Tablets / Compare
Apple iPad (8th generation) vs TCL TAB A1 Plus
Product A: Apple
92 of 168 known
Change Apple iPad (8th generation)
Product B: TCL
84 of 168 known
Change TCL TAB A1 Plus
Compare the Apple iPad (8th generation) with
93 of 160 fields differ
- 47 different values
- 46 known for one only
- 15 the same
- 52 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 101 tablets.
- BatteryA: 8,827mAhB: 7,800mAhApple is 1,027 mAh higher.
- Brightness (typical, SDR)A: 500nitsB: 450nitsApple is 50 nits higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AApple: 174.1 × 250.6 mm
- BTCL: 189.3 × 275.6 mm
Weight
0 to 800 g
All 168 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
8 of 11 differ
Series
Not available
Model numbers
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Not available
Announced
Status
Discontinued5Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2270-wi-fi-only-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026Discontinued September 14, 2021, the day the 9th generation was announced10Spec databaseen.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPad_(8th_generation)Read 23 October 2026Infobox: discontinued September 14, 2021
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Apple iPad (9th generation)14Reviewwhathifi.com/advice/apple-ipad-9-2021-vs-ipad-8-2020-which-ipad-should-you-buyRead 23 October 2026What Hi-Fi says the ninth-generation iPad replaces the eighth-generation entry-level iPad.
Not available
Launch price (US)
$3293Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2020/09/apple-introduces-eighth-generation-ipad-with-a-huge-jump-in-performanceRead 23 October 2026Starting price $329 (US) for the Wi-Fi model and $459 (US) for the Wi-Fi + Cellular model, 32GB5Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2270-wi-fi-only-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026US$329 (32 GB) and US$429 (128 GB), Wi-Fi only
Launch price (EU)
€369.44Press releaseapple.com/de/newsroom/2020/09/apple-introduces-eighth-generation-ipad-with-a-huge-jump-in-performanceRead 23 October 2026Germany: from 369,40 Euro incl. VAT for the Wi-Fi model, from 505,90 Euro incl. VAT for the Wi-Fi + Cellular model, 32 GB. Germany cut VAT to 16 percent from July to December 2020, so these prices are below the usual German level5Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2270-wi-fi-only-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026Germany 369.40 euro (32 GB) and 466.90 euro (128 GB). The second price matches the Notebookcheck review7Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2429-wi-fi-cellular-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026Germany 505.90 euro (32 GB) and 603.35 euro (128 GB), Wi-Fi + Cellular, sold worldwide outside North America
Markets
US, EU3Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2020/09/apple-introduces-eighth-generation-ipad-with-a-huge-jump-in-performanceRead 23 October 2026Order in more than 25 countries and regions, including the US4Press releaseapple.com/de/newsroom/2020/09/apple-introduces-eighth-generation-ipad-with-a-huge-jump-in-performanceRead 23 October 2026EU from the German launch release
Not available
Colours
Form factor
OS updates promised
Not available
Not available
Security updates promised
Not available
Security updates until
Not available
Not available
Body
7 of 11 differ
Height
Width
Thickness
Weight
Frame
Front
Not available
Back
Dust and water rating
Not available
MIL-STD-810
Not available
Not available
SIM
Nano-SIMs1eSIM onlyNo1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026SIM Card section: Nano-SIM (supports Apple SIM) and eSIM on Wi-Fi + Cellular models. eSIM count is not stated
Not available
Built-in kickstand
Not available
Not available
Display
10 of 22 differ
Screen size
Resolution
Pixel density
264.7ppi
236.4ppi
Aspect ratio
Display type
Display type (as published)
Dimming zones
Not available
Not available
Refresh rate modes
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Max (Hz) |
|---|
| 60 |
Max refresh rate
60Hz
120Hz
Min refresh rate
Not available
Not available
Brightness (typical, SDR)
Peak brightness
Not available
Not available
Full-screen HDR brightness
Not available
Not available
Contrast ratio
Not available
Not available
Colour depth
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage
Not available
Not available
HDR playback formats
Not available
Not available
Fully laminated
No5Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2270-wi-fi-only-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026Retina IPS display listed with an oleophobic coating and no antireflective coating. The A2428 page says not laminated6Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2428-wi-fi-cellular-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026Display not laminated9Measurementnotebookcheck.net/Apple-iPad-10-2-2020-Rejuvenation-of-the-lower-priced-Apple-tablet.498377.0.htmlRead 23 October 2026Air gap between the display glass and the panel. Not laminated
Not available
Anti-reflection coating
Not available
Not available
Screen surface
Not available
Nano-texture option
Not available
Not available
PWM dimming frequency
Not available
Not available
Platform
10 of 11 differ
OS at launch
iPadOS 141Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026Operating System section: iPadOS 143Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2020/09/apple-introduces-eighth-generation-ipad-with-a-huge-jump-in-performanceRead 23 October 2026iPadOS 14 ships for free with the new eighth-generation iPad
Software
