PC parts / SSDs

SamsungSSD
Portable SSD T7
Released May 2020.5Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsungs-t7-portable-ssd-now-availableRead 15 October 2026Samsung Electronics America release of 19 May 2020 says the T7 is now available at select US retailers and Samsung.com Last checked 23 October 2026.
- Interface
- USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps)
- Form factor
- External
- Capacity
- 500 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB, 4 TB
- Read speed
- 1,050MB/s
38 of 63 fields known.
General
- Series
- Not available
- Model numbers
- MU-PC500R/AM, MU-PC500R/WW, MU-PC500R/CN, MU-PC500H/AM, MU-PC500H/WW, MU-PC500H/CN, MU-PC500T/AM, MU-PC500T/WW, MU-PC500T/CN, MU-PC1T0R/AM, MU-PC1T0R/WW, MU-PC1T0R/CN, MU-PC1T0H/AM, MU-PC1T0H/WW, MU-PC1T0H/CN, MU-PC1T0T/AM, MU-PC1T0T/WW, MU-PC1T0T/CN, MU-PC2T0R/AM, MU-PC2T0R/WW, MU-PC2T0R/CN, MU-PC2T0H/AM, MU-PC2T0H/WW, MU-PC2T0H/CN, MU-PC2T0T/AM, MU-PC2T0T/WW, MU-PC2T0T/CN, MU-PC4T0T/AM, MU-PC4T0T/WW1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Product line-up table: MU-PC4T0 (T with /AM and /WW), MU-PC2T0 and MU-PC1T0 (H and T, each with /AM and /WW)2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Samsung Portable SSD T7 2020 Data Sheet, Revision 1.0, mirrored by Farnell. Product line-up: MU-PC500, MU-PC1T0 and MU-PC2T0, each with R, H and T and with /AM, /WW and /CN. The 1TB T /CN code is misprinted as MU-PC2T0T/CN and is read as MU-PC1T0T/CN3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026Cover lists MU-PC500R, MU-PC1T0R, MU-PC2T0R, MU-PC500H, MU-PC1T0H, MU-PC2T0H, MU-PC500T, MU-PC1T0T and MU-PC2T0T4Maker product pagesamsung.com/us/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t7-usb-3-2-1tb-gray-sku-mu-pc1t0t-amRead 15 October 2026Page and code list show MU-PC1T0T/AM, MU-PC1T0H/AM, MU-PC2T0T/AM, MU-PC2T0H/AM and MU-PC4T0T/AM8Maker spec sheet (PDF)image-us.samsung.com/SamsungUS/samsungbusiness/solutions/industries/government/msrp-price-sheets/06052024/Samsung_Memory_Storage_MSRP_Price_File_May_2024.pdfRead 15 October 2026US codes MU-PC1T0T/AM, MU-PC2T0T/AM and MU-PC4T0T/AM
- Announced
- 15 May 20206Press releasenews.samsung.com/de/portable-ssd-t7Read 15 October 2026Samsung Germany release dated 15 May 2020, ahead of the 19 May availability
- Predecessor
- Not available
- Successor
- Samsung Portable SSD T911Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsung-announces-t9-portable-ssdRead 23 October 2026Samsung's T9 release calls the T7 the previous model of the T9.
