{"data":{"slug":"apple-ipad-9th-generation","type":"tablet","brand":"Apple","name":"iPad (9th generation)","aliases":["iPad 9","iPad 9th gen","iPad 10.2-inch","iPad 2021","A2602","A2603","A2604"],"release_date":"2021-09","url":"https://arkivo.dev/tablets/apple-ipad-9th-generation","specs":{"series":"iPad","model_numbers":["A2602","A2603","A2604","A2605"],"gtins":null,"announce_date":"2021-09-14","status":"discontinued","predecessor":"apple-ipad-8th-generation","successor":"apple-ipad-10th-generation","launch_price_usd":329,"launch_price_eur":379,"markets":["US","EU","CN"],"colors":["Silver","Space Gray"],"manufacturer_url":null,"spec_sheet_url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/111898","manual_url":"https://support.apple.com/guide/ipad/ipad-9th-generation-ipada6b7a0b6/ipados","eprel_registration_number":null,"warranty_years":1,"form_factor":"slate","os_updates_years":null,"security_updates_years":null,"security_updates_until":null,"height_mm":250.6,"width_mm":174.1,"thickness_mm":7.5,"weight_g":487,"frame_material":"aluminium","front_material":null,"back_material":"aluminium","ip_rating":null,"mil_std_810":null,"sim_slots":{"nano_sim_count":1,"esim_count":null,"esim_only":false},"kickstand":null,"screen_size_in":10.2,"resolution":{"width_px":2160,"height_px":1620},"pixel_density_ppi":264.7,"aspect_ratio":"4:3","display_technology":"lcd_ips","display_technology_name":"Retina display","local_dimming_zones":null,"refresh_rate_modes":[{"mode_name":null,"min_hz":null,"max_hz":60,"variable":null}],"refresh_rate_max_hz":60,"refresh_rate_min_hz":null,"brightness_typical_nits":500,"brightness_peak_nits":null,"brightness_full_screen_nits":null,"static_contrast_ratio":null,"color_depth_bits":null,"dci_p3_coverage_pct":null,"hdr_formats":["dolby_vision","hdr10"],"laminated_display":false,"anti_reflection_coating":null,"screen_surface":null,"nano_texture_option":null,"pwm_dimming_hz":null,"os_at_launch":"iPadOS 15","os_skin":null,"os_latest":"iPadOS 27","chipset":"Apple A13 Bionic","process_node_nm":7,"cpu_core_count":6,"cpu_clusters":[{"count":2,"core_name":"Lightning","max_ghz":2.65},{"count":4,"core_name":"Thunder","max_ghz":1.8}],"cpu_max_ghz":2.65,"gpu":"Apple GPU (4-core graphics)","gpu_core_count":4,"npu_tops":null,"ram_gb":[3],"ram_type":null,"memory_bandwidth_gb_s":null,"storage_gb":[64,256],"storage_type":null,"memory_card_slot":"none","memory_card_max_gb":null,"rear_cameras":[{"role":"main","resolution_mp":8,"aperture_f":2.4,"focal_length_mm_equiv":31,"sensor_size":null,"pixel_size_um":1.12,"autofocus":"autofocus","ois":null,"optical_zoom_x":null,"field_of_view_deg":null,"sensor_model":null}],"rear_camera_count":1,"main_camera_mp":8,"flash":null,"rear_video_modes":[{"width_px":1920,"height_px":1080,"max_fps":30},{"width_px":1280,"height_px":720,"max_fps":120}],"video_max_resolution":{"width_px":1920,"height_px":1080},"video_hdr_formats":null,"video_codecs":["HEVC","H.264"],"lidar_scanner":null,"front_cameras":[{"role":"ultrawide","resolution_mp":12,"aperture_f":2.4,"focal_length_mm_equiv":null,"sensor_size":null,"pixel_size_um":null,"autofocus":null,"ois":null,"optical_zoom_x":null,"field_of_view_deg":122,"sensor_model":null}],"webcam_resolution":null,"front_camera_position":"portrait_edge","front_camera_auto_framing":true,"front_video_modes":[{"width_px":1920,"height_px":1080,"max_fps":60}],"front_camera_autofocus":null,"speaker_count":2,"speaker_arrangement":"other","stereo_speakers":true,"microphone_count":2,"headphone_jack":true,"audio_features":null,"cellular":true,"network_technologies":["hspa","lte"],"bands_2g":null,"bands_3g":["850 MHz","900 MHz","1700/2100 MHz","1900 MHz","2100 MHz"],"bands_4g":["B1","B2","B3","B4","B5","B7","B8","B11","B12","B13","B14","B17","B18","B19","B20","B21","B25","B26","B29","B30","B66","B71","B34","B38","B39","B40","B41"],"bands_5g":null,"mmwave":null,"max_download_mbps":null,"cellular_modem":null,"wifi_standard":"wifi_5","wifi_bands":["2.4ghz","5ghz"],"bluetooth_version":"4.2","bluetooth_codecs":null,"nfc":false,"positioning":["Digital compass","Wi-Fi","iBeacon