Tablets / Compare
Apple iPad (9th generation) vs Apple iPad Air (5th generation)
Product A: Apple
93 of 168 known
Apple iPad (10th generation)
Apple iPad mini (6th generation)
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE+
Apple iPad Pro 11-inch (M2)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M3)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M2)
Google Pixel Tablet
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE+
Change Apple iPad (9th generation)
Compare the Apple iPad Air (5th generation) with
Apple iPad (10th generation)
Apple iPad mini (6th generation)
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE+
Apple iPad Pro 11-inch (M2)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M3)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M2)
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE+Product B: Apple
89 of 168 known
Change Apple iPad Air (5th generation)
Compare the Apple iPad (9th generation) with
61 of 160 fields differ
- 40 different values
- 21 known for one only
- 36 the same
- 63 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 101 tablets.
- BatteryA: 8,557mAhB: 7,600mAhiPad (9th generation) is 957 mAh higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AiPad (9th generation): 174.1 × 250.6 mm
- BiPad Air (5th generation): 178.5 × 247.6 mm
Weight
0 to 800 g
All 168 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
6 of 11 differ
Series
Model numbers
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Not available
Announced
Status
Predecessor
Apple iPad (8th generation)14Reviewwhathifi.com/advice/apple-ipad-9-2021-vs-ipad-8-2020-which-ipad-should-you-buyRead 23 October 2026What Hi-Fi says the ninth-generation iPad replaces the eighth-generation entry-level iPad.
Not available
Successor
Apple iPad (10th generation)15Press articlemacrumors.com/guide/ipad-9-vs-ipad-10Read 23 October 2026MacRumors calls the ninth-generation iPad the predecessor of the 10th-generation iPad, which Apple kept on sale beside it.16Press articlemacworld.com/article/1370887/ipad-10th-gen-vs-ipad-9th-gen-design-display-specs.htmlRead 23 October 2026Macworld says Apple updated its entry-level iPad with the 10th generation and calls the 9th generation its predecessor.
Launch price (US)
Launch price (EU)
Markets
US, EU, CN2Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/108043Read 10 October 2026CN from A2605, China mainland only4Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2021/09/apples-most-popular-ipad-delivers-even-more-performance-and-advanced-featuresRead 10 October 2026Order in 28 countries and regions, including the US5Press releaseapple.com/de/newsroom/2021/09/apples-most-popular-ipad-delivers-even-more-performance-and-advanced-featuresRead 10 October 2026EU from the German launch release
US, EU4Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2022/03/apple-introduces-the-most-powerful-and-versatile-ipad-air-everRead 10 October 2026Order in 29 countries and regions, including the US5Press releaseapple.com/de/newsroom/2022/03/apple-introduces-the-most-powerful-and-versatile-ipad-air-everRead 10 October 2026EU from the German launch release
Colours
Form factor
OS updates promised
Not available
Not available
Security updates promised
Not available
Not available
Security updates until
Not available
Not available
Body
4 of 11 differ
Height
Width
Thickness
Weight
Frame
Front
Not available
Not available
Back
Dust and water rating
Not available
Not available
MIL-STD-810
Not available
Not available
SIM
Built-in kickstand
Not available
Not available
Display
9 of 22 differ
Screen size
Resolution
Pixel density
264.7ppi
264.6ppi
Aspect ratio
Not available
Display type
Display type (as published)
Liquid Retina display1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026
Dimming zones
Not available
Not available
Refresh rate modes
AApple iPad (9th generation)
| Max (Hz) |
|---|
| 60 |
BApple iPad Air (5th generation)
Not availableMax refresh rate
60Hz
Not available
Min refresh rate
Not available
Not available
Brightness (typical, SDR)
Peak brightness
Not available
Not available
Full-screen HDR brightness
Not available
Not available
Contrast ratio
Not available
Not available
Colour depth
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage
Not available
Not available
HDR playback formats
Fully laminated
Anti-reflection coating
Not available
