Microphones / Compare
RØDE NT1 5th Generation vs RØDE PodMic USB
Product A: RØDE
45 of 61 known
Change RØDE NT1 5th Generation
Product B: RØDE
47 of 61 known
Change RØDE PodMic USB
29 of 53 fields differ
- 23 different values
- 6 known for one only
- 15 the same
- 9 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 69 microphones.
- Self-noiseLower is betterA: 4dB(A)B: 26dB(A)NT1 5th Generation is 22 dB(A) lower.
- Sample rateA: 192kHzB: 48kHzNT1 5th Generation is 4 times higher.
- Bit depthA: 32bitsB: 24bitsNT1 5th Generation is 8 bits higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- ANT1 5th Generation: 52 × 189 mm
- BPodMic USB: 107 × 62 mm
Weight
0 to 1,000 g
Microphone weight
A308g
B900g
All 61 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
6 of 8 differ
Model numbers
GTIN / EAN
0698813010523, 069881300977010Retailer pagealltron.ch/de/product/1539018Read 15 October 2026Alltron lists the silver NT1 5th Generation (manufacturer number NT1GEN5) with EAN 698813010523, written here as a 13-digit GTIN with a leading zero. The UPC check digit is valid.11Retailer pagealltron.ch/de/product/1539019Read 15 October 2026Alltron lists the black NT1 5th Generation (manufacturer number NT1GEN5B) with EAN 0698813009770. The UPC check digit is valid.
0698813010707, 06988130109299Maker product pagebrandstore.rode.com/products/podmic-usb.jsonRead 15 October 2026The RØDE brand store feed lists barcode 698813010707 for SKU PODMICUSB (black). It is written here as a 13-digit GTIN with a leading zero, as for the other RØDE files. The UPC check digit is valid.10Retailer pagebuildcores.com/products/Microphone/jnj41y5ei/RODE-PodMic-USB---WhiteRead 15 October 2026Page meta data lists UPC 698813010929 and EAN 0698813010929 for the white PodMic USB (PODMICUSBW). PB Tech's listing also prints UPC 698813010929 (read through search text, the page blocks agents). The UPC check digit is valid.
Announced
21 February 20236Press releaserode.com/en-au/about/news-info/introducing-the-nt1-5th-generation-the-ultimate-studio-condenser-microphoneRead 15 October 2026The RØDE page data gives launch date 2023-02-21 and CineD reported the pre-order on 2023-02-21. The news post itself was created 2023-02-17.8Press articlecined.comRead 15 October 2026CineD, 2023-02-21: RØDE just announced the new generation of the NT1.
Status
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
$2496Press releaserode.com/en-au/about/news-info/introducing-the-nt1-5th-generation-the-ultimate-studio-condenser-microphoneRead 15 October 2026Available to pre-order now for US$249. US price excludes sales tax.8Press articlecined.comRead 15 October 2026Pre-order at $249. CineD adds 250.68 euro, a currency conversion that is not a RØDE price.
$1996Press releaserode.com/en/about/news-info/introducing-the-podmic-usb-ultra-versatile-dynamic-mic-with-xlr-and-usb-outputsRead 15 October 2026Pricing and Availability: The PodMic USB is US $199 and is shipping worldwide now. US price excludes sales tax.11Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/rode-podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Review of 2023-11-12: MSRP $199 / £199.
Launch price (EU)
€25913Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-07/rode-podmic-usb-testRead 15 October 2026Review of 2023-07-25, Germany: UVP of 259 euro. VAT treatment is not stated and German list prices include VAT.14Reviewdelamar.de/test/rode-podmic-usb-testRead 15 October 2026Test of 2023-06-16, Germany: UVP 259,00 euro with a street price of 239 euro. VAT treatment is not stated. The page title and text call the microphone PodMic HD in places, but the spec list is for the PodMic USB.
Markets
Not available
Not available
Colours
Microphone type
Condenser1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Acoustic Principle Pressure gradient, JFET impedance converter. The page names an HF6 1-inch true condenser capsule.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 20266Press releaserode.com/en-au/about/news-info/introducing-the-nt1-5th-generation-the-ultimate-studio-condenser-microphoneRead 15 October 2026HF6 capsule, first introduced in the fourth generation NT1.
Dynamic1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Acoustic Principle: Dynamic. The text names a high-power neodymium capsule.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 202613Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-07/rode-podmic-usb-testRead 15 October 2026Dynamic neodymium capsule with cardioid pattern.
