Handheld consoles / Compare
Anbernic RG Vita Pro vs Retroid Pocket Nova
Product A: Anbernic
72 of 165 known
Change Anbernic RG Vita Pro
Product B: Retroid
74 of 165 known
Change Retroid Pocket Nova
57 of 156 fields differ
- 35 different values
- 22 known for one only
- 25 the same
- 74 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 51 handheld consoles.
- Refresh rateA: 60HzB: 120HzRetroid is 60 Hz higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AAnbernic: 206 × 84 mm
- BRetroid: 169.9 × 84.1 mm
Weight
0 to 1,000 g
All 165 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
4 of 9 differ
Series
Model numbers
Not available
RPN-8-GC, RPN-8-16B, RPN-8-BK, RPN-8-CR, RPN-8-IB, RPN-8-CP, RPN-8-WM, RPN-12-GC, RPN-12-16B, RPN-12-BK, RPN-12-CR, RPN-12-IB, RPN-12-CP, RPN-12-WM1Maker product pagegoretroid.com/products/retroid-pocket-nova-handheldRead 14 October 2026Store listing and its Shopify product feed list 14 SKUs, RPN-8-xx and RPN-12-xx for GC, 16B, BK, CR, IB, CP and WM. These are store SKUs, not maker model numbers.
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Not available
Announced
June 202610Press articletimeextension.com/news/2026/06/here-are-the-specs-and-launch-prices-for-the-retroid-pocket-nova-retroids-new-43-handheldRead 14 October 2026June 2026 launch article. Pre-orders opened on 26 June 2026 at 9pm EST.11Press articleengadget.com/2201878/retroids-pocket-nova-is-a-very-capable-43-handheld-that-costs-dollar229Read 14 October 2026Article dated 25 June 2026 reports the Pocket Nova announcement with specs and prices. An earlier teaser date was not found, so only the month is stored.
Status
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
$149.992Maker product pageanbernic.com/products/rgvita-rgvita-pro.jsRead 15 October 2026Store data: Pro compare-at price 149.99 and current price 139.99 for the Standard Version with no SD Card. Retro Handhelds gives 149.99 as the retail price and 139.99 as the early-bird price. Tax treatment is not stated.16Press articleretrohandhelds.gg/anbernic-rg-vita-and-rg-vita-pro-price-and-release-date-revealedRead 15 October 2026Article dated 18 Mar 2026 and updated 23 Mar 2026: the Pro costs 149.99 USD at retail, with an early-bird price of 139.99 USD for the first 72 hours. The update says the first version swapped the Vita and Vita Pro prices. This is the console without an SD card. Tax treatment is not stated.
From $2291Maker product pagegoretroid.com/products/retroid-pocket-nova-handheldRead 14 October 202610Press articletimeextension.com/news/2026/06/here-are-the-specs-and-launch-prices-for-the-retroid-pocket-nova-retroids-new-43-handheldRead 14 October 202611Press articleengadget.com/2201878/retroids-pocket-nova-is-a-very-capable-43-handheld-that-costs-dollar229Read 14 October 202612Maker product pagegoretroid.com/policies/refund-policyRead 14 October 2026
Launch price (EU)
Not available
Not available
Markets
Not available
Not available
Colours
Black, White1Maker product pageanbernic.com/products/rgvita-rgvita-proRead 15 October 2026Row Color: Black/White.2Maker product pageanbernic.com/products/rgvita-rgvita-pro.jsRead 15 October 2026Store option TYPE for the Pro: Black Standard Version and White Standard Version.
GC, 16Bit, Black, Crystal, Ice Blue, Clear Purple, Watermelon1Maker product pagegoretroid.com/products/retroid-pocket-nova-handheldRead 14 October 2026Color options as named in the store: GC, 16Bit, Black, Crystal, Ice Blue, Clear Purple, Watermelon.
Device class
Form factor
Platform and software
2 of 7 differ
OS family
Android1Maker product pageanbernic.com/products/rgvita-rgvita-proRead 15 October 2026Row System: Android 14/Linux 64-bit. Both systems ship on the device. Time Extension and Retro Handhelds say Linux boots by default. The first listed system is stored.15Reviewtimeextension.com/reviews/anbernic-rg-vita-pro-a-vita-in-name-only-and-thats-okayRead 15 October 2026Review dated 24 Apr 2026: the handheld dual-boots Linux by default or Android 14 when the R button is held at boot.
OS at launch
Android 14 and Linux 64-bit dual system1Maker product pageanbernic.com/products/rgvita-rgvita-proRead 15 October 2026Row System: Android 14/Linux 64-bit.