microlocation","GPS/GNSS","Cellular"],"dual_frequency_gnss":null,"usb_connector":"lightning","usb_port_count":1,"usb_version":"USB 2.0","thunderbolt_version":null,"display_output":true,"display_output_max":{"width_px":1920,"height_px":1080,"refresh_hz":null},"max_external_displays":null,"stylus_support":"supported","stylus_models":[{"name":"Apple Pencil (1st generation)","technology":null,"included":false,"pressure_levels":null,"tilt":null,"hover":null,"haptics":null,"charging":null,"latency_claimed_ms":null}],"stylus_pressure_levels_max":null,"stylus_tilt":null,"stylus_hover":null,"accessory_connector":"Smart Connector","keyboard_accessories":[{"name":"Smart Keyboard","connection":"pogo_pins","trackpad":null,"backlit":null,"function_row":null,"included":false,"weight_g":null}],"keyboard_with_trackpad":null,"keyboard_in_box":false,"fingerprint_sensor":"home_button","face_unlock":null,"sensors":["Touch ID","Three-axis gyro","Accelerometer","Barometer","Ambient light sensor"],"hardware_buttons":["Home button with Touch ID"],"battery_capacity_mah":8557,"battery_capacity_typical_mah":null,"battery_capacity_wh":32.4,"battery_life_claimed":[{"use_case":"web_browsing","connection":"wifi","hours":10},{"use_case":"video_playback","connection":null,"hours":10},{"use_case":"web_browsing","connection":"cellular","hours":9}],"battery_life_video_claimed_h":10,"wired_charging_max_w":null,"wired_charging_standards":null,"charging_notes":null,"charge_time_0_50_min":null,"charge_time_0_100_min":null,"reverse_wired_charging":null,"charger_in_box":true,"charger_in_box_w":20,"benchmark_geekbench_single":null,"benchmark_geekbench_multi":null,"benchmark_geekbench_gpu":null,"benchmark_3dmark_wild_life_extreme":null,"benchmark_3dmark_stress_stability_pct":null,"benchmark_antutu":617292,"measured_brightness_nits":513,"measured_brightness_auto_nits":null,"measured_brightness_hdr_nits":null,"measured_contrast_ratio":1123,"measured_color_accuracy_delta_e":null,"measured_reflection_pct":null,"measured_pwm_hz":null,"measured_pwm_max_brightness_pct":null,"measured_stylus_latency_ms":null,"measured_battery_active_use_h":null,"battery_life_measured":null,"measured_charge_time_min":165,"measured_loudspeaker_lufs":-29.4,"eu_energy_class":null,"eu_battery_endurance_per_cycle_h":null,"eu_battery_endurance_cycles":null,"eu_free_fall_class":null,"eu_repairability_class":null,"sar_body_w_kg":null,"sar_eu_body_w_kg":null,"in_the_box":["iPad (9th generation)","Lightning to USB-C Cable","20W USB-C Power Adapter"]},"variants":[{"model_number":"A2602","cellular":false,"weight_g":487,"storage_gb":[64],"positioning":["Digital compass","Wi-Fi","iBeacon microlocation"],"launch_price_usd":329,"launch_price_eur":379},{"model_number":"A2602","cellular":false,"weight_g":487,"storage_gb":[256],"positioning":["Digital compass","Wi-Fi","iBeacon microlocation"]},{"model_number":"A2603","cellular":true,"weight_g":498,"storage_gb":[64],"network_technologies":["hspa","lte"],"sim_slots":{"nano_sim_count":1,"esim_only":false},"positioning":["Digital compass","Wi-Fi","iBeacon microlocation","GPS/GNSS","Cellular"],"bands_3g":["850 MHz","900 MHz","1700/2100 MHz","1900 MHz","2100 MHz"],"bands_4g":["B1","B2","B3","B4","B5","B7","B8","B11","B12","B13","B14","B17","B18","B19","B20","B21","B25","B26","B29","B30","B66","B71","B34","B38","B39","B40","B41"],"launch_price_usd":459},{"model_number":"A2603","cellular":true,"weight_g":498,"storage_gb":[256],"network_technologies":["hspa","lte"],"sim_slots":{"nano_sim_count":1,"esim_only":false},"positioning":["Digital compass","Wi-Fi","iBeacon microlocation","GPS/GNSS","Cellular"],"bands_3g":["850 MHz","900 MHz","1700/2100 MHz","1900 MHz","2100 MHz"],"bands_4g":["B1","B2","B3","B4","B5","B7","B8","B11","B12","B13","B14","B17","B18","B19","B20","B21","B25","B26","B29","B30","B66","B71","B34","B38","B39","B40","B41"]},{"model_number":"A2604","cellular":true,"weight_g":498,"storage_gb":[64],"network_technologies":["hspa","lte"],"sim_slots":{"nano_sim_count":1,"esim_only":false},"positioning":["Digital compass","Wi-Fi","iBeacon