Wireless speakers / Compare
JBL Authentics 500 vs Sony ULT TOWER 7
Product A: JBL
43 of 96 known
Change JBL Authentics 500
Product B: Sony
55 of 96 known
Change Sony ULT TOWER 7
50 of 87 fields differ
- 20 different values
- 30 known for one only
- 10 the same
- 27 missing for both
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AJBL: 447 × 240 mm
- BSony: 421 × 710 mm
Weight
0 to 25,000 g
All 96 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
6 of 8 differ
Series
Model numbers
JBLAUTH500BLKAM, JBLAUTH500BLKEP, JBLAUTH500BLKUK6Reviewtrustedreviews.com/reviews/jbl-authentics-500Read 16 October 2026Spec table gives UK model JBLAUTH500BLKUK.11Retailer pagemedimax.de/p/1422285/authentics-500Read 16 October 2026Manufacturer item number JBLAUTH500BLKEP for the EU version.12Retailer pageelectronicexpress.com/catalog/212297/jbl-authentic500-authentics-500-smart-home-bluetooth-speaker-blackRead 16 October 2026US item JBLAUTH500BLKAM.
SRS-ULT700, YY7871E1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Quick Start Guide page: Model YY7871E, SRS-ULT700.3Retailer pageabt.com/Sony-ULT-TOWER-7-Wireless-Party-Speaker-in-Black-SRSULT700/p/248760.htmlRead 20 October 2026Model number SRSULT700, the Sony US part number.
GTIN / EAN
050036396264, 120013000068311Retailer pagemedimax.de/p/1422285/authentics-500Read 16 October 2026German listing for JBLAUTH500BLKEP gives EAN 1200130000683. The check digit is valid.12Retailer pageelectronicexpress.com/catalog/212297/jbl-authentic500-authentics-500-smart-home-bluetooth-speaker-blackRead 16 October 2026US listing for JBLAUTH500BLKAM gives UPC 050036396264.
Announced
Status
Available2Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026Available from September 2026 per the release. Routenote and ChannelNews report orders open in September.3Retailer pageabt.com/Sony-ULT-TOWER-7-Wireless-Party-Speaker-in-Black-SRSULT700/p/248760.htmlRead 20 October 2026Listed with price and rebate. The page shows no stock status.7Press articleroutenote.com/blog/sony-ult-tower-max-7-5-party-speakersRead 20 October 2026Article of 2026-09-16: available to order from Amazon now.9Press articlechannelnews.com.au/sony-turns-up-the-bass-with-new-ult-tower-party-speaker-lineRead 20 October 2026Article: the range is available now.
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
$699.954Reviewtechradar.com/audio/hi-fi/wireless-bluetooth-speakers/jbl-authentics-500-reviewRead 16 October 2026Review lists $699.99 / GBP 579.99 / AU$999. The US launch price stored is $699.95 from AFTVnews. The two differ by four cents.8Press articletomsguide.com/news/jbl-unveils-new-authentics-smart-speaker-with-obscene-270w-of-power-at-ifa-2023Read 16 October 2026Quoted as $699, which fits both 699.95 and 699.99.9Press articleaftvnews.comRead 16 October 2026Announcement report: Authentics 500 for $699.95. TechRadar and audioXpress write $699.99. The 699.95 value follows JBL's usual US price style. Tax treatment is not stated.
$649.992Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026Suggested retail price USD 649.99 (CAD 799.99). US list prices exclude tax.4Press articlesoundguys.com/sony-ult-power-sound-wireless-speakers-2026-162263Read 20 October 2026Article of 2026-09-01: ULT Tower 7 MSRP USD 649.99.10Reviewtechradar.com/audio/wireless-bluetooth-speakers/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Review lists USD 649.99, GBP 499 and AUD 799.
Launch price (EU)
€629.996Reviewtrustedreviews.com/reviews/jbl-authentics-500Read 16 October 2026Spec table lists EU RRP 629.99 EUR. Launch coverage by Tom's Guide and Stereonet rounds it to 629 EUR. German retailers list the same 629.99 EUR as UVP including VAT.8Press articletomsguide.com/news/jbl-unveils-new-authentics-smart-speaker-with-obscene-270w-of-power-at-ifa-2023Read 16 October 2026Launch price quoted as $699 / GBP 579 / 629 EUR. Stored value 629.99 EUR is the retail UVP, which matches. Tax treatment is not stated here, EU prices include VAT.10Press articlestereonet.com/news/jbl-unveils-classic-style-authentics-wireless-speakers-at-ifa-2023Read 16 October 2026Authentics 500 sold for 629 EUR at launch.