Not available
Latest OS
iPadOS 265Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2270-wi-fi-only-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026Maximum supported OS iPadOS 26.x. This iPad does not support iPadOS 27 or later6Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2428-wi-fi-cellular-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026Maximum OS iPadOS 26.x. The page says this iPad does not support iPadOS 27 or later10Spec databaseen.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPad_(8th_generation)Read 23 October 2026Infobox current version iPadOS 26.7.1, released September 28, 202611Maker product pageapple.com/os/ipadosRead 23 October 2026The iPadOS 27 compatibility list starts with the iPad (9th generation). The iPad (8th generation) is not listed, so iPadOS 26 is its latest
Not available
Chipset
Qualcomm Snapdragon 4 Gen 21Maker product pagetcl.com/global/en/tablets/tcl-tab-a1-plusRead 20 October 2026
Process
CPU cores
CPU configuration
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Count | Core | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | Vortex | 2.5 |
| 4 | Tempest | 1.6 |
BTCL TAB A1 Plus
| Count | Core | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | Arm Cortex-A78 | 2.2 |
| 6 | Arm Cortex-A55 | 1.95 |
Max CPU clock
2.5GHz
2.2GHz
GPU
GPU cores
48Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2020)-10445.phpRead 23 October 2026Apple GPU (4-core)
Not available
NPU performance
Not available
Not available
Memory
6 of 7 differ
RAM
3GB5Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2270-wi-fi-only-specs.htmlRead 23 October 20263 GB from third-party analysis. Apple does not publish RAM8Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2020)-10445.phpRead 23 October 202632GB 3GB RAM, 128GB 3GB RAM. Apple does not publish RAM9Measurementnotebookcheck.net/Apple-iPad-10-2-2020-Rejuvenation-of-the-lower-priced-Apple-tablet.498377.0.htmlRead 23 October 2026Spec box: Memory 3 GB. Test unit 128 GB, iPadOS 14. Apple does not publish RAM
RAM type
Not available
Memory bandwidth
Not available
Not available
Storage
32, 128GB1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 20262Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/108043Read 23 October 2026Capacity: 32 GB, 128 GB3Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2020/09/apple-introduces-eighth-generation-ipad-with-a-huge-jump-in-performanceRead 23 October 202632GB and 128GB configurations
Storage type
Not available
Memory card
Rear cameras
3 of 9 differ
Rear cameras
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Focal length (35 mm equivalent) (mm) | Pixel size (µm) | Autofocus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main | 8 | 2.4 | 31 | 1.12 | Autofocus, mechanism not stated |
BTCL TAB A1 Plus
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Sensor size | Pixel size (µm) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main | 8 | 2 | 1/4-inch | 1.12 |
Number of rear cameras
1
1
Main camera
8MP
8MP
Video recording
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 1920 | 1080 | 30 |
| 1280 | 720 | 120 |
BTCL TAB A1 Plus
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 1920 | 1080 | 30 |
Max video resolution
1920 × 1080px
1920 × 1080px
Video HDR
Not available
Not available
Video formats
Not available
Not available
LiDAR scanner
Not available
Not available
Front camera
5 of 6 differ
Front cameras
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) |
|---|---|---|
| Main | 1.2 | 2.4 |
BTCL TAB A1 Plus
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Autofocus |
|---|---|---|
| Main | 5 | Fixed |
Front camera resolution (as published)
1.2MP photos, 720p HD video recording1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026FaceTime HD Camera: 1.2MP photos and 720p HD video recording, as the maker lists them
Not available
Front camera position
Not available
Auto framing
Not available
Not available
Front video
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 1280 | 720 | 30 |
BTCL TAB A1 Plus
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 1920 | 1080 | 30 |
Front autofocus
Not available
No
Audio
4 of 6 differ
Number of speakers
Speaker layout
Stereo speakers
Microphones
3.5 mm jack
Audio features
Not available
Not available
Network
5 of 9 differ
Cellular
Network
Not available
2G bands
850 MHz, 900 MHz, 1800 MHz, 1900 MHz1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz). Apple lists one set for the Wi-Fi + Cellular model7Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2429-wi-fi-cellular-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026A2429 GSM/EDGE 850, 900, 1800 and 1900 MHz
Not available
3G bands
850 MHz, 900 MHz, 1700/2100 MHz, 1900 MHz, 2100 MHz1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026UMTS/HSPA/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)7Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2429-wi-fi-cellular-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026A2429 UMTS/HSPA/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA 850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900 and 2100 MHz
Not available
4G bands
B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B11, B12, B13, B14, B17, B18, B19, B20, B21, B25, B26, B29, B30, B34, B38, B39, B40, B41, B66, B711Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026Gigabit-class LTE bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 25, 26, 29, 30, 34, 38, 39, 40, 41, 66, 71. Apple gives no band table per model. The list matches model A2428 on EveryMac and GSMArena, so it is stored for A2428 only6Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/ipad/specs/apple-ipad-10-2-inch-8th-gen-2020-a2428-wi-fi-cellular-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026A2428 LTE bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 25, 26, 29, 30, 34, 38, 39, 40, 41, 66, 71. Band 28 is not supported