- Launch price (US)
- $369.995Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsungs-t7-portable-ssd-now-availableRead 15 October 2026Starting at $109.99 for 500GB, $199.99 for 1TB and $369.99 for 2TB, US, tax not included
- Launch price (EU)
- €404.96Press releasenews.samsung.com/de/portable-ssd-t7Read 15 October 2026Germany UVP 134.90 EUR (500 GB), 214.90 EUR (1 TB) and 404.90 EUR (2 TB). Tax treatment is not stated and German UVPs include VAT7Press releasenews.samsung.com/de/zuwachs-in-der-welt-der-portablen-ssds-von-samsung-t7-nun-auch-in-4-tb-kapazitat-erhaltlichRead 15 October 2026Samsung T7 4 TB: 454.90 EUR, Germany. Tax treatment is not stated
- Markets
- Not available
- Colours
- Titan Gray, Indigo Blue, Metallic Red1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Line-up codes: 4TB in T (Titan Gray) only. 1TB and 2TB in H (Indigo Blue) and T (Titan Gray). No red code remains in this revision2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Codes R, H and T for 500GB, 1TB and 2TB. The color names come from the user manual3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026Product Specifications table: Titan Gray / Indigo Blue / Metallic Red for all three capacities5Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsungs-t7-portable-ssd-now-availableRead 15 October 2026Three color options: Metallic Red, Indigo Blue and Titan Grey6Press releasenews.samsung.com/de/portable-ssd-t7Read 15 October 2026Metallic Red, Indigo Blue and Titan Gray7Press releasenews.samsung.com/de/zuwachs-in-der-welt-der-portablen-ssds-von-samsung-t7-nun-auch-in-4-tb-kapazitat-erhaltlichRead 15 October 2026The 4 TB is sold in Titan
- Capacity
- 500 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB, 4 TB1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Capacity row reads 1 TB, 2 TB and 4 TB. 1 TB = 1,000,000,000,000 bytes2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Capacities 500GB/1TB/2TB. 1 GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes4Maker product pagesamsung.com/us/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t7-usb-3-2-1tb-gray-sku-mu-pc1t0t-amRead 15 October 2026Storage selector lists 1 TB, 2 TB and 4 TB7Press releasenews.samsung.com/de/zuwachs-in-der-welt-der-portablen-ssds-von-samsung-t7-nun-auch-in-4-tb-kapazitat-erhaltlichRead 15 October 2026Samsung Germany release dated 30 April 2024 adds the 4 TB model, available at once
Interface
- Interface
- USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Interface row reads USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps)2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026USB 3.2 Gen2 (10Gbps)
- PCIe generation
- Not available
- PCIe lanes
- Not available
- NVMe version
- Not available
Hardware
- Flash memory
- Samsung V-NAND V5 TLC9Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/samsung-t7-portable-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026Table reads Samsung 92L TLC. The text names Samsung's 92L TLC V5 V-NAND. The 4TB is not covered
- DRAM cache
- Not available
- DRAM cache size
- Not available
- Component sides
- Not available
Performance
- Sequential read (claimed)
- 1,050MB/s1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Up to 1,050 MB/sec for every capacity. Footnote 3: measured with Samsung's internal testing standards and the enclosed cable. Host, queue depth and test size are not stated. The launch release names an ASUS Z370 ROG MAXIMUS X APEX host and says UASP mode must be enabled2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Up to 1,050 MB/sec, footnote 4: Samsung's internal testing standards with the enclosed cable4Maker product pagesamsung.com/us/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t7-usb-3-2-1tb-gray-sku-mu-pc1t0t-amRead 15 October 2026Headline reads 1,050MB/s Read
- Sequential write (claimed)
- 1,000MB/s1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Up to 1,000 MB/sec for every capacity, same conditions as read2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Up to 1,000 MB/sec4Maker product pagesamsung.com/us/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t7-usb-3-2-1tb-gray-sku-mu-pc1t0t-amRead 15 October 2026Headline reads 1,000MB/s Write
- Random 4K read (claimed)
- Not available
- Random 4K write (claimed)
- Not available
Endurance and reliability
- Endurance (TBW)
- Not available
- MTBF or MTTF (claimed)
- Not available
- Operating temperature
- Min0Max60°C1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Operating 0 C to 60 C. Footnote 6: Tc is measured at the hottest point on the case. The non-operating range of -40 C to 85 C is not stored. The 2021 user manual separately advises 5 C to 35 C for use2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Operating 0 C to 60 C, non-operating -40 C to 85 C (not stored)
Power
We could not find any of these 6 fields. Show them
- Power while reading (claimed)
- Not available
