{"data":{"slug":"microsoft-surface-pro-12-2nd-edition-x2-plus","type":"tablet","brand":"Microsoft","name":"Surface Pro 12-inch (2nd Edition, X2 Plus)","aliases":["Surface Pro 12-inch (2nd Edition)","Surface Pro 12 2026","Surface Pro 12-inch Snapdragon X2 Plus","Surface Pro, 12-inch (2nd Edition)"],"release_date":"2026-10","url":"https://arkivo.dev/tablets/microsoft-surface-pro-12-2nd-edition-x2-plus","specs":{"series":"Surface Pro","model_numbers":["EP2-83436","EP2-75907","EP2-83556","EP2-75572","EP2-74896","EP2-74897","EP2-76346","EP2-76334","EP2-76335","EP2-83568","EP2-76047","EP2-83448","EP2-74799","EP2-75500","EP2-74787","EP2-76337"],"gtins":null,"announce_date":"2026-09-23","status":"available","predecessor":"microsoft-surface-pro-12-1st-edition-x-plus","successor":null,"launch_price_usd":1149.99,"launch_price_eur":1259,"markets":["US","EU","GB"],"colors":["Platinum","Black","Violet"],"manufacturer_url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/store/configure/surface-pro-12-inch-2nd-edition/8wg5vqp0x4bw","spec_sheet_url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/surface/devices/surface-pro","manual_url":"https://support.microsoft.com/surface/models/surface-pro-12-inch-2nd-edition-features","eprel_registration_number":null,"warranty_years":1,"form_factor":"detachable_2_in_1","os_updates_years":null,"security_updates_years":null,"security_updates_until":null,"height_mm":274,"width_mm":190,"thickness_mm":7.8,"weight_g":686,"frame_material":"aluminium","front_material":"Strengthened glass","back_material":"aluminium","ip_rating":null,"mil_std_810":null,"sim_slots":null,"kickstand":true,"screen_size_in":12,"resolution":{"width_px":2196,"height_px":1464},"pixel_density_ppi":219.9,"aspect_ratio":"3:2","display_technology":"lcd_other","display_technology_name":"PixelSense LCD","local_dimming_zones":null,"refresh_rate_modes":[{"mode_name":"Dynamic refresh rate","min_hz":null,"max_hz":90,"variable":null}],"refresh_rate_max_hz":90,"refresh_rate_min_hz":null,"brightness_typical_nits":500,"brightness_peak_nits":null,"brightness_full_screen_nits":null,"static_contrast_ratio":1400,"color_depth_bits":null,"dci_p3_coverage_pct":null,"hdr_formats":null,"laminated_display":null,"anti_reflection_coating":null,"screen_surface":null,"nano_texture_option":null,"pwm_dimming_hz":null,"os_at_launch":"Windows 11 Home","os_skin":null,"os_latest":null,"chipset":"Qualcomm Snapdragon X2 Plus (6 Core)","process_node_nm":3,"cpu_core_count":6,"cpu_clusters":[{"count":6,"core_name":"Qualcomm Oryon 3rd Gen Prime","max_ghz":null}],"cpu_max_ghz":null,"gpu":"Qualcomm Adreno X2-45","gpu_core_count":null,"npu_tops":80,"ram_gb":[16,24],"ram_type":"LPDDR5x","memory_bandwidth_gb_s":null,"storage_gb":[256,512],"storage_type":"UFS","memory_card_slot":"none","memory_card_max_gb":null,"rear_cameras":[{"role":"main","resolution_mp":10,"aperture_f":null,"focal_length_mm_equiv":null,"sensor_size":null,"pixel_size_um":null,"autofocus":null,"ois":null,"optical_zoom_x":null,"field_of_view_deg":null,"sensor_model":null}],"rear_camera_count":1,"main_camera_mp":10,"flash":null,"rear_video_modes":null,"video_max_resolution":null,"video_hdr_formats":null,"video_codecs":null,"lidar_scanner":null,"front_cameras":null,"webcam_resolution":"1080p Full HD front-facing Surface Studio Camera","front_camera_position":"landscape_edge","front_camera_auto_framing":true,"front_video_modes":null,"front_camera_autofocus":null,"speaker_count":null,"speaker_arrangement":null,"stereo_speakers":true,"microphone_count":2,"headphone_jack":false,"audio_features":["Dolby Atmos","Bluetooth LE Audio","Enhanced voice