Desktop PCs / Compare
Apple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024) vs Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
Product A: Apple
76 of 160 known
Apple Mac Studio (M2 Max, 2023)
Apple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro, 2026)
Apple Mac Studio (2026)
MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
Apple Mac mini (M2 Pro, 2023)
Dell Alienware Aurora R16
Framework Desktop (Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB)
GEEKOM IT15 (Core Ultra 9 285H)
MAINGEAR MG-1 MK II
ASUS ROG NUC (2025)
Lenovo Legion Tower 7i Gen 10
Change Apple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024)
Compare the Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) with
Apple Mac Studio (M2 Max, 2023)
Apple Mac Studio (M4 Max, 2025)
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro, 2026)
Apple Mac Studio (2026)
MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
Apple Mac mini (M2 Pro, 2023)
Dell Alienware Aurora R16
Framework Desktop (Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128GB)
GEEKOM IT15 (Core Ultra 9 285H)
MAINGEAR MG-1 MK II
ASUS ROG NUC (2025)
Lenovo Legion Tower 7i Gen 10Product B: Apple
59 of 160 known
GEEKOM IT15 (Core Ultra 9 285H)
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro, 2026)
GEEKOM A6 (Ryzen 7 6800H)
GEEKOM A9 Max (Ryzen AI 9 HX 370)
Khadas Mind 2s
Apple Mac mini (M2 Pro, 2023)
MINISFORUM UM890 Pro
Apple Mac mini (M4, 2024)
Beelink SER8 (Ryzen 7 8845HS)
GEEKOM A8 (Ryzen 9 8945HS)
Beelink SER9 Pro (H 255)
GMKtec NucBox M6 Ultra
Change Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
Compare the Apple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024) with
GEEKOM IT15 (Core Ultra 9 285H)
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro, 2026)
GEEKOM A6 (Ryzen 7 6800H)
GEEKOM A9 Max (Ryzen AI 9 HX 370)
Khadas Mind 2s
Apple Mac mini (M2 Pro, 2023)
MINISFORUM UM890 Pro
Apple Mac mini (M4, 2024)
Beelink SER8 (Ryzen 7 8845HS)
GEEKOM A8 (Ryzen 9 8945HS)
Beelink SER9 Pro (H 255)
GMKtec NucBox M6 Ultra44 of 152 fields differ
- 30 different values
- 14 known for one only
- 25 the same
- 83 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 76 desktop PCs.
- Rear USB portsA: 3B: 6Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) has 3 more.
- RAMA: 24GBB: 32GBMac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) is 8 GB higher.
- CPU coresA: 12B: 10Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024) has 2 more.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AMac mini (M4 Pro, 2024): 127 × 50 mm
- BMac Studio (M1 Max, 2022): 197 × 95 mm
Weight
0 to 25 kg
All 160 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
6 of 9 differ
Series
Model numbers
MCX44LL/A, A32395Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/education/pricelists/pdfs/Apple_US_Education_Institution_Price_List-12-02-2024.pdfRead 6 October 2026Apple US institution price list line: MCX44LL/A, Mac mini: Apple M4 Pro chip with 12-core CPU and 16-core GPU, 24GB, 512GB SSD. Institution price is not used as MSRP. MX2H3LL/A is a 14-inch MacBook Pro part in the same list and is not stored. Regulatory model A3239 comes from the ENERGY STAR record.6Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102852Read 6 October 2026Identify your Mac mini model, Mac mini (2024): part numbers include MCX44xx/A. Model identifiers Mac16,10 and Mac16,11 are listed for the family without a chip mapping. EveryMac maps MCX44LL/A and A3239 to Mac16,11, so the identifier is kept only as an alias.7Certification listenergystar.gov/productfinder/product/certified-computers/details/4513880/export/pdfRead 6 October 2026
MJMV3LL/A, Mac13,1, A26154Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/102231Read 13 October 2026Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Max: Model Identifier Mac13,1. Apple's page prints the part number series MJMV2xx/a, while EveryMac and retail listings give MJMV3LL/A for the US base model. The EveryMac value is stored because it names the exact US order number. Mac13,2 and the M1 Ultra part MJMW3 are excluded. The A2615 model number comes from EveryMac.5Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/mac-studio/specs/mac-studio-m1-max-10-core-cpu-24-core-gpu-2022-specs.htmlRead 13 October 2026Identifiers: MJMV3LL/A, Mac13,1, A2615, EMC 3988.
