SSDs / Compare
Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD vs Western Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD
Product A: Sandisk
30 of 63 known
Kingston XS2000
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD (V3)
LaCie Rugged SSD4
Change Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
Compare the Western Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD with
Kingston XS2000
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO
Lexar ES3 Portable SSD
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD (V3)
LaCie Rugged SSD4Product B: Western Digital
27 of 63 known
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Kingston XS2000
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Samsung Portable SSD P7
LaCie Rugged SSD4
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)
Change Western Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD
Compare the Sandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD with
Samsung Portable SSD T7 Shield
Samsung Portable SSD T9
Sandisk Extreme Portable SSD (V3)
Kingston XS2000
Sandisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4
Samsung Portable SSD P7
LaCie Rugged SSD4
CORSAIR EX400U SURVIVOR
Sandisk Portable SSD (E30)
Samsung Portable SSD T7
Lexar ES5 Magnetic Portable SSD
Sandisk Portable SSD (V3)23 of 55 fields differ
- 17 different values
- 6 known for one only
- 5 the same
- 27 missing for both
Biggest differences
Each bar uses the scale of all 84 SSDs.
- Read speedA: 3,000MB/sB: 2,000MB/sSandisk is 1,000 MB/s higher.
- Write speedA: 2,500MB/sB: 2,000MB/sSandisk is 500 MB/s higher.
Size, drawn to scale
Front and side.
- ASandisk: 58 × 12 mm
- BWestern Digital: 50.8 × 13 mm
Weight
0 to 150 g
All 63 fields
Every value links to where we found it.


General
6 of 9 differ
Series
Not available
Model numbers
SDPS31H-001T-GBC1D, SDPS31H-002T-GBC1D, SDPS31H-004T-GBC1D, SDPS31H-001T-GBCND, SDPS31H-002T-GBCND1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Worldwide SKU table: SDPS31H-001T-GBC1D, SDPS31H-002T-GBC1D and SDPS31H-004T-GBC1D. The 2022 launch part numbers SDPS31H-001T-GBCND and SDPS31H-002T-GBCND come from Tom's Hardware's spec table. The sheet also lists China SKUs ending ZBC1D, which are not stored
WDBAWY5000ABK-WESN, WDBAWY0010BBK-WESN, WDBAWY0020BBK-WESN1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026Specifications list WDBAWY0010BBK-WESN (1TB) and WDBAWY0020BBK-WESN (2TB). The 500GB number WDBAWY5000ABK-WESN comes from the data sheet family code and retailer listings. The last part is a region code
GTIN / EAN
619659189235, 6196591892421Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026The page's offer data carries UPC 619659189235 for 1TB WDBAWY0010BBK-WESN and 619659189242 for 2TB WDBAWY0020BBK-WESN. Both pass the UPC check digit. No code was found for the 500GB7Retailer pageoffice-partner.de/wd-blacktm-p40-game-drive-ssd-2-tb-24324822Read 15 October 2026EAN 0619659189242 for the 2TB WDBAWY0020BBK-WESN, which is UPC 619659189242, the same as the maker page's offer data
Announced
Status
Available1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026The page says the product is no longer available on Sandisk.com and points to support pages, so the maker no longer sells it in its own store. Retailers still list it. Stored as available since the drive is still listed at retail, but the stock is not confirmed8Retailer pageamazon.com/WD_BLACK-1TB-Game-Drive-WDBAWY0010BBK-WESN/dp/B09ZRD38D8Read 15 October 2026Amazon US listing for the 1TB WDBAWY0010BBK-WESN is live and sold by a third-party seller. The page did not show stock or price in the text that could be read, so availability is not confirmed
Predecessor
Not available
Not available
Successor
Not available
Not available
Launch price (US)
From $299.991Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 20263Press releasewesterndigital.com/de-at/company/newsroom/press-releases/2022/2022-10-05-western-digital-turbocharges-versatility-with-new-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssdRead 15 October 20264Press articlestoragereview.com/review/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-reviewRead 15 October 20265Press articlecomputerbase.de/2022-10/sandisk-professional-externe-pro-g40-ssd-ist-schnell-und-teuerRead 15 October 20266Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 20267Measurementtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-review/3Read 15 October 20268Measurementtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-review/2Read 15 October 2026
