Desktop PCs / Compare
Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) vs Apple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
Product A: Apple
59 of 160 known
Apple Mac Studio (M2 Max, 2023)
Apple Mac Studio (2026)
Apple Mac Studio (M5 Ultra, 2026)
Framework Desktop (Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB)
MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
GEEKOM IT15 (Core Ultra 9 285H)
Lenovo Legion Tower 5i Gen 10
Apple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024)
MSI Codex Z2 A8NVP-436US
ASUS ROG NUC (2025)
Lenovo Legion Tower 7i Gen 10
Lenovo Legion Tower 5 Gen 10 (30L AMD)
Change Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
Compare the Apple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025) with
Apple Mac Studio (M2 Max, 2023)
Apple Mac Studio (2026)
Apple Mac Studio (M5 Ultra, 2026)
Framework Desktop (Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB)
MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
GEEKOM IT15 (Core Ultra 9 285H)
Lenovo Legion Tower 5i Gen 10
Apple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024)
MSI Codex Z2 A8NVP-436US
ASUS ROG NUC (2025)
Lenovo Legion Tower 7i Gen 10
Lenovo Legion Tower 5 Gen 10 (30L AMD)Product B: Apple
84 of 160 known
Apple Mac Studio (M2 Max, 2023)
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro, 2026)
Apple Mac Studio (2026)
MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
Apple Mac mini (M2 Pro, 2023)
Dell Alienware Aurora R16
Apple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024)
Framework Desktop (Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB)
GEEKOM IT15 (Core Ultra 9 285H)
MAINGEAR MG-1 MK II
ASUS ROG NUC (2025)
Lenovo Legion Tower 7i Gen 10
Change Apple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
Compare the Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) with
Apple Mac Studio (M2 Max, 2023)
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro, 2026)
Apple Mac Studio (2026)
MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
Apple Mac mini (M2 Pro, 2023)
Dell Alienware Aurora R16
Apple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024)
Framework Desktop (Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB)
GEEKOM IT15 (Core Ultra 9 285H)
MAINGEAR MG-1 MK II
ASUS ROG NUC (2025)
Lenovo Legion Tower 7i Gen 1045 of 152 fields differ
- 23 different values
- 22 known for one only
- 32 the same
- 75 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 76 desktop PCs.
- Max RAMA: 64GBB: 36GBMac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) is 28 GB higher.
- CPU coresA: 10B: 14Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025) has 4 more.
- RAMA: 32GBB: 36GBMac Studio (M4 Max, 2025) is 4 GB higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AMac Studio (M1 Max, 2022): 197 × 95 mm
- BMac Studio (M4 Max, 2025): 197 × 95 mm
Weight
0 to 25 kg
All 160 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
3 of 9 differ
Series
Model numbers
MJMV3LL/A, Mac13,1, A26154Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102231Read 13 October 2026Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Max: Model Identifier Mac13,1. Apple's page prints the part number series MJMV2xx/a, while EveryMac and retail listings give MJMV3LL/A for the US base model. The EveryMac value is stored because it names the exact US order number. Mac13,2 and the M1 Ultra part MJMW3 are excluded. The A2615 model number comes from EveryMac.5Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/mac-studio/specs/mac-studio-m1-max-10-core-cpu-24-core-gpu-2022-specs.htmlRead 13 October 2026Identifiers: MJMV3LL/A, Mac13,1, A2615, EMC 3988.
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Announced
Status
Predecessor
Not available
Apple Mac Studio (M2 Max, 2023)2Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2025/03/apple-unveils-new-mac-studio-the-most-powerful-mac-everRead 6 October 2026The release says the new Mac Studio gives a big boost in performance compared to the previous generation. The identify page shows that the previous generation is the 2023 Mac Studio.6Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102231Read 6 October 2026Identify your Mac Studio model lists Mac Studio (2025) with M4 Max, model identifier Mac16,9, part numbers MU963xx/A. The M2 Max Mac Studio (2023) is the previous Max model in the list.
