024","kind":"review_site","accessed":"2026-10-23","fields":["predecessor"],"notes":{"predecessor":"RTINGS says the MacBook Pro 16 (2024), sold with M4 Pro and M4 Max, replaces the MacBook Pro 16 (M3, 2023)."}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-macbook-pro-with-all-new-m5-pro-and-m5-max/","kind":"press_release","accessed":"2026-10-23","fields":["successor"],"notes":{"successor":"Apple compares the 16-inch MacBook Pro with M5 Max with the previous-generation 16-inch MacBook Pro with M4 Max."}}],"fields_filled":106,"updated":"2026-10-23"},"meta":{"api_version":"1","docs":"https://arkivo.dev/api"}}