Capsule and pickup
2 of 4 differ
Capsule size
25.4mm1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Capsule 1.00 inch, stored as 25.4 mm.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Large-diaphragm (1-inch) gold-sputtered condenser capsule. Capsule 1.00 inch.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026The 1 inch gold-sputtered large-diaphragm capsule is kept from earlier NT1 generations.
Not available
Capsules
Polar patterns
Cardioid1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Cardioid.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 20263Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026The NT1 5th Generation is a side-address microphone and features a tight cardioid polar pattern.
Cardioid1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Cardioid. The user guide says tight cardioid pattern.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 20263Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026The PodMic USB is an end-address microphone and features a tight cardioid polar pattern.
Address type
Side address1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Address Type Side. The user guide says the gold dot marks the front.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 20263Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Side-address microphone. The gold dot on the body marks the front.
End address1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Address Type End.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 20263Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026End-address microphone. The guide says to speak towards the end of the grille.11Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/rode-podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Orientation End Address.
Sound specs
4 of 10 differ
Frequency response
Min20 HzMax20 kHz1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Frequency Range 20Hz - 20kHz.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Frequency Range: 20Hz - 20kHz.
Min20 HzMax20 kHz1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Frequency Range 20Hz - 20kHz.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Frequency Range: 20Hz - 20kHz.11Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/rode-podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: 20Hz - 20,000Hz.15Retailer pagethomann.de/gb/rode_podmic_usb.htmRead 15 October 2026Frequency response: 20 - 20,000 Hz.
Sensitivity (analog)
-32dBV/Pa1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: -32 dB re 1 Volt/Pascal (25 mV @ 94 dB SPL) +/- 2 dB @ 1 kHz. This is the analogue XLR output.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Sensitivity: -32 dB re 1 Volt/Pascal (25 mV @ 94 dB SPL) +/- 2 dB @ 1 kHz.
-57dBV/Pa1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: -57 dB re 1 Volt/Pascal (1.4 mV @ 94 dB SPL) +/- 3 dB. This is the analogue XLR output.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Sensitivity: -57 dB re 1 Volt/Pascal (1.4 mV @ 94 dB SPL) +/- 3 dB.
Sensitivity (digital)
Not available
Not available
Max SPL
142dB SPL1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Maximum SPL 142 dB SPL. No distortion limit is stated.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Maximum SPL: 142 dB SPL. No THD level is given.
148dB SPL1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Maximum SPL 148dB SPL. No distortion limit is stated.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Maximum SPL: 148dB SPL. No THD level is given.
Max SPL distortion limit
Not available
Not available
Self-noise
4dB(A)1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Equivalent Noise (A-Weighted) 4dBA.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Equivalent Noise (A-Weighted): 4dBA.
26dB(A)1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Equivalent Noise (A-Weighted) Analogue 26dBA and Digital 19dBA. The analogue value is stored. The digital 19 dBA is an equivalent noise level in dBA, not a dBFS noise floor, so it is not stored.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Equivalent Noise (A-Weighted): Analogue 26dBA, Digital 19dBA. The analogue value is stored.
Digital noise floor
Not available
Not available
Signal-to-noise ratio
Not available
Not available
Dynamic range
Not available
Not available
Connectivity
2 of 7 differ
Outputs
USB, XLR1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Dual Connect output with 3-pin XLR and USB-C.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Analogue Output Connection: 3-pin XLR. Digital Output Connection: USB-C, power via USB 5V.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Analog XLR output and a digital USB-C connection in the same opening at the base.
USB, XLR1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Analog XLR and digital USB-C connectivity. Analogue Output Connectors: 3-pin XLR, 3.5mm headphone jack. Output Connection: USB-C.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Analogue Output Connectors: 3-pin XLR, 3.5mm headphone jack. Digital Output Connection: USB-C.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Analog XLR output at the base and a digital USB-C connection for a computer or mobile device.
Inputs for other sources
Not available
Not available
USB and XLR at once
Not available
USB port
USB-C1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Digital Output Connection: USB-C.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 20263Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Plug the supplied USB-C cable into the base. A computer without a USB-C port needs a USB-A to USB-C cable such as the SC18.
USB-C1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Digital specifications: Output Connection USB-C.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Output Connection: USB-C. Power via USB: 5V @ 100mA.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Plug the supplied USB-C cable into the rear of the PodMic USB.