- Power while writing (claimed)
- Not available
- Max power consumption (claimed)
- Not available
- Average power in light use (claimed)
- Not available
- Idle power (claimed)
- Not available
- Sleep power (claimed)
- Not available
Measured
- Sequential write (measured)
- 1,031MB/s10Reviewssd-tester.com/samsung_portable_ssd_t7_2tb.htmlRead 15 October 2026Same run, SEQ1M Q8T1 write 1,031.39 MB/s, stored as 1031
- Random 4K read at queue depth 1 (measured)
- 21.49MB/s10Reviewssd-tester.com/samsung_portable_ssd_t7_2tb.htmlRead 15 October 2026Same run, RND4K Q1T1 read 21.49 MB/s (5,247.30 IOPS in the same table)
- Random 4K write at queue depth 1 (measured)
- 64.46MB/s10Reviewssd-tester.com/samsung_portable_ssd_t7_2tb.htmlRead 15 October 2026Same run, RND4K Q1T1 write 64.46 MB/s (15,737.30 IOPS in the same table)
- Write cache size (measured)
- 84GB9Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/samsung-t7-portable-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 20262TB sample, 15-minute sustained write test over the full span of the drive: 84GB written at 867 MBps before the TurboWrite cache filled. Review dated 17 August 2020
- Write speed after the cache (measured)
- 337MB/s9Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/samsung-t7-portable-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026Same test: speed fell to 337 MBps on average from that point on
- 3DMark Storage Benchmark
- Not available
- Highest temperature under load (measured)
- 34°C9Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/samsung-t7-portable-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026Same 15-minute write test, SMART temperature: never above 34 C in a 24 C room, after a few hundred GB of writes at full speed. Bare drive, no extra cooling stated
- Idle power (measured)
- Not available
Cooling and build
- Heatsink
- Not available
- RGB lighting
- Not available
- Dust and water rating
- Not available
- Drop test height
- 2m1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Drop Resistant up to 2 m. Footnote 4: free-fall to a metal plate from a 2-meter height under controlled conditions. Damage by drops is not covered under warranty3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026Keeps data intact from falls of up to 2 meters, internal free fall shock test under controlled conditions5Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsungs-t7-portable-ssd-now-availableRead 15 October 2026Shock resistant from drops up to 2 meters
Security and software
- Security
- AES 256-bit hardware encryption, Password protection1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Encryption row reads AES 256-bit hardware encryption2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Encryption AES 256-bit hardware encryption. Security: Password protection (Optional)3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026Security with Password in the Samsung Portable SSD Software. The manual names no encryption standard5Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsungs-t7-portable-ssd-now-availableRead 15 October 2026Password-protected AES 256-bit hardware data encryption
- Software
- Samsung Magician1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Software row reads Samsung Magician Software3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026Samsung Portable SSD Software 1.0 at launch. The 2024 data sheet names Samsung Magician, which is stored
Compatibility
- Platforms
- Windows, macOS, Android1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Footnote 5: Samsung Magician works with Windows 10 and higher, macOS High Sierra (10.13.6) and higher and Android 5.1 and higher. The datasheet names no console2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Compatibility reads Windows 7 or higher, Mac OS X 10.10 or higher and Android Lollipop or higher3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026Recommended system: Windows 7 or higher, Mac OS X 10.10 or higher, Android Lollipop (5.1) or higher. Also says it is compatible with gaming consoles and more, without naming one5Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsungs-t7-portable-ssd-now-availableRead 15 October 2026Compatible with Windows, Mac and Android operating systems
Dimensions and weight
Front and side, drawn to scale.
- Dimensions
- Length85Width57Height8mm(3.3 × 2.2 × 0.3 in)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 202685 x 57 x 8 mm, for all three capacities. The user manual labels the order L x W x H2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 202685 x 57 x 8.0 mm (3.3 x 2.2 x 0.3 inches)3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026Specifications table: 85 x 57 x 8 mm (L x W x H)
- Weight