Successor
Apple Mac Studio (M2 Max, 2023)6Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/mac-studio/specs/mac-studio-m2-max-12-core-cpu-30-core-gpu-2023-specs.htmlRead 13 October 2026EveryMac page for the 2023 M2 Max model compares it with its predecessors, the 2022 M1 Mac Studio models. Generation lineage only. No M2 Max hardware is copied.16Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2023/06/apple-unveils-new-mac-studio-and-brings-apple-silicon-to-mac-proRead 23 October 2026Apple's June 2023 release compares the Mac Studio with M2 Max to the previous-generation Mac Studio with M1 Max.
Launch price (US)
Launch price (EU)
Markets
Colours
Form factor
Not available
Not available
Case
3 of 10 differ
Case dimensions
Width197Height95Depth197mm(7.8 × 3.7 × 7.8 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111900Read 13 October 2026Size and Weight: height 3.7 in (9.5 cm), width 7.7 in (19.7 cm), depth 7.7 in (19.7 cm), converted exactly to millimetres. Overall chassis in its normal upright position.
Width197Height95Depth197mm(7.8 × 3.7 × 7.8 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Metric figures 19.7 cm width and depth and 9.5 cm height, converted to mm.
Case volume
Not available
Not available
Weight
Case model
Not available
Not available
Case materials
Front panel
Not available
Tool-less side panel
Dust filters
Not available
Not available
VESA mount
Not available
Not available
Display
None of 6 known
Screen size
Not available
Not available
Native resolution
Not available
Not available
Panel type
Not available
Not available
Max refresh rate
Not available
Not available
Touchscreen
Not available
Not available
Brightness (SDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Motherboard
2 of 9 differ
Motherboard
Chipset
Not available
Not available
Motherboard form factor
CPU socket
Not available
Not available
Expansion slots
Not available
Not available
PCIe x16 slots
Not available
Not available
Free expansion slots
Not available
Not available
Fan headers
Not available
Overclocking in BIOS
Not available
Not available
Processor
10 of 16 differ
Processor
Processor brand
Processor codename
Not available
Not available
Core configuration
AApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Core type | Count |
|---|---|
| Performance | 8 |
| Efficiency | 2 |
BApple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
| Core type | Count | Max core turbo clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 10 | 4.5 |
| Efficiency | 4 | Not available |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 202615Spec databasenotebookcheck.net/Apple-M4-Max-14-cores-Processor-Benchmarks-and-Specs.920365.0.htmlRead 7 October 2026Exact chip table confirms 10 performance and 4 efficiency cores. It publishes 10 x 4.5 GHz P-Core and 4 x 2.6 GHz E-Core, plus an overall 2592–4512 MHz clock range. The category rates do not explicitly identify maximum or base frequencies, so no frequency cells are stored. No laptop performance result is copied.19Reviewhothardware.com/reviews/apple-mac-studio-m4-max-vs-mac-mini-m4-proRead 10 October 2026Page 1: the 14-core CPU with 10 performance and 4 efficiency cores clocked up to 4.5 GHz according to the Geekbench 6 CPU scanner. Apple publishes no clock. The 4.5 GHz is stored as the performance-core maximum. EveryMac gives about 4.5 GHz too. No efficiency-core clock is stored.20Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/mac-studio/specs/mac-studio-m4-max-14-core-cpu-32-core-gpu-2025-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Processor Speed 4.5 GHz. Apple does not provide a clock speed. Third-party software shows a variable speed around 4.5 GHz.
CPU cores
10
14
Performance cores
8
10
Efficiency cores
2
4
Threads
Max core turbo clock
Not available
4.5GHz
L3 cache
Not available
Not available
CPU core process node
CPU base power (chip rating)
Not available
Not available
Peak CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Unlocked multiplier
Not available
Not available
Integrated GPU
Apple M1 Max 24-core GPU1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111900Read 13 October 2026Chip section: 24-core GPU in the base Apple M1 Max. A 32-core GPU is configure-to-order and the M1 Ultra is a separate chip.
