Computers / Desktop PCs

AppleDesktop PC
Mac Studio (M3 Ultra, 2025)
Released March 2025.2Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2025/03/apple-unveils-new-mac-studio-the-most-powerful-mac-everRead 10 October 2026Mac Studio begins arriving and is in stores from Wednesday, March 12, 2025. The release says Mac Studio with M3 Ultra starts with 96GB of unified memory. Last checked 23 October 2026.
- Form factor
- Not available
- Processor
- Apple M3 Ultra
- GPU
- Apple M3 Ultra 60-core GPU
- RAM
- 96GB
69 of 160 fields known.
At a glance
Max RAM
Higher than 95% of other desktop PCs.
Ports
- 2 USB-C Thunderbolt 5
- SD card SDXC UHS-II
- 4 USB-C Thunderbolt 5 / USB4
- 2 USB-A USB 3
- HDMI 2.1
- Ethernet (RJ45) 10Gb Ethernet
- 3.5 mm audio
General
- Model numbers
- MU973LL/A, A3389, Mac15,144Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/mac-studio/specs/mac-studio-m3-ultra-28-core-cpu-60-core-gpu-2025-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Identifiers: MU973LL/A, Mac15,14, A3389, EMC 8859.5Certification listdata.energystar.gov/resource/rxdj-2c88.jsonRead 10 October 2026ENERGY STAR record 4513876: Mac Studio (M3 Ultra), model A3389, additional information MU973, 28 physical cores, 96 GB, one SSD. United States and Canada.6Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102231Read 10 October 2026Identify your Mac Studio model: Mac Studio (2025) with M3 Ultra, Model Identifier Mac15,14, part numbers MU973xx/A.
- GTIN / EAN
- 195949056734, 1959490569015Certification listdata.energystar.gov/resource/rxdj-2c88.jsonRead 10 October 2026UPCs 195949056734 and 195949056901 from the same MU973 record. Which UPC maps to which regional part is not stated.
- Announced
- 5 March 20252Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2025/03/apple-unveils-new-mac-studio-the-most-powerful-mac-everRead 10 October 2026Dated March 5, 2025. Pre-orders open the same day.
- Predecessor
- Not available
- Successor
- Apple Mac Studio (M5 Ultra, 2026)20Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/08/apple-introduces-new-mac-studio-with-m5-max-and-m5-ultraRead 23 October 2026Apple's August 2026 release compares the Mac Studio with M5 Ultra to the previous-generation Mac Studio with M3 Ultra.21Press articlemacworld.com/article/3220024/apple-announces-the-m5-ultra-mac-studio-with-up-to-512gb-of-ram.htmlRead 23 October 2026Macworld says buyers can now get an M5 Ultra Mac Studio instead of the M3 Ultra model.
- Segment
- Not available
- Form factor
- Not available
Case
Front and side, drawn to scale.
- Case dimensions
- Width197Height95Depth197mm(7.8 × 3.7 × 7.8 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Size and Weight: 19.7 cm width and depth and 9.5 cm height, converted to mm.
- Case volume
- Not available
- Case model
- Not available
- Case materials
- Aluminium1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Materials section: 100% recycled aluminum in the enclosure and thermal module chassis.
- Side panel
- Not available
- Front panel
- Not available
- Dust filters
- Not available
- VESA mount
- Not available
Display
We could not find any of these 6 fields. Show them
- Screen size
- Not available
- Native resolution
- Not available
- Panel type
- Not available
- Max refresh rate
- Not available
- Touchscreen
- Not available
- Brightness (SDR, claimed)
- Not available
Motherboard
- Motherboard
- Apple service part 661-502057Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Orderable parts item 36: logic board 661-50205 for M3 Ultra, 28-core CPU, 60-core GPU, 96 GB. This is an Apple service part identifier.
- Chipset
- Not available
- Motherboard form factor
- Proprietary7Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Apple service assembly sized for this enclosure. Not an ATX class board.
- CPU socket
- Not available
- Expansion slots
- Not available
- PCIe x16 slots
- Not available
- Free expansion slots
- Not available
- Overclocking in BIOS
- Not available
Processor
- Processor brand
- Apple1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026
- Processor codename
- Not available
- Core configuration
Core type Count Performance 20 Efficiency 8 - CPU cores
- 28
- Performance cores
- 20
- Efficiency cores
- 8
- Max core turbo clock
- Not available
- L3 cache
- Not available
- CPU base power (chip rating)
- Not available
- Peak CPU power (configured)
- Not available
- Unlocked multiplier
- Not available
- NPU performance
- Not available
- Integrated GPU
- Apple M3 Ultra 60-core GPU1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Chip section states a 60-core GPU in the Apple M3 Ultra. No discrete graphics.
