Tablets / Compare
Apple iPad Air (5th generation) vs Samsung Galaxy Tab S9
Product A: Apple
89 of 168 known
Change Apple iPad Air (5th generation)
Compare the Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 with
Product B: Samsung
101 of 168 known
Apple iPad (10th generation)
Apple iPad mini (6th generation)
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE+
Apple iPad Pro 11-inch (M2)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M3)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M2)
Google Pixel Tablet
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE
Apple iPad (9th generation)
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE+
Change Samsung Galaxy Tab S9
Compare the Apple iPad Air (5th generation) with
Apple iPad (10th generation)
Apple iPad mini (6th generation)
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE+
Apple iPad Pro 11-inch (M2)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M3)
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M2)
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE
Apple iPad (9th generation)
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE
Samsung Galaxy Tab S10 FE+98 of 160 fields differ
- 54 different values
- 44 known for one only
- 15 the same
- 47 missing for both
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- AApple: 178.5 × 247.6 mm
- BSamsung: 165.8 × 254.3 mm
Weight
0 to 800 g
All 168 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
10 of 11 differ
Series
Model numbers
GTIN / EAN
Not available
Not available
Announced
Status
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Launch price (US)
Launch price (EU)
Markets
US, EU4Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2022/03/apple-introduces-the-most-powerful-and-versatile-ipad-air-everRead 10 October 2026Order in 29 countries and regions, including the US5Press releaseapple.com/de/newsroom/2022/03/apple-introduces-the-most-powerful-and-versatile-ipad-air-everRead 10 October 2026EU from the German launch release
US, DE8Press articledroid-life.com/2023/07/26/galaxy-tab-s9-series-official-available-august-11-starting-at-799Read 10 October 2026US launch pricing article. Ships August 11 with pre-orders live right away.9Press articlemobiflip.de/shortnews/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-plus-ultra/ampRead 10 October 2026German price list with market start on August 11.
Colours
Form factor
OS updates promised
Not available
Security updates promised
Not available
Body
7 of 11 differ
Height
Width
Thickness
Weight
Frame
Aluminium1Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-sets-the-new-standard-to-bring-galaxys-premium-experience-to-a-tabletRead 10 October 2026Body reinforced with Armor Aluminum3Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 2026Glass front, aluminum frame, aluminum back
Front
Not available
Back
Dust and water rating
Not available
MIL-STD-810
Not available
Not available
SIM
Built-in kickstand
Not available
Not available
Display
15 of 22 differ
Screen size
Resolution
Pixel density
264.6ppi
274.4ppi
Aspect ratio
Not available
Display type
Display type (as published)
Liquid Retina display1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026
Dimming zones
Not available
Not available
Refresh rate modes
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
Not availableBSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Min (Hz) | Max (Hz) | Variable |
|---|---|---|
| 60 | 120 | Yes |
Max refresh rate
Not available
120Hz
Min refresh rate
Not available
60Hz
Brightness (typical, SDR)
Not available
Full-screen HDR brightness
Not available
Not available
Contrast ratio
Not available
Colour depth
Not available
Not available
DCI-P3 coverage
Not available
Not available
HDR playback formats
Fully laminated
Not available
Anti-reflection coating
Antireflective coating, 1.8% reflectivity1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Antireflective coating. 1.8% reflectivity is Apple's own figure, not a measurement
Not available
Screen surface
Not available
Not available
Nano-texture option
Not available
Not available
PWM dimming frequency
Not available
Not available
Platform
10 of 11 differ
OS at launch
Latest OS
Chipset
Process
CPU cores
CPU configuration
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Count | Core |
|---|---|
| 4 | Performance |
| 4 | Efficiency |
BSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Count | Core | Max clock (GHz) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cortex-X3 | 3.36 |
| 2 | Cortex-A715 | 2.8 |
| 2 | Cortex-A710 | 2.8 |
| 3 | Cortex-A510 | 2 |
Max CPU clock
Not available
3.36GHz
GPU
GPU cores
Not available
Memory
5 of 7 differ
RAM
RAM type
Not available
Not available
Memory bandwidth
Not available
Not available
Storage
Storage type
Not available
Memory card
Rear cameras
5 of 9 differ
Rear cameras
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Sensor size | Pixel size (µm) | Autofocus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main | 12 | 1.8 | 1/3.0" | 1.22 | PDAF |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 202612MP Wide camera, f/1.8 aperture, autofocus with Focus Pixels. Sensor size and pixel size come from GSMArena6Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/apple_ipad_air_(2022)-11411.phpRead 10 October 202612 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/3.0", 1.22µm, dual pixel PDAF9Maker product pagedeveloper.apple.com/library/archive/documentation/DeviceInformation/Reference/iOSDeviceCompatibility/Cameras/Cameras.htmlRead 10 October 2026Focus Pixels section: dedicated focus pixels use phase detection. Supports the PDAF reading of Autofocus with Focus Pixels
BSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Focal length (35 mm equivalent) (mm) | Sensor size | Pixel size (µm) | Autofocus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main | 13 | 2 | 26 | 1/3.4" | 1 | Autofocus, mechanism not stated |
Source1Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-sets-the-new-standard-to-bring-galaxys-premium-experience-to-a-tabletRead 10 October 202613MP AF rear camera3Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 202613 MP, f/2.0, 26mm (wide), 1/3.4", 1.0µm, AF. Focal length is the 35 mm equivalent as listed
Number of rear cameras
1
1
Main camera
12MP
13MP
Flash
Not available
Video recording
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 3840 | 2160 | 60 |
| 1920 | 1080 | 240 |
| 1280 | 720 | 30 |
BSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 3840 | 2160 | 30 |
Max video resolution
3840 × 2160px
3840 × 2160px
Video HDR
Not available
Not available
Video formats
Not available
LiDAR scanner
Not available
Not available
Front camera
4 of 6 differ
Front cameras
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Field of view |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ultrawide | 12 | 2.4 | 122° |
BSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Role | Resolution (MP) | Aperture (f/) | Field of view |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ultrawide | 12 | 2.4 | 120° |
Front camera resolution (as published)
Not available
Not available
Front camera position
Auto framing
Not available
Front video
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 1920 | 1080 | 60 |
BSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Width (px) | Height (px) | Max frame rate (fps) |
|---|---|---|
| 3840 | 2160 | 30 |
Front autofocus
Not available
Not available
Audio
4 of 6 differ
Number of speakers
Not available
41Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-sets-the-new-standard-to-bring-galaxys-premium-experience-to-a-tabletRead 10 October 2026Quad Stereo Speakers with Sound by AKG2Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 10 October 2026Page 5 layout diagram labels four speakers3Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 2026Yes, with stereo speakers (4 speakers)
Speaker layout
Not available
Quad1Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-sets-the-new-standard-to-bring-galaxys-premium-experience-to-a-tabletRead 10 October 2026Four speakers. Two on each short edge per the user manual layout2Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 10 October 2026Page 5 layout diagram shows two speakers on each short edge in landscape
Stereo speakers
Microphones
Not available
3.5 mm jack
No2Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 10 October 2026Page 5 labels a Headphone jack / Multipurpose jack (USB Type-C), which is the USB-C port. GSMArena lists no 3.5 mm jack3Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 20263.5mm jack: No
Audio features
Not available
Quad stereo speakers with sound by AKG, Dolby Atmos1Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-sets-the-new-standard-to-bring-galaxys-premium-experience-to-a-tabletRead 10 October 2026Quad Stereo Speakers with Sound by AKG, Dolby Atmos
Network
7 of 9 differ
Cellular
Network
2G bands
Not available
GSM 850, GSM 900, GSM 1800, GSM 19003Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 2026GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G bands
850 MHz, 900 MHz, 1700/2100 MHz, 1900 MHz, 2100 MHz1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Model A2589 UMTS/HSPA bands
HSDPA 850, HSDPA 900, HSDPA 1700(AWS), HSDPA 1900, HSDPA 21003Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 2026HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700(AWS) / 1900 / 2100
4G bands
B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B11, B12, B13, B14, B17, B18, B19, B20, B21, B25, B26, B28, B29, B30, B32, B66, B71, B34, B38, B39, B40, B41, B42, B46, B481Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Model A2589. FDD-LTE and TD-LTE lists combined
B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B12, B13, B17, B20, B25, B26, B28, B32, B38, B40, B41, B663Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 20261, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 20, 25, 26, 28, 32, 38, 40, 41, 66
5G bands
n1, n2, n3, n5, n7, n8, n12, n20, n25, n28, n29, n30, n38, n40, n41, n48, n66, n71, n77, n78, n791Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Model A2589. 5G NR band list
N1, N3, N5, N7, N8, N20, N28, N38, N40, N41, N66, N77, N783Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 20261, 3, 5, 7, 8, 20, 28, 38, 40, 41, 66, 77, 78 SA/NSA/Sub6
5G mmWave
Max download speed
Not available
Modem
Not available
Snapdragon X70 5G Modem-RF System11Maker spec sheet (PDF)qualcomm.com/content/dam/qcomm-martech/dm-assets/documents/Snapdragon-8-Gen-2-Product-Brief.pdfRead 10 October 2026Platform features the Snapdragon X70 5G Modem-RF System. Applies to the 5G model only (SM-X716B). The chip maker brief is not a Samsung statement.