€6005Reviewstereoguide.com/bluetooth-speakers/mobile-outdoor/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Review of 2026-10-04 lists EUR 600 as MSRP. LB Tech Reviews lists EUR 599 as the suggested price. Neither names a country. The maker's German price was not found.6Press articlegagadget.com/en/724224-sonys-new-ult-tower-speakers-go-from-450-party-starter-to-2150w-beastRead 20 October 2026Article of 2026-09-02 lists ULT TOWER 7 at EUR 600 and USD 649.99, from Sony's launch material. Stereo Guide also lists EUR 600 as MSRP. The country is not named.
Markets
US, AU, JP2Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026US availability through Sony.com, Best Buy, Amazon and authorized dealers.3Retailer pageabt.com/Sony-ULT-TOWER-7-Wireless-Party-Speaker-in-Black-SRSULT700/p/248760.htmlRead 20 October 2026US retailer. Regular price USD 649.99, shown with a USD 100 rebate until 2026-11-01.8Press articlehifi.fan/stories/sony-announces-ult-tower-7-bluetooth-speaker-with-deep-bass-and-portable-designRead 20 October 2026Article of 2026-09-02: release in Japan on 2026-09-18 at an estimated market price of about 85,000 yen.9Press articlechannelnews.com.au/sony-turns-up-the-bass-with-new-ult-tower-party-speaker-lineRead 20 October 2026Article of 2026-09-15: ULT Tower 7 at AUD 799 in Australia.
Colours
Speaker type
Audio
10 of 18 differ
Audio drivers
AJBL Authentics 500
| Driver type | Count | Diameter (mm) |
|---|---|---|
| Aluminum dome tweeter | 3 | 25 |
| Midrange driver | 3 | 69.85 |
| Down-firing subwoofer | 1 | 165 |
BSony ULT TOWER 7
| Driver type | Count | Diameter (mm) |
|---|---|---|
| Woofer | 1 | 280 |
| Midrange | 2 | 120 |
| Front tweeter | 2 | 50 |
| Rear tweeter | 2 | 40 |
Source1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Specifications, Speaker section: 3-way, bass reflex. Woofer unit approximately 280 mm diameter (1), midrange unit approximately 120 mm (2), tweeter unit approximately 50 mm (2), tweeter unit approximately 40 mm (2). The guide does not say which tweeters face the front. hifi.fan says two 50 mm tweeters face the front and two 40 mm tweeters face the rear. No per-driver power is published. The cabinet is bass reflex, so no passive radiator is stored.7Press articleroutenote.com/blog/sony-ult-tower-max-7-5-party-speakersRead 20 October 2026Article: one 280 mm circular woofer, two mid-range drivers and four tweeters. This agrees with the Help Guide.8Press articlehifi.fan/stories/sony-announces-ult-tower-7-bluetooth-speaker-with-deep-bass-and-portable-designRead 20 October 2026Article: one 280 mm circular woofer, one 120 mm midrange and four tweeters, two 50 mm at the front and two 40 mm at the rear. It says one midrange. The Help Guide, Stereo Guide and Routenote say two midrange drivers, so the guide count is stored.10Reviewtechradar.com/audio/wireless-bluetooth-speakers/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Spec table: 1x 280 mm woofer, 2x 120 mm mid-range and 4x 50 mm tweeters including 2 rear-facing. The maker's Help Guide gives two 50 mm and two 40 mm tweeters, so the guide sizes are stored.
Passive radiators
Not available
Not available
Rated audio power
Not available
Not available
Rated audio power on mains
Not available
Not available
Audio output power (unspecified rating)
420W5Reviewstereoguide.com/bluetooth-speakers/mobile-outdoor/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Review: amplifier up to 420 W, and the article notes this is not listed on the product page as RMS continuous power. Routenote's copy of Sony's launch material also says up to 420 W. No basis is stated, so the value goes in the unspecified-rating field.6Press articlegagadget.com/en/724224-sonys-new-ult-tower-speakers-go-from-450-party-starter-to-2150w-beastRead 20 October 2026Article lists output power 420 W for ULT TOWER 7.7Press articleroutenote.com/blog/sony-ult-tower-max-7-5-party-speakersRead 20 October 2026Article of 2026-09-16: ULT TOWER 7 with up to 420 W of output. No basis stated.