GTIN / EAN
1959499425567Certification listenergystar.gov/productfinder/product/certified-computers/details/4513880/export/pdfRead 6 October 2026ENERGY STAR model record lists UPCs 195949942556 and 195949942709 for the US/Canada MCX44 family. Only 195949942556 is independently bound to the selected US MCX44LL/A by the exact retailer record. The other unassigned regional code is omitted.20Retailer pagemicrocenter.com/product/688171/apple-mac-mini-mcx44ll-a-late-2024-desktop-computerRead 8 October 2026Exact US MCX44LL/A, 12 CPU/16 GPU/24 GB/512 GB/Gigabit listing explicitly supplies UPC 195949942556. Other regional model-family UPC from the certification list is not guessed.
Not available
Announced
Status
Predecessor
Apple Mac mini (M2 Pro, 2023)2Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2024/10/apples-new-mac-mini-is-more-mighty-more-mini-and-built-for-apple-intelligenceRead 6 October 2026The release compares Mac mini with M4 Pro against Mac mini with M2 Pro, for example 3D renders up to 2.9x faster in Blender. It calls the 2023 design the previous design.
Not available
Successor
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro, 2026)16Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2026/08/apple-unveils-a-more-powerful-mac-mini-featuring-the-all-new-m6-and-m5-proRead 6 October 2026M5 Pro delivers significant gains in AI compute compared to the previous Mac mini. Workload claims compare against M4 Pro, for example up to 1.4x faster in Blender.
Apple Mac Studio (M2 Max, 2023)6Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/mac-studio/specs/mac-studio-m2-max-12-core-cpu-30-core-gpu-2023-specs.htmlRead 13 October 2026EveryMac page for the 2023 M2 Max model compares it with its predecessors, the 2022 M1 Mac Studio models. Generation lineage only. No M2 Max hardware is copied.16Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2023/06/apple-unveils-new-mac-studio-and-brings-apple-silicon-to-mac-proRead 23 October 2026Apple's June 2023 release compares the Mac Studio with M2 Max to the previous-generation Mac Studio with M1 Max.
Launch price (US)
Launch price (EU)
Markets
Colours
Case
4 of 10 differ
Case dimensions
Width127Height50Depth127mm(5 × 2 × 5 in)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121555Read 6 October 2026Height 5.0 cm, width 12.7 cm, depth 12.7 cm, converted to mm.
Case volume
Not available
Not available
Weight
Case model
Not available
Not available
Case materials
Side panel
Solid24Reviewifixit.com/News/104302/all-hail-the-return-of-upgradeable-storage-mac-mini-2024-teardownRead 10 October 2026The new model is aluminum all-round, with no plastic insert for ports.25Reviewarstechnica.com/apple/2024/11/review-m4-and-m4-pro-mac-minis-are-probably-apples-best-mac-minis-everRead 10 October 2026Design section: a fully aluminum box with ports cut directly into the aluminum. The bottom is black plastic with the vent.
Not available
Front panel
Solid24Reviewifixit.com/News/104302/all-hail-the-return-of-upgradeable-storage-mac-mini-2024-teardownRead 10 October 2026Front USB-C ports and the headphone jack are modular parts set into the aluminum body.25Reviewarstechnica.com/apple/2024/11/review-m4-and-m4-pro-mac-minis-are-probably-apples-best-mac-minis-everRead 10 October 2026Design section: the front and rear ports are cut directly into the aluminum.
