Computers / Laptops

AppleUltrabook laptop
MacBook Air 13-inch (2017)
Released June 2017.8Reviewconsomac.fr/news-6750-test-que-vaut-le-macbook-air-2017.htmlRead 5 October 2026Inference of actual June 2017 model retail from contemporaneous June 7 firsthand review of new 1.8 GHz/128 GB model and its discussion of current new Apple Store retail offers, contrasted with old 2015 refurbished offers. Maker schedules June 7 stores. No author-purchase or specific US SKU first-delivery day claimed. Last checked 16 October 2026.
- Screen size
- 13.3in
- Processor
- Intel Core i5 (1.8 GHz, dual-core)
- GPU
- Intel HD Graphics 6000
- Weight (published)
- 1.35kg
80 of 179 fields known.
At a glance
Ports
- 2 USB-A USB 3
- Mini DisplayPort Thunderbolt 2 / native Mini DisplayPort
- MagSafe 2
- 3.5 mm audio
- SD card SDXC
General
- Model numbers
- MQD32LL/A2Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/US_Education_Institution_Price_List_08-27-2017.pdfRead 5 October 2026Original August 27, 2017 Apple US inventory page 1 explicitly MQD32LL/A, 13.3-inch 1.8 GHz dual-core Core i5, 8 GB, 128 GB. Higher MQD42 256 GB excluded. Education price not MSRP.4Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026Archived original maker June 2017 report expressly MQD32 and MQD42, US base MQD32 evaluation in footnote 1. Exact LL/A SKU supplied by original US inventory.
- GTIN / EAN
- Not available
- Announced
- 5 June 20174Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026Original report expressly Date introduced June 5, 2017. Introduction does not independently prove delivered retail date.5Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2017/06/imac-receives-major-update-featuring-more-powerful-graphics-faster-processors-thunderbolt-3-brighter-displaysRead 5 October 2026Maker original June 5 publication expressly updates Air processor to 1.8 GHz and schedules Apple Store availability June 7. No consumer MSRP inferred from lower education inventory prices.
- Predecessor
- Not available
- Successor
- Not available
- Launch price (US)
- $9999Reviewlaptopmag.com/reviews/laptops/apple-macbook-air-13-inchRead 10 October 2026Review states the $999 entry model for the 1.8 GHz Core i5, 8 GB, 128 GB unit. Matches EveryMac's US$999 introduction price.13Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook-air/specs/macbook-air-core-i5-1.8-13-2017-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Price at introduction US$999 for MQD32LL/A (128 GB). US$1199 is the 256 GB MQD42LL/A. Excludes tax. Education price is lower and not used.
- Launch price (EU)
- Not available
- Markets
- US2Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/US_Education_Institution_Price_List_08-27-2017.pdfRead 5 October 2026Original US maker inventory, corroborated by maker archived Environmental Report US MQD32 footnote.4Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026
Chassis
Front and side, drawn to scale.
- Dimensions
- Width325Depth227Thickness (min)3Thickness (max)17mm(12.8 × 8.9 × 0.1 to 0.7 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker centimetres converted exactly to millimetres, including wedge minimum 3 mm and maximum 17 mm. Rounded inch conversions excluded.
- Weight (published)
- 1.35kg(3 lb)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker expressly laptop mass 1.35 kg, manufacturing/configuration variation applies. Retailer conversion from rounded pounds to 1.34 kg excluded.
- Lid material
- Aluminium1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker Environment section aluminium enclosure. Recyclable does not mean recycled-content percentage.4Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026Original maker expressly aluminium enclosure.
- Bottom material
- Aluminium1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker aluminium enclosure.4Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026Original maker aluminium enclosure.
- Max hinge angle
- Not available
- MIL-STD-810 testing (claimed)
- Not available
Display
- Screen size
- 13.3in(33.8 cm)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026
- Native resolution
- 1440 × 900px1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026
- Pixel density
- 127.7ppi
- Backlight
- Not available
- Dimming zones
- Not available
- Panel part number
- Not available
- Screen surface
- Glossy1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker expressly glossy widescreen display. Panel technology not inferred.
- Stylus
- Not available
- Refresh rate modes
Width (px) Height (px) Maximum operating refresh (Hz) VRR 1440 900 60 No - Max refresh rate
- 60Hz
- Adaptive sync
- Not available
- Gray-to-gray response time (claimed)
- Not available
- Native panel colour depth
- Not available
- Brightness (SDR, claimed)
- Not available
- Peak brightness (SDR outdoors, claimed)
- Not available
- Sustained brightness (HDR, claimed)
- Not available
- Peak brightness (HDR, claimed)
- Not available
- sRGB coverage (claimed)
- Not available
- DCI-P3 coverage (claimed)
- Not available
- Adobe RGB coverage (claimed)
- Not available
- HDR certification
- Not available
- Factory calibrated
- Not available
- Second display
- Not available
Processor
- Processor
- Intel Core i5 (1.8 GHz, dual-core)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Original maker base 1.8 GHz dual-core Core i5, matched to original US inventory. Specific CPU suffix, chip thread count and process node not inferred.
