SSDs / Compare
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3) vs Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
Product A: Sandisk
20 of 63 known
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Western Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Kingston XS2000
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Samsung Portable SSD P7
LaCie Rugged SSD4
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Change Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)
Compare the Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD with
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Western Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Kingston XS2000
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Samsung Portable SSD P7
LaCie Rugged SSD4
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSDProduct B: Sandisk
30 of 63 known
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V2)
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD P7
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD P9
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
LaCie Rugged SSD4
Change Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
Compare the Sandisk Portable SSD (V3) with
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V2)
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD P7
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD P9
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
LaCie Rugged SSD424 of 55 fields differ
- 13 different values
- 11 known for one only
- 2 the same
- 29 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 84 SSDs.
- Read speedA: 1,000MB/sB: 3,000MB/sProfessional PRO-G40 SSD is 3 times higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- APortable SSD (V3): 45 × 10 mm
- BProfessional PRO-G40 SSD: 58 × 12 mm
Weight
0 to 150 g
All 63 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
5 of 9 differ
Series
Not available
Not available
Model numbers
SDSSDE31-500G-G25, SDSSDE31-1T00-G25, SDSSDE31-2T00-G251Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3Read 14 October 2026Model Numbers block lists SDSSDE31-500G-G25 (500GB), SDSSDE31-1T00-G25 (1TB) and SDSSDE31-2T00-G25 (2TB)
SDPS31H-001T-GBC1D, SDPS31H-002T-GBC1D, SDPS31H-004T-GBC1D, SDPS31H-001T-GBCND, SDPS31H-002T-GBCND1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Worldwide SKU table: SDPS31H-001T-GBC1D, SDPS31H-002T-GBC1D and SDPS31H-004T-GBC1D. The 2022 launch part numbers SDPS31H-001T-GBCND and SDPS31H-002T-GBCND come from Tom's Hardware's spec table. The sheet also lists China SKUs ending ZBC1D, which are not stored
GTIN / EAN
619659234171, 619659232498, 6196592325048Retailer pagevideoguys.com/products/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3-500gbRead 14 October 2026Page data lists GTIN 619659234171 and manufacturer part number SDSSDE31-500G-G25 for the 500GB9Retailer pagevideoguys.com/products/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3-1tbRead 14 October 2026Page data lists GTIN 619659232498 and manufacturer part number SDSSDE31-1T00-G25 for the 1TB. Lambda-Tek lists the matching EAN 061965923249810Retailer pagevideoguys.com/products/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3-2tbRead 14 October 2026Page data lists GTIN 619659232504 and manufacturer part number SDSSDE31-2T00-G25 for the 2TB11Retailer pagelambda-tek.com/SanDisk-SDSSDE31-1T00-G25-sh/B52778774Read 14 October 2026Lists the 1TB SDSSDE31-1T00-G25 with EAN code 0619659232498, which is the UPC 619659232498 with a leading zero
Announced
Status
Predecessor
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)13Press articlenotebookcheck.com/Sandisk-E31-Kompakte-SSD-mit-bis-zu-2-TB-und-drei-Jahren-Garantie-startet-weltweit.1403869.0.htmlRead 21 October 2026Notebookcheck article of 20 September 2026 calls the drive about 8 g lighter than its predecessor (33.2 g against 40 g), about 200 MB/s faster (1,000 against 800 MB/s) and says a fixed eyelet replaces the predecessor's rubber hook. Those values match the SanDisk Portable SSD (E30) with the G26 model numbers. The article also says the starting price is 100 US dollars and names no controller, flash or write speed
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
From $299.991Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 20263Press releasewesterndigital.com/de-at/company/newsroom/press-releases/2022/2022-10-05-western-digital-turbocharges-versatility-with-new-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssdRead 15 October 20264Press articlestoragereview.com/review/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-reviewRead 15 October 20265Press articlecomputerbase.de/2022-10/sandisk-professional-externe-pro-g40-ssd-ist-schnell-und-teuerRead 15 October 20266Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 20267Measurementtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-review/3Read 15 October 20268Measurementtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-review/2Read 15 October 2026
Launch price (EU)
Not available
