SSDs / Compare
Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO vs Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Product A: Samsung
33 of 63 known
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
LaCie Rugged SSD4
Samsung Portable SSD P7
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD P9
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5
OWC Envoy Ultra
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Change Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO
Compare the Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4 with
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
LaCie Rugged SSD4
Samsung Portable SSD P7
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD P9
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5
OWC Envoy Ultra
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
Samsung Portable SSD T9Product B: Sandisk
Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
30 of 63 known
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Western Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD
Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
OWC Envoy Ultra
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)
LaCie Rugged SSD4
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V2)
Change Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Compare the Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO with
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Sabrent Rocket XTRM 5
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Western Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD
Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
OWC Envoy Ultra
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)
LaCie Rugged SSD4
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V2)28 of 55 fields differ
- 19 different values
- 9 known for one only
- 4 the same
- 23 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 84 SSDs.
- Read speedA: 460MB/sB: 3,800MB/sSandisk is 8.3 times higher.
- Write speedA: 460MB/sB: 3,700MB/sSandisk is 8 times higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- ASamsung: 40 × 17 mm
- BSandisk: 68.7 × 11.9 mm
Weight
0 to 150 g
All 63 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
5 of 9 differ
Series
Not available
Not available
Model numbers
MU-PH2T0S/WW, MU-PH2T0S/AM, MU-PH2T0S/EU, MU-PH4T0S/WW, MU-PH4T0S/AM, MU-PH4T0S/EU, MU-PH8T0S/WW, MU-PH8T0S/AM, MU-PH8T0S/EU2Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Product line-up: MU-PH8T0, MU-PH4T0 and MU-PH2T0 with the codes /WW, /AM and /EU
GTIN / EAN
Announced
14 November 20234Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-unveils-new-portable-ssd-t5-evo-that-offers-8tb-capacity-in-a-compact-designRead 15 October 2026Global release dated November 15, 2023 in Korea. The US release is dated 11/14/2023, so 2023-11-14 is stored5Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsung-introduces-t5-evo-portable-ssdRead 15 October 2026US release dated 11/14/2023
Status
Available1Maker product pagesamsung.com/us/computing/memory-storage/portable-solid-state-drives/portable-ssd-t5-evo-usb-3-2-8tb-black-mu-ph8t0s-amRead 15 October 2026On 2026-10-15 the page lists the 8TB at $1,119.99 and the 2TB at $289.99, both marked out of stock, and the 4TB at $579.99. Current prices are not stored. Samsung's US price file of September 2025 marks the 4TB as EOL and the 2TB and 8TB as price changes. Samsung's Irish business page lists all three capacities3Maker product pagesamsung.com/ie/business/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t5-evo-8tb-black-mu-ph8t0s-euRead 15 October 2026Samsung Ireland business store lists the 2TB, 4TB and 8TB7Maker spec sheet (PDF)image-us.samsung.com/SamsungUS/business/solutions/industries/government/msrp-price-sheets/10092025/Samsung-Memory_Storage-MSRP-Price-File-(September-2025).pdfRead 15 October 2026Change column: 2TB Price Change, 4TB EOL, 8TB Price Change. The file lists new MSRPs of $199.99, $374.99 and $689.99, which are not launch prices
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
$189.994Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-unveils-new-portable-ssd-t5-evo-that-offers-8tb-capacity-in-a-compact-designRead 15 October 2026MSRP $189.99 for the 2TB, $349.99 for the 4TB and $649.99 for the 8TB. US. The base price is the 2TB model5Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsung-introduces-t5-evo-portable-ssdRead 15 October 2026MSRP $189.99 for the 2TB, $349.99 for the 4TB and $649.99 for the 8TB
$279.993Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026Spec table price $279 (2TB) and $429 (4TB), which are Amazon prices at review time and not stated as MSRP6Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd-reviewRead 14 October 2026Review of 3 May 2025 states MSRP $279.99 US for the 2TB and 429.99 US for the 4TB. No maker page states a price7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026Asking price $279.99 (2TB) and $429.99 (4TB) in the US at review time
Markets
Not available
Not available
Colours
Not available
Form factor
Capacity