Not available
Tool-less side panel
Dust filters
Not available
Not available
VESA mount
Not available
Not available
Display
None of 6 known
Screen size
Not available
Not available
Native resolution
Not available
Not available
Panel type
Not available
Not available
Max refresh rate
Not available
Not available
Touchscreen
Not available
Not available
Brightness (SDR, claimed)
Not available
Not available
Motherboard
2 of 9 differ
Motherboard
Chipset
Not available
Not available
Motherboard form factor
CPU socket
Not available
Not available
Expansion slots
Not available
Not available
PCIe x16 slots
Not available
Not available
Free expansion slots
Not available
Not available
Overclocking in BIOS
Not available
Not available
Processor
8 of 16 differ
Processor
Processor brand
Processor codename
Not available
Not available
Core configuration
AApple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024)
| Core type | Count | Max core turbo clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 8 | 4.5 |
| Efficiency | 4 | Not available |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121555Read 6 October 202621Spec databaseeverymac.com/systems/apple/mac_mini/specs/mac-mini-m4-pro-12-core-cpu-16-core-gpu-2024-specs.htmlRead 10 October 2026Processor section: third-party software reports a variable clock around 4.5 GHz. Stored as the performance cluster maximum. hmc-tech lists 4.51 GHz. The ENERGY STAR record lists 3.9 GHz as its own declared figure on a different basis. The efficiency cluster clock is not stated.
BApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Core type | Count |
|---|---|
| Performance | 8 |
| Efficiency | 2 |
CPU cores
12
10
Performance cores
8
8
Efficiency cores
4
2
Threads
Max core turbo clock
4.5GHz
Not available
L3 cache
Not available
Not available
CPU core process node
CPU base power (chip rating)
Not available
Not available
Peak CPU power (configured)
Not available
Not available
Unlocked multiplier
Not available
Not available
NPU performance
Not available
Not available
Integrated GPU
Apple M4 Pro 16-core GPU1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121555Read 6 October 2026
Cooling
2 of 6 differ
CPU cooler
CPU cooler model
Not available
Not available
Radiator size
Not available
Not available
Radiator position
Not available
Not available
Case fans
BApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Fan rotors |
|---|
| 2 |
Source9Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/100665Read 13 October 2026Fan procedure: the fan assembly connects through two fan flex cables and two fan connectors and sits on the thermal module. Two fan rotors are counted. MacRumors, quoting iFixit, calls it a dual-fan assembly. Size, position, lighting and PWM are not stated.11Press articlemacrumors.com/2022/03/23/ifixit-mac-studio-teardownRead 13 October 2026Quotes iFixit on the M1 Max Mac Studio: a massive heatsink with a dual-fan assembly.
Number of case fans
1
2
Graphics
0 of 11 differ
Discrete GPU
GPU
Not available
Not available
GPU brand
Not available
Not available
Graphics card
Not available
Not available
VRAM
Not available
Not available
VRAM type
Not available
Not available
GPU board power
Not available
Not available
GPU boost clock
Not available
Not available
Graphics card length
Not available
Not available
Graphics card thickness
Not available
Not available
GPU power connector
Not available
Not available
Memory
3 of 11 differ
RAM
RAM type
Configured RAM speed
Rated kit speed
Not available
Not available
Memory kit
Not available
Not available
RAM upgrade
Memory slots
Not available
Not available
RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Free RAM slots
Not available
Not available
Max RAM for this CPU and GPU
ECC memory
Not available
Not available
Storage
1 of 7 differ
Storage
512GB
512GB
Installed drives
AApple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024)
| Capacity (GB) |
|---|
| 512 |
BApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Capacity (GB) | Type |
|---|---|
| 512 | SSD, protocol not stated |
Storage slots and bays
Not available
Not available
M.2 slots
Not available
Not available
Free M.2 slots
Not available
Not available
Free drive bays
Not available
Not available
Fastest storage-slot PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
Power supply
2 of 7 differ
PSU rated output
155W10Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/121008Read 6 October 2026The same supply part 661-43677 is shared by the M4 and M4 Pro models. The M4 teardown reads 12.6 V and 12.3 A on its power board.22Certification listdata.energystar.gov/resource/rxdj-2c88.jsonRead 10 October 2026ENERGY STAR record 4513880 (A3239, Mac mini M4 Pro, 12-core, 24 GB) lists internal power supply rated power 155 W. The record states the supply rating itself. The 155 W maximum continuous power on the maker page is a separate system figure with the same value.23Reviewchargerlab.com/teardown-of-apple-m4-mac-mini-a3238Read 10 October 2026Power board label on the M4 reads Lite-On PA-1161-1A with 12.6 V and 12.3 A output, which is 155 W. Apple lists the same supply part for the M4 Pro.