From €4711Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 20263Press releasewesterndigital.com/de-at/company/newsroom/press-releases/2022/2022-10-05-western-digital-turbocharges-versatility-with-new-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssdRead 15 October 20264Press articlestoragereview.com/review/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-reviewRead 15 October 20265Press articlecomputerbase.de/2022-10/sandisk-professional-externe-pro-g40-ssd-ist-schnell-und-teuerRead 15 October 20266Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 20267Measurementtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-review/3Read 15 October 20268Measurementtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-review/2Read 15 October 2026
Markets
Not available
Not available
Form factor
External1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3Read 14 October 2026Product category External SSD, USB-C connector2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Form factor row reads External SSD, Portable SSD
Capacity
500 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3Read 14 October 2026Capacity options 500GB, 1TB and 2TB. Footnote says 1GB equals 1,000,000,000 bytes and 1TB equals 1,000,000,000,000 bytes2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Available capacities 2TB, 1TB, 500GB
Interface
2 of 5 differ
Interface
USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps)1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3Read 14 October 2026Interface row reads USB 3.2 Gen 22Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps)4Press articleguru3d.com/story/sandisk-e31-portable-ssd-offers-1gb-s-reads-and-2tb-capacityRead 14 October 2026Spec table reads USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C at 10Gbps
PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
PCIe lanes
Not available
Not available
NVMe version
Not available
Not available
Hardware
5 of 7 differ
Controller
Not available
Sandisk in-house6Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026Spec table row Controller reads SanDisk Proprietary, written as Sandisk in-house like the Optimus GX PRO 850X. Text: the SSD inside is the SN750E, with the same controller as the WD Red SN700. The review tested the 2022 launch drive. No teardown of a GBC1D drive was found. Bridge chips: Intel Titan Ridge JHL7440 for Thunderbolt 3 and the ASMedia ASM2362 for USB 3.2 Gen 2. TheSSDReview names the same chips9Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-thunderbolt-3-dual-mode-portable-ssd-review-unbelievable-3-1gb-s-data-transfer-speedsRead 15 October 2026The review could not open the case. It says the drive uses a SanDisk SN750e M.2 SSD with an Intel JHL7440 Thunderbolt 3 controller and an ASMedia ASM2362 USB 3.2 controller
Flash type
Not available
Flash memory
Not available
Flash layers
Not available
DRAM cache
Not available
DRAM cache size
Not available
Not available
Component sides
Not available
Not available
Performance
2 of 4 differ
Sequential read (claimed)
1,000MB/s1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3Read 14 October 2026Sequential Read Performance row reads up to 1000MB/s on all three capacities. Footnote says up to 1000 MB/s read speed, write speed lower, from internal testing. The maker states no write speed2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Data transfer rates row reads up to 1000 MB/s read, with no write figure. Footnote 2 says write speed is lower3Press releasesandisk.com/company/newsroom/press-releases/2026/2026-02-24-sandisk-introduces-next-generation-portable-ssd-portfolio-to-support-faster-more-demanding-workflows-and-ai-developed-contentRead 14 October 2026Says read speeds of up to 1,000MB/s for 1TB and 2TB models and projected for 500GB
Sequential write (claimed)
Not available
Random 4K read (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K write (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Endurance and reliability
1 of 3 differ
Endurance (TBW)
Not available
Not available
MTBF or MTTF (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Operating temperature
Power
None of 6 known
Power while reading (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Power while writing (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Max power consumption (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Average power in light use (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Sleep power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Measured
None of 9 known
Sequential read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Sequential write (measured)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K read at queue depth 1 (measured)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K write at queue depth 1 (measured)
Not available
Not available
Write cache size (measured)
Not available
Not available
Write speed after the cache (measured)
Not available
Not available
3DMark Storage Benchmark
Not available
Not available
Highest temperature under load (measured)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (measured)