focus"],"cellular":null,"network_technologies":null,"bands_2g":null,"bands_3g":null,"bands_4g":null,"bands_5g":null,"mmwave":null,"max_download_mbps":null,"cellular_modem":null,"wifi_standard":"wifi_7","wifi_bands":null,"bluetooth_version":"5.4","bluetooth_codecs":["LC3"],"nfc":null,"positioning":null,"dual_frequency_gnss":null,"usb_connector":"usb_c","usb_port_count":2,"usb_version":"USB 3.2","thunderbolt_version":null,"display_output":true,"display_output_max":null,"max_external_displays":2,"stylus_support":"supported","stylus_models":[{"name":"Surface Slim Pen (2nd Edition)","technology":"mpp","included":false,"pressure_levels":4096,"tilt":null,"hover":null,"haptics":true,"charging":"magnetic_on_device","latency_claimed_ms":null}],"stylus_pressure_levels_max":4096,"stylus_tilt":null,"stylus_hover":null,"accessory_connector":"Surface Pro 12-inch Keyboard connector","keyboard_accessories":[{"name":"Surface Pro 12-inch Keyboard","connection":null,"trackpad":true,"backlit":true,"function_row":true,"included":false,"weight_g":null}],"keyboard_with_trackpad":true,"keyboard_in_box":false,"fingerprint_sensor":null,"face_unlock":"infrared","sensors":["Ambient color sensor","Accelerometer","Gyroscope","Magnetometer"],"hardware_buttons":null,"battery_capacity_mah":null,"battery_capacity_typical_mah":null,"battery_capacity_wh":38,"battery_life_claimed":[{"use_case":"video_playback","connection":"wifi","hours":15.5},{"use_case":"web_browsing","connection":"wifi","hours":13}],"battery_life_video_claimed_h":15.5,"wired_charging_max_w":null,"wired_charging_standards":null,"charging_notes":"Microsoft support recommends a USB-C PD charger of at least 27 W. Fast Charging needs at least 45 W and charges the battery up to 80% in about an hour. The consumer technical specifications name a minimum 60 W charger for fast charging, so the two Microsoft documents differ. No charger is included.","charge_time_0_50_min":null,"charge_time_0_100_min":null,"reverse_wired_charging":null,"charger_in_box":false,"charger_in_box_w":null,"benchmark_geekbench_single":null,"benchmark_geekbench_multi":null,"benchmark_geekbench_gpu":null,"benchmark_3dmark_wild_life_extreme":null,"benchmark_3dmark_stress_stability_pct":null,"benchmark_antutu":null,"measured_brightness_nits":null,"measured_brightness_auto_nits":null,"measured_brightness_hdr_nits":null,"measured_contrast_ratio":null,"measured_color_accuracy_delta_e":null,"measured_reflection_pct":null,"measured_pwm_hz":null,"measured_pwm_max_brightness_pct":null,"measured_stylus_latency_ms":null,"measured_battery_active_use_h":null,"battery_life_measured":null,"measured_charge_time_min":null,"measured_loudspeaker_lufs":null,"eu_energy_class":null,"eu_battery_endurance_per_cycle_h":null,"eu_battery_endurance_cycles":null,"eu_free_fall_class":null,"eu_repairability_class":null,"sar_body_w_kg":null,"sar_eu_body_w_kg":null,"in_the_box":["Surface Pro, 12-inch","USB-C charging cable","Quick Start Guide","Safety and warranty documents"]},"variants":[{"model_number":"EP2-83436","markets":["US"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[256],"colors":["Black"],"launch_price_usd":1149.99},{"model_number":"EP2-75907","markets":["US"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[256],"colors":["Platinum"],"launch_price_usd":1149.99},{"model_number":"EP2-83556","markets":["US"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[256],"colors":["Violet"],"launch_price_usd":1149.99},{"model_number":"EP2-75572","markets":["US"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Black"],"launch_price_usd":1249.99},{"model_number":"EP2-74896","markets":["US"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Platinum"],"launch_price_usd":1249.99},{"model_number":"EP2-74897","markets":["US"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