microlocation","GPS/GNSS","Cellular"],"launch_price_eur":519},{"model_number":"A2604","cellular":true,"weight_g":498,"storage_gb":[256],"network_technologies":["hspa","lte"],"sim_slots":{"nano_sim_count":1,"esim_only":false},"positioning":["Digital compass","Wi-Fi","iBeacon microlocation","GPS/GNSS","Cellular"]}],"sources":[{"url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/111898","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["series","spec_sheet_url","colors","storage_gb","height_mm","width_mm","thickness_mm","weight_g","frame_material","back_material","form_factor","screen_size_in","resolution","display_technology","display_technology_name","brightness_typical_nits","hdr_formats","chipset","cpu_core_count","rear_cameras","rear_video_modes","video_codecs","front_cameras","front_camera_auto_framing","front_video_modes","speaker_count","stereo_speakers","microphone_count","headphone_jack","cellular","network_technologies","bands_3g","bands_4g","sim_slots","wifi_standard","bluetooth_version","positioning","usb_connector","usb_port_count","display_output","display_output_max","stylus_support","stylus_models","accessory_connector","fingerprint_sensor","sensors","hardware_buttons","battery_capacity_wh","battery_life_claimed","charger_in_box","charger_in_box_w","in_the_box","variants"],"notes":{"series":"Product name iPad (9th generation)","weight_g":"Wi-Fi models 487 g. Wi-Fi + Cellular models 498 g","frame_material":"100% recycled aluminum in the enclosure","back_material":"100% recycled aluminum in the enclosure","screen_size_in":"10.2-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit Multi-Touch display with IPS technology","resolution":"2160-by-1620-pixel resolution at 264 pixels per inch","brightness_typical_nits":"500 nits brightness","hdr_formats":"Video Playback section: Supports Dolby Vision and HDR10 content. Playback support, not HDR luminance on the built-in LCD. The 2021 GSMArena review did not find HDR video support, so the maker page is used","cpu_core_count":"Chip section lists the A13 Bionic. The six-core layout comes from GSMArena","rear_cameras":"8MP Wide camera, f/2.4 aperture, continuous autofocus video. Focal length and pixel size come from GSMArena","rear_video_modes":"1080p at 25 or 30 fps. 720p at 30 fps. Slo-mo 720p at 120 fps","front_cameras":"12MP Ultra Wide camera, 122 degree field of view, f/2.4 aperture","front_camera_auto_framing":"Video Calling section lists Center Stage","front_video_modes":"Front Camera section: 1080p HD video recording at 25, 30 or 60 fps","speaker_count":"Speakers section lists Stereo speakers. The count of two comes from the GSMArena review","microphone_count":"Dual microphones for calls, video recording, and audio recording","network_technologies":"Wi-Fi + Cellular models: UMTS/HSPA/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA and gigabit-class LTE. No GSM is listed","bands_4g":"Model A2603 only. Apple lists no band table for A2604","bands_3g":"Model A2603 UMTS/HSPA bands","sim_slots":"SIM Card section: Nano-SIM and eSIM on Wi-Fi + Cellular models. eSIM count is not stated","wifi_standard":"Wi-Fi 5 (802.11ac) with 2x2 MIMO, speeds up to 866 Mbps","positioning":"All models: digital compass, Wi-Fi, iBeacon microlocation. Wi-Fi + Cellular models add GPS/GNSS and cellular","usb_connector":"Buttons and Connectors lists a Lightning connector","display_output":"Digital video output over adapters. VGA, HDMI and DVI","display_output_max":"Video out up to 1080p through the Lightning Digital AV Adapter and the Lightning to VGA Adapter. Refresh rate not published","stylus_models":"Display section: Supports Apple Pencil (1st generation). Not included","fingerprint_sensor":"Buttons and Connectors list: Home button/Touch ID. The Touch ID reader is in the front home button.","hardware_buttons":"Buttons and Connectors list: Home button/Touch ID","battery_capacity_wh":"Built-in 32.4-watt-hour rechargeable lithium-polymer battery","battery_life_claimed":"Up to 10 h web on Wi-Fi or video, up to 9 h web on cellular. Apple test in August 2021 with preproduction units at 50% brightness, Auto-Brightness off. Video connection not