Peak audio power
Not available
Not available
Frequency response lower limit (claimed)
Not available
Frequency response upper limit (claimed)
Not available
Signal-to-noise ratio (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Adjustable equalizer
Yes1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026Volume, bass and treble controls on the speaker. The JBL One app adds equalizer settings.3Maker product pageapps.apple.com/us/app/jbl-one/id1610239857Read 16 October 2026Version 1.9.11 (25 October 2024) upgraded the equalizer with presets and more advanced customization.4Reviewtechradar.com/audio/hi-fi/wireless-bluetooth-speakers/jbl-authentics-500-reviewRead 16 October 2026App equalizer lets users adjust mid as well as bass and treble. No presets at review time. The band count was not stored because the app equalizer was later upgraded.
Equalizer bands
Not available
103Retailer pageabt.com/Sony-ULT-TOWER-7-Wireless-Party-Speaker-in-Black-SRSULT700/p/248760.htmlRead 20 October 202610-band equalizer through the Sony | Sound Connect app. SoundGuys and Stereo Guide also say 10 bands. The Help Guide gives no band count.4Press articlesoundguys.com/sony-ult-power-sound-wireless-speakers-2026-162263Read 20 October 2026Lineup has a 10-band EQ.5Reviewstereoguide.com/bluetooth-speakers/mobile-outdoor/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Review: 10-band equalizer in the Sony Sound Connect app.
Automatic sound adjustment
Yes1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026Auto-tuning: the speaker calibrates and optimizes audio for each location every time it is powered on.2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Section 8.1.2: auto-tuning starts each time the speaker is connected to power and music starts. It takes three minutes and uses the microphones. It is disabled when the microphone is off.
Sound modes
Not available
ULT1, ULT2, FLAT, LIVE1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026ULT button cycles ULT1, ULT2 and FLAT. ULT1 emphasizes deep bass and ULT2 emphasizes power. LIVE is added by Sony's release and hifi.fan, and must be selected or assigned in the Sound Connect app.2Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026ULT button offers ULT1, ULT2, FLAT and LIVE. LIVE recreates the spacious feel of a live performance and is selected or assigned in the Sound Connect app.8Press articlehifi.fan/stories/sony-announces-ult-tower-7-bluetooth-speaker-with-deep-bass-and-portable-designRead 20 October 2026Article: ULT1, ULT2, FLAT and LIVE. LIVE must be enabled in the Sound Connect app.
Wireless stereo pairing
Yes2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026The manual does not describe stereo pairing. See the JBL One app source.3Maker product pageapps.apple.com/us/app/jbl-one/id1610239857Read 16 October 2026Harman's JBL One app version history: version 1.7.19 (25 March 2024) added stereo pairing for the Authentics 500. Pairing depends on the model.
Speaker link protocols
AirPlay 2 multi-room, Chromecast built-in multi-room, Alexa Multi-Room Music2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Section 7.1.6 covers multi-room playback with Chromecast, AirPlay and Alexa Multi-Room Music speakers. Up to 6 Chromecast speakers depending on network bandwidth. Max linked speakers is not stored because only the Chromecast limit is stated.
Party Chain, Stereo Pair1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Stereo Pair and Party Chain. Party Chain cannot be used while Stereo Pair is active. Devices that support the Wireless Party Chain or Party Connect functions are not applicable for connection.2Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026Party Chain, and a stereo configuration of two speakers.
Max linked speakers
Not available
Max Bluetooth group speakers
Not available
Connectivity
12 of 16 differ
Bluetooth audio playback
Bluetooth version
5.31Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026Bluetooth 5.3.2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026
5.33Retailer pageabt.com/Sony-ULT-TOWER-7-Wireless-Party-Speaker-in-Black-SRSULT700/p/248760.htmlRead 20 October 2026Spec copy of the Sony page: Bluetooth 5.3 with SBC, AAC and LDAC. The Sony Help Guide for this model does not print a Bluetooth version. Stereo Guide and LB Tech Reviews also give 5.3.5Reviewstereoguide.com/bluetooth-speakers/mobile-outdoor/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Review: Bluetooth 5.3.10Reviewtechradar.com/audio/wireless-bluetooth-speakers/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Spec table: Bluetooth 5.3.