Cable host plug
USB-C3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026The supplied cable has a USB-C plug on the computer end, since a USB-A to USB-C cable such as the SC18 is a separate purchase. ComputerBase says the included cable has USB-C plugs at both ends.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026The USB cable has a USB-C plug on both ends and no USB-A adapter is supplied.
USB-C3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026A computer without a USB-C port needs a USB-A to USB-C cable such as the SC18, so the supplied cable has a USB-C plug on the computer end. ComputerBase and Tom's Hardware call it USB-C to USB-C.11Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/rode-podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026The only other item in the box is a USB-C to USB-C cable.12Reviewtechradar.com/gaming/rode-podmic-usb-reviewRead 15 October 2026The USB-C cable provided runs from the base into the computer's USB-C port. A USB-C to USB-A cable is not supplied.13Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-07/rode-podmic-usb-testRead 15 October 2026USB-C plugs on both ends. A USB-A adapter cable such as the SC18 must be bought separately.
Cable length
3m2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Included Accessories: SC29 - 3m USB-C Cable.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026A 3 m long USB-C cable and a 6 m XLR cable are included.
3m2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Compatible RØDE Accessories lists SC29 - 3m USB-C Cable, and the box picture shows the SC29.11Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/rode-podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: cable length 3 metres. The box has a 9.8-foot (3 m) USB-C to USB-C cable.13Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-07/rode-podmic-usb-testRead 15 October 2026A 3 m long USB cable with USB-C plugs on both ends is included.15Retailer pagethomann.de/gb/rode_podmic_usb.htmRead 15 October 2026Incl. 3 m USB-C to USB-C cable.
Phantom power
Required1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Analogue Power Requirements Via XLR: P48. The USB output runs on USB bus power.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Analogue Power Requirements: Via XLR: P48.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026For the NT1 5th Generation to function over XLR, it must be supplied with 48V phantom power. The USB output needs none.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026The analogue use needs 48 V phantom power from the audio interface.
Not required3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026The guide tells the user to disengage phantom power on the connected device for the XLR output, as it affects the output level. ComputerBase says a dynamic microphone cannot use 48 V phantom power.13Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-07/rode-podmic-usb-testRead 15 October 2026As a dynamic microphone it cannot use 48 V phantom power.
Digital audio
3 of 3 differ
Max bit depth
32bits1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Bit Depth: 24-bit / 32-bit floating point. Stored as 32 with float_32_bit true.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Bit Depth: 24-bit / 32-bit floating point.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026A bit depth of up to 32-bit floating point.
Max sample rate
192kHz1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Sampling Rate: 48 / 96 / 192 kHz.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Sampling Rate (kHz): 48 / 96 / 192.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Capable of recording a sample rate of up to 192kHz.
32-bit float recording
Yes1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026World-first 32-bit float digital output. On Windows the custom ASIO driver is needed for 32-bit float.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 202632-bit float digital output for recording with no chance of clipping up to the max SPL handling of the microphone.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026The microphone can record 32-bit float audio. On Windows this needs the ASIO driver and firmware 1.1.3 or above.
Monitoring
2 of 2 differ
Headphone output
No3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026To monitor over USB the user plugs headphones into the computer's headphone output or audio interface. The microphone has no headphone jack.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026The microphone has no controls or connectors for monitoring over headphones.
Yes1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Built-in headphone output with volume control and zero-latency monitoring.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Analogue Output Connectors: 3-pin XLR, 3.5mm headphone jack.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 20263.5mm headphone output on the rear with a volume control.4Owner's manualedge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/0927-0827-02-10%20PODMIC%20USB%20QSG.pdfRead 15 October 2026Use the USB-C output to connect to a computer, tablet or phone, and the 3.5 mm headphone output for monitoring.
Zero-latency monitoring
No3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Monitoring happens in the computer or DAW and is subject to latency. The microphone has no direct monitoring.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026The review finds no controls or connectors on the microphone for monitoring over headphones.
Yes1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Built-in headphone output with volume control and zero-latency monitoring.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Pressing the volume control in enables or disables zero-latency monitoring. The LED turns green when it is on and red when it is off.
Controls and processing
1 of 2 differ
Onboard controls
Not available
Headphone volume3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026The only physical control is the headphone volume wheel. Pressing it toggles zero-latency monitoring, and it mutes the channel only inside RØDE Connect or UNIFY. There is no gain control or mute button on the microphone, so only headphone_volume is stored.11Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/rode-podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Almost zero controls on the microphone. The only dial is the volume control for the headphone port. There are no dials for gain.12Reviewtechradar.com/gaming/rode-podmic-usb-reviewRead 15 October 2026A scroll wheel for mic monitoring gain is the one and only control. There is no mute control.