2 TB, 4 TB, 8 TB1Maker product pagesamsung.com/us/computing/memory-storage/portable-solid-state-drives/portable-ssd-t5-evo-usb-3-2-8tb-black-mu-ph8t0s-amRead 15 October 2026Storage selector 2 TB, 4 TB and 8 TB2Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Capacities 2 TB / 4 TB / 8 TB. Footnote 1: 1 GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes, 1 TB = 1,000,000,000,000 bytes
Interface
1 of 5 differ
Interface
PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
PCIe lanes
Not available
Not available
NVMe version
Not available
Not available
Detachable cable
Yes3Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026The cable is a separate item in the box and the drive has a USB-C port7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026The cable is separate from the drive. No USB-A adapter is included
Hardware
4 of 7 differ
Controller
Samsung Metis9Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/samsung-t50-evoRead 15 October 2026Spec table lists Samsung Metis as the controller of the 2TB, 4TB and 8TB. Review dated 14 November 2023, 8TB sample12Reviewanandtech.com/show/21135Read 15 October 2026AnandTech teardown of the 8TB: the SATA controller is the Samsung S4LR069 Metis, the same as in the 870 QVO. A separate ASMedia ASM235CM bridges SATA to USB 3.2 Gen 1, which is not stored. AnandTech's site now redirects to its forum, so the text was read from search result excerpts on 2026-10-15
Not available
Flash type
QLC9Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/samsung-t50-evoRead 15 October 2026Spec table reads Samsung QLC for all three capacities. StorageReview and TechRadar also say QLC. NASCompares writes 64-layer 3D V-NAND TLC, which looks copied from the 2017 T5 and is not stored10Reviewstoragereview.com/review/samsung-t5-evo-8tb-portable-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026The T5 EVO uses QLC. It also says the drive has an internal SATA interface behind USB 3.2 Gen 1. Review dated November 14, 202311Reviewtechradar.com/pro/samsung-portable-ssd-t5-evo-8tb-reviewRead 15 October 2026Says an AnandTech teardown showed the drive looks like a repackaged 870 QVO with QLC NAND chips
Not available
Flash memory
Not available
Flash layers
Not available
Not available
DRAM cache
Not available
DRAM cache size
Not available
Not available
Component sides
Not available
Not available
Performance
2 of 4 differ
Sequential read (claimed)
Sequential write (claimed)
Random 4K read (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K write (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Endurance and reliability
1 of 3 differ
Endurance (TBW)
Not available
Not available
MTBF or MTTF (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Operating temperature
Power
None of 6 known
Power while reading (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Power while writing (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Max power consumption (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Average power in light use (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Sleep power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Measured
6 of 9 differ
Sequential read (measured)
Sequential write (measured)
Random 4K read at queue depth 1 (measured)
Random 4K write at queue depth 1 (measured)
Write cache size (measured)
Not available
Not available
3DMark Storage Benchmark
Not available
Highest temperature under load (measured)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (measured)
Not available
Not available
Cooling and build
1 of 4 differ
Heatsink
Not available
Not available
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available
Dust and water rating
Not available
IP653Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026Text says SanDisk states an IP65 rating for water resistance7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026Says SanDisk tested the drive to IEC 60529 IP65, where it withstood water flow (30 kPa) for 3 minutes
Drop test height
2m3Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026Text says SanDisk says the drive should survive drops up to two meters. The surface is not stated7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026Says the drive can survive a fall of 2 meters, and the claim does not detail what it fell onto
Security and software
2 of 2 differ
Security
AES 256-bit hardware encryption2Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Encryption row reads AES 256-bit hardware encryption9Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/samsung-t50-evoRead 15 October 2026Spec table: 256-bit AES hardware encryption
AES 256-bit hardware encryption, Password protection6Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd-reviewRead 14 October 2026States the drive supports hardware encryption. The review gives no key length7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026Spec table Encryption row reads Hardware. Text says the drive supports hardware encryption8Press articlechargerlab.com/sandisk-unveils-extreme-pro-usb4-portable-ssd-high-speed-durable-storage-up-to-4tbRead 14 October 2026Reads 256-bit AES hardware encryption with password protection. No maker document for this model confirms it, and TechRadar and TheSSDReview confirm hardware encryption
