Laptops / Compare
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017) vs Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
Product A: Apple
80 of 179 known
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 13.5-inch
Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 15-inch (Ryzen 7)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 15-inch (Ryzen 5)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Acer Swift Go 14 AI SFG14-01-X006
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (7th Edition, X Plus)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, 2026)
ASUS Zenbook A14 UX3407QA (Snapdragon X Plus)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13-inch (1st Edition, 2025)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M3, 2024)
Dell XPS Googlebook LDX13267
Change Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
Compare the Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020) with
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 13.5-inch
Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 15-inch (Ryzen 7)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 15-inch (Ryzen 5)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Acer Swift Go 14 AI SFG14-01-X006
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (7th Edition, X Plus)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, 2026)
ASUS Zenbook A14 UX3407QA (Snapdragon X Plus)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13-inch (1st Edition, 2025)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M3, 2024)
Dell XPS Googlebook LDX13267Product B: Apple
MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
90 of 179 known
Microsoft Surface Laptop (2017)
Apple MacBook 12-inch (2017)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (7th Edition, X Plus)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Acer Swift Go 14 AI SFG14-01-X006
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 13.5-inch
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, 2026)
ASUS Zenbook A14 UX3407QA (Snapdragon X Plus)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13-inch (1st Edition, 2025)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M3, 2024)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Acer Googlebook 14 GP714-91N-50A0
Change Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
Compare the Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017) with
Microsoft Surface Laptop (2017)
Apple MacBook 12-inch (2017)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (7th Edition, X Plus)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M4, 2025)
Acer Swift Go 14 AI SFG14-01-X006
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 13.5-inch
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5, 2026)
ASUS Zenbook A14 UX3407QA (Snapdragon X Plus)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 13-inch (1st Edition, 2025)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M3, 2024)
Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M2, 2022)
Acer Googlebook 14 GP714-91N-50A074 of 171 fields differ
- 40 different values
- 34 known for one only
- 23 the same
- 74 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 220 laptops.
- Battery life on Wi-FiA: 10.63hB: 16hMacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020) is 5.37 h higher.
Weight
0 to 3 kg
Weight (published)
A1.35kg
B1.29kg
All 179 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
3 of 9 differ
Series
Model numbers
MQD32LL/A2Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/US_Education_Institution_Price_List_08-27-2017.pdfRead 5 October 2026Original August 27, 2017 Apple US inventory page 1 explicitly MQD32LL/A, 13.3-inch 1.8 GHz dual-core Core i5, 8 GB, 128 GB. Higher MQD42 256 GB excluded. Education price not MSRP.4Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026Archived original maker June 2017 report expressly MQD32 and MQD42, US base MQD32 evaluation in footnote 1. Exact LL/A SKU supplied by original US inventory.
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Not available
Announced
5 June 20174Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026Original report expressly Date introduced June 5, 2017. Introduction does not independently prove delivered retail date.5Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2017/06/imac-receives-major-update-featuring-more-powerful-graphics-faster-processors-thunderbolt-3-brighter-displaysRead 5 October 2026Maker original June 5 publication expressly updates Air processor to 1.8 GHz and schedules Apple Store availability June 7. No consumer MSRP inferred from lower education inventory prices.
Status
Predecessor
Not available
Successor
Not available
Launch price (US)
$9999Reviewlaptopmag.com/reviews/laptops/apple-macbook-air-13-inchRead 10 October 2026Review states the $999 entry model for the 1.8 GHz Core i5, 8 GB, 128 GB unit. Matches EveryMac's US$999 introduction price.13Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook-air/specs/macbook-air-core-i5-1.8-13-2017-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Price at introduction US$999 for MQD32LL/A (128 GB). US$1199 is the 256 GB MQD42LL/A. Excludes tax. Education price is lower and not used.
Launch price (EU)
Not available
Not available
Markets
US2Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/US_Education_Institution_Price_List_08-27-2017.pdfRead 5 October 2026Original US maker inventory, corroborated by maker archived Environmental Report US MQD32 footnote.4Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026
Colours
Segment
Chassis
2 of 6 differ
Dimensions
Width325Depth227Thickness (min)3Thickness (max)17mm(12.8 × 8.9 × 0.1 to 0.7 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker centimetres converted exactly to millimetres, including wedge minimum 3 mm and maximum 17 mm. Rounded inch conversions excluded.
Width304.1Depth212.4Thickness (min)4.1Thickness (max)16.1mm(12 × 8.4 × 0.2 to 0.6 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111883Read 5 October 2026Size and Weight. Maker centimetres converted exactly to millimetres.
Weight (published)
Lid material
Aluminium1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker Environment section aluminium enclosure. Recyclable does not mean recycled-content percentage.4Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026Original maker expressly aluminium enclosure.