Apple M4 Max 32-core GPU1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026
Cooling
0 of 6 differ
CPU cooler
CPU cooler model
Not available
Not available
Radiator size
Not available
Not available
Radiator position
Not available
Not available
Case fans
AApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Fan rotors |
|---|
| 2 |
Source9Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/100665Read 13 October 2026Fan procedure: the fan assembly connects through two fan flex cables and two fan connectors and sits on the thermal module. Two fan rotors are counted. MacRumors, quoting iFixit, calls it a dual-fan assembly. Size, position, lighting and PWM are not stated.11Press articlemacrumors.com/2022/03/23/ifixit-mac-studio-teardownRead 13 October 2026Quotes iFixit on the M1 Max Mac Studio: a massive heatsink with a dual-fan assembly.
BApple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
| Fan rotors |
|---|
| 2 |
Source10Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/121997Read 7 October 2026Apple Fan Locator and removal step 4 diagrams show two separate blower rotors in one shared frame, part 923-12527. The parts list uses the same fan and housing across Mac Studio (2025) configurations. The system draws cool air through the bottom and exhausts it through the rear as described in the Tom's Hardware review. These rotors drive shared enclosure airflow and are counted as chassis cooling, rather than as a separate standalone CPU-cooler fan. Diameter, enum position, RGB and control method are not published.14Reviewtomshardware.com/desktops/mini-pcs/apple-mac-studio-early-2025-reviewRead 7 October 2026Design section explicitly describes bottom cool-air intake and rear exhaust holes, and conclusion names dual internal fans. This supports airflow scope only. The reviewed 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128 GB and 1 TB sample supplies no measured values to this 14/32/36/512 product. Apple lists one common fan assembly 923-12527 and housing 923-12472 for all 2025 configurations.
Number of case fans
2
2
Graphics
0 of 11 differ
Discrete GPU
GPU
Not available
Not available
GPU brand
Not available
Not available
Graphics card
Not available
Not available
VRAM
Not available
Not available
VRAM type
Not available
Not available
GPU board power
Not available
Not available
GPU boost clock
Not available
Not available
Graphics card length
Not available
Not available
Graphics card thickness
Not available
Not available
GPU power connector
Not available
Not available
Memory
4 of 11 differ
RAM
RAM type
Configured RAM speed
Rated kit speed
Not available
Not available
Memory kit
Not available
Not available
RAM upgrade
Memory slots
Not available
Not available
RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Free RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Max RAM for this CPU and GPU
ECC memory
Not available
Not available
Storage
1 of 7 differ
Storage
512GB
512GB
Installed drives
AApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Capacity (GB) | Type |
|---|---|
| 512 | SSD, protocol not stated |
BApple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
| Capacity (GB) | Drive |
|---|---|
| 512 | APPLE SSD AP0512Z |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026512 GB SSD, decimal GB per the page footnote. Larger capacities are configure-to-order options and are not stored. Apple does not publish an NVMe or SATA interface for its flash module, so the drive type is left out.8Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026SSD module 661-50214 is the 512 GB module for the M4 Max model. The SSD Modules procedure states that 512 GB, 1 TB and 2 TB configurations have a single module.16Reviewmacotakara.jp/macintosh/entry-48543.htmlRead 10 October 2026APPLE SSD AP0512Z section explicitly identifies the 14-core CPU, 32-core GPU, 512 GB model. The AJA paragraph further specifies 36 GB. Stored software-reported drive model only. Apple identifies its service module as flash storage 661-50214. No standard M.2 connector, installed NVMe drive type or measured SSD performance is inferred.
Storage slots and bays
Not available
Not available
M.2 slots
Not available
Not available
Free M.2 slots
Not available
Not available
Free drive bays
Not available
Not available
Fastest storage-slot PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
Power supply
2 of 7 differ
PSU rated output
Not available
PSU form factor
PSU efficiency
Not available
Not available
Modular cables
Not available
Not available
PSU model
ATX version
Not available
Not available
Native 12V-2x6 cable
Not available
Not available
Ports
1 of 9 differ
User-facing I/O position
User-facing ports
AApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Type | Version | Count | Max stated link rate (Gbps) |
|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | USB 3 | 2 | 10 |
| SD card | SDXC UHS-II | 1 | Not available |
BApple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
| Type | Version | Count | Max stated link rate (Gbps) |
|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | USB 3 | 2 | 10 |
| SD card | SDXC UHS-II | 1 | Not available |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026On front (M4 Max): two USB-C ports up to 10 Gb/s and an SDXC card slot (UHS-II). The Thunderbolt 5 front ports belong to the M3 Ultra model only.11Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/mac-studio/take-a-tour-of-mac-studio-apd0fd69f4be/2025/mac/15Read 6 October 2026On Mac Studio with the M4 Max chip the two front USB-C ports support USB 3 up to 10 Gbit/s. The SDXC slot supports SD 4.0 cards.