Not available
PSU form factor
Proprietary10Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/121008Read 6 October 2026Item 4 lists one Apple power supply, 661-43677, for all 2024 configurations. iFixit shows the supply as a bare plate under the top face. It is not a standard PSU format.23Reviewchargerlab.com/teardown-of-apple-m4-mac-mini-a3238Read 10 October 2026The supply is a custom bare plate at the top of the housing with internal contacts and chassis screws.
PSU efficiency
Not available
Not available
Modular cables
Not available
Not available
PSU model
ATX version
Not available
Not available
Native 12V-2x6 cable
Not available
Not available
Ports
5 of 9 differ
User-facing I/O position
User-facing ports
AApple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024)
| Type | Version | Count | Max stated link rate (Gbps) |
|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | USB 3 | 2 | 10 |
| 3.5 mm audio | Not available | 1 | Not available |
BApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Type | Version | Count | Max stated link rate (Gbps) |
|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | USB 3 | 2 | 10 |
| SD card | SDXC UHS-II | 1 | Not available |
Rear ports
AApple Mac mini (M4 Pro, 2024)
| Type | Version | Count | Max stated link rate (Gbps) | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode | Connected to |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | Thunderbolt 5 / USB 4 | 3 | Not available | Thunderbolt 5 | Yes | Motherboard |
| HDMI | Not available | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
| Ethernet (RJ45) | Gigabit Ethernet | 1 | 1 | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
BApple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)
| Type | Version | Count | Max stated link rate (Gbps) | Thunderbolt or USB4 | DP Alt Mode | Connected to |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USB-C | Thunderbolt 4 / USB4 | 4 | 40 | Thunderbolt 4 | Yes | Motherboard |
| USB-A | USB 3 | 2 | 5 | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
| HDMI | Up to 4K at 60Hz | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
| Ethernet (RJ45) | 10Gb Ethernet | 1 | 10 | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
| 3.5 mm audio | High-impedance headphone support | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available | Motherboard |
| AC power input | Not available | 1 | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available |
User-facing USB ports
2
2
User-facing USB-C ports
2
2
Rear USB ports
3
6
Thunderbolt
Yes
Yes
Ethernet speed
1Gbps
10Gbps
Discrete GPU output ports
0
Not available
Wireless
4 of 6 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Not available
Wi-Fi module
Not available
Not available
Wi-Fi antenna
Not available
Bluetooth
Ethernet controller
Not available
Not available
Camera and audio
1 of 5 differ
Webcam
Not available
Not available
Built-in speaker drivers
11Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121555Read 6 October 2026Audio section names a built-in speaker in the singular.10Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/121008Read 6 October 2026Exploded view item 10 lists one Speaker, part 923-10944, shared by the M4 and M4 Pro models. The M4 teardown removes one internal speaker with its acoustic chamber.23Reviewchargerlab.com/teardown-of-apple-m4-mac-mini-a3238Read 10 October 2026M4 (A3238) teardown removes the internal speaker, which is integrated with its acoustic chamber. The M4 Pro uses the same speaker part.