Violet"],"launch_price_usd":1249.99},{"model_number":"EP2-76346","markets":["US"],"ram_gb":[24],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Black"],"launch_price_usd":1449.99},{"model_number":"EP2-76334","markets":["US"],"ram_gb":[24],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Platinum"],"launch_price_usd":1449.99},{"model_number":"EP2-76335","markets":["US"],"ram_gb":[24],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Violet"],"launch_price_usd":1449.99},{"model_number":"EP2-83568","markets":["EU","GB"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[256],"colors":["Violet"],"launch_price_eur":1259},{"model_number":"EP2-76047","markets":["EU","GB"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[256],"colors":["Platinum"],"launch_price_eur":1259},{"model_number":"EP2-83448","markets":["EU","GB"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[256],"colors":["Black"],"launch_price_eur":1259},{"model_number":"EP2-74799","markets":["EU","GB"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Violet"],"launch_price_eur":1379},{"model_number":"EP2-75500","markets":["EU","GB"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Black"],"launch_price_eur":1379},{"model_number":"EP2-74787","markets":["EU","GB"],"ram_gb":[16],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Platinum"],"launch_price_eur":1379},{"model_number":"EP2-76337","markets":["EU","GB"],"ram_gb":[24],"storage_gb":[512],"colors":["Black"],"launch_price_eur":1619}],"sources":[{"url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/store/configure/surface-pro-12-inch-2nd-edition/8wg5vqp0x4bw","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["manufacturer_url","model_numbers","colors","status","launch_price_usd","markets","ram_gb","storage_gb","storage_type","ram_type","chipset","cpu_core_count","npu_tops","charger_in_box","in_the_box","os_at_launch","battery_life_claimed","variants","front_camera_position"],"notes":{"model_numbers":"US store EP2 inventory codes for the nine consumer configurations of the 2nd Edition (EP2-83436, EP2-75907, EP2-83556, EP2-75572, EP2-74896, EP2-74897, EP2-76346, EP2-76334, EP2-76335). The German and UK stores list seven other EP2 codes for their markets. Business models, the 1st Edition and 5G models are excluded","colors":"Platinum, Black and Violet. Windows Central says Ocean Blue was retired","status":"The exact configurations are in stock and not preorder as accessed on 2026-10-14. Microsoft says available from October 13","launch_price_usd":"From $1,149.99 MSRP for Snapdragon X2 Plus 16 GB RAM and 256 GB. Store data: msrp 1149.99, taxes not included. The 512 GB model is $1,249.99 and the 24 GB RAM model is $1,449.99. No sale price shown","markets":"US store sells the EP2-83436 family in USD. The German and UK Microsoft stores sell the 2nd Edition in EUR and GBP","ram_gb":"Key tech specs: 16 GB and 24 GB LPDDR5x RAM. The 8 GB option of the 1st Edition was removed. The US consumer tech table still lists 8 GB, which the store options do not sell","storage_gb":"Key tech specs: 256 GB, 512 GB (UFS). 1 TB is a business-only option and is not stored","storage_type":"Key tech specs: Storage 256 GB, 512 GB (UFS). UFS version is not stated","ram_type":"Key tech specs: LPDDR5x RAM","chipset":"Snapdragon X2 Plus (6 Core) in every consumer configuration","cpu_core_count":"Snapdragon X2 Plus (6 Core). Clock speed is not stated by Microsoft","npu_tops":"Qualcomm Hexagon NPU with 80 TOPS. Precision is not stated here. The Qualcomm product brief lists 80 TOPS (INT8) for the chip","charger_in_box":"Power supply: No power supply unit included. Compatible with any 27W or higher USB-C power supply","in_the_box":"What is in the