specified","charger_in_box_w":"20W USB-C Power Adapter","sensors":"Touch ID, three-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor","variants":"Size and Weight, Cellular and Wireless and SIM Card sections"}},{"url":"https://support.apple.com/en-us/108043","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["model_numbers","markets","storage_gb","variants"],"notes":{"model_numbers":"A2602 iPad (9th generation). A2604 Wi-Fi + Cellular. A2603 Wi-Fi + Cellular (North America only). A2605 Wi-Fi + Cellular (China mainland only)","markets":"CN from A2605, China mainland only","variants":"Model numbers per Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi + Cellular model. Capacity 64 GB and 256 GB"}},{"url":"https://support.apple.com/guide/ipad/ipad-9th-generation-ipada6b7a0b6/ipados","kind":"manual","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["manual_url","front_camera_position"],"notes":{"manual_url":"iPad User Guide hardware page for iPad (9th generation)","front_camera_position":"Front view diagram text: front camera at the top center, Home button at the bottom center, in portrait orientation. That is the short edge"}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2021/09/apples-most-popular-ipad-delivers-even-more-performance-and-advanced-features/","kind":"press_release","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["release_date","announce_date","launch_price_usd","markets","colors","storage_gb","os_at_launch","front_cameras","front_camera_auto_framing","stylus_models","keyboard_accessories","variants"],"notes":{"release_date":"Announced September 14, 2021. Order from September 14, in stores from Friday September 24. Release month September 2021","launch_price_usd":"Wi-Fi from $329, Wi-Fi + Cellular from $459 (US), 64 GB","markets":"Order in 28 countries and regions, including the US","os_at_launch":"iPadOS 15 ships for free with the new iPad","keyboard_accessories":"Smart Keyboard for iPad sold separately, $159 (US). Trackpad, backlight and weight not published","stylus_models":"Apple Pencil (1st generation) sold separately, $99 (US)","variants":"US starting prices for the 64 GB Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi + Cellular models. 256 GB prices are not in the release"}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/de/newsroom/2021/09/apples-most-popular-ipad-delivers-even-more-performance-and-advanced-features/","kind":"press_release","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["launch_price_eur","markets","variants"],"notes":{"launch_price_eur":"Germany: Wi-Fi models from 379 Euro, Wi-Fi + Cellular from 519 Euro incl. VAT, 64 GB","markets":"EU from the German launch release","variants":"EUR starting prices for the 64 GB models"}},{"url":"https://m.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2021)-11106.php","kind":"spec_database","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["aspect_ratio","process_node_nm","cpu_core_count","cpu_clusters","gpu","gpu_core_count","ram_gb","memory_card_slot","wifi_bands","nfc","usb_version","battery_capacity_mah","rear_cameras","speaker_count"],"notes":{"aspect_ratio":"1620 x 2160 pixels, 4:3 ratio","process_node_nm":"Chipset: Apple A13 Bionic (7 nm+)","cpu_core_count":"Hexa-core (2x2.65 GHz Lightning + 4x1.8 GHz Thunder)","cpu_clusters":"Clock speeds as listed by GSMArena for the A13 Bionic in this iPad. Apple does not publish them","gpu":"Apple GPU (4-core graphics)","gpu_core_count":"4-core graphics","ram_gb":"64GB 3GB RAM, 256GB 3GB RAM. Apple does not publish RAM","memory_card_slot":"Card slot: No","wifi_bands":"WLAN: Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band","nfc":"NFC: No","usb_version":"Lightning, USB 2.0","battery_capacity_mah":"Li-Ion 8557 mAh (32.4 Wh). The mAh figure is the GSMArena value. It matches Apple's 32.4 Wh at about 3.79 V","rear_cameras":"8 MP, f/2.4, 31mm (standard), 1.12µm, AF","speaker_count":"Yes, with stereo speakers"}},{"url":"https://m.