Cooling
- CPU cooler model
- Not available
- Radiator size
- Not available
- Radiator position
- Not available
- Case fans
Fan rotors 2 - Number of case fans
- 2
Graphics
- GPU
- Not available
- GPU brand
- Not available
- Graphics card
- Not available
- VRAM
- Not available
- VRAM type
- Not available
- GPU board power
- Not available
- GPU boost clock
- Not available
- Graphics card length
- Not available
- Graphics card thickness
- Not available
- GPU power connector
- Not available
Memory
- Configured RAM speed
- 6,400MT/s18Spec databaselowendmac.com/1234/apple-silicon-m3-ultra-chip-specsRead 10 October 2026M3 Ultra chip specs list LPDDR5-6400 (3200 MHz) on a 1024-bit bus with about 819.2 GB/s, which matches the 819GB/s memory bandwidth Apple publishes. Apple does not publish the transfer rate. The chip is the same in the 28-core and 32-core models. The same page lists a 4.05 GHz P-core clock, which is not stored because the ENERGY STAR record lists 3.6 GHz.19Spec databasehmc-tech.com/desktops/mac-studio-m3-ultra-early-2025Read 10 October 2026Memory row for the 96 GB base model: LPDDR5-6400. Agrees with the Low End Mac chip page. Apple does not publish the transfer rate.
- Rated kit speed
- Not available
- Memory kit
- Not available
- RAM upgrade
- Integrated into chip package7Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Logic board is ordered by chip and memory capacity. There are no DIMM slots, and the SSD module 661-50220 is ordered separately as the 1 TB M3 Ultra module.
- Memory slots
- Not available
- RAM slots
- Not available
- Free RAM slots
- Not available
- ECC memory
- Not available
Storage
- Storage
- 1TB
- Installed drives
Capacity (GB) Type 1,000 SSD, protocol not stated - Storage slots and bays
- Not available
- M.2 slots
- Not available
- Free M.2 slots
- Not available
- Free drive bays
- Not available
- Fastest storage-slot PCIe generation
- Not available
Power supply
- PSU rated output
- 480W1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Maximum continuous power 480W. The ENERGY STAR record lists an internal supply rated 480 W.5Certification listdata.energystar.gov/resource/rxdj-2c88.jsonRead 10 October 2026internal_power_supply_rated_power_w 480.
- PSU form factor
- Proprietary7Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Apple service part. No standard PSU format applies.
- PSU efficiency
- Not available
- Modular cables
- Not available
- PSU model
- Apple service part 661-508867Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Power supply 661-50886, one part for both chip models.
- ATX version
- Not available
- Native 12V-2x6 cable
- Not available
Ports
- User-facing I/O position
- Front1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026
- User-facing ports
Type Version Count Max stated link rate (Gbps) Thunderbolt or USB4 USB-C Thunderbolt 5 2 120 Thunderbolt 5 SD card SDXC UHS-II 1 Not available Not available Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026On front (M3 Ultra): two Thunderbolt 5 ports (up to 120 Gb/s) and an SDXC card slot (UHS-II). The M4 Max front USB-C ports are excluded.10Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/mac-studio/take-a-tour-of-mac-studio-apd0fd69f4be/2025/mac/15Read 10 October 2026On Mac Studio with the M3 Ultra chip, the two front USB-C ports are Thunderbolt 5. The SDXC slot supports SD 4.0 cards.- Rear ports
Type Version Count Max stated link rate (Gbps) Thunderbolt or USB4 DP Alt Mode USB-C Thunderbolt 5 / USB4 4 120 Thunderbolt 5 Yes USB-A USB 3 2 5 Not available Not available HDMI HDMI 2.1 1 Not available Not available Not available Ethernet (RJ45) 10Gb Ethernet 1 10 Not available Not available 3.5 mm audio Not available 1 Not available Not available Not available - User-facing USB ports
- 2
- User-facing USB-C ports
- 2
- Rear USB ports
- 6
- Thunderbolt
- Yes
- Ethernet speed
- 10Gbps
- Discrete GPU output ports
- Not available
Wireless
- Wi-Fi bands
- 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz15Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102285Read 10 October 2026Use Wi-Fi 6E or Wi-Fi 7 networks lists Mac Studio introduced in 2023 or later. It permits the 6 GHz band or only 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. US page. Availability depends on region.
- Wi-Fi module
- Not available
- Wi-Fi antenna
- Internal7Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Antenna assemblies 1 to 3 sit inside the housing. No external antenna.
- Ethernet controller
- Marvell AQtion AQC11316Reviewhothardware.com/reviews/apple-mac-studio-m4-max-vs-mac-mini-m4-proRead 10 October 2026Page 1 identifies the 10GbE controller as Aquantia, now Marvell, AQtion AQC113. The reviewed unit is the M4 Max model. Apple lists one Ethernet board, 923-12482, for all 2025 configurations.