Antireflective coating, 1.8% reflectivity1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Antireflective coating. 1.8% reflectivity is Apple's own figure, not a measurement
Screen surface
Not available
Not available
Nano-texture option
Not available
Not available
PWM dimming frequency
Not available
Not available
Platform
8 of 11 differ
OS at launch
Software
Not available
Not available
Latest OS
Chipset
Process
CPU cores
CPU configuration
AApple iPad (9th generation)
| Count | Core | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | Lightning | 2.65 |
| 4 | Thunder | 1.8 |
BApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Count | Core |
|---|---|
| 4 | Performance |
| 4 | Efficiency |
Max CPU clock
2.65GHz
Not available
GPU
Apple GPU (4-core graphics)6Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2021)-11106.phpRead 10 October 2026Apple GPU (4-core graphics)
GPU cores
Memory
1 of 7 differ
RAM
RAM type
Not available
Not available
Memory bandwidth
Not available
Not available
Storage
Storage type
Not available
Not available
Memory card
Max card size
Not available
Not available
Rear cameras
4 of 9 differ
Rear cameras
AApple iPad (9th generation)
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Focal length (35 mm equivalent) (mm) | Pixel size (µm) | Autofocus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main | 8 | 2.4 | 31 | 1.12 | Autofocus, mechanism not stated |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111898Read 10 October 20268MP Wide camera, f/2.4 aperture, continuous autofocus video. Focal length and pixel size come from GSMArena6Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2021)-11106.phpRead 10 October 20268 MP, f/2.4, 31mm (standard), 1.12µm, AF
BApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Sensor size | Pixel size (µm) | Autofocus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main | 12 | 1.8 | 1/3.0" | 1.22 | PDAF |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 202612MP Wide camera, f/1.8 aperture, autofocus with Focus Pixels. Sensor size and pixel size come from GSMArena6Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_air_(2022)-11411.phpRead 10 October 202612 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/3.0", 1.22µm, dual pixel PDAF9Maker product pagedeveloper.apple.com/library/archive/documentation/DeviceInformation/Reference/iOSDeviceCompatibility/Cameras/Cameras.htmlRead 10 October 2026Focus Pixels section: dedicated focus pixels use phase detection. Supports the PDAF reading of Autofocus with Focus Pixels
Number of rear cameras
1
1
Main camera
8MP
12MP
Flash
Not available
Not available
Video recording
AApple iPad (9th generation)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 1920 | 1080 | 30 |
| 1280 | 720 | 120 |
BApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 3840 | 2160 | 60 |
| 1920 | 1080 | 240 |
| 1280 | 720 | 30 |
Max video resolution
1920 × 1080px
3840 × 2160px
Video HDR
Not available
Not available
Video formats
LiDAR scanner
Not available
Not available
Front camera
0 of 6 differ
Front cameras
AApple iPad (9th generation)
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Field of view |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ultrawide | 12 | 2.4 | 122° |
BApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Field of view |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ultrawide | 12 | 2.4 | 122° |
Front camera resolution (as published)
Not available
Not available
Front camera position
Auto framing
Front video
AApple iPad (9th generation)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 1920 | 1080 | 60 |
BApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 1920 | 1080 | 60 |
Front autofocus
Not available
Not available
Audio
3 of 6 differ
Number of speakers
21Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111898Read 10 October 2026Speakers section lists Stereo speakers. The count of two comes from the GSMArena review6Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2021)-11106.phpRead 10 October 2026Yes, with stereo speakers7Reviewm.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_2021-review-2328p2.phpRead 10 October 2026Stereo speakers, both on the bottom, so two
Not available
Speaker layout
Not available
Stereo speakers
Microphones
3.5 mm jack
Audio features
Not available
Not available
Network
5 of 9 differ
Cellular
Network
2G bands
Not available
Not available
3G bands