Total speaker power
Not available
Not available
Microphones
Not available
Audio features
3.5 mm headphone jack with support for high-impedance headphones, HDMI port with multichannel audio output1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121555Read 6 October 2026Audio section: built-in speaker, 3.5 mm headphone jack with advanced support for high-impedance headphones and HDMI multichannel audio output.
3.5 mm headphone jack with support for high-impedance headphones, HDMI port with multichannel audio output1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111900Read 13 October 2026Audio section: 3.5 mm headphone jack with advanced support for high-impedance headphones and an HDMI port with multichannel audio output.
Lighting
1 of 4 differ
RGB lighting
Not available
Lit parts
Not available
Not available
Lighting standard
Not available
Not available
Lighting software
Not available
Not available
Software
1 of 3 differ
Operating system
OS family
Control software
Not available
Not available
Upgradeability
1 of 4 differ
Proprietary parts
PSU, Fan connectors, Drive mounts10Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/121008Read 6 October 2026Power supply 661-43677, the fan with its flex cable and the SSD module 661-43672 for the 512 GB M4 Pro are Apple-only parts.17Owner's manualsupport.apple.com/en-us/121000Read 8 October 2026Fan procedure: the fan connects with a flat flex cable and a locking-lever connector, not a standard fan header.24Reviewifixit.com/News/104302/all-hail-the-return-of-upgradeable-storage-mac-mini-2024-teardownRead 10 October 2026Teardown of the M4 and M4 Pro: the SSD is non-standard and its proprietary format makes aftermarket upgrades tricky. The M4 Pro uses its own larger module. The power supply sits bare under the top face.
Max graphics card length
Not available
Not available
Max CPU cooler height
Not available
Not available
Warranty kept after upgrade
Not available
Not available
Measured performance
None of 8 known
Cinebench 2024 single-core
Not available
Not available
Cinebench 2024 multi-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench single-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench multi-core
Not available
Not available
3DMark Time Spy graphics
Not available
Not available
3DMark Steel Nomad
Not available
Not available
SSD sequential read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Game frame rates
Not available
Not available
Measured noise and temperature
None of 6 known
Fan noise per load
Not available
Not available
Highest measured fan noise
Not available
Not available
Measured fan noise at idle
Not available
Not available
CPU temperature in stress test
Not available
Not available
CPU clock in stress test
Not available
Not available
GPU temperature while gaming
Not available
Not available
Measured power
None of 6 known
Power draw idle
Not available
Not available
Power draw gaming
Not available
Not available
Power draw max
Not available
Not available
Power draw sleep or off
Not available
Not available
Sustained CPU power (measured)
Not available
Not available
GPU power while gaming (measured)
Not available
Not available
Certifications
2 of 5 differ
ENERGY STAR
Yes1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121555Read 6 October 2026Environment section states ENERGY STAR certified. The ENERGY STAR record 4513880 confirms the exact MCX44 12-core 24 GB configuration.7Certification listenergystar.gov/productfinder/product/certified-computers/details/4513880/export/pdfRead 6 October 2026
EPEAT
Copilot+ PC
Not available
Not available
Typical annual energy consumption (TEC)
Not available
Other certifications
SCS-108 Carbon Neutral Standard, 2024-10-01 to 2026-09-3012Maker spec sheet (PDF)apple.com/environment/pdf/products/desktops/Mac_mini_PER_Oct2024.pdfRead 6 October 2026The archived report holds certificate SCS-CN-10024 for Mac mini with M4 Pro, 24 GB memory and 512 GB SSD, the exact reference configuration. It validates the carbon neutral claim under SCS-108 for October 1, 2024 through September 30, 2026. The period has ended and no renewal is claimed.
Not available
In the box
1 of 2 differ
In the box
Mac mini, Power cord (1.8 m)1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/121555Read 6 October 2026
Included extras
Not available
Not available
Warranty
0 of 2 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Warranty service
Links
Not compared
Product page
Not available
Spec sheet
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Both are also in the API. Back to all desktop PCs.