Bottom material
Max hinge angle
Not available
Not available
MIL-STD-810 testing (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Display
4 of 25 differ
Screen size
Native resolution
Pixel density
127.7ppi
227ppi
Panel type
Backlight
Not available
Not available
Dimming zones
Not available
Not available
Panel part number
Not available
Not available
Screen surface
Touchscreen
Stylus
Not available
Not available
Refresh rate modes
AApple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Maximum operating refresh (Hz) | VRR |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1440 | 900 | 60 | No |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Maximum operating refresh (Hz) |
|---|---|---|
| 2560 | 1600 | 60 |
Max refresh rate
60Hz
60Hz
Adaptive sync
Not available
Not available
Gray-to-gray response time (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Native panel colour depth
Not available
Not available
Brightness (SDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Peak brightness (SDR outdoors, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Sustained brightness (HDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Peak brightness (HDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
sRGB coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Adobe RGB coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
HDR certification
Not available
Not available
Factory calibrated
Not available
Not available
Second display
Not available
Not available
Processor
11 of 14 differ
Processor
Processor brand
Core configuration
AApple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
| Count | Base clock (GHz) | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 1.8 | 2.9 |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
| Core type | Count | Core |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 4 | Firestorm |
| Efficiency | 4 | Icestorm |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111883Read 5 October 20268Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-2020-M1-Entry-Review-Apple-M1-CPU-humbles-Intel-and-AMD.508057.0.htmlRead 7 October 2026Processor paragraph: four Firestorm cores, four Icestorm cores. Adds only core names to existing maker-backed counts. Reviewer peak clocks not stored as maker turbo ratings.
CPU cores
2
8
Cores labelled performance
Not available
4
Cores labelled efficiency
Not available
4
Threads
Max boost clock
2.9GHz
Not available
L3 cache
Not available
Process
Sustained CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Peak CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Combined CPU and GPU power
Not available
Not available
Graphics
1 of 9 differ
Discrete GPU
GPU
Not available
Not available
GPU brand
Not available
Not available
VRAM
Not available
Not available
Max GPU power (TGP)
Not available
Not available
Dynamic Boost
Not available
Not available
GPU boost clock
Not available
Not available
GPU switching
Not available
Not available
Integrated GPU
Intel HD Graphics 60001Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026
Apple M1 7-core GPU1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111883Read 5 October 2026
Memory
4 of 9 differ
Installed RAM
RAM type
RAM speed
1,600MT/s1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker publishes 1600 MHz LPDDR3. Intel lists LPDDR3 1600/1866 as data-rate grades for this processor, so 1600 is the LPDDR3-1600 transfer rate in MT/s. Not a DRAM clock.13Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook-air/specs/macbook-air-core-i5-1.8-13-2017-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Specs page states 1600 MHz memory speed, consistent with the maker's 1600 MHz LPDDR3. Treated as LPDDR3-1600 MT/s.
Not available
Memory channels
Not available
Not available
RAM upgrade
Not available
Memory slots
Not available
Not available
RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Free RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Maximum supported RAM
Storage
2 of 7 differ
Installed storage
Storage type
Installed drive PCIe generation
Not available
Storage slots
Not available
Not available
M.2 slots
Not available
Not available
Free storage slots
Not available
Not available
Maximum slot PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
Ports
4 of 7 differ
Ports
AApple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
| Type | Version | Count | Maximum data rate (Gbps) |
|---|---|---|---|
| USB-A | USB 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Mini DisplayPort | Thunderbolt 2 / native Mini DisplayPort | 1 | 20 |
| MagSafe | MagSafe 2 | 1 | Not available |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Not available |
| SD card | SDXC | 1 | Not available |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
| Type | Version | Count | Side | Maximum data rate (Gbps) | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | Thunderbolt 3 / USB 4 | 2 | Left | 40 | Thunderbolt 3 | Yes |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Right | Not available | Not available | Not available |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111883Read 5 October 2026Charging and Expansion. Physical connectors counted once. Thunderbolt 3, USB4 and DisplayPort share each USB-C connector.4Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/macbook-air/apd6b8efc444/2023/mac/13Read 7 October 2026Exact M1 tour images explicitly identify left-side Thunderbolt/USB4 ports and right-side 3.5 mm headphone jack. Maker alt labels retained. Generic external-display support does not create a physical DisplayPort connector.
USB-C ports
0
2
Thunderbolt
Not available
Yes
Highest HDMI version
Not available
Not available
Card reader
Yes
No
Ethernet speed
Not available
Not available
Maximum USB-C charging input
Not available
Not available
Wireless
3 of 5 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Wi-Fi module
Not available
Bluetooth
Cellular
Not available
Not available
Keyboard and touchpad
6 of 8 differ
Keyboard layouts
Not available
Key switches
Not available
Keyboard backlight
Backlit, type not stated1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker expressly full-size backlit keyboard with ambient light sensor. Backlight colour and zones are not stated.