Latest OS
Android V1.15 and Linux V1.0.110Maker product pageanbernic.com/blogs/news/rg-vita-pro-v1-15Read 15 October 2026Maker post dated 4 Aug 2026: the Android V1.15 system update is officially available. This is the newest Android release in the maker news feed.11Maker product pageanbernic.com/blogs/news/rg-vita-pro-linux-v1-0-1-system-updateRead 15 October 2026Maker post dated 17 Jun 2026: RG VITA Pro Linux V1.0.1 system update. This is the newest Linux release in the maker news feed.
Not available
Built-in game stores
Physical games
Backward compatibility
Not available
Not available
Upscaling and frame generation
Not available
Not available
Processor and graphics
9 of 16 differ
Chip
Chip brand
Core configuration
AAnbernic RG Vita Pro
| Physical core count | Core | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| 4 | Cortex-A72 | 2.2 |
| 4 | Cortex-A53 | Not available |
Source1Maker product pageanbernic.com/products/rgvita-rgvita-proRead 15 October 2026The maker gives 4×A72 + 4×A53 and one clock, up to 2.2GHz. The clock is stored on the A72 cluster. The maker does not publish the A53 clock, so it is left out. Core names are confirmed by the Rockchip brief datasheet.13Maker spec sheet (PDF)macrogroup.ru/upload/iblock/5ae/pcppugofyszbwkpynnc1pn5ceaxyd0sg/RK3576-Brief-Datasheet.pdfRead 15 October 2026Rockchip RK3576 brief datasheet lists a quad Cortex-A72 and a quad Cortex-A53. It gives no clocks.
BRetroid Pocket Nova
| Core type | Physical core count | Core | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prime | 1 | Kryo Prime | 3.2 |
| Performance | 4 | Kryo Gold | 2.8 |
| Efficiency | 3 | Kryo Silver | 2 |
Source2Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/12_9c1db98e-b9c3-4fdc-87db-7abf77490957.jpgRead 14 October 2026CPU row: 1x Kryo Prime at 3.2GHz, 4x Kryo Gold at 2.8GHz, 3x Kryo Silver at 2.0GHz. The maker names the cores this way and no individual Arm core models are stated. Kryo Prime, Gold and Silver map to the Prime, Performance and Efficiency core types.3Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/6_77c16d9a-416a-4a81-9fc4-9a17ba8b1a09.jpgRead 14 October 2026
CPU cores
8
8
Max CPU clock
2.2GHz
3.2GHz
Process
Not available
GPU
GPU architecture
Not available
GPU max clock
Not available
GPU compute (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Power modes
Not available
Not available
Lowest TDP
Not available
Not available
Highest TDP
Not available
Not available
Highest TDP on battery
Not available
Not available
Custom TDP
Not available
Not available
Memory and storage
5 of 12 differ
RAM
RAM type
LPDDR4X17Press articleretrohandhelds.gg/exclusive-anbernic-rg-vita-and-rg-vita-pro-set-to-arrive-in-marchRead 15 October 2026Article dated 11 Feb 2026 relays a spec table from a source close to Anbernic that lists 4GB LPDDR4X for the Pro. The maker states only 4GB. HeldGames also lists LPDDR4X and nothing contradicts it.18Spec databaseheldgames.com/devices/anbernic-rg-vita-proRead 15 October 2026Spec page lists 4 GB LPDDR4X.
RAM speed
Not available
Not available
Memory bandwidth
Not available
Not available
Storage
Storage type
eMMC1Maker product pageanbernic.com/products/rgvita-rgvita-proRead 15 October 2026The maker names eMCP, a package that holds eMMC flash and RAM. HeldGames lists 64 GB eMMC 5.1. No source names UFS.18Spec databaseheldgames.com/devices/anbernic-rg-vita-proRead 15 October 2026Spec page lists 64 GB eMMC 5.1 plus microSD up to 2 TB.
Installed drive PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
Storage slots
Not available
Not available
M.2 slots
Not available
Not available
Memory card
Card speed class
Not available
Not available
Display
7 of 17 differ
Screen size
Native resolution
Pixel density
400.5ppi
355.6ppi
Aspect ratio
Panel type
Native panel orientation
Screen surface
Not available
Not available
Touchscreen
Yes13Reviewretrododo.com/retroid-pocket-nova-reviewRead 14 October 2026Reviewer describes the screen as a 4:3 touchscreen.14Spec databaseretrocatalog.com/retro-handhelds/retroid-pocket-novaRead 14 October 2026Rendered feature label: Touch Screen: Supported.17Retailer pagedroix.net/product/retroid-pocket-novaRead 14 October 2026Spec tab: Touchscreen Yes.