Connectivity
7 of 14 differ
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi bands
Bluetooth
Bluetooth codecs
Not available
Not available
NFC
Positioning
Digital compass, Wi-Fi, iBeacon microlocation, GPS/GNSS, Cellular1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026All models: digital compass, Wi-Fi, iBeacon microlocation. Wi-Fi + Cellular models add GPS/GNSS and cellular
GPS, GALILEO, GLONASS, BDS, QZSS3Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 2026GPS, GALILEO, GLONASS, BDS, QZSS
Dual-band GNSS
Not available
Not available
Connector
USB ports
USB speed
Thunderbolt
Not available
Not available
Video out over USB
Max external display
Not available
External displays
Not available
Stylus
4 of 5 differ
Stylus
Compatible styluses
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Name | Included | Tilt | Hover | Charging |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Pencil (2nd generation) | No | Not available | No | Magnetic, on the device |
| Apple Pencil (USB-C) | No | Yes | No | USB-C |
Source1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Apple Pencil (2nd generation) attaches to the magnetic connector. Apple Pencil (USB-C) charges over USB-C4Press releaseapple.com/newsroom/2022/03/apple-introduces-the-most-powerful-and-versatile-ipad-air-everRead 10 October 2026Apple Pencil (2nd generation) with wireless charging and pairing11Maker product pageapple.com/apple-pencilRead 10 October 2026Apple Pencil (USB-C): tilt sensitivity, pairs and charges via USB-C. Hover is listed only for iPad Pro, iPad Air (M2 and later) and iPad mini (A17 Pro)
BSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Name | Included | Latency (claimed) (ms) |
|---|---|---|
| S Pen | Yes | 2.8 |
| S Pen Creator Edition | No | Not available |
Source1Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-sets-the-new-standard-to-bring-galaxys-premium-experience-to-a-tabletRead 10 October 2026S Pen included in the box and S Pen Creator Edition sold separately3Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 2026Stylus, 2.8ms latency. Latency as listed by GSMArena for the S Pen
Pressure levels
Not available
Not available
Tilt support
Yes
Not available
Hover
No
Not available
Keyboard and accessories
3 of 4 differ
Accessory connector
Official keyboards
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Name | Connection | Trackpad | Included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Magic Keyboard | Pogo pins | Yes | No |
| Smart Keyboard Folio | Pogo pins | Not available | No |
BSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Name | Backlit | Included |
|---|---|---|
| Book Cover Keyboard | No | No |
| Book Cover Keyboard Slim | Not available | No |
Keyboard with trackpad
Yes
Not available
Keyboard in box
No
No
Features and sensors
3 of 4 differ
Fingerprint
Optical, under-display1Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-sets-the-new-standard-to-bring-galaxys-premium-experience-to-a-tabletRead 10 October 2026Biometric Authentication: Fingerprint on Display (FOD)2Owner's manualorg.downloadcenter.samsung.com/downloadfile/ContentsFile.aspxRead 10 October 2026Page 5 labels a Fingerprint recognition sensor on the screen3Spec databasem.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s9-12439.phpRead 10 October 2026Fingerprint (under display, optical)
Sensors
Touch ID, Three-axis gyro, Accelerometer, Barometer, Ambient light sensor1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026Touch ID, three-axis gyro, accelerometer, barometer, ambient light sensor
Accelerometer, Fingerprint sensor, Gyro sensor, Geomagnetic sensor, Hall sensor, RGB light sensor6Maker product pagesamsung.com/uk/business/tablets/galaxy-tab-s/galaxy-tab-s9-wi-fi-graphite-128gb-sm-x710nzaaeubRead 10 October 2026Full specifications, Sensors: Accelerometer, Fingerprint Sensor, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, Hall Sensor, RGB Light Sensor.