Rear ports
AApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Type | Version | Count | Max stated link rate (Gbps) | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode | Connected to |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | Thunderbolt 4 / USB4 | 4 | 40 | Thunderbolt 4 | Yes | Motherboard |
| USB-A | USB 3 | 2 | 5 | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
| HDMI | Up to 4K at 60Hz | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
| Ethernet (RJ45) | 10Gb Ethernet | 1 | 10 | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
| 3.5 mm audio | High-impedance headphone support | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
| AC power input | Not available | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available |
BApple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
| Type | Version | Count | Max stated link rate (Gbps) | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | Thunderbolt 5 / USB4 | 4 | 120 | Thunderbolt 5 | Yes |
| USB-A | USB 3 | 2 | 5 | Not available | Not available |
| HDMI | HDMI 2.1 | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available |
| Ethernet (RJ45) | 10Gb Ethernet | 1 | 10 | Not available | Not available |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Connections and Expansion: four Thunderbolt 5 (USB-C) ports with Thunderbolt 5 up to 120 Gb/s, USB4 up to 120 Gb/s and native DisplayPort 2.1 output, two USB-A ports up to 5 Gb/s, HDMI 2.1, 10Gb Ethernet and a 3.5 mm headphone jack. Port placement on the back confirmed by the user guide tour. The AC power inlet is not stored as a port.11Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/guide/mac-studio/take-a-tour-of-mac-studio-apd0fd69f4be/2025/mac/15Read 6 October 2026Thunderbolt 5 (USB-C) ports, 10 Gigabit Ethernet (RJ-45) with Nbase-T, two USB-A ports with USB 3 up to 5 Gbit/s, HDMI and 3.5 mm headphone jack on the back.
User-facing USB ports
2
2
User-facing USB-C ports
2
2
Rear USB ports
6
6
Thunderbolt
Yes
Yes
Ethernet speed
10Gbps
10Gbps
Discrete GPU output ports
Not available
Not available
Wireless
5 of 6 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Not available
Wi-Fi module
Not available
Not available
Wi-Fi antenna
Not available
Internal8Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Exploded view and parts items 8, 9 and 37 show antenna assemblies inside the housing. Antenna 1 procedure requires removing the bottom cover, power supply and internal frame. Internal placement is also explicitly described in the HotHardware review. No antenna count or radio-module identity is inferred.18Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/121998Read 7 October 2026The exact 2025 Antenna 1 procedure requires removal of the bottom cover, power supply and internal frame before removing its internal coaxial antenna assembly. Placement only. No antenna count or disputed wireless chip is inferred.19Reviewhothardware.com/reviews/apple-mac-studio-m4-max-vs-mac-mini-m4-proRead 10 October 2026The networking paragraph explicitly describes dual internal antennae. Only internal placement is used, corroborated by the maker service diagrams. Its conflicting Broadcom chip identity is omitted.
Bluetooth
Ethernet controller
Not available
Marvell Apple AQC11316Reviewmacotakara.jp/macintosh/entry-48543.htmlRead 10 October 2026System Information section identifies the 2025 10Gb Ethernet controller as Marvell Apple AQC113. Apple parts item 19 lists one common Ethernet board 923-12482. HotHardware independently identifies AQtion AQC113.19Reviewhothardware.com/reviews/apple-mac-studio-m4-max-vs-mac-mini-m4-proRead 10 October 2026The same paragraph identifies Aquantia, now Marvell, AQtion AQC113. Apple publishes one common Ethernet board for the 2025 family. The reviewed 14-core CPU, 32-core GPU and 36 GB system has 1 TB storage. It supplies only fixed networking hardware corroboration, no measured result.