850 MHz, 900 MHz, 1700/2100 MHz, 1900 MHz, 2100 MHz1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111898Read 10 October 2026Model A2603 UMTS/HSPA bands
850 MHz, 900 MHz, 1700/2100 MHz, 1900 MHz, 2100 MHz1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Model A2589 UMTS/HSPA bands
4G bands
B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B11, B12, B13, B14, B17, B18, B19, B20, B21, B25, B26, B29, B30, B66, B71, B34, B38, B39, B40, B411Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111898Read 10 October 2026Model A2603 only. Apple lists no band table for A2604
B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B11, B12, B13, B14, B17, B18, B19, B20, B21, B25, B26, B28, B29, B30, B32, B66, B71, B34, B38, B39, B40, B41, B42, B46, B481Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Model A2589. FDD-LTE and TD-LTE lists combined
5G bands
Not available
n1, n2, n3, n5, n7, n8, n12, n20, n25, n28, n29, n30, n38, n40, n41, n48, n66, n71, n77, n78, n791Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Model A2589. 5G NR band list
5G mmWave
Not available
Max download speed
Not available
Modem
Not available
Not available
Connectivity
6 of 14 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Bluetooth
Bluetooth codecs
Not available
Not available
NFC
Positioning
Digital compass, Wi-Fi, iBeacon microlocation, GPS/GNSS, Cellular1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111898Read 10 October 2026All models: digital compass, Wi-Fi, iBeacon microlocation. Wi-Fi + Cellular models add GPS/GNSS and cellular
Digital compass, Wi-Fi, iBeacon microlocation, GPS/GNSS, Cellular1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026All models: digital compass, Wi-Fi, iBeacon microlocation. Wi-Fi + Cellular models add GPS/GNSS and cellular
Dual-band GNSS
Not available
Not available
Connector
USB ports
USB speed
Thunderbolt
Not available
Not available
Video out over USB
Max external display
External displays
Not available
Stylus
3 of 5 differ
Stylus
Compatible styluses
AApple iPad (9th generation)
| Name | Included |
|---|---|
| Apple Pencil (1st generation) | No |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111898Read 10 October 2026Display section: Supports Apple Pencil (1st generation). Not included4Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2021/09/apples-most-popular-ipad-delivers-even-more-performance-and-advanced-featuresRead 10 October 2026Apple Pencil (1st generation) sold separately, $99 (US)
BApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Name | Included | Tilt | Hover | Charging |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Pencil (2nd generation) | No | Not available | No | Magnetic, on the device |
| Apple Pencil (USB-C) | No | Yes | No | USB-C |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Apple Pencil (2nd generation) attaches to the magnetic connector. Apple Pencil (USB-C) charges over USB-C4Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2022/03/apple-introduces-the-most-powerful-and-versatile-ipad-air-everRead 10 October 2026Apple Pencil (2nd generation) with wireless charging and pairing11Maker product pageapple.com/apple-pencilRead 10 October 2026Apple Pencil (USB-C): tilt sensitivity, pairs and charges via USB-C. Hover is listed only for iPad Pro, iPad Air (M2 and later) and iPad mini (A17 Pro)
Pressure levels
Not available
Not available
Tilt support
Not available
Yes
Hover
Not available
No
Keyboard and accessories
2 of 4 differ
Accessory connector
Official keyboards
AApple iPad (9th generation)
| Name | Connection | Included |
|---|---|---|
| Smart Keyboard | Pogo pins | No |
BApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Name | Connection | Trackpad | Included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Magic Keyboard | Pogo pins | Yes | No |
| Smart Keyboard Folio | Pogo pins | Not available | No |
Keyboard with trackpad
Not available
Yes
Keyboard in box
No
No
Features and sensors
2 of 4 differ
Fingerprint
Face unlock
Not available
Not available
Sensors
Touch ID, Three-axis gyro, Accelerometer, Barometer, Ambient light sensor1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111898Read 10 October 2026Touch ID, three-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor
Touch ID, Three-axis gyro, Accelerometer, Barometer, Ambient light sensor1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Touch ID, three-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor
Extra buttons