Built-in display refresh modes
AAnbernic RG Vita Pro
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max (Hz) |
|---|---|---|
| 1920 | 1080 | 60 |
BRetroid Pocket Nova
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max (Hz) |
|---|---|---|
| 1280 | 960 | 120 |
Max refresh rate
60Hz
120Hz
Adaptive sync
Not available
Not available
VRR lower limit
Not available
Not available
Brightness (SDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Peak brightness (HDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage (claimed)
Not available
Not available
HDR formats
Not available
Not available
Second display
Not available
Not available
Controls
3 of 15 differ
Stick sensor
Stick layout
Touch-sensitive sticks
Not available
Not available
Replaceable stick modules
Not available
Not available
Trigger sensor
Digital15Reviewtimeextension.com/reviews/anbernic-rg-vita-pro-a-vita-in-name-only-and-thats-okayRead 15 October 2026Reviewer describes digital shoulder buttons and triggers as excessively clicky and says there are no analogue triggers.20Reviewretrohandhelds.gg/anbernic-rg-vita-pro-first-impressionsRead 15 October 2026Reviewer says there are no analog triggers and the triggers are clicky button style.
Trigger stops
Not available
Not available
D-pad
Face button labels
Extra rear and grip buttons
Trackpads
System-level remapping
Not available
System buttons
Power, Volume +, Volume -, Reset, Function, Return, Select, Start3Maker product pageanbernic.com/cdn/shop/files/10_ee2fcd06-0e5c-4724-8f1c-8fbf9a721d8e.webpRead 15 October 2026Diagram labels: power key, VOL-/+, Reset Button, Function key, Return key, SELECT and START. Face buttons, sticks and shoulders are excluded.
Power, Volume +, Volume -, M1, M2, Start, Select, Home, Back14Spec databaseretrocatalog.com/retro-handhelds/retroid-pocket-novaRead 14 October 2026Additional Controls row: Home, back, volume up and down, M1/M2 shoulder buttons. Power is on the right side per DroiX. Start and Select come from the DroiX spec tab.16Reviewdroix.net/blogsRead 14 October 2026Shoulder, trigger and macro buttons are on the top. Volume and power buttons are on the right side.17Retailer pagedroix.net/product/retroid-pocket-novaRead 14 October 2026Spec tab Action Buttons: D-PAD, joysticks, M1/M2, Menu, shoulder, Start / Select (+ / -), triggers, ABXY. Retro Catalog names a Home button where this tab says Menu. The maker's front photo shows a home icon button, so Home is stored.18Reviewdarylbaxter.com/posts/retroid-pocket-nova-reviewRead 14 October 2026Reviewer names extra M1 and M2 buttons used as shortcuts.
Detached controller connection
Not available
Not available
Controller mouse sensor
Not available
Not available
Fingerprint
Not available
Not available
Motion and feedback
0 of 3 differ
Gyroscope
Rumble
RGB lighting
Measured
5 of 30 differ
Brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
HDR peak brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Contrast ratio (measured)
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage (measured)
Not available
Not available
Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
Not available
Not available
PWM frequency (measured)
Not available
Not available
3DMark Time Spy graphics (measured)
Not available
Not available
3DMark Steel Nomad Light (measured)
Not available
Not available
3DMark Wild Life Extreme (measured)
Not available
Cinebench 2024 single-core (measured)
Not available
Not available
Cinebench 2024 multi-core (measured)
Not available
Not available
AnTuTu (measured)
Not available
Game frame rates (measured)
Not available
Not available
SSD sequential read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Memory card read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery runtime per test (measured)
AAnbernic RG Vita Pro
| Test | Game | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Gaming | PSP emulation, game not named | 5 |
Shortest gaming test runtime (measured)
5h
Not available
Longest gaming test runtime (measured)
5h
Not available
Video runtime (measured)
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Power draw gaming (measured)
Not available
Not available
Fan noise per mode (measured)
Not available
Not available
Max fan noise (measured)
Not available
Not available
Fan noise while gaming (measured)
Not available
Not available
Back surface under load (measured)
Not available
Not available
Grips under load (measured)
Not available
Not available
Chip temperature while gaming (measured)
Not available
Not available
Stick tests (measured)
Not available
Not available
Speaker loudness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Weight (measured)
Not available
Not available
Audio
1 of 5 differ
Speakers
213Reviewretrododo.com/retroid-pocket-nova-reviewRead 14 October 2026Reviewer describes dual front-facing speakers.15Reviewtimeextension.com/reviews/retroid-pocket-nova-the-new-retro-emulation-handheld-to-beatRead 14 October 2026Front-facing stereo speakers.17Retailer pagedroix.net/product/retroid-pocket-novaRead 14 October 2026Spec tab: Speakers Type Front Facing (X2).