Bluetooth codecs
SBC6Reviewtrustedreviews.com/reviews/jbl-authentics-500Read 16 October 2026Only SBC is stored. This review says SBC and AAC. Best Buy Canada's review says the speaker only supports SBC. SBC is the only codec all sources agree on. AAC is left out because of the conflict.7Reviewblog.bestbuy.ca/review/jbl-authentics-500-high-fidelity-powered-speaker-reviewRead 16 October 2026Spec list says Bluetooth 5.3 with SBC codec. Review text says it only supports the basic SBC protocol.
SBC, AAC, LDAC1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Supported codecs: SBC, AAC and LDAC for music playback via an A2DP connection.5Reviewstereoguide.com/bluetooth-speakers/mobile-outdoor/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Review: SBC, AAC and LDAC.
Bluetooth profiles
A2DP 1.3.2, AVRCP 1.51Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026A2DP 1.3.2 and AVRCP 1.5.2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026
Bluetooth LE Audio
Not available
Not available
Auracast
Not available
Yes1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Party Chain uses the Auracast broadcast for connection. The speaker connected to the playback device broadcasts the music and the other speakers receive it. Sony does not say whether other Auracast devices can join.2Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026Party Chain uses Auracast broadcast to connect multiple compatible Sony speakers and synchronizes music and lighting.5Reviewstereoguide.com/bluetooth-speakers/mobile-outdoor/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Review: Auracast supported via Party Chain for syncing up to 100 compatible Sony speakers. LE Audio is not mentioned.
Multipoint
Yes1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026You can connect the speaker concurrently with up to 2 BLUETOOTH devices (multipoint connection).5Reviewstereoguide.com/bluetooth-speakers/mobile-outdoor/sony-ult-tower-7-reviewRead 20 October 2026Review: multipoint supported.
Multipoint source devices
Not available
Bluetooth range (claimed)
Wi-Fi
Not available
Wi-Fi standards
802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11ac, 802.11ax1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026IEEE 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax at 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz.2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Section 9, Authentics 500 column: IEEE 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax.
Not available
Network audio protocols
AirPlay 2, Google Cast, Spotify Connect, Alexa Multi-Room Music, Alexa Cast, Tidal Connect, Roon Ready1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026Sheet names AirPlay, Alexa Multi-Room Music, Chromecast built-in and Spotify Connect. Alexa Cast and Roon Ready are from the manual. Tidal Connect is from reviews.2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Sections 5 and 7 name Chromecast built-in, AirPlay 2, Alexa Multi-Room Music, Alexa Cast and Spotify Connect. The trademark page names Roon Ready.4Reviewtechradar.com/audio/hi-fi/wireless-bluetooth-speakers/jbl-authentics-500-reviewRead 16 October 2026Spotify Connect, Tidal Connect, AirPlay 2, Alexa and Chromecast listed.5Reviewwhathifi.com/reviews/jbl-authentics-500Read 16 October 2026Review lists AirPlay 2, Chromecast, Spotify Connect and Tidal Connect, plus Alexa Multiroom.
Not available
USB drive playback
Not available
USB audio file formats
Not available
Ports
AJBL Authentics 500
| Connector | Count | Role |
|---|---|---|
| AC power | 1 | Mains power input for the supplied power cord |
| 3.5 mm audio | 1 | AUX audio input |
| Other | 1 | Ethernet (RJ45) network connection |
| USB-C | 1 | Service port outside the US. On the US version it also plays MP3 and WAV files from USB storage. Rated 5 V DC, 1 A |
Source2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Rear panel: power, USB, AUX (3.5 mm), Ethernet and a microphone slider. USB plays MP3 files only on the US version. Section 9: USB-C, 5 V DC 1 A, and USB playback in the US version while other versions use USB for service only.4Reviewtechradar.com/audio/hi-fi/wireless-bluetooth-speakers/jbl-authentics-500-reviewRead 16 October 2026Review lists USB-C, Ethernet, 3.5 mm aux and a 2-pin power port.6Reviewtrustedreviews.com/reviews/jbl-authentics-500Read 16 October 2026Review lists a 3.5 mm aux input, an Ethernet socket and a USB-C port that is for service outside the US, plus a figure-of-8 power connector.