Camera and audio
1 of 5 differ
Webcam
Not available
Not available
Built-in speaker drivers
Total speaker power
Not available
Not available
Audio features
3.5 mm headphone jack with support for high-impedance headphones, HDMI port with multichannel audio output1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111900Read 13 October 2026Audio section: 3.5 mm headphone jack with advanced support for high-impedance headphones and an HDMI port with multichannel audio output.
3.5 mm headphone jack with support for high-impedance headphones, HDMI port with multichannel audio output1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Audio section: 3.5 mm headphone jack with advanced support for high-impedance headphones, and HDMI port with multichannel audio output.
Lighting
None of 4 known
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available
Lit parts
Not available
Not available
Lighting standard
Not available
Not available
Lighting software
Not available
Not available
Software
1 of 3 differ
Operating system
OS family
Control software
Not available
Not available
Upgradeability
1 of 4 differ
Proprietary parts
Motherboard, PSU, Case, Fan connectors, Drive mounts8Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/122125Read 10 October 2026Logic board, power supply and housing are ordered as Apple assemblies. The two fan flex cables sit in locking-lever connectors on the logic board (support 121997). The SSD modules are Apple service parts with no M.2 socket.19Reviewhothardware.com/reviews/apple-mac-studio-m4-max-vs-mac-mini-m4-proRead 10 October 2026Page 1: the 1 TB review SSD is not a standard M.2 SSD. The NVMe controller is in the SoC and the module is a card of NAND. This supports drive_mounts.
Max graphics card length
Not available
Not available
Max CPU cooler height
Not available
Not available
Warranty kept after upgrade
Not available
Not available
Measured performance
6 of 8 differ
Cinebench 2024 multi-core
Not available
Geekbench single-core
Not available
Geekbench multi-core
Not available
3DMark Time Spy graphics
Not available
Not available
3DMark Steel Nomad
Not available
Not available
SSD sequential read (measured)
Not available
Game frame rates
AApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
Not availableBApple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
| Game | Width (px) | Height (px) | Preset | Upscaling | Ray tracing | Average FPS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shadow of the Tomb Raider | 1920 | 1080 | Highest, no AA | Not available | Not available | 132 |
| Shadow of the Tomb Raider | 2560 | 1440 | Highest, no AA | Not available | Not available | 90 |
| Gears Tactics | 1920 | 1080 | Low | Not available | Not available | 145 |
| Gears Tactics | 1920 | 1080 | Medium | Not available | Not available | 98 |
| Gears Tactics | 1920 | 1080 | High | Not available | Not available | 72 |
| Cyberpunk 2077 | 1920 | 1080 | RT Medium | FSR 3 Quality | Yes | 45.8 |
Measured noise and temperature
None of 6 known
Fan noise per load
Not available
Not available
Highest measured fan noise
Not available
Not available
Measured fan noise at idle
Not available
Not available
CPU temperature in stress test
Not available
Not available
CPU clock in stress test
Not available
Not available
GPU temperature while gaming
Not available
Not available
Measured power
2 of 6 differ
Power draw idle
Not available
Power draw max
Not available
Not available
Power draw sleep or off
Not available
Not available
Sustained CPU power (measured)
Not available
Not available
GPU power while gaming (measured)
Not available
Not available
Certifications
3 of 5 differ
ENERGY STAR
EPEAT
Typical annual energy consumption (TEC)
Not available
Other certifications
Not available
EU RoHS (Directive 2011/65/EU, with applicable exemptions)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026Maker technical sheet footnote 13 explicitly declares compliance with European Union Directive 2011/65/EU and its amendments, including exemptions for lead such as high-temperature solder. This is manufacturer-declared RoHS compliance with applicable exemptions, not an independently issued certificate. It does not claim elimination of all lead.
In the box
0 of 2 differ
In the box
Mac Studio, Power cord1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111900Read 13 October 2026In the Box: Mac Studio and a power cord. No keyboard, mouse or cable is included.
Mac Studio, Power cord1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/122211Read 10 October 2026
Included extras
Not available
Not available
Warranty
0 of 2 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Warranty service
Links
Not compared
Product page
Not available
Spec sheet
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Both are also in the API. Back to all desktop PCs.