box: Surface Pro, USB-C charging cable, Quick Start Guide, safety and warranty documents. Slim Pen and keyboard sold separately","os_at_launch":"Key tech specs: Software Windows 11 Home. Business models ship Windows 11 Pro and are excluded","battery_life_claimed":"Up to 15.5 hours of local video playback and up to 13 hours of active web usage. Microsoft test in August 2026 with preproduction Snapdragon X2 Plus 16 GB / 256 GB devices. Video: .mov file in Windows Media Player at 1080p 24 FPS. Web: twelve popular websites over multiple tabs. Default settings except brightness 150 nits with auto-brightness off, Wi-Fi connected. Model-level claims, not measured","front_camera_position":"Official store product images show the 12-inch in landscape with the front and Windows Hello cameras at the centre of the long top edge","variants":"US rows: nine consumer configurations with colour, RAM, storage and USD MSRP from the store data. EU and GB rows come from the German and UK stores. Base is Wi-Fi. 5G models are sold to commercial customers only and are excluded"}},{"url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/surface/devices/surface-pro","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["series","spec_sheet_url","form_factor","height_mm","width_mm","thickness_mm","weight_g","frame_material","front_material","back_material","kickstand","screen_size_in","resolution","aspect_ratio","display_technology","display_technology_name","refresh_rate_modes","brightness_typical_nits","static_contrast_ratio","webcam_resolution","front_camera_auto_framing","rear_cameras","stereo_speakers","microphone_count","audio_features","bluetooth_version","usb_connector","usb_version","display_output","max_external_displays","stylus_support","stylus_models","accessory_connector","sensors","battery_capacity_wh","warranty_years","wifi_standard","gpu","usb_port_count"],"notes":{"spec_sheet_url":"Microsoft Surface Pro 12th Edition consumer page. Its technical specifications table covers the 12-inch (2nd Edition) and the 13-inch. Only the rows for the 12-inch are used","form_factor":"Marketed as a 2-in-1 with a removable keyboard","height_mm":"Size and Weight: Length 274 mm is the long edge and is stored as portrait height. Width 190 mm. Height 7.8 mm is the thickness","weight_g":"Size and Weight: 1.5 lb (686 g). Weight not including the keyboard. Might vary depending on manufacturing processes","frame_material":"Exterior: Casing anodized aluminum. Enclosure includes bucket, kickstand and pen tray","back_material":"Exterior: Casing anodized aluminum","front_material":"Display: Strengthened glass display. Glass brand not published","kickstand":"Kickstand with 165 degrees full friction hinge","screen_size_in":"12-inch touchscreen. Footnote: measured as a standard rectangular shape the screen is 12 inch diagonally. Rounded corners reduce the viewable area","resolution":"Display: 2196 x 1464 (220 PPI)","aspect_ratio":"Display: Aspect ratio 3:2","display_technology":"PixelSense LCD display. Panel type such as IPS is not stated, so lcd_other is used","refresh_rate_modes":"Dynamic refresh rate: up to 90 Hz (60 Hz default). Minimum rate is not stated","brightness_typical_nits":"Brightness: SDR 500 nits maximum (typical). No HDR figure is published for the 12-inch LCD","static_contrast_ratio":"Contrast ratio 1400:1 for the 12-inch LCD","webcam_resolution":"Cameras: Full HD (1080p) front-facing Surface Studio Camera. Sensor megapixels and recording modes are not published","front_camera_auto_framing":"Windows Studio Effects with automatic framing. Needs the effect to be switched on","rear_cameras":"Cameras: 10MP Ultra HD rear-facing camera. Aperture, autofocus and video modes are not