- Processor brand
- Intel1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026
- Core configuration
Count Base clock (GHz) Max clock (GHz) 2 1.8 2.9 - CPU cores
- 2
- Cores labelled performance
- Not available
- Cores labelled efficiency
- Not available
- Max boost clock
- 2.9GHz
- Sustained CPU power (configured)
- Not available
- Peak CPU power (configured)
- Not available
- Combined CPU and GPU power
- Not available
- NPU performance
- Not available
Graphics
- GPU
- Not available
- GPU brand
- Not available
- VRAM
- Not available
- Max GPU power (TGP)
- Not available
- Dynamic Boost
- Not available
- GPU boost clock
- Not available
- GPU switching
- Not available
- Integrated GPU
- Intel HD Graphics 60001Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026
Memory
- Installed RAM
- 8GB2Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/US_Education_Institution_Price_List_08-27-2017.pdfRead 5 October 2026
- RAM speed
- 1,600MT/s1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker publishes 1600 MHz LPDDR3. Intel lists LPDDR3 1600/1866 as data-rate grades for this processor, so 1600 is the LPDDR3-1600 transfer rate in MT/s. Not a DRAM clock.13Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook-air/specs/macbook-air-core-i5-1.8-13-2017-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Specs page states 1600 MHz memory speed, consistent with the maker's 1600 MHz LPDDR3. Treated as LPDDR3-1600 MT/s.
- Memory channels
- Not available
- Memory slots
- Not available
- RAM slots
- Not available
- Free RAM slots
- Not available
Storage
- Installed storage
- 128GB2Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/US_Education_Institution_Price_List_08-27-2017.pdfRead 5 October 2026
- Storage type
- SSD (interface unspecified)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker expressly PCIe-based 128 GB SSD. Installed NVMe protocol or generation not inferred.
- Installed drive PCIe generation
- 213Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/macbook-air/specs/macbook-air-core-i5-1.8-13-2017-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Specs page states a PCIe 2.0 x4 flash SSD with a proprietary form factor for the 128 GB and 256 GB models.
- Storage slots
- Not available
- M.2 slots
- Not available
- Free storage slots
- Not available
- Maximum slot PCIe generation
- Not available
Ports
- Ports
Type Version Count Maximum data rate (Gbps) USB-A USB 3 2 5 Mini DisplayPort Thunderbolt 2 / native Mini DisplayPort 1 20 MagSafe MagSafe 2 1 Not available 3.5 mm audio Not available 1 Not available SD card SDXC 1 Not available - USB-C ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt
- Not available
- Highest HDMI version
- Not available
- Card reader
- Yes
- Ethernet speed
- Not available
- Maximum USB-C charging input
- Not available
Wireless
- Wi-Fi module
- Not available
- Cellular
- Not available
Keyboard and touchpad
- Keyboard layouts
- Not available
- Key switches
- Not available
- Keyboard backlight
- Backlit, type not stated1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker expressly full-size backlit keyboard with ambient light sensor. Backlight colour and zones are not stated.
- Pointing stick
- Not available
- Touchpad size
- Not available
Camera and audio
- Webcam
- 720p FaceTime HD1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026
- IR face login
- Not available
- Webcam privacy
- Not available
- Built-in speaker drivers
- 23Retailer pagebhphotovideo.com/c/product/1342529-REG/apple_mqd32ll_a_13_3_macbook_air_mid.htmlRead 5 October 2026Exact Inputs/Outputs table Built-In Speakers 2. Physical count, not inferred from maker stereo channels.
- Total speaker power
- Not available
Battery and power
- Claimed battery life
Use case Hours (h) Web browsing 12 Video playback 12 - Adapter rated output
- 45W1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Original included nominal 45 W MagSafe 2 adapter, not maximum accepted input.4Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdfRead 10 October 2026Original report expressly powered by 45 W MagSafe 2. Original box inclusion separately proved by exact sheet.
- Laptop charging connector
- MagSafe1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Maker expressly MagSafe 2 adapter and power port, laptop-end connector.