- 72g(2.5 oz)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 202672 grams for 1TB, 2TB and 4TB. Footnote 2: exact weight may vary by capacity. The 2020 data sheet, the 2021 manual and Samsung's Australian page say 58 grams, so Samsung's documents conflict. The newer data sheet is stored for these three capacities2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 202658 grams, footnote 3: exact weight may vary by capacity. Stored for the 500GB, since the newer data sheet does not cover that capacity3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026Specifications table: 58 g (2TB). Older than the 2024 data sheet value of 72 g
In the box
- In the box
- Samsung Portable SSD T7, USB Type-C to A cable, USB Type-C to C cable, Quick User Manual & Warranty Statement1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Product line-up box contents: Samsung Portable SSD T7, USB Type-C to A cable, USB Type-C to C cable, Quick User Manual & Warranty Statement2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Box contents: Samsung Portable SSD T7, USB Type-C to C and Type-C to A cables, Quick Start Guide & Warranty Statement3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026What's in the box: Samsung Portable SSD T7, USB 3.2 Gen 2 USB C to A cable, USB 3.2 Gen 2 USB C to C cable, Quick Start Guide & Warranty Statement
- Cables included
Type Length (m) Count USB-C to USB-C 0.4572 1 USB-C to USB-A 0.4572 1
Links
- Product page
- www.samsung.com/us/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t7-usb-3-2-1tb-gray-sku-mu-pc1t0t-am4Maker product pagesamsung.com/us/memory-storage/portable-ssd/portable-ssd-t7-usb-3-2-1tb-gray-sku-mu-pc1t0t-amRead 15 October 2026Samsung US page of the 1TB Titan Gray, MU-PC1T0T/AM
- Spec sheet
- download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdf1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Samsung Portable SSD T7 2024 Data Sheet, Revision 2.0, covering 1TB, 2TB and 4TB
- Manual
- org.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspx3Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 15 October 2026Samsung Portable SSD T7 User Manual, version 1.1, November 2021, English
- EPREL registration number
- Not available
Warranty
- Manufacturer warranty (source market)
- 3years1Maker spec sheet (PDF)download.semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/data-sheet/Samsung_Portable_SSD_T7_Datasheet_Rev2.0.pdfRead 15 October 2026Three (3) Year Limited Warranty. The datasheet is global and names no market2Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdfRead 15 October 2026Three (3) Year Limited Warranty5Press releasenews.samsung.com/us/samsungs-t7-portable-ssd-now-availableRead 15 October 2026Three-year limited warranty
Compare with
Pick a SSD to see both side by side. Differences are marked yellow.
Variants
Each variant lists only what differs from the specs above.
| Model number | GTIN | Model numbers | GTIN / EAN | Launch price (US) | Launch price (EU) | Colours | Capacity | Flash type | Flash memory | Flash layers | Sequential read (claimed) | Sequential write (claimed) | Sequential read (measured) | Sequential write (measured) | Random 4K read at queue depth 1 (measured) | Random 4K write at queue depth 1 (measured) | Write cache size (measured) | Write speed after the cache (measured) | Highest temperature under load (measured) | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MU-PC500T/AM | Not available | MU-PC500R/AM, MU-PC500R/WW, MU-PC500R/CN, MU-PC500H/AM, MU-PC500H/WW, MU-PC500H/CN, MU-PC500T/AM, MU-PC500T/WW, MU-PC500T/CN | Not available | $109.99 | €134.9 | Titan Gray, Indigo Blue, Metallic Red | 500 GB | TLC | Samsung V-NAND V5 TLC | 92 | 1,050 MB/s | 1,000 MB/s | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | 58 g |
| MU-PC1T0T/AM | 887276410791 | MU-PC1T0R/AM, MU-PC1T0R/WW, MU-PC1T0R/CN, MU-PC1T0H/AM, MU-PC1T0H/WW, MU-PC1T0H/CN, MU-PC1T0T/AM, MU-PC1T0T/WW, MU-PC1T0T/CN | 887276410791 | $199.99 | €214.9 | Titan Gray, Indigo Blue, Metallic Red | 1 TB | TLC | Samsung V-NAND V5 TLC | 92 | 1,050 MB/s | 1,000 MB/s | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | 72 g |
| MU-PC2T0T/AM | 887276410807 | MU-PC2T0R/AM, MU-PC2T0R/WW, MU-PC2T0R/CN, MU-PC2T0H/AM, MU-PC2T0H/WW, MU-PC2T0H/CN, MU-PC2T0T/AM, MU-PC2T0T/WW, MU-PC2T0T/CN | 887276410807 | $369.99 | €404.9 | Titan Gray, Indigo Blue, Metallic Red | 2 TB | TLC | Samsung V-NAND V5 TLC | 92 | 1,050 MB/s | 1,000 MB/s | 1,091 MB/s | 1,031 MB/s | 21.49 MB/s | 64.46 MB/s | 84 GB | 337 MB/s | 34 °C | 72 g |
| MU-PC4T0T/AM | 887276821740 | MU-PC4T0T/AM, MU-PC4T0T/WW | 887276821740 | Not available | €454.9 | Titan Gray | 4 TB | Not available | Not available | Not available | 1,050 MB/s | 1,000 MB/s | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | 72 g |
Sources
We read 11 sources for this SSD. The numbers match the markers in the sheet.
- Maker spec sheet (PDF)farnell.com/datasheets/3048830.pdf
- Press releasenews.samsung.com/de/portable-ssd-t7
See a wrong value? Tell us and name the field.
SuccessorSamsung Portable SSD T9