Onboard processing
Compressor, Noise gate, High-pass filter, Exciter or bass enhancer1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026On-board DSP with APHEX processing: compressor, noise gate, high-pass filter, Aural Exciter and Big Bottom. Aural Exciter and Big Bottom are stored as exciter or bass enhancer. The processing works only at 48 kHz and 24-bit.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Processing: APHEX digital signal processing, only available at 48kHz sample rate. The text names a compressor, noise gate, high-pass filter, Aural Exciter and Big Bottom.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026RØDE Central and RØDE Connect give access to a noise gate, compressor, high-pass filter, Aural Exciter and Big Bottom. Settings enabled in RØDE Central persist in the microphone. Processing needs 48 kHz and 24-bit.6Press releaserode.com/en-au/about/news-info/introducing-the-nt1-5th-generation-the-ultimate-studio-condenser-microphoneRead 15 October 2026Built-in DSP with APHEX processing: compressor, noise gate, high-pass filter, Aural Exciter and Big Bottom, controlled through RØDE Central and RØDE Connect.
Compressor, Noise gate, High-pass filter, Exciter or bass enhancer1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026On-board DSP for APHEX audio processing. Granular controls for the high-pass filter, noise gate, compressor, Aural Exciter and Big Bottom. Aural Exciter and Big Bottom are stored as exciter or bass enhancer.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Digital specifications: APHEX processing. The text names a compressor, noise gate, high-pass filter, Aural Exciter and Big Bottom.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026The DSP has a noise gate, compressor, high-pass filter and APHEX Aural Exciter and Big Bottom. Settings made in RØDE Central persist in the microphone and stay active on the USB output after the app is closed.6Press releaserode.com/en/about/news-info/introducing-the-podmic-usb-ultra-versatile-dynamic-mic-with-xlr-and-usb-outputsRead 15 October 2026On-board DSP with a compressor, noise gate, high-pass filter, Aural Exciter and Big Bottom. Settings are controlled through RØDE Central, RØDE Connect and UNIFY.
Mounting and accessories
2 of 4 differ
Mount threads
5/8 inch, 3/8 inch3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026The SM6 shock mount features both 5/8 inch and 3/8 inch thread sizes.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026Usual thread sizes of 3/8 inch and 5/8 inch are provided on the spider.
5/8 inch, 3/8 inch3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026The integrated swing mount has a mounting hole for both 5/8-inch and 3/8-inch threads.15Retailer pagethomann.de/gb/rode_podmic_usb.htmRead 15 October 2026Swivel mount with 5/8 inch thread. Only the RØDE user guide names the 3/8 inch thread too.
Shock mount
Included1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026The page lists a studio-grade shock mount in the box and the HF6 capsule is also internally shock-mounted. A separate SM6 shock mount is in the box, so this is included.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Comes with a studio-quality SM6 shock mount that the microphone is screwed into.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026A solid metal spider, the shock mount, is in the box. The microphone is screwed into it.
Internal1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Internal pop filter and internal shockmount.6Press releaserode.com/en/about/news-info/introducing-the-podmic-usb-ultra-versatile-dynamic-mic-with-xlr-and-usb-outputsRead 15 October 2026Internal shock mount for reducing vibrations. The capsule is internally suspended and the swing mount is internally decoupled.
Pop filter
External screen1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026A pop filter is included with the SM6 shock mount.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026The SM6 shock mount and pop filter, with a telescopic arm, screw into the mount.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026A classic round pop filter that screws onto the shock mount is included.
Internal, Foam windscreen1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Internal pop filter. A studio-quality external pop filter is included.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026An internal pop filter is listed as a feature and the included external pop filter slides over the grille.6Press releaserode.com/en/about/news-info/introducing-the-podmic-usb-ultra-versatile-dynamic-mic-with-xlr-and-usb-outputsRead 15 October 2026Internal pop filter and a custom professional pop filter included.11Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/rode-podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026The microphone comes with a windshield/pop filter made of foam and silicone.13Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-07/rode-podmic-usb-testRead 15 October 2026The accessory is a pop shield that is slipped over the microphone.15Retailer pagethomann.de/gb/rode_podmic_usb.htmRead 15 October 2026Incl. 3 m USB-C to USB-C cable and attachable foam pop shield. RØDE's WS14 page describes the PodMic USB pop filter as high-density foam.16Maker product pagebrandstore.rode.com/products/ws14-white.jsonRead 15 October 2026The WS14 accessory page says its pop filter is built for the PodMic or PodMic USB and is constructed from high-density foam. The included filter is assumed to be the same foam type on the strength of the Thomann and Tom's Hardware descriptions.