Not available
5G bands
Not available
Not available
5G mmWave
Not available
Not available
Max download speed
Not available
Not available
Modem
Not available
Not available
Connectivity
5 of 14 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Bluetooth
Bluetooth codecs
Not available
Not available
NFC
Positioning
Digital compass, Wi-Fi, iBeacon microlocation, GPS/GNSS, Cellular1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026All models: digital compass, Wi-Fi, iBeacon microlocation. Wi-Fi + Cellular models add built-in GPS/GNSS and cellular
Not available
Dual-band GNSS
Not available
Not available
Connector
USB ports
USB speed
Thunderbolt
Not available
Not available
Video out over USB
Max external display
1920 × 1080px1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026Up to 1080p. Refresh rate not published
Not available
External displays
Not available
Not available
Stylus
2 of 5 differ
Stylus
Compatible styluses
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Name | Included |
|---|---|
| Apple Pencil (1st generation) | No |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026Display section: Supports Apple Pencil (1st generation). Not in the box3Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2020/09/apple-introduces-eighth-generation-ipad-with-a-huge-jump-in-performanceRead 23 October 2026Apple Pencil (1st generation) sold separately for $99 (US)
BTCL TAB A1 Plus
| Name | Included | Pressure levels |
|---|---|---|
| T-Pen 2 | No | 4,096 |
Pressure levels
Not available
4,096
Tilt support
Not available
Not available
Hover
Not available
Not available
Keyboard and accessories
2 of 4 differ
Accessory connector
Smart Connector1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026Buttons and Connectors lists a Smart Connector
Not available
Official keyboards
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Name | Connection | Included |
|---|---|---|
| Smart Keyboard | Pogo pins | No |
BTCL TAB A1 Plus
| Name | Connection | Included |
|---|---|---|
| Smart keyboard case | Bluetooth | No |
Keyboard with trackpad
Not available
Not available
Keyboard in box
No
No
Features and sensors
4 of 4 differ
Fingerprint
Face unlock
Not available
Sensors
Touch ID, Three-axis gyro, Accelerometer, Barometer, Ambient light sensor1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026Touch ID, three-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor
Extra buttons
Home button with Touch ID1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026Buttons and Connectors list: Home/Touch ID sensor
Not available
Battery and charging
8 of 13 differ
Battery capacity
Battery capacity (typical)
Not available
Battery energy
Not available
Claimed battery life
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Use case | Connection | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Web browsing | Wi-Fi | 10 |
| Video playback | Not available | 10 |
| Web browsing | Cellular | 9 |
BTCL TAB A1 Plus
Not availableVideo playback (claimed)
10h
Not available
Wired charging
Not available
Wired charging standards
Not available
Not available
Charging guidance
Not available
Not available
Charge 0 to 50 %
Not available
Not available
Charge 0 to 100 %
Not available
Not available
Reverse wired
Not available
Not available
Charger in box
Measured
7 of 19 differ
Geekbench 6 single-core
Not available
Geekbench 6 multi-core
Not available
Geekbench 6 GPU
Not available
Not available
3DMark Wild Life Extreme
Not available
Not available
3DMark stress test stability
Not available
Not available
Manual SDR brightness (measured)
Not available
Brightness with auto (measured)
Not available
Not available
HDR brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Contrast ratio (measured)
Not available
Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
Not available
Reflections (measured)
Not available
Not available
PWM dimming (measured)
Not available
Not available
PWM up to brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Stylus latency (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery tests (measured)
AApple iPad (8th generation)
| Test | Hours (h) |
|---|---|
| Notebookcheck Wi-Fi | 13.03 |
| Notebookcheck video | 15.57 |
| Notebookcheck load | 3.97 |
| Notebookcheck idle | 37.35 |
BTCL TAB A1 Plus
Not availableFull charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Loudspeaker loudness (measured)
Not available
Not available
EU label and regulatory
5 of 7 differ
EU energy class
Not available
Battery endurance per cycle (EU test)
Not available
Battery endurance in cycles (EU test)
Not available
Drop resistance class
Not available
Repairability class
Not available
SAR body (US)
Not available
Not available
SAR body (EU)
Not available
Not available
In the box
1 of 1 differ
In the box
iPad, Lightning to USB-C Cable, USB-C Power Adapter1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/118451Read 23 October 2026In the Box section, verbatim. The 20 W rating comes from Notebookcheck
Links
Not compared
Product page
Not available
Spec sheet
Not available
Manual
Not available
Not available
EPREL registration number
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Both are also in the API. Back to all tablets.




















