arkivoAPI

Earbuds / Compare

Apple AirPods 3 vs Apple AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation

55 of 157 fields differ

Download CSVDownload JSON
  • 32 different values
  • 23 known for one only
  • 34 the same
  • 68 missing for both

Biggest differences

Each bar uses the scale of all 138 earbuds.

  1. Battery lifeA: 6hB: 5hAirPods 3 is 1 h higher.

Size, drawn to scale

Front and side.

Weight

0 to 80 g

Weight per bud
A4.28g
B4.3g
Case weight
A37.91g
B34.7g

All 166 fields

Every value links to where we found it.

AApple AirPods 3
BApple AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation

General

3 of 8 differ
Status
Not available
Not available
Segment
Not available
Not available

Design

0 of 4 differ
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available

Drivers and sound

2 of 17 differ
Driver size
Not available
Not available
Drivers per bud
1
1
Diaphragm material
Not available
Not available
Frequency response
Not available
Not available
Impedance
Not available
Not available
Sensitivity
Not available
Not available
Sensitivity reference
Not available
Not available
Max sample rate
Not available
Not available
Max bit depth
Not available
Not available
EQ presets
Not available
Not available
Volume limit
Not available
Not available

Spatial audio

0 of 2 differ
Spatial audio
Head tracking

Noise cancelling

6 of 11 differ
ANC type
Not available
ANC microphones in both earbuds
Not available
Not available
ANC levels
Not available
Not available
ANC attenuation (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Adjustable transparency
Not available
Not available

Measured

9 of 23 differ
Bass amount (measured)
Not available
Treble amount (measured)
Not available
Deviation from target (measured)
Not available
Not available
Consistency between fittings (measured)
Not available
Not available
Sound leakage (measured)
Not available
Not available
Noise isolation (measured)
Not available
Not available
Noise isolation, best (measured)
Not available
Not available
Passive isolation (measured)
Not available
Not available
Call quality notes (measured)
Mic low-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
Mic high-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
Mic speech-to-noise ratio (measured)
Not available
Not available
Latency (measured)
Not available
Not available
Bluetooth latency, worst (measured)
Not available
Not available
2.4 GHz latency, worst (measured)
Not available
Not available
Latency in game mode (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (measured)
AApple AirPods 3
ANCHours (h)
No6.35
No6.8
No6.23
Source8Measurementsoundguys.com/apple-airpods-3rd-generation-review-61295Read 7 October 2026Original MagSafe-case model review. Battery section reports 6 h 21 min continuous playback, table identifies 75 dB SPL. Test codec and firmware not specified.27Measurementrtings.com/headphones/reviews/apple/airpods-3rd-generation-truly-wirelessRead 7 October 2026Existing SoundGuys 6.35 h retained. Second row 6.8 h is public Office Work verdict continuous playback, original MagSafe model. RTINGS battery procedure uses looping track at calibrated 85 dB SPL and recordings to determine battery exhaustion. Exact source host/codec, firmware and spatial setting are not publicly stated. Third row belongs to separate HeadphonesAddict test and is documented by its source entry.28Measurementheadphonesaddict.com/apple-airpods-3-reviewRead 7 October 2026Third row is own Battery test 6 h 14 min at 50 percent host volume, original MagSafe case. Linked site method charges to full, plays music until depletion at normal room temperature. Test host, codec, firmware and spatial setting unknown. First/second rows belong to SoundGuys/RTINGS, preserved with their source notes.30Measurementrtings.com/headphones/tests/active-features/battery-lifeRead 7 October 2026Method for RTINGS second row: calibrated 85 dB SPL, 250-2000 Hz pink-noise calibration, looped playback track, time-lapse video and binaural recording until depletion. Continuous life excludes case recharges. Review public verdict supplies the actual 6.8 h value. Codec, exact host/firmware and spatial setting remain unknown.31Measurementheadphonesaddict.com/how-we-testRead 7 October 2026Procedure for third row: charge to 100 percent, play music at 50 percent volume until depletion, record start/end to the minute, normal room temperature around 20 C. Exact review gives 6 h 14 min. Test host, codec, firmware and spatial setting remain unknown.
Longest tested use per charge
6.8h
6.9h
Battery life with case (measured)
Not available
Not available

Microphones and calls

2 of 7 differ
Voice microphones in both earbuds
Not available
Bone conduction voice sensor
Not available
Not available
Call audio bandwidth
Not available
Not available
Mic mute control
Sidetone
Not available
Not available

Connectivity

4 of 18 differ
Bluetooth profiles
Not available
Not available
LE Audio
Not available
Not available
Auracast
Not available
Not available
Multipoint devices
Not available
Not available
Multipoint with LDAC
Not available
Not available
Paired devices remembered
Not available
Not available
Wireless range (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Wireless receiver
Not available
Not available
Receiver connector
Not available
Not available
Simultaneous 2.4 GHz and Bluetooth audio
Not available
Not available

Latency

None of 3 known
Low latency mode
Not available
Not available
Claimed latency
Not available
Not available
Lowest claimed latency
Not available
Not available

Compatibility

3 of 4 differ
Connection per platform
BApple AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation
Not available
Features that need a specific device
AApple AirPods 3
FeatureNeeds
Personalized Spatial Audio profileSet up on an iPhone with TrueDepth camera and iOS 16 or later. Playback needs compatible hardware, software, content and the same Apple Account. Mac playback requires Apple silicon.
Official licence
Not available
Not available

Battery and charging

6 of 13 differ
Battery per bud
Not available
Not available
User-replaceable earbud battery
Not available
Not available
Longest claimed use per charge
6h
5h
Playback per charge with ANC (claimed)
Not available
4h
Playback per charge without ANC (claimed)
6h
5h
Total with case (claimed)
30h
30h
Total with case and ANC (claimed)
Not available
20h
Talk time (claimed)
4h
Not available
Full charge time, buds
Not available
Not available
Charging guidance
Not available
Not available

Charging case

4 of 10 differ
User-replaceable case battery
Not available
Not available
Case full charge time
Not available
Not available
Wireless standards
Wireless charging power
Not available
Not available
Speaker in case
Not available
Screen on case
Not available
Not available

Controls

2 of 5 differ

Sensors and health

3 of 9 differ
Sensors
Skin-detect sensor, Motion-detecting accelerometer, Speech-detecting accelerometer, Force sensor1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111863Read 7 October 2026
Heart rate sensor
Not available
Not available
Skin temperature sensing
Not available
Not available
Medical clearances
Not available
Not available
Hearing test
Not available
Not available

Fit and durability

3 of 7 differ
Ear tips included
Not available
Not available
Ear tip materials
Not available
Not available
Stabilisers
Not available
Ear tip fit test
Not available
Not available
Water resistance depth
Not available
Not available

Software

1 of 6 differ
Companion app
Not available
Not available
App platforms
Not available
Not available

Dimensions and weight

4 of 4 differ
Weight per bud
Bud dimensions
Case weight
Case dimensions
Width54.4Height46.4Depth21.38mm(2.1 × 1.8 × 0.8 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111863Read 7 October 2026

Certifications

1 of 3 differ
Hi-Res Audio
Not available
Not available
Communication certifications
Not available
Not available

In the box

2 of 2 differ
Cables included
BApple AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation
Not available

Warranty

0 of 1 differ

Both are also in the API. Back to all earbuds.