published","stereo_speakers":"Audio: 2W stereo speakers with Dolby Atmos. The speaker count is not published","microphone_count":"Audio: Dual Studio Mics with enhanced voice focus","audio_features":"Audio: Dolby Atmos (needs Dolby Atmos encoded content), Support for Bluetooth LE Audio and enhanced voice focus (needs activation and Windows 11)","bluetooth_version":"Network and connectivity: Bluetooth Core 5.4 technology","wifi_standard":"Network and connectivity: Wi-Fi 7. Footnote: 6 GHz band not available in all regions","usb_connector":"Ports: 2 x USB-C","usb_version":"Ports: 2 x USB-C / USB 3.2","usb_port_count":"Ports: 2 x USB-C / USB 3.2 ports","display_output":"Ports and charging: USB-C ports support DisplayPort 1.4a","max_external_displays":"DisplayPort 1.4a with support up to two 4K monitors at 60 Hz. Needs compatible displays, cables and accessories. The exact pixel size of the 4K monitors is not published, so display_output_max is left out","stylus_support":"Pen compatibility: Designed for Surface Slim Pen (2nd Edition). Sold separately","stylus_models":"Slim Pen (2nd Edition): Microsoft Pen Protocol (MPP), haptic feedback, integrated storage and wireless charging on the back of the Surface Pro 12-inch. The consumer page names 4,096 points of pressure for the Slim Pen. Tilt, hover and latency are not published","accessory_connector":"Ports and charging: Surface Pro 12-inch Keyboard connector","sensors":"Sensors: ambient color sensor, accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer","battery_capacity_wh":"Battery capacities, Surface Pro 12-inch: nominal 38 Wh, minimum 37 Wh. Stored value is the nominal energy","warranty_years":"Warranty: 1-year limited hardware warranty (US consumer page)","gpu":"Graphics: Qualcomm Adreno GPU. The model name comes from the Qualcomm product brief"}},{"url":"https://blogs.windows.com/devices/2026/09/23/introducing-surface-pro-12-inch-and-surface-laptop-13-inch-with-snapdragon-x2/","kind":"press_release","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["announce_date","release_date","predecessor"],"notes":{"announce_date":"Microsoft Devices Blog dated September 23, 2026: introduced at Snapdragon Summit","release_date":"Surface Pro 12-inch starts at $1149.99 MSRP, available starting October 13 in select markets. Business customers can buy from October 13 too","predecessor":"Microsoft says it introduced the next Surface Pro 12-inch and benchmarks it against the Surface Pro 12-inch 1st Edition."}},{"url":"https://www.microsoft.com/de-de/d/surface-pro-12-zoll-2-edition/8wg5vqp0x4bw","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["launch_price_eur"],"notes":{"launch_price_eur":"German Microsoft Store: from 1.259,00 EUR incl. VAT for Snapdragon X2 Plus, 16 GB RAM and 256 GB. Store data: listPrice and msrp 1259, no sale price. 512 GB is 1379 EUR and 24 GB with 512 GB is 1619 EUR in Germany"}},{"url":"https://support.microsoft.com/surface/models/surface-pro-12-inch-2nd-edition-features","kind":"manual","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["manual_url","charging_notes"],"notes":{"charging_notes":"Charging your Surface: use either USB-C port with a USB Type-C PD charger. At least 27 W recommended. For Fast Charging use at least 45 W, which charges up to 80% in about an hour. The consumer technical specification table says a minimum 60 W charger. The US store says no power supply is included and any 27 W or higher USB-C supply works","manual_url":"Surface Pro 12-inch (2nd Edition) features page: two USB-C / USB 3.2 ports, charging guidance (27 W recommended, 45 W for Fast Charging up to 80% in about an hour), Surface Pro 12-inch Keyboard connects by magnets, Slim Pen storage and charging