Speaker direction
Front-facing6Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/4fe40f089696834c4906303a743d01c5_69478f4f-a55f-4431-8fdc-cf758caa979c.jpgRead 14 October 2026Front photo shows a speaker grille at the lower edge of each grip.13Reviewretrododo.com/retroid-pocket-nova-reviewRead 14 October 202614Spec databaseretrocatalog.com/retro-handhelds/retroid-pocket-novaRead 14 October 2026Speaker Placement: Front. Stereo speaker listed.15Reviewtimeextension.com/reviews/retroid-pocket-nova-the-new-retro-emulation-handheld-to-beatRead 14 October 202617Retailer pagedroix.net/product/retroid-pocket-novaRead 14 October 2026Spec tab: Front Facing.
Audio features
Not available
Not available
Microphones
Not available
Not available
3.5 mm jack
Ports and dock
6 of 10 differ
Ports
AAnbernic RG Vita Pro
| Type | Count | Side | DP Alt Mode | Max charging input (W) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | 1 | Top | Yes | 18 |
| HDMI | 1 | Top | Not available | Not available |
| 3.5 mm audio | 1 | Bottom | Not available | Not available |
| microSD card | 2 | Bottom | Not available | Not available |
Source3Maker product pageanbernic.com/cdn/shop/files/10_ee2fcd06-0e5c-4724-8f1c-8fbf9a721d8e.webpRead 15 October 2026Maker diagram: the top edge shows power key, VOL-/+, Reset Button, HDMI, an indicator light and USB. The bottom edge shows TF1/INT., a headphone symbol and TF2/EXT. The maker gives no HDMI subtype. Retro Handhelds says mini HDMI and Time Extension says micro HDMI, so the subtype is left out. The USB-C port carries the 18 W charging input and DisplayPort output named in the specification. USB speed is not stated.8Maker product pageanbernic.com/blogs/news/rg-vita-pro-dual-systemRead 15 October 2026Maker post dated 4 Mar 2026 confirms an HDMI connection to a TV in addition to the USB-C DisplayPort output.
BRetroid Pocket Nova
| Type | Version | Count | Side | DP Alt Mode | Max charging input (W) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | USB 3.1 | 1 | Bottom | Yes | 27 |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Bottom | Not available | Not available |
| microSD card | Not available | 1 | Bottom | Not available | Not available |
Source2Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/12_9c1db98e-b9c3-4fdc-87db-7abf77490957.jpgRead 14 October 2026Interface row: USB 3.1 Type C, 3.5mm Audio Jack, TF Card Slot. Port sides come from the maker's product photos. The USB generation suffix and link rate are not published.13Reviewretrododo.com/retroid-pocket-nova-reviewRead 14 October 2026Reviewer lists an off-centre USB-C port on the bottom, a 3.5mm jack and an SD card slot. USB-C video out to a monitor works.16Reviewdroix.net/blogsRead 14 October 2026Covered microSD slot, 3.5mm audio jack and USB Type-C on the bottom.
USB-C ports
1
1
USB4 or Thunderbolt
Not available
Not available
USB-C charging
18W
27W
Video out
Yes1Maker product pageanbernic.com/products/rgvita-rgvita-proRead 15 October 2026Row Other function: USB Type-C supports 1080p display port output and HD connection to TV.8Maker product pageanbernic.com/blogs/news/rg-vita-pro-dual-systemRead 15 October 2026Maker post dated 4 Mar 2026: the Type-C port supports 1080p DP output and TV mode connects through HDMI.
Yes2Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/12_9c1db98e-b9c3-4fdc-87db-7abf77490957.jpgRead 14 October 2026Video Output row: DisplayPort 4K 60Hz via USB-C.13Reviewretrododo.com/retroid-pocket-nova-reviewRead 14 October 2026Video out via USB-C works as it should on a monitor.
Max external display
External GPU
Not available
Not available
Dock
Not available
Max output through dock
AAnbernic RG Vita Pro
Not availableBRetroid Pocket Nova
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Refresh rate (Hz) |
|---|---|---|
| 3840 | 2160 | 60 |
Dock ports
Not available
1 USB-C PD charging input, 1 HDMI output up to 4K at 60 Hz, 1 Gigabit Ethernet port, 2 USB 3.0 ports, 2 USB 2.0 ports9Maker product pagegoretroid.com/products/retroid-official-dockRead 14 October 2026Seven-in-one dock: one PD charging input, one HDMI, one Gigabit Ethernet, two USB 3.0 and two USB 2.0 ports. These are dock connectors and are separate from the handheld ports.