Not available
Not available
Cooling and build
2 of 4 differ
Heatsink
Not available
Not available
RGB lighting
Not available
Not available
Dust and water rating
Not available
Drop test height
2m1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3Read 14 October 2026Text says drop protection up to 2 meters, based on internal testing. The surface is not stated2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Durability row reads drop protection up to 2-meters, based on internal testing3Press releasesandisk.com/company/newsroom/press-releases/2026/2026-02-24-sandisk-introduces-next-generation-portable-ssd-portfolio-to-support-faster-more-demanding-workflows-and-ai-developed-contentRead 14 October 2026Says the Portable SSD is projected to have drop protection of up to two meters
3m1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Key features: up to 3m drop protection, footnote 3 based on internal testing. The surface is not stated in the sheet. The 2022 press release says the drop was onto a carpeted concrete floor3Press releasewesterndigital.com/de-at/company/newsroom/press-releases/2022/2022-10-05-western-digital-turbocharges-versatility-with-new-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssdRead 15 October 2026Footnote says the 3m drop was tested on a carpeted concrete floor. Launch speeds in the release were up to 2700MB/s read and 1900MB/s write over Thunderbolt 3
Security and software
1 of 2 differ
Security
Not available
Not available
Software
Compatibility
1 of 1 differ
Platforms
Windows, macOS, Android, iOS, iPadOS1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3Read 14 October 2026Compatibility block reads Android 13+, iPadOS 15+, macOS 13+ and Windows 10+. The data sheet adds iOS 15+ with the Sandisk app and iPadOS 15+ with the Files app2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026System compatibility row reads macOS 13+, Windows 10+, Android 13+, iOS 15+ (with Sandisk App) and iPadOS 15+ (with Files App)
Dimensions and weight
2 of 2 differ
Dimensions
Length85Width45Height10mm(3.3 × 1.8 × 0.4 in)2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Product dimensions row reads 45 x 85 x 10 mm (1.77 x 3.35 x 0.39 in), so length 85, width 45 and height 10
Length111Width58Height12mm(4.4 × 2.3 × 0.5 in)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Size (LxWxH) row: 4.36 x 2.28 x 0.47 in | 111 x 58 x 12 mm. The store page prints 4.37 x 2.28 x 0.47 in
Weight
In the box
2 of 2 differ
In the box
PRO-G40 SSD, Thunderbolt 3 (40Gbps) Cable, Quick Start Guide1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Box contents row: PRO-G40 SSD, Thunderbolt 3 (40Gbps) Cable and Quick Start Guide
Cables included
ASandisk Portable SSD (V3)
Not availableBSandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
| Type | Length (m) | Count |
|---|---|---|
| USB-C to USB-C | 0.2 | 1 |
Source6Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026Text: a relatively short 20cm (about 8 inch) USB Type-C to Type-C cable. TheSSDReview also says 20cm / 8 inch9Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-thunderbolt-3-dual-mode-portable-ssd-review-unbelievable-3-1gb-s-data-transfer-speedsRead 15 October 2026Comes with a 20cm / 8 inch Thunderbolt 3 cable
Links
Not compared
Product page
www.sandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v31Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3Read 14 October 2026One product page for the 500GB, 1TB and 2TB capacities
www.sandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd2Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssdRead 15 October 2026SanDisk US product page for the PRO-G40 SSD with a capacity picker for 1TB, 2TB and 4TB. Its spec table repeats the data sheet: up to 3000MB/s read and 2500MB/s write, Thunderbolt 3 and USB 3.2 Gen 2, 5-year limited warranty and the GBC1D part numbers
Spec sheet
documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdf2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Two-page data sheet, PDF created 13 April 2026
documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdf1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Two-page SanDisk data sheet for the PRO-G40 SSD, PDF created 2023-12-01, on documents.sandisk.com. It lists 1TB, 2TB and 4TB with the GBC1D part numbers
Manual
Not available
Not available
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
1 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
3years1Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-portable-ssd-v3Read 14 October 20263-Year Limited Warranty on every capacity2Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk/product/portable-drives/portable-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-portable-ssd.pdfRead 14 October 2026Limited warranty 3 years, details at sandisk.com/wug3Press releasesandisk.com/company/newsroom/press-releases/2026/2026-02-24-sandisk-introduces-next-generation-portable-ssd-portfolio-to-support-faster-more-demanding-workflows-and-ai-developed-contentRead 14 October 2026Three-year limited warranty for 500GB, 1TB and 2TB