From $119.991Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 20262Maker spec sheet (PDF)doc.moyo.ua/13913916_1675069326.pdfRead 15 October 20263Press releasestoragereview.com/news/western-digital-announces-new-wd_black-gaming-ssdsRead 15 October 20267Retailer pageoffice-partner.de/wd-blacktm-p40-game-drive-ssd-2-tb-24324822Read 15 October 2026
Launch price (EU)
From €4711Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 20263Press releasewesterndigital.com/de-at/company/newsroom/press-releases/2022/2022-10-05-western-digital-turbocharges-versatility-with-new-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssdRead 15 October 20264Press articlestoragereview.com/review/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-reviewRead 15 October 20265Press articlecomputerbase.de/2022-10/sandisk-professional-externe-pro-g40-ssd-ist-schnell-und-teuerRead 15 October 20266Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 20267Measurementtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-review/3Read 15 October 20268Measurementtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-review/2Read 15 October 2026
Not available
Markets
Not available
Not available
Form factor
Capacity
500 GB, 1 TB, 2 TB1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026Specifications list 1TB and 2TB. The data sheet adds 500GB. The data sheet says 1TB is 1 trillion bytes2Maker spec sheet (PDF)doc.moyo.ua/13913916_1675069326.pdfRead 15 October 2026Western Digital data sheet 02-00-WW-04-00066-AA00 dated June 2022, copied on a Ukrainian retailer's document host. The data sheet link on WD's own page now returns 404. Capacities 500GB, 1TB and 2TB. Its model lines repeat WDBAWY5000ABK for the 2TB, which is a typo4Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/wd_black-p40-game-drive-portable-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026Review of 5 November 2022 lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB. CrystalDiskInfo shows an SN560 NVMe SSD inside with NVMe 1.4 and TRIM
Interface
1 of 5 differ
Interface
PCIe generation
Not available
Not available
PCIe lanes
Not available
Not available
NVMe version
Not available
Not available
Detachable cable
Yes1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026A separate Type-C to Type-C cable is in the box4Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/wd_black-p40-game-drive-portable-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026Box has a Type-C to Type-C cable, a Type-C to Type-A adapter, a user manual and a PS5 folded sheet. The review says the cable is 2 feet, which conflicts with 30 cm in two other reviews, so no cable length comes from it
Hardware
4 of 7 differ
Controller
Sandisk in-house6Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026Spec table row Controller reads SanDisk Proprietary, written as Sandisk in-house like the Optimus GX PRO 850X. Text: the SSD inside is the SN750E, with the same controller as the WD Red SN700. The review tested the 2022 launch drive. No teardown of a GBC1D drive was found. Bridge chips: Intel Titan Ridge JHL7440 for Thunderbolt 3 and the ASMedia ASM2362 for USB 3.2 Gen 2. TheSSDReview names the same chips9Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-thunderbolt-3-dual-mode-portable-ssd-review-unbelievable-3-1gb-s-data-transfer-speedsRead 15 October 2026The review could not open the case. It says the drive uses a SanDisk SN750e M.2 SSD with an Intel JHL7440 Thunderbolt 3 controller and an ASMedia ASM2362 USB 3.2 controller
Not available
Flash type
Flash memory
Flash layers
DRAM cache
DRAM cache size
Not available
Not available
Component sides
Not available
Not available
Performance
2 of 4 differ
Sequential read (claimed)