on the device"}},{"url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/store/b/buy-surface-pro","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["headphone_jack","memory_card_slot"],"notes":{"headphone_jack":"FAQ What ports does Surface Pro have: neither the 12-inch nor the 13-inch model includes HDMI, Ethernet, SD card or a headphone jack","memory_card_slot":"Same FAQ: no SD card connector on the 12-inch or the 13-inch. External USB-C readers are accessories, not tablet slots"}},{"url":"https://www.qualcomm.com/content/dam/qcomm-martech/dm-assets/documents/Snapdragon-X2-Plus-Product-Brief.pdf","kind":"manufacturer_pdf","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["cpu_clusters","process_node_nm","gpu"],"notes":{"cpu_clusters":"Qualcomm MCN 87-96323-1 Rev B: Snapdragon X2 Plus 6-core (X2P-42-100) has six Prime cores and no Performance cores. Microsoft names the 6 Core chip. The chip multi-core maximum of 4.0 GHz is not stored because Microsoft publishes no clock for this fanless tablet","process_node_nm":"Specs and Features: Process Node 3NM for the Snapdragon X2 Plus family. Nominal fabrication class, not a transistor size","gpu":"Adreno X2-45 at 0.9 GHz is the only 6-core X2 Plus part in the table"}},{"url":"https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/surface/accessories/cover-keyboard/learn-more-about-surface-pro-keyboards-and-type-covers","kind":"manual","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["keyboard_accessories"],"notes":{"keyboard_accessories":"Surface Pro 12-inch Keyboard is compatible with Surface Pro 12-inch (2nd Edition). Full row of function keys (F1-F12). Other Surface Pro keyboards are not compatible with the 12-inch. Sold separately"}},{"url":"https://www.microsoft.com/content/dam/microsoft/final/en-us/microsoft-product-and-services/surface/surface-pro/surface-pro-12-inch-snapdragon/MSFT-surface-pro-12-inch-snapdragon-techspecs-factsheet.pdf","kind":"manufacturer_pdf","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["keyboard_accessories"],"notes":{"keyboard_accessories":"Business fact sheet for the 1st Edition names the Surface Pro 12-inch Keyboard as having a precision touchpad and a full-sized backlit layout with Copilot key. The same accessory is listed as compatible with the 2nd Edition. Only accessory properties are used. No chip, battery or 5G claim of that sheet is used"}},{"url":"https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/design/device-experiences/windows-hello-face-authentication","kind":"manual","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["face_unlock"],"notes":{"face_unlock":"Windows Hello face authentication is described as using a specially configured near-infrared camera. Microsoft lists a Windows Hello face authentication camera with Enhanced Sign-in Security for the 12-inch. Infrared is stored without claiming a 3D depth map"}},{"url":"https://www.bluetooth.com/media/le-audio/le-audio-faqs/","kind":"manufacturer_page","accessed":"2026-10-14","fields":["bluetooth_codecs"],"notes":{"bluetooth_codecs":"Bluetooth SIG LE Audio FAQ mandates LC3 for all LE Audio products. Microsoft lists Bluetooth LE Audio support. LC3 applies to that path only. No Classic Audio codec list is inferred"}},{"url":"https://www.notebookcheck.net/Microsoft-Surface-Pro-12-2nd-edition-2-in-1-tablet-PC-arrives-with-fanless-design-and-optional-5G-cellular-module.1405432.0.html","kind":"review_site","accessed":"2026-10-23","fields":["predecessor"],"notes":{"predecessor":"Notebookcheck compares the Surface Pro 12-inch 2nd Edition with the 1st Edition as the prior model."}}],"fields_filled":77,"updated":"2026-10-23"},"meta":{"api_version":"1","docs":"https://arkivo.dev/api"}}