BSony ULT TOWER 7
| Connector | Count | Role |
|---|---|---|
| AC power | 1 | AC input jack behind the rear cap |
| USB-A | 1 | USB storage playback and charging output for other devices, 5 V / 1.5 A maximum |
| USB-C | 1 | USB audio input from a computer or smartphone and charging output for other devices, 5 V / 1.5 A maximum |
| 6.35 mm audio | 1 | MIC jack for a dynamic microphone |
| RCA | 1 | LINE 1 audio input for a DJ device |
| Other | 1 | LINE 2 XLR balanced audio input for a DJ device |
| Other | 1 | LINE OUT XLR audio output to the LINE 2 jack of another speaker |
Controls and software
5 of 8 differ
Speakerphone
Not available
Not available
Voice assistants
Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa work at the same time through built-in microphones. They may not be available in all countries or languages.2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Section 6: Google Assistant and Alexa are set up in the JBL One app and used by voice over the home network. Bluetooth mode does not support voice commands. No phone is needed once set up.13Press releaseharman.com/india/pages/JBL-Introduces-Authentics-Series-of-In-Home-Audio-Speakers;-Blends-Timeless-Retro-Style-with-Premium-Sound.aspxRead 16 October 2026Alexa and Google Assistant are available at the same time on the same device.
Not available
Controls
Bluetooth source and pairing button, Play/pause button (double press for next track, triple press for previous track), Rotary volume control, Bass control, Treble control, Moment button for a saved playlist or speaker setting, Voice assistant microphone off slider on the rear2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Top panel: Bluetooth button, play controls (press once play or pause, twice next, three times previous), rotary volume, Moment button, treble and bass controls. Rear: voice assistant microphone slider.
Power button, Bluetooth button, Playback button, ULT button with volume dial, FUNCTION dial, Party Chain button, Stereo Pair button, STAMINA button, Light button, Echo button, Key control buttons, MIC level knob1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Parts and controls list: power button, BLUETOOTH button, playback button, ULT button with volume dial, FUNCTION dial (BLUETOOTH, LINE 1, LINE 2, USB-A, USB-C), Party Chain button, STEREO PAIR button, STAMINA button, LIGHT button, ECHO button, KEY CONTROL buttons and MIC level knob.
Companion app
App platforms
iOS, Android2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Android or iOS device with the JBL One app.3Maker product pageapps.apple.com/us/app/jbl-one/id1610239857Read 16 October 2026App Store listing requires iOS 16 or later.
User firmware updates
Yes1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026With a Wi-Fi connection the speaker receives software and feature updates automatically.2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Section 8.2: when connected to the internet the speaker software updates automatically to the latest version.
Built-in lighting
Not available
Lighting modes
Not available
Beat, Wave, Mellow2Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026New lighting modes BEAT, WAVE and MELLOW.8Press articlehifi.fan/stories/sony-announces-ult-tower-7-bluetooth-speaker-with-deep-bass-and-portable-designRead 20 October 2026Article: three lighting modes BEAT, WAVE and MELLOW.
Smart home
None of 3 known
Matter controller
Not available
Not available
Thread border router
Not available
Not available
Zigbee hub
Not available
Not available
Battery and charging
9 of 17 differ
Built-in battery
No2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Power source is 100-240 V AC mains only, with no battery in the specifications or the box.6Reviewtrustedreviews.com/reviews/jbl-authentics-500Read 16 October 2026Review says there is no integrated battery and no option to add one.
Playback time (claimed)
Not available
30h1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Battery hours: approximately 30 hours with Battery Care disabled, a BLUETOOTH connection, volume 17, ULT1 or ULT2 and lighting off. Approximately 15 hours with lighting on at the same settings. Approximately 3 hours at volume 50 (maximum) with lighting on. Measured by Sony with a specified music source. The STAMINA option disables lighting and sound effects but its hours are not published.2Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026Up to 30 hours when ULT1/2 is on, volume 17 and lighting off. Actual performance varies. This matches the Help Guide.
Playback with battery extension (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Battery energy
Not available
Not available
Battery capacity
Not available
Not available
Nominal battery voltage
Not available
Not available
Battery chemistry
Not available
User-replaceable battery
Not available
Not available
Full charge time
Not available
Quick charge duration
Not available
Playback after quick charge
Not available
Charging input rating
Not available
AC 120 V, 60 Hz in North America. AC 100 V, 50/60 Hz in Japan. AC 120 V to 240 V, 50/60 Hz in other regions1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Specifications, Power: Japan AC 100 V, 50/60 Hz. North America AC 120 V, 60 Hz. Other regions AC 120 V - 240 V, 50/60 Hz. Power consumption about 112 W. No current rating of the input is published.