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_2021-review-2328p2.php","kind":"review_site","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["laminated_display","speaker_arrangement","speaker_count","microphone_count","battery_capacity_mah","usb_version"],"notes":{"laminated_display":"The iPad 10.2 (2021) is still using a non-fully-laminated display, with an air gap under the front glass","speaker_arrangement":"Stereo speakers, but both are on the bottom. Enum other because both speakers sit on one edge","speaker_count":"Stereo speakers, both on the bottom, so two","microphone_count":"One microphone on the top side and one on the back. Matches Apple's dual microphones","battery_capacity_mah":"Battery 32.4 Wh or 8557 mAh, identical to the 8th generation","usb_version":"Lightning connector with a USB 2.0 controller behind it"}},{"url":"https://m.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_2021-review-2328p3.php","kind":"measurement","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["refresh_rate_modes","measured_brightness_nits","measured_contrast_ratio","measured_charge_time_min"],"notes":{"refresh_rate_modes":"Display section: the panel still refreshes at 60Hz","measured_brightness_nits":"GSMArena display test at 100% brightness: white 513 cd/m2, black 0.457 cd/m2. GSMArena states there is no max auto mode beyond 513 nits. White area extent not stated","measured_contrast_ratio":"1123:1 at 100% brightness, black 0.457 cd/m2, white 513 cd/m2","measured_charge_time_min":"Zero to full in around 2 hours 45 minutes with the 20W adapter in the box. Cable not stated. Wi-Fi 64 GB unit"}},{"url":"https://m.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_2021-review-2328p4.php","kind":"measurement","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["benchmark_antutu"],"notes":{"benchmark_antutu":"AnTuTu 9 total score 617292, Metal. Wi-Fi 64 GB test unit with 3 GB RAM"}},{"url":"https://m.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2021)-11106.php","kind":"measurement","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["measured_loudspeaker_lufs","measured_brightness_nits","measured_contrast_ratio","benchmark_antutu"],"notes":{"measured_loudspeaker_lufs":"Our Tests: Loudspeaker -29.4 LUFS (Average)","measured_brightness_nits":"Our Tests: 513 nits max brightness (measured)","measured_contrast_ratio":"Our Tests: 1123:1 contrast ratio","benchmark_antutu":"Our Tests: AnTuTu 617292 (v9)"}},{"url":"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPad_(9th_generation)","kind":"spec_database","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["status","release_date"],"notes":{"status":"Infobox: discontinued May 7, 2024","release_date":"Announced September 14, 2021, released September 24, 2021"}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/os/ipados/","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["os_latest"],"notes":{"os_latest":"iPadOS 27 is compatible with iPad (9th generation and later, A16)"}},{"url":"https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/ios-warranty-document-us.html","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-10","fields":["warranty_years"],"notes":{"warranty_years":"US market. Apple One (1) Year Limited Warranty for iPad hardware"}},{"url":"https://www.whathifi.com/advice/apple-ipad-9-2021-vs-ipad-8-2020-which-ipad-should-you-buy","kind":"review_site","accessed":"2026-10-23","fields":["predecessor"],"notes":{"predecessor":"What Hi-Fi says the ninth-generation iPad replaces the eighth-generation entry-level iPad."}},{"url":"https://www.macrumors.com/guide/ipad-9-vs-ipad-10","kind":"press","accessed":"2026-10-23","fields":["successor"],"notes":{"successor":"MacRumors calls the ninth-generation iPad the predecessor of the 10th-generation iPad, which Apple kept on sale beside it."}},{"url":"https://www.macworld.com/article/1370887/ipad-10th-gen-vs-ipad-9th-gen-design-display-specs.html","kind":"press","accessed":"2026-10-23","fields":["successor"],"notes":{"successor":"Macworld says Apple updated its entry-level iPad with the 10th generation and calls the 9th generation its predecessor."}}],"fields_filled":93,"updated":"2026-10-23"},"meta":{"api_version":"1","docs":"https://arkivo.dev/api"}}