Home button with Touch ID1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111898Read 10 October 2026Buttons and Connectors list: Home button/Touch ID
Not available
Battery and charging
2 of 13 differ
Battery capacity
8,557mAh6Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2021)-11106.phpRead 10 October 2026Li-Ion 8557 mAh (32.4 Wh). The mAh figure is the GSMArena value. It matches Apple's 32.4 Wh at about 3.79 V7Reviewm.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_2021-review-2328p2.phpRead 10 October 2026Battery 32.4 Wh or 8557 mAh, identical to the 8th generation
Battery capacity (typical)
Not available
Not available
Battery energy
Claimed battery life
AApple iPad (9th generation)
| Use case | Connection | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Web browsing | Wi-Fi | 10 |
| Video playback | Not available | 10 |
| Web browsing | Cellular | 9 |
BApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Use case | Connection | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Web browsing | Wi-Fi | 10 |
| Video playback | Not available | 10 |
| Web browsing | Cellular | 9 |
Video playback (claimed)
10h
10h
Wired charging
Not available
Not available
Wired charging standards
Not available
Not available
Charging guidance
Not available
Not available
Charge 0 to 50 %
Not available
Not available
Charge 0 to 100 %
Not available
Not available
Reverse wired
Not available
Not available
Charger in box
Measured
5 of 19 differ
Geekbench 6 single-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 multi-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 GPU
Not available
Not available
3DMark Wild Life Extreme
Not available
Not available
3DMark stress test stability
Not available
Not available
AnTuTu
617,292points9Measurementm.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_2021-review-2328p4.phpRead 10 October 2026AnTuTu 9 total score 617292, Metal. Wi-Fi 64 GB test unit with 3 GB RAM10Measurementm.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2021)-11106.phpRead 10 October 2026Our Tests: AnTuTu 617292 (v9)
Not available
Manual SDR brightness (measured)
513nits8Measurementm.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_2021-review-2328p3.phpRead 10 October 2026GSMArena display test at 100% brightness: white 513 cd/m2, black 0.457 cd/m2. GSMArena states there is no max auto mode beyond 513 nits. White area extent not stated10Measurementm.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2021)-11106.phpRead 10 October 2026Our Tests: 513 nits max brightness (measured)
Not available
Brightness with auto (measured)
Not available
Not available
HDR brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Contrast ratio (measured)
1,123:18Measurementm.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_2021-review-2328p3.phpRead 10 October 20261123:1 at 100% brightness, black 0.457 cd/m2, white 513 cd/m210Measurementm.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_10_2_(2021)-11106.phpRead 10 October 2026Our Tests: 1123:1 contrast ratio
Not available
Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
Not available
Not available
Reflections (measured)
Not available
Not available
PWM dimming (measured)
Not available
Not available
PWM up to brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Stylus latency (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery tests (measured)
Not available
Not available
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Loudspeaker loudness (measured)
Not available
EU label and regulatory
None of 7 known
EU energy class
Not available
Not available
Battery endurance per cycle (EU test)
Not available
Not available
Battery endurance in cycles (EU test)
Not available
Not available
Drop resistance class
Not available
Not available
Repairability class
Not available
Not available
SAR body (US)
Not available
Not available
SAR body (EU)
Not available
Not available
In the box
1 of 1 differ
In the box
iPad (9th generation), Lightning to USB-C Cable, 20W USB-C Power Adapter1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111898Read 10 October 2026
iPad Air (5th generation), USB-C Charge Cable (1 meter), 20W USB-C Power Adapter1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026
Links
Not compared
Product page
Not available
Not available
Spec sheet
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
0 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Both are also in the API. Back to all tablets.