Wireless
3 of 6 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Not available
Not available
Bluetooth
NFC
Not available
Not available
Cellular
Not available
Network
Not available
Not available
Battery and charging
5 of 12 differ
Battery energy
Not available
Battery capacity
Claimed battery life
AAnbernic RG Vita Pro
| Hours (h) |
|---|
| 8 |
BRetroid Pocket Nova
Not availableBattery life (claimed, min)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (claimed, max)
8h
Not available
Wired charging
Charging standards
Not available
Not available
Charge 0 to 100 % (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Charge limit
Not available
Bypass charging
Not available
Not available
Charger in box
Included charger
Not available
Not available
Cooling
1 of 3 differ
Fans
015Reviewtimeextension.com/reviews/anbernic-rg-vita-pro-a-vita-in-name-only-and-thats-okayRead 15 October 2026Reviewer says there is no integrated fan and calls the handheld whisper-quiet.18Spec databaseheldgames.com/devices/anbernic-rg-vita-proRead 15 October 2026Spec page lists a passive design with no fan.
Vapor chamber
Not available
Not available
Custom fan curve
Not available
Not available
Build
1 of 3 differ
Built-in kickstand
Not available
Not available
Dust and water rating
Not available
Not available
User-replaceable parts
Not available
Back shell, Thumbstick caps, Buttons5Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/9_ee2c4237-c3be-4785-a239-9960dad1d042.jpgRead 14 October 2026Ergonomic Design tile: available for DIY users. The back shell is swappable. The maker's dimensions image lists the ergonomic grip as optional.20Press articleretrohandhelds.gg/retroid-pocket-nova-setup-guideRead 14 October 2026Setup guide says you can swap out all of your buttons for a different theme. DroiX describes removing four screws to fit the optional grip back shell. Removable thumbstick caps are noted by Retro Dodo.
Dimensions and weight
2 of 3 differ
Dimensions
Width206Height84mm(8.1 × 3.3 in)1Maker product pageanbernic.com/products/rgvita-rgvita-proRead 15 October 2026Console specification: length 20.6 cm, width 8.4 cm, height 1.86 cm. Length is stored as width 206 mm and width as height 84 mm. The 18.6 mm is an unqualified chassis thickness, so depth is left out.
Width169.9Height84.1mm(6.7 × 3.3 in)2Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/12_9c1db98e-b9c3-4fdc-87db-7abf77490957.jpgRead 14 October 2026Dimensions row: 169.9*84.1*15.6mm. The 15.6 mm value is the flat-back chassis thickness and is not stored as depth.8Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/75edfe9fbfcaf632480f3147853debcb.jpgRead 14 October 2026169.9 x 84.1 mm. Thickness is 15.6 mm for the default flat-back design and 26.3 mm with the optional ergonomic grip. The thickness is a chassis figure and the triggers and sticks are outside the dimension lines, so depth is left out.
Weight
255g(9 oz)2Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/12_9c1db98e-b9c3-4fdc-87db-7abf77490957.jpgRead 14 October 2026Weight row: 255g for the default flat-back design.8Maker product pagecdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0321/7516/1479/files/75edfe9fbfcaf632480f3147853debcb.jpgRead 14 October 2026255 g for the flat-back design (default). 260 g with the optional ergonomic grip. The default is stored.16Reviewdroix.net/blogsRead 14 October 2026DroiX quotes around 256 g, which matches the maker's 255 g within rounding.
Weight without controllers
Not available
Not available
Certifications
None of 2 known
Game compatibility programme
Not available
Not available
FCC ID
Not available
Not available
Other certifications
Not available
Not available
In the box
2 of 2 differ
In the box
RG VITA Pro handheld, Type-C charging cable, User manual5Maker product pageanbernic.com/cdn/shop/files/RGVITAPro_2.jpgRead 15 October 2026Maker RG VITA Pro Accessories image: game console x1, user manual x1, Type-C charging cable x1 and gift box x1. The gift box is retail packaging. The image shows no microSD card.
Console, USB-C charging cable, Tempered glass screen protector, User manual17Retailer pagedroix.net/product/retroid-pocket-novaRead 14 October 2026Same retailer box list. RetroHandhelds and PC Guide report that pre-orders also got a free bumped back shell and a tempered glass screen protector, so the screen protector may be a pre-order item. The retailer states it as part of the package.
Carrying case
Not available
Links
Not compared
Product page
Spec sheet
Not available
Manual
Not available
Not available
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Both are also in the API. Back to all handheld consoles.