Software
Samsung Magician2Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Software row lists Samsung Portable SSD 1.0 and Samsung Magician Software. Samsung's support pages offer Samsung Magician, which is stored8Maker product pagesamsung.com/sg/support/model/MU-PH8T0S/WWRead 15 October 2026Samsung support page for the MU-PH8T0S offers Samsung Magician 9.0 for Windows, macOS and Android. It lists no user manual
Compatibility
1 of 1 differ
Platforms
Windows, macOS, Android2Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Footnote 5: minimum system requirements Windows 7 or higher, Mac OS X 10.10 or higher and Android Lollipop or higher. The sheet names no console3Maker product pagesamsung.com/ie/business/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t5-evo-8tb-black-mu-ph8t0s-euRead 15 October 2026Compatible Devices: PCs, Laptops, Android smart phones and tablets, Game consoles, Smart TVs, Cameras. OS Compatibility: Windows, macOS, Android. No console is named4Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-unveils-new-portable-ssd-t5-evo-that-offers-8tb-capacity-in-a-compact-designRead 15 October 2026Compatible with macOS, Windows, smartphones and tablets and gaming consoles. Samsung Magician works on Windows, macOS and Android8Maker product pagesamsung.com/sg/support/model/MU-PH8T0S/WWRead 15 October 2026Magician installers for Windows 10, macOS and Android
Dimensions and weight
2 of 2 differ
Dimensions
Length95Width40Height17mm(3.7 × 1.6 × 0.7 in)2Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdfRead 15 October 202640 x 95 x 17 mm. Samsung's product page labels the order W x H x D, so 95 mm is the long side, 40 mm the width and 17 mm the thickness3Maker product pagesamsung.com/ie/business/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t5-evo-8tb-black-mu-ph8t0s-euRead 15 October 2026Dimension (WxHxD) 40 x 95 x 17 mm
Length140Width68.7Height11.9mm(5.5 × 2.7 × 0.5 in)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Product Dimensions row reads 5.51 x 2.70 x 0.47 in | 140.00 x 68.70 x 11.90 mm. Tom's Hardware prints 140 x 68.58 x 11.94 mm, which is the same size in inches
Weight
102g(3.6 oz)2Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026102 grams. Footnote 2: exact weight may vary by capacity. Samsung's pages for the 2TB, 4TB and 8TB each say 102 grams3Maker product pagesamsung.com/ie/business/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t5-evo-8tb-black-mu-ph8t0s-euRead 15 October 2026Specifications of the 2TB, 4TB and 8TB pages each read 102 grams
In the box
2 of 2 differ
In the box
Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO, USB Type-C to C cable, Quick User Manual & Warranty Statement2Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Box contents: Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO, USB Type-C to C cable, Quick User Manual & Warranty Statement
Cables included
ASamsung Portable SSD T5 EVO
| Type | Count |
|---|---|
| USB-C to USB-C | 1 |
BSandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
| Type | Length (m) | Count |
|---|---|---|
| USB-C to USB-C | 0.28 | 1 |
Source3Reviewtomshardware.com/pc-components/external-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-2-tb-reviewRead 14 October 2026Roughly 11-inch USB-C-to-USB-C cable, which is about 28 cm. TechRadar says the cable is 28cm long and TheSSDReview says 12 inches6Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd-reviewRead 14 October 202612-inch USB4 Type-C to Type-C cable that also powers the drive7Reviewtechradar.com/pro/sandisk-extreme-pro-with-usb4-reviewRead 14 October 2026The 28cm long USB-C cable is the only accessory
Links
Not compared
Product page
www.samsung.com/us/computing/memory-storage/portable-solid-state-drives/portable-ssd-t5-evo-usb-3-2-8tb-black-mu-ph8t0s-am1Maker product pagesamsung.com/us/computing/memory-storage/portable-solid-state-drives/portable-ssd-t5-evo-usb-3-2-8tb-black-mu-ph8t0s-amRead 15 October 2026Samsung US page of the 8TB, MU-PH8T0S/AM. The 2TB, 4TB and 8TB are selectable
www.sandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd2Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssdRead 14 October 2026The SanDisk product page loads its content with scripts, so only its title (2TB SanDisk Extreme PRO with USB4) could be read. The data sheet and reviews carry the specs
Spec sheet
download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdf2Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T5_EVO_Datasheet_Rev1.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO 2023 Data Sheet, Revision 1.0, on Samsung's data sheet server. Copies on Ingram Micro and Tehnoteka read the same
documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd.pdf1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-extreme-pro-usb-4-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Two-page SanDisk data sheet for the Extreme PRO with USB4, copyright 2024, hosted on documents.sandisk.com
Manual
Not available
Not available
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)