Extra buttons
Not available
Not available
Battery and charging
9 of 13 differ
Battery capacity
Battery capacity (typical)
Not available
Battery energy
Not available
Claimed battery life
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
| Use case | Connection | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Web browsing | Wi-Fi | 10 |
| Video playback | Not available | 10 |
| Web browsing | Cellular | 9 |
BSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Use case | Connection | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Web browsing | Wi-Fi | 10 |
| Video playback | Not available | 15 |
| Audio playback | Not available | 149 |
Source6Maker product pagesamsung.com/uk/business/tablets/galaxy-tab-s/galaxy-tab-s9-wi-fi-graphite-128gb-sm-x710nzaaeubRead 10 October 2026Wi-Fi model: Internet Usage Time (Wi-Fi) up to 10 hours, Video Playback Time (Wireless) up to 15 hours, Audio Playback Time (Wireless) up to 149 hours. Brightness and test settings are not stated. The Wireless label does not name a connection, so it is left empty.7Maker product pagesamsung.com/uk/business/tablets/galaxy-tab-s/galaxy-tab-s9-5g-graphite-128gb-sm-x716bzaaeubRead 10 October 20265G model: Internet Usage Time (LTE) up to 10 hours, Wi-Fi up to 10 hours, Video Playback Time (Wireless) up to 15 hours, Audio Playback Time (Wireless) up to 149 hours.
Video playback (claimed)
10h
15h
Wired charging
Not available
Wired charging standards
Not available
Not available
Charging guidance
Not available
Not available
Charge 0 to 50 %
Not available
Not available
Charge 0 to 100 %
Not available
Not available
Charger in box
No1Press releasenews.samsung.com/global/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-sets-the-new-standard-to-bring-galaxys-premium-experience-to-a-tabletRead 10 October 2026Footnote: S Pen and USB Type-C cable are included inbox and other accessories are sold separately. No power adapter is listed. A cable is not an in-box charger. A distributor datasheet feed (Spanish, October 2025) ticks AC adapter included for SM-X710NZAEEUB, which conflicts with this list and with the unboxing source, so a human should check.13Reviewmynexttablet.com/samsung-galaxy-tab-s9-and-s9-unboxing-first-impressionsRead 10 October 2026Unboxing of the Galaxy Tab S9 and S9+: box holds the tablet, the S Pen, a USB-C to USB-C cable, a user manual and an eject tool, and a charger is not included. Wi-Fi or 5G and region are not stated.
Included charger
Not available
Measured
2 of 19 differ
Geekbench 6 single-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 multi-core
Not available
Not available
Geekbench 6 GPU
Not available
Not available
3DMark Wild Life Extreme
Not available
Not available
3DMark stress test stability
Not available
Not available
AnTuTu
Not available
Not available
Manual SDR brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Brightness with auto (measured)
Not available
Not available
HDR brightness (measured)
Not available
Contrast ratio (measured)
Not available
Not available
Colour accuracy (measured Delta E)
Not available
Not available
Reflections (measured)
Not available
Not available
PWM dimming (measured)
Not available
Not available
PWM up to brightness (measured)
Not available
Not available
Stylus latency (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery life (measured)
Not available
Not available
Battery tests (measured)
AApple iPad Air (5th generation)
Not availableBSamsung Galaxy Tab S9
| Test | Brightness (nits) | Hours (h) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | 150 | 9.1 |
Full charge time (measured)
Not available
Not available
Loudspeaker loudness (measured)
Not available
Not available
EU label and regulatory
1 of 7 differ
EU energy class
Not available
Not available
Battery endurance per cycle (EU test)
Not available
Not available
Battery endurance in cycles (EU test)
Not available
Not available
Drop resistance class
Not available
Not available
Repairability class
Not available
Not available
SAR body (US)
Not available
Not available
SAR body (EU)
Not available
In the box
1 of 1 differ
In the box
iPad Air (5th generation), USB-C Charge Cable (1 meter), 20W USB-C Power Adapter1Maker product pagesupport.apple.com/en-us/111887Read 10 October 2026
Links
Not compared
Product page
Not available
www.samsung.com/uk/business/tablets/galaxy-tab-s/galaxy-tab-s9-wi-fi-graphite-128gb-sm-x710nzaaeub6Maker product pagesamsung.com/uk/business/tablets/galaxy-tab-s/galaxy-tab-s9-wi-fi-graphite-128gb-sm-x710nzaaeubRead 10 October 2026Samsung UK business page for SM-X710NZAAEUB (Wi-Fi, 8 GB / 128 GB, Graphite).
Spec sheet
Not available
Manual
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
Both are also in the API. Back to all tablets.