2,000MB/s1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026Sequential read 2000MB/s for 1TB and 2TB. Footnote on the data sheet: based on internal testing, 1 MB/s is 1 million bytes per second, performance varies by host2Maker spec sheet (PDF)doc.moyo.ua/13913916_1675069326.pdfRead 15 October 2026Sequential read 2,000MB/s for 500GB, 1TB and 2TB. Footnote: based on internal testing
Sequential write (claimed)
2,000MB/s1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026Sequential write 2000MB/s for 1TB and 2TB2Maker spec sheet (PDF)doc.moyo.ua/13913916_1675069326.pdfRead 15 October 2026Sequential write 2TB 2,000MB/s, 1TB 2,000MB/s, 500GB 1,950MB/s
Random 4K read (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K write (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Endurance and reliability
1 of 3 differ
Endurance (TBW)
Not available
Not available
MTBF or MTTF (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Operating temperature
Power
None of 6 known
Power while reading (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Power while writing (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Max power consumption (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Average power in light use (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Sleep power (claimed)
Not available
Not available
Measured
None of 9 known
Sequential read (measured)
Not available
Not available
Sequential write (measured)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K read at queue depth 1 (measured)
Not available
Not available
Random 4K write at queue depth 1 (measured)
Not available
Not available
Write cache size (measured)
Not available
Not available
Write speed after the cache (measured)
Not available
Not available
3DMark Storage Benchmark
Not available
Not available
Highest temperature under load (measured)
Not available
Not available
Idle power (measured)
Not available
Not available
Cooling and build
3 of 4 differ
Heatsink
Not available
Not available
RGB lighting
Not available
Yes1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026Page says the RGB lighting is customised with the downloadable WD_BLACK Dashboard3Press releasestoragereview.com/news/western-digital-announces-new-wd_black-gaming-ssdsRead 15 October 2026Release names customizable RGB lighting, Windows only
Dust and water rating
Not available
Drop test height
3m1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Key features: up to 3m drop protection, footnote 3 based on internal testing. The surface is not stated in the sheet. The 2022 press release says the drop was onto a carpeted concrete floor3Press releasewesterndigital.com/de-at/company/newsroom/press-releases/2022/2022-10-05-western-digital-turbocharges-versatility-with-new-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssdRead 15 October 2026Footnote says the 3m drop was tested on a carpeted concrete floor. Launch speeds in the release were up to 2700MB/s read and 1900MB/s write over Thunderbolt 3
2m1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026Shock-resistant structure that can survive a drop of up to two meters. The surface is not stated2Maker spec sheet (PDF)doc.moyo.ua/13913916_1675069326.pdfRead 15 October 2026Can survive a drop of up to two meters
Security and software
1 of 2 differ
Security
Not available
Not available
Compatibility
1 of 1 differ
Platforms
Windows, macOS, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026Compatibility lists PlayStation 5 (play and store PS4 games, archive PS5 games), Xbox Series X|S (play and store Xbox One games, archive optimized games), PS4 Pro or PS4 with system software 4.50 or higher, Xbox One, Windows 10 and 8.1 and macOS 10.11+. The data sheet adds Windows 112Maker spec sheet (PDF)doc.moyo.ua/13913916_1675069326.pdfRead 15 October 2026PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, PS4 Pro or PS4, Xbox One, Windows 11, 10, 8.1 and macOS 10.11+
Dimensions and weight
2 of 2 differ
Dimensions
Length111Width58Height12mm(4.4 × 2.3 × 0.5 in)1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Size (LxWxH) row: 4.36 x 2.28 x 0.47 in | 111 x 58 x 12 mm. The store page prints 4.37 x 2.28 x 0.47 in
