TV and audio / Earbuds

SonyMusic earbuds
LinkBuds Clip
Released January 2026.2Press releasesony.mediaroom.com/2026-01-21-Sony-Electronics-Unveils-LinkBuds-Clip-Open-EarbudsRead 13 October 2026Announced Jan. 21, 2026 and available now in the US on that date. Japan retail from February 6, 2026 per kakaku.com. Month 2026-01 follows the US availability. Last checked 16 October 2026.
- Form factor
- Open-ear
- ANC
- No
- Battery life
- 9h
- With case
- 37h
66 of 166 fields known.
General
- Model numbers
- WF-LC900, YY2999, WFLC900/B, WFLC900B.UC1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Cover page: Model YY2999. Support page and parts list name WF-LC900.4Retailer pageworldwidestereo.com/products/sony-linkbuds-clip-truly-wireless-open-earbuds-blackRead 13 October 2026Retailer model WFLC900/B. SoundGuys lists WFLC900B.UC for the same black US model.8Reviewsoundguys.com/sony-linkbuds-clip-review-152048Read 13 October 2026Spec table: model number WFLC900B.UC (black, US).
- GTIN / EAN
- 0272429340544Retailer pageworldwidestereo.com/products/sony-linkbuds-clip-truly-wireless-open-earbuds-blackRead 13 October 2026UPC 027242934054 for model WFLC900/B (black).
- Announced
- 21 January 20262Press releasesony.mediaroom.com/2026-01-21-Sony-Electronics-Unveils-LinkBuds-Clip-Open-EarbudsRead 13 October 2026Sony Electronics release dated Jan. 21, 2026.
- Predecessor
- Not available
- Successor
- Not available
- Markets
- US, GB, EU, AU, JP6Spec databasekakaku.com/item/K0001765684/specRead 13 October 2026Sold in Japan.7Reviewt3.com/tech/earbuds/sony-linkbuds-clip-reviewRead 13 October 2026Sold at Sony UK, US, EU and AU. Japan from kakaku.com. Tom's Guide lists Bluetooth 4.3, which conflicts with Sony and SoundGuys and is not used.
Design
Drivers and sound
- Drivers per bud
Type Diameter (mm) Count per earbud Dynamic 10 1 Source4Retailer pageworldwidestereo.com/products/sony-linkbuds-clip-truly-wireless-open-earbuds-blackRead 13 October 2026Driver unit 10.0 mm. Headphone type open air. Driver kind from T3 below.6Spec databasekakaku.com/item/K0001765684/specRead 13 October 2026Driver unit 10 mm (Japanese model WF-LC900 black). Sales date February 6, 2026 in Japan.7Reviewt3.com/tech/earbuds/sony-linkbuds-clip-reviewRead 13 October 2026- Driver type
- Dynamic7Reviewt3.com/tech/earbuds/sony-linkbuds-clip-reviewRead 13 October 2026Review text: 10 mm dynamic drivers.
- Driver size
- 10mm
- Drivers per bud
- 1
- Diaphragm material
- Not available
- Frequency response
- Not available
- Impedance
- Not available
- Sensitivity
- Not available
- Sensitivity reference
- Not available
- Max sample rate
- Not available
- Max bit depth
- Not available
- Adaptive EQ
- Not available
- Personalised sound
- Not available
- Onboard EQ
- Not available
- EQ presets
- Not available
- Volume limit
- Not available
Spatial audio
- Spatial audio
- 360 Reality Audio1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Sound Connect app lists 360 Reality Audio Setup. About 360 Reality Audio page describes the conditions of use.
- Head tracking
- Not available
Noise cancelling
- Active noise cancelling
- No8Reviewsoundguys.com/sony-linkbuds-clip-review-152048Read 13 October 2026FAQ: no noise cancellation. Review: no noise cancelation feature.
- ANC type
- Not available
- ANC microphones in both earbuds
- Not available
- Adaptive ANC
- Not available
- ANC levels
- Not available
- ANC attenuation (claimed)
- Not available
- Transparency mode
- Not available
- Adjustable transparency
- Not available
- Automatic ANC and transparency blend
- Not available
- Conversation detection
- Not available
- Wind noise reduction
- Not available
Measured
- Frequency response notes (measured)
- Not available
- Bass amount (measured)
- Not available
- Treble amount (measured)
- Not available
- Deviation from target (measured)
- Not available
- Consistency between fittings (measured)
- Not available
- Harmonic distortion (measured)
- Not available
- Sound leakage (measured)
- Not available
- Noise isolation (measured)
- Not available
- Noise isolation, best (measured)
- Not available
- Passive isolation (measured)
- Not available
- Call quality notes (measured)
- Not available
- Mic low-frequency extension (measured)
- Not available
- Mic high-frequency extension (measured)
- Not available
- Mic speech-to-noise ratio (measured)
- Not available
- Latency (measured)
- Not available
- Bluetooth latency, worst (measured)
- Not available
- 2.4 GHz latency, worst (measured)
- Not available
- Latency in game mode (measured)
- Not available
- Battery life (measured)
ANC Hours (h) No 7.17 - Longest tested use per charge
- 7.17h
- Battery life with case (measured)
- Not available
- Full charge time (measured)
- Not available
- Weight per bud (measured)
- 6.2g(0.2 oz)9Measurementsoundguys.com/sony-linkbuds-clip-review-152048Read 13 October 2026Weighed earbud 6.2 g. Case 41.7 g.