Not available
Key travel
Not available
Pointing stick
Not available
Not available
Touchpad size
Not available
Not available
Touchpad mechanism
Haptic1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111883Read 5 October 2026Keyboard and Trackpad states Force Touch. Separate Apple support source establishes haptic feedback.5Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-gb/102309Read 5 October 2026Apple explicitly states Force Touch trackpads provide haptic feedback. Exact model sheet specifies Force Touch.
Camera and audio
3 of 7 differ
Webcam
IR face login
Not available
Not available
Webcam privacy
Not available
Not available
Built-in speaker drivers
Not available
Total speaker power
Not available
Not available
Audio features
Battery and power
4 of 5 differ
Battery energy
Claimed battery life
AApple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
| Use case | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Web browsing | 12 |
| Video playback | 12 |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
Not availableAdapter rated output
45W1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Original included nominal 45 W MagSafe 2 adapter, not maximum accepted input.4Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026Original report expressly powered by 45 W MagSafe 2. Original box inclusion separately proved by exact sheet.
Laptop charging connector
Charge 0 to 50 % (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Cooling
2 of 4 differ
Fans
Not available
Vapor chamber
Not available
Liquid metal
Not available
Not available
Power modes
Not available
Not available
Security
1 of 4 differ
Fingerprint
Not available
TPM
Not available
Not available
Remote management
Not available
Not available
Security lock slot
Not available
Not available
Software
1 of 3 differ
Operating system
OS family
Security updates until
Not available
Not available
Measured display
10 of 12 differ
Brightness (measured, centre)
Not available
Brightness (measured, average)
Not available
Contrast ratio (measured)
Not available
HDR peak brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
sRGB coverage (measured)
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage (measured)
Not available
Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
Not available
PWM flicker found
PWM frequency (measured)
PWM at or below brightness
Not available
Response black to white (measured)
Response grey to grey (measured)
Measured performance
None of 8 known
Cinebench 2024 single-core
Not available
Not available
Cinebench 2024 multi-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 single-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 multi-core
Not available
Not available
3DMark Time Spy graphics
Not available
Not available
3DMark Steel Nomad
Not available
Not available
SSD sequential read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Game frame rates
Not available
Not available
Measured noise and temperature
4 of 9 differ
Fan noise per mode
Not available
Not available
Max fan noise
Not available
Not available
Fan noise while gaming
Not available
Not available
Top surface under load
Bottom surface under load
Palm rest under load
CPU temperature in stress test
Not available
Not available
CPU clock in stress test
Not available
Not available
Measured battery and power
6 of 10 differ
Battery runtime per test
AApple MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
| Test | Brightness (nits) | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Wi-Fi browsing | 150 | 10.63 |
BApple MacBook Air 13-inch (M1, 2020)
| Test | Brightness (nits) | Power mode | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wi-Fi browsing | 150 | Safari WiFi v1.3, windowed | 16 |
| Wi-Fi browsing | 150 | Safari WiFi v1.3, fullscreen | 15.23 |
| Wi-Fi browsing | Not available | Safari WiFi v1.3, maximum display brightness | 8.47 |
| Max load | Not available | Unigine Valley Extreme synthetic GPU load, 4xAA, maximum display brightness | 2.38 |
Wi-Fi browsing runtime
10.63h
16h
Video runtime
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Power draw idle
Power draw gaming
Not available
Not available
Power draw max
Sustained CPU power (measured)
Not available
Not available
GPU power while gaming (measured)
Not available
Certifications
1 of 6 differ
Intel Evo
Not available
Not available
Copilot+ PC
Not available
Not available
Colour certifications
Not available
Not available
ENERGY STAR
EPEAT
Other certifications
Not available
In the box
1 of 2 differ
In the box
MacBook Air, Power adapter, AC wall plug, Power cord1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Original standard maker box, includes AC wall plug and power cord. Optional accessories excluded.
MacBook Air, 30W USB-C Power Adapter, USB-C Charge Cable (2 m)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111883Read 5 October 2026In the Box. Exact original US base adapter and supplied 2 m charging cable. Optional fast-charge adapter excluded.
Warranty
1 of 2 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Warranty service
Not available
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
Manual
cdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1782_mb-air-13-2017-macos-catalina-qs.pdf6Owner's manualcdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1782_mb-air-13-2017-macos-catalina-qs.pdfRead 10 October 2026Exact 13-inch 2017 Quick Start, six pages downloaded/read/rendered. Copyright 2019 Catalina UI reprint used for unchanged hardware only. Explicit SDXC, USB 3, TB2 and magnetic MagSafe 2.
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Both are also in the API. Back to all laptops.