Length106.98Width50.82Height13mm(4.2 × 2 × 0.5 in)1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026Page prints 4.21 x 2 x 0.51 in. The data sheet gives 106.98 x 50.82 x 13.00 mm2Maker spec sheet (PDF)doc.moyo.ua/13913916_1675069326.pdfRead 15 October 2026Length 106.98 mm, width 50.82 mm, height 13.00 mm6Reviewtechradar.com/gaming/wd-black-p40-game-drive-reviewRead 15 October 2026Spec table reads 4.2 x 2 x 0.51 in / 106.98 x 50.82 x 13 mm, the same as the data sheet
Weight
78.5g(2.8 oz)1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 202678.5gms for both capacities2Maker spec sheet (PDF)doc.moyo.ua/13913916_1675069326.pdfRead 15 October 202678.5 g5Reviewblog.kowatek.comRead 15 October 202679 grams without cable, which matches the data sheet's 78.5 g
In the box
2 of 2 differ
In the box
PRO-G40 SSD, Thunderbolt 3 (40Gbps) Cable, Quick Start Guide1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Box contents row: PRO-G40 SSD, Thunderbolt 3 (40Gbps) Cable and Quick Start Guide
WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD, USB Type-C to Type-C cable, USB Type-C to Type-A cable, Quick Install Guide1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026In The Box: WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD, USB Type-C to Type-C cable, USB Type-C to Type-A cable, Quick Install Guide. Reviewers call the Type-A item an adapter that clips to the Type-C cable
Cables included
ASandisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD
| Type | Length (m) | Count |
|---|---|---|
| USB-C to USB-C | 0.2 | 1 |
Source6Reviewtomshardware.com/reviews/sandisk-pro-g40-ssd-reviewRead 15 October 2026Text: a relatively short 20cm (about 8 inch) USB Type-C to Type-C cable. TheSSDReview also says 20cm / 8 inch9Reviewthessdreview.com/hardware/portable-ssds/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-thunderbolt-3-dual-mode-portable-ssd-review-unbelievable-3-1gb-s-data-transfer-speedsRead 15 October 2026Comes with a 20cm / 8 inch Thunderbolt 3 cable
BWestern Digital WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD
| Type | Length (m) | Count |
|---|---|---|
| USB-C to USB-C | 0.3 | 1 |
Source5Reviewblog.kowatek.comRead 15 October 2026Table reads a 30cm USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 Type-C to Type-C cable and a Type-C to Type-A adapter, 33 cm in total. TechRadar says an 11in / 300mm Type-C cable. The Type-A item is not stored as a cable because the review calls it an adapter6Reviewtechradar.com/gaming/wd-black-p40-game-drive-reviewRead 15 October 2026Says the drive connects through a Type-C port with an included 11in / 300mm Type-C cable and a Type-A to Type-C adapter
Links
Not compared
Product page
www.sandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd2Maker product pagesandisk.com/products/ssd/external-ssd/sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssdRead 15 October 2026SanDisk US product page for the PRO-G40 SSD with a capacity picker for 1TB, 2TB and 4TB. Its spec table repeats the data sheet: up to 3000MB/s read and 2500MB/s write, Thunderbolt 3 and USB 3.2 Gen 2, 5-year limited warranty and the GBC1D part numbers
www.westerndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssd1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 2026WD_BLACK P40 page on westerndigital.com, now served by Sandisk (page title WD_BLACK P40 Game Drive SSD | Sandisk). The page lists the 1TB and 2TB only
Spec sheet
documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdf1Maker spec sheet (PDF)documents.sandisk.com/content/dam/asset-library/en_us/assets/public/sandisk-pro/product/portable-drives/pro-g40-ssd/data-sheet-sandisk-professional-pro-g40-ssd.pdfRead 15 October 2026Two-page SanDisk data sheet for the PRO-G40 SSD, PDF created 2023-12-01, on documents.sandisk.com. It lists 1TB, 2TB and 4TB with the GBC1D part numbers
Not available
Manual
Not available
Not available
EPREL registration number
Not available
Not available
Warranty
0 of 1 differ
Manufacturer warranty (source market)
5years1Maker product pagewesterndigital.com/products/portable-drives/wd-black-p40-game-drive-ssdRead 15 October 20265-Year Limited Warranty. The data sheet points to support.wdc.com for regional terms2Maker spec sheet (PDF)doc.moyo.ua/13913916_1675069326.pdfRead 15 October 20265 years, see support.wdc.com for regional terms