Desk stand included
No2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026What's in the box shows the microphone, a pop filter and a cable. No stand is listed.11Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/rode-podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026No stand is included, so a stand or boom arm must be bought separately.12Reviewtechradar.com/gaming/rode-podmic-usb-reviewRead 15 October 2026No stand or arm is supplied.
Design and build
2 of 3 differ
Housing material
Machined aluminium1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026The body is machined from rugged aluminium.6Press releaserode.com/en-au/about/news-info/introducing-the-nt1-5th-generation-the-ultimate-studio-condenser-microphoneRead 15 October 2026The body is aluminium, available in black or silver.9Reviewcomputerbase.de/2023-03/rode-nt1-5th-gen-test-xlr-usb-allrounderRead 15 October 2026The housing is made entirely of scratch-resistant aluminium.
RGB lighting
Not available
No3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026The only light is a small LED on the rear that shows the zero-latency monitoring state in green or red. This is a status light. No decorative lighting is described.12Reviewtechradar.com/gaming/rode-podmic-usb-reviewRead 15 October 2026Some microphones in this space add RGB lighting, while RØDE keeps a professional studio gear look.
Lighting zones
Not available
Not available
Software
0 of 2 differ
Software
RØDE Central1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026RØDE Central and RØDE Connect. RØDE Central is the stored companion app.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026RØDE Software Compatibility: RØDE Central, RØDE Connect, RØDE UNIFY.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026RØDE Central, RØDE Connect and a custom ASIO driver for Windows.4Owner's manualedge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/0927-0836-03-01%20NT1%205THGEN%20QSG_FA_WEB.pdfRead 15 October 2026The quick start guide points to RØDE Central.
RØDE Central1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026RØDE Central, RØDE Connect, RØDE Capture and UNIFY. RØDE Central is the stored companion app.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Included Software: RØDE Central, RØDE Connect, RØDE Unify, RØDE Reporter, RØDE Central Mobile, RØDE Capture.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Companion app is RØDE Central. RØDE Connect and UNIFY also work with it.4Owner's manualedge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/0927-0827-02-10%20PODMIC%20USB%20QSG.pdfRead 15 October 2026The quick start guide points to RØDE Central.
User firmware updates
Yes3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026To update the NT1 5th Generation to the latest firmware, download RØDE Central. RØDE Connect also prompts for updates.4Owner's manualedge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/0927-0836-03-01%20NT1%205THGEN%20QSG_FA_WEB.pdfRead 15 October 2026Download RØDE Central to enable advanced granular processing and update your firmware.
Yes3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026RØDE Central can be used to update the PodMic USB firmware. RØDE Connect prompts for a firmware update.4Owner's manualedge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/0927-0827-02-10%20PODMIC%20USB%20QSG.pdfRead 15 October 2026Download RØDE Central to apply processing to USB audio and update your firmware.
Compatibility
2 of 2 differ
Works with
Windows, macOS1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Spec table: Minimum OS Requirements Windows 10 and Mac OS 10.15. No mobile OS is listed for this model.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Minimum OS Requirements: Windows 10, Mac OS 10.15.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026Compatible with computers running Windows 10 or later and Mac OS 10.15 or later.
Windows, macOS, iOS, iPadOS, Android1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Fully compatible with Windows and Mac computers, and iOS and Android devices. RØDE Central needs macOS 11 or later or Windows 10 version 1803 or later. The page says smartphones and tablets, so iPadOS is included.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Minimum OS Requirements: Windows 10, Mac OS 10.15. The text adds iOS and Android devices.15Retailer pagethomann.de/gb/rode_podmic_usb.htmRead 15 October 2026Compatible with Windows, Mac, Android and iOS. System requirements Windows 10 / Mac OS 10.15.
Dimensions and weight
2 of 3 differ
Microphone dimensions
Width52Height189Depth52mm(2 × 7.4 × 2 in)2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Dimensions: Length 52, Width 52, Height 189 mm. The drawing shows 189 mm along the body and 52 mm for both other sides. The microphone stands upright, so height 189 mm, width 52 mm and depth 52 mm. ComputerBase prints 190 x 50 mm.