Camera and audio
- Webcam
- Not available
- Built-in speaker drivers
- 11Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Audio section lists a built-in speaker in the singular. The exploded view shows one Speaker.7Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Exploded view lists one Speaker, item 34.
- Total speaker power
- Not available
- Audio features
- 3.5 mm headphone jack with support for high-impedance headphones, HDMI port with multichannel audio output1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026
Lighting
We could not find any of these 4 fields. Show them
- RGB lighting
- Not available
- Lit parts
- Not available
- Lighting standard
- Not available
- Lighting software
- Not available
Software
- Operating system
- macOS Sequoia 15.3.24Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/mac-studio/specs/mac-studio-m3-ultra-28-core-cpu-60-core-gpu-2025-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Pre-installed macOS 15.3.2 (24D2082). The ENERGY STAR record lists Mac OS version 15.3 as the tested OS. This is the factory OS.
- Control software
- Not available
Upgradeability
- Proprietary parts
- Motherboard, PSU, Case, Fan connectors, Drive mounts7Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Logic board, power supply and housing are ordered as Apple assemblies. SSD modules are Apple service parts with no M.2 socket. The fan flex cables use locking connectors on the logic board.
- Max graphics card length
- Not available
- Max CPU cooler height
- Not available
- Warranty kept after upgrade
- Not available
Measured performance
We could not find any of these 8 fields. Show them
- Cinebench 2024 single-core
- Not available
- Cinebench 2024 multi-core
- Not available
- Geekbench single-core
- Not available
- Geekbench multi-core
- Not available
- 3DMark Time Spy graphics
- Not available
- 3DMark Steel Nomad
- Not available
- SSD sequential read (measured)
- Not available
- Game frame rates
- Not available
Measured noise and temperature
We could not find any of these 6 fields. Show them
- Fan noise per load
- Not available
- Highest measured fan noise
- Not available
- Measured fan noise at idle
- Not available
- CPU temperature in stress test
- Not available
- CPU clock in stress test
- Not available
- GPU temperature while gaming
- Not available
Measured power
We could not find any of these 6 fields. Show them
- Power draw idle
- Not available
- Power draw gaming
- Not available
- Power draw max
- Not available
- Power draw sleep or off
- Not available
- Sustained CPU power (measured)
- Not available
- GPU power while gaming (measured)
- Not available
Certifications
- ENERGY STAR
- Yes1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Environment section states ENERGY STAR certified.5Certification listdata.energystar.gov/resource/rxdj-2c88.jsonRead 10 October 2026Record is listed as certified.
- Copilot+ PC
- Not available
- Typical annual energy consumption (TEC)
- 26.9kWh5Certification listdata.energystar.gov/resource/rxdj-2c88.jsonRead 10 October 2026tec_of_model_kwh 26.9 for the 96 GB MU973 record. The 512 GB record 4513877 shows 30.6 and is excluded.
- Other certifications
- EU RoHS (Directive 2011/65/EU, with applicable exemptions)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Footnote declares compliance with EU Directive 2011/65/EU and its amendments, including lead exemptions such as high-temperature solder. Manufacturer declaration, not an independent certificate.
In the box
- In the box
- Mac Studio, Power cord1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Mac Studio and a power cord.
- Included extras
- Not available
Warranty
Links
- Product page
- support.apple.com/en-us/1222111Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026
- Spec sheet
- support.apple.com/en-us/1222111Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026
- Manual
- support.apple.com/guide/mac-studio/take-a-tour-of-mac-studio-apd0fd69f4be/2025/mac/1510Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/mac-studio/take-a-tour-of-mac-studio-apd0fd69f4be/2025/mac/15Read 10 October 2026Mac Studio User Guide, 2025 version, Take a tour page.
- EPREL registration number
- Not available
Compare with
Pick a desktop PC to see both side by side. Differences are marked yellow.
Sources
We read 21 sources for this desktop PC. The numbers match the markers in the sheet.
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211
- Certification listdata.energystar.gov/resource/rxdj-2c88.json
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102231
- Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125
- Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/121980
- Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/121997
- Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/desktops/Mac_Studio_PER_March2025.pdf
- Maker product pageapple.com/legal/warranty/products/embedded-mac-warranty-us.html
- Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102285
- Spec databaselowendmac.com/1234/apple-silicon-m3-ultra-chip-specs
- Spec databasehmc-tech.com/desktops/mac-studio-m3-ultra-early-2025
See a wrong value? Tell us and name the field.
SuccessorApple Mac Studio (M5 Ultra, 2026)