Max charging input
Not available
Not available
USB Power Delivery charging
Not available
Not available
Charges other devices
Not available
Max power-bank output
Not available
Wireless charging
Not available
Not available
Durability
2 of 5 differ
Dust and water rating
Not available
IPX41Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Notes on water resistant feature: water resistant performance equivalent to IPX4, only with the cap securely closed and the speaker placed vertically. Not water resistant when placed horizontally.2Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026ULT TOWER 7 and ULT TOWER 5 have an IPX4 rating in a vertical position. It applies only when the waterproof port cover is properly closed.
Floats
Not available
Not available
Drop resistance
Not available
Not available
Drop test height
Not available
Not available
Carry features
Not available
Handles, Caster wheels1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Carrying: the speaker has caster wheels and handles.2Press releaseprnewswire.com/news-releases/sony-electronics-expands-its-ult-power-sound-series-lineup-with-three-new-bass-powered-party-speakers-302865965.htmlRead 20 October 2026Upgraded wheels with wider treads and carry handles with a more comfortable grip.
Measured
None of 6 known
Playback time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Max sound pressure (measured)
Not available
Not available
Low-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
High-frequency extension (measured)
Not available
Not available
Audio latency (measured)
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Dimensions and weight
3 of 3 differ
Dimensions
Width447Height240Depth255.7mm(17.6 × 9.4 × 10.1 in)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026447 x 240 x 255.7 mm, listed as width x height x depth. Package is 515 x 322 x 315 mm.
Weight
Body materials
Aluminum frame, Synthetic leather-wrapped enclosure, Quadrex grille1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026Premium aluminum frame, custom synthetic leather-wrapped enclosure and reimagined Quadrex grille. The maker says it is made with 100% recycled fabric, 85% recycled plastic and 50% recycled aluminum.13Press releaseharman.com/india/pages/JBL-Introduces-Authentics-Series-of-In-Home-Audio-Speakers;-Blends-Timeless-Retro-Style-with-Premium-Sound.aspxRead 16 October 2026Premium aluminium frame, custom synthetic leather-wrapped enclosure and reimagined Quadrex grille. 100% recycled fabric, 85% recycled plastic and 50% recycled aluminum.
Certifications
1 of 1 differ
FCC IDs
Not available
Not available
Other certifications
Wi-Fi CERTIFIED 6, Roon Ready, FSC-certified paper packaging1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026Shipped in an FSC-certified carton printed with soy ink.
Not available
In the box
1 of 1 differ
In the box
JBL Authentics 500 speaker, Power cord (quantity and plug type vary by region), Quick start guide, Safety sheet, Warranty card1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026Box contents table: 1 speaker, 1 power cord, 1 quick start guide, 1 safety sheet, 1 warranty card.
ULT TOWER 7 speaker, AC power cord (mains lead), Reference Guide1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/speaker/7871/v1/en/print.pdfRead 20 October 2026Notes: refer to the Reference Guide supplied with the speaker. The supplied AC power cord (mains lead) is named in the charging steps. Abt lists the speaker and one AC power cord.3Retailer pageabt.com/Sony-ULT-TOWER-7-Wireless-Party-Speaker-in-Black-SRSULT700/p/248760.htmlRead 20 October 2026One ULT TOWER 7 speaker and one AC power cord.
Links
Not compared
Product page
product.jbl.com/AUTHENTICS-500.html2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Product page URL printed in the manual's troubleshooting section for the Authentics 500.
Not available
Spec sheet
support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdf1Maker spec sheet (PDF)support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dwa02cae3f/pdfs/JBL%20Authentics%20500_Specsheet_FR.pdfRead 16 October 2026
Not available
Manual
support.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdf2Owner's manualsupport.harmanaudio.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-masterCatalog_Harman/default/dw3fc8d3e6/pdfs/HA_JBL_Authentics_200_&_500_OM_V8_ES-MX-.pdfRead 16 October 2026Mexican Spanish edition of the combined Authentics 200 and 500 owner's manual. No English edition was found on a host that could be read.
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Not available
Both are also in the API. Back to all wireless speakers.






