Microphone weight
900g(2 lb)2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026Weight (grams): 900. The swing mount is part of the microphone. Thomann and delamar print 896 g and the RØDE brand store feed has 896 g.11Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/rode-podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026Spec table: 1.9 lbs / 900 g. The table prints 123 x 110 x 109 mm including the bracket, which matches the rode.com page and not the datasheet.
Weight with stand
Not available
Not available
Certifications
0 of 1 differ
Other certifications
CE, UKCA, FCC Part 15 Class B, CAN ICES-3 (B) / NMB-3 (B), KC (South Korea)4Owner's manualedge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/0927-0836-03-01%20NT1%205THGEN%20QSG_FA_WEB.pdfRead 15 October 2026The guide prints the FCC Part 15 Class B statement, CAN ICES-3 (B) / NMB-3 (B) and a South Korea ID R-R-R72-NT1-5G.5Regulatory filingedge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1-5G%20-%20EU%20Declaration%20of%20Conformity.pdfRead 15 October 2026EU Declaration of Conformity for the NT1 5th Generation Black and Silver, dated 9 February 2022. RØDE also links a UKCA Declaration of Conformity for the same models at https://edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1-5G%20-%20UKCA%20Declaration%20of%20Conformity.pdf.
CE, UKCA, FCC Part 15 Class B, CAN ICES-3 (B) / NMB-3 (B), KC (South Korea)4Owner's manualedge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/0927-0827-02-10%20PODMIC%20USB%20QSG.pdfRead 15 October 2026The guide prints the FCC Part 15 Class B statement, CAN ICES-3 (B) / NMB-3 (B) and a South Korea ID R-R-R72-PodMic-USB.5Regulatory filingedge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMic%20USB%20-%20EU%20Declaration%20of%20Conformity.pdfRead 15 October 2026EU Declaration of Conformity for the PodMic USB, dated 1 February 2023. RØDE also links a UKCA Declaration of Conformity dated the same day at https://edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMic%20USB%20-%20UKCA%20Declaration%20of%20Conformity.pdf.
In the box
1 of 1 differ
In the box
NT1 5th Generation microphone, SM6 shock mount and pop filter, SC29 3 m USB-C cable, 6 m XLR cable, Dust cover1Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/products/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026The page lists the shock mount, pop filter, a premium XLR cable and a USB-C cable. The datasheet and user guide add the dust cover.2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Included Accessories: SM6 shock mount and pop filter, SC29 3m USB-C cable, 6m XLR cable, dust cover.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/nt1-5th-generationRead 15 October 2026The NT1 5th Generation comes with a studio-quality shock mount, pop filter, XLR cable, USB-C cable and dust cover.
PodMic USB, Pop filter, SC29 USB-C to USB-C cable (3 m), Rubber XLR cover2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026What's in the box (picture): PodMic USB, Pop Filter, SC29. The user guide adds a rubber cover for the XLR output.3Owner's manualrode.com/en-us/user-guides/podmic-usbRead 15 October 2026The PodMic USB comes with a pop filter and a USB-C cable. It also comes with a rubber cover to protect the XLR output.
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdf2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1184/NT1%205th%20GEN_Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026RØDE datasheet of the NT1 5th Generation, created June 2023. It shows Black and Silver.
edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdf2Maker spec sheet (PDF)edge.rode.com/pdf/products/1045/PodMicUSB%20White_Datasheet_FA.pdfRead 15 October 2026RØDE datasheet of the PodMic USB, created June 2024. The file name reads PodMicUSB White_Datasheet_FA and the sheet shows Black and White.
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
0 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
1year6Press releaserode.com/en-au/about/news-info/introducing-the-nt1-5th-generation-the-ultimate-studio-condenser-microphoneRead 15 October 2026The post says the NT1 5th Generation is backed by a 10-year warranty. That term needs registration, see the warranty terms page. Only the base term is stored.7Maker product pagerode.com/en-us/support/warranty-termsRead 15 October 2026All RØDE products are covered by a limited warranty for one year from the date of purchase. Selected products can extend to two, five or ten years only by registering the purchase in the RØDE warranty portal. The rode.com page data shows 10 years for the NT1 5th Generation. Only the base term of 1 year is stored.
Both are also in the API. Back to all microphones.