- Charge 0 to 50 % (claimed)
- Not available
Cooling
We could not find any of these 4 fields. Show them
- Fans
- Not available
- Vapor chamber
- Not available
- Liquid metal
- Not available
- Power modes
- Not available
Security
We could not find any of these 4 fields. Show them
- Fingerprint
- Not available
- TPM
- Not available
- Remote management
- Not available
- Security lock slot
- Not available
Software
- Operating system
- macOS 10.12 Sierra10Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-13-2017-Laptop-1-8-GHz-Review.230010.0.htmlRead 7 October 2026Original review-unit shipped operating system. Laptop Mag independently states its unit came running Sierra. Later Apple Mojave sheet is not launch OS evidence.
- Security updates until
- Not available
Measured display
- Brightness (measured, centre)
- Not available
- Brightness (measured, average)
- Not available
- Contrast ratio (measured)
- Not available
- HDR peak brightness (measured)
- Not available
- sRGB coverage (measured)
- Not available
- DCI-P3 coverage (measured)
- Not available
- Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
- Not available
- PWM frequency (measured)
- 58kHz10Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-13-2017-Laptop-1-8-GHz-Review.230010.0.htmlRead 7 October 2026Exact 2017 review. Backlight flicker at reduced brightness. Precise brightness threshold and firmware not stated.
- PWM at or below brightness
- Not available
- Response black to white (measured)
- 28.4ms10Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-13-2017-Laptop-1-8-GHz-Review.230010.0.htmlRead 7 October 2026Exact 2017 new equipment measurement. Combined 18.4 ms rise and 10 ms fall. Display operating refresh 60 Hz from retained exact SKU source. Instrument/firmware not stated.
Measured performance
We could not find any of these 8 fields. Show them
- Cinebench 2024 single-core
- Not available
- Cinebench 2024 multi-core
- Not available
- Geekbench 6 single-core
- Not available
- Geekbench 6 multi-core
- Not available
- 3DMark Time Spy graphics
- Not available
- 3DMark Steel Nomad
- Not available
- SSD sequential read (measured)
- Not available
- Game frame rates
- Not available
Measured noise and temperature
- Fan noise per mode
- Not available
- Max fan noise
- Not available
- Fan noise while gaming
- Not available
- Top surface under load
- 42.8°C10Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-13-2017-Laptop-1-8-GHz-Review.230010.0.htmlRead 7 October 2026Exact 2017 review. Raytek Raynger ST, room 23.1 C. Max Load map. Exact stress workload, duration and OS for map not stated.
- Bottom surface under load
- 41.5°C10Reviewnotebookcheck.net/Apple-MacBook-Air-13-2017-Laptop-1-8-GHz-Review.230010.0.htmlRead 7 October 2026Exact 2017 review. Raytek Raynger ST, room 23.1 C. Max Load map. Exact stress workload, duration and OS for map not stated.
- CPU temperature in stress test
- Not available
- CPU clock in stress test
- Not available
- GPU temperature while gaming
- Not available
Measured battery and power
- Battery runtime per test
Test Brightness (nits) Hours (h) Wi-Fi browsing 150 10.63 - Wi-Fi browsing runtime
- 10.63h
- Video runtime
- Not available
- Full charge time (measured)
- Not available
- Power draw gaming
- Not available
- Sustained CPU power (measured)
- Not available
- GPU power while gaming (measured)
- Not available
- Weight (measured)
- Not available
Certifications
- Intel Evo
- Not available
- Copilot+ PC
- Not available
- Colour certifications
- Not available
In the box
- In the box
- MacBook Air, Power adapter, AC wall plug, Power cord1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026Original standard maker box, includes AC wall plug and power cord. Optional accessories excluded.
- Power adapter included
- Yes1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026
Warranty
Links
- Product page
- support.apple.com/en-us/1119241Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026
- Spec sheet
- support.apple.com/en-us/1119241Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924Read 10 October 2026
- Manual
- cdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1782_mb-air-13-2017-macos-catalina-qs.pdf6Owner's manualcdsassets.apple.com/live/6GJYWVAV/start/ma1782_mb-air-13-2017-macos-catalina-qs.pdfRead 10 October 2026Exact 13-inch 2017 Quick Start, six pages downloaded/read/rendered. Copyright 2019 Catalina UI reprint used for unchanged hardware only. Explicit SDXC, USB 3, TB2 and magnetic MagSafe 2.
- EPREL registration number
- Not available
Compare with
Pick a laptop to see both side by side. Differences are marked yellow.
Sources
We read 14 sources for this laptop. The numbers match the markers in the sheet.
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111924
- Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/US_Education_Institution_Price_List_08-27-2017.pdf
- Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdf
- Maker product pageapple.com/legal/warranty/products/embedded-mac-warranty-us.html
- Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/notebooks/13-inch_MacBookAir_PER_June2017.pdf
See a wrong value? Tell us and name the field.