Microphones and calls
- Voice microphones in both earbuds
- Not available
- All microphones in both earbuds
- Not available
- Bone conduction voice sensor
- Yes2Press releasesony.mediaroom.com/2026-01-21-Sony-Electronics-Unveils-LinkBuds-Clip-Open-EarbudsRead 13 October 2026Bone conduction sensor precisely captures the voice.5Maker product pageexperience.sony-asia.com/sg/home/exploredetail/1214Read 13 October 2026Bone conduction sensors detect voice vibrations from the jawbone.
- Mic noise reduction
- AI2Press releasesony.mediaroom.com/2026-01-21-Sony-Electronics-Unveils-LinkBuds-Clip-Open-EarbudsRead 13 October 2026AI-based noise reduction system removes background noise.
- Call audio bandwidth
- Not available
- Mic mute control
- Not available
- Sidetone
- Not available
Connectivity
- Chip
- Not available
- Connections
- Bluetooth1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026
- Bluetooth
- 5.34Retailer pageworldwidestereo.com/products/sony-linkbuds-clip-truly-wireless-open-earbuds-blackRead 13 October 20265Maker product pageexperience.sony-asia.com/sg/home/exploredetail/1214Read 13 October 2026Sony Asia explainer: Bluetooth version 5.3 with multipoint support.6Spec databasekakaku.com/item/K0001765684/specRead 13 October 2026Bluetooth 5.3 Class 1.
- Bluetooth codecs
- SBC, AAC1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Supported codecs page: SBC and AAC over A2DP.
- Bluetooth profiles
- A2DP, AVRCP, HSP, HFP4Retailer pageworldwidestereo.com/products/sony-linkbuds-clip-truly-wireless-open-earbuds-blackRead 13 October 2026Specification block copied from the Sony US sheet: profile A2DP, AVRCP, HSP, HFP. Supported formats SBC and AAC. Content protection SCMS-T.
- LE Audio
- Not available
- Multipoint with LDAC
- Not available
- Paired devices remembered
- 81Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Pairing sections: paired with up to 8 devices. A 9th pairing replaces the oldest.
- Automatic switching between own devices
- Not available
- Fast pairing
- Microsoft Swift Pair1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Windows 11 pairing section describes Swift Pair. The manual does not mention Google Fast Pair.
- Audio sharing
- Not available
- Wireless range (claimed)
- 10m4Retailer pageworldwidestereo.com/products/sony-linkbuds-clip-truly-wireless-open-earbuds-blackRead 13 October 2026Effective range 10 m.
- Wireless receiver
- Not available
- Receiver connector
- Not available
- Simultaneous 2.4 GHz and Bluetooth audio
- Not available
Latency
We could not find any of these 3 fields. Show them
- Low latency mode
- Not available
- Claimed latency
- Not available
- Lowest claimed latency
- Not available
Compatibility
- Platforms
- Android, iOS, Windows, macOS1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026
- Connection per platform
Platform Connection Microphone works Android Bluetooth Yes iOS Bluetooth Yes Windows Bluetooth Yes macOS Bluetooth Yes - Features that need a specific device
Feature Needs 360 Reality Audio A music streaming app that supports 360 Reality Audio on an iOS or Android smartphone or tablet. The app may require a fee. Not available in some countries and regions. Google Gemini Assign Digital assistant to one earbud in the Sound Connect app. Gemini must be the primary assistant on the phone. Not supported in some countries and regions. Tencent Xiaowei Available only in China. - Official licence
- Not available
Battery and charging
- Battery per bud
- Not available
- User-replaceable earbud battery
- Not available
- Claimed battery life
Mode Codec Includes case recharges Hours (h) ANC off AAC No 9 ANC off SBC No 8 ANC off Not available Yes 37 Call Not available No 4 Source1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Available operating time: music AAC maximum 9 hours, SBC maximum 8 hours, communication maximum 4 hours. Earbuds only on one full charge. No ANC exists, so music rows use anc_off. The 37 hour total with case is from the maker launch release.2Press releasesony.mediaroom.com/2026-01-21-Sony-Electronics-Unveils-LinkBuds-Clip-Open-EarbudsRead 13 October 2026Up to 37 hours (9 hours earbuds plus 28 hours case) over Bluetooth. Codec not stated.- Longest claimed use per charge
- 9h
- Playback per charge with ANC (claimed)
- Not available
- Playback per charge without ANC (claimed)
- 9h
- Total with case (claimed)
- 37h
- Total with case and ANC (claimed)
- Not available
- Talk time (claimed)
- 4h
- Full charge time, buds
- 90min1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Specifications: charging time approx. 1.5 hours (headset). Charging page: left and right units fully charged in about 1.5 hours from a charged case.
- Charging guidance
- Not available
- Quick charge time
- 3min1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Available operating time: about 60 minutes of music playback after 3 minutes charging.
- Earbud playback after quick charge
- 1h1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Same sentence. Earbuds only. Codec and volume not stated.
Charging case
- Case battery
- Not available
- User-replaceable case battery
- Not available
- Case charging port
- USB-C1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026
- Case full charge time
- 180min1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Specifications: charging time approx. 3 hours (charging case), by a commercially available USB Type-C cable.
- Wireless charging
- No2Press releasesony.mediaroom.com/2026-01-21-Sony-Electronics-Unveils-LinkBuds-Clip-Open-EarbudsRead 13 October 2026No wireless charging is mentioned. USB charging only. Confirmed by SoundGuys.8Reviewsoundguys.com/sony-linkbuds-clip-review-152048Read 13 October 2026FAQ: no wireless charging. USB port is the only way to charge.
- Wireless standards
- Not available
- Wireless charging power
- Not available
- Speaker in case
- Not available
- Screen on case
- Not available
- Case works as audio transmitter
- Not available
Controls
- Earbud volume control
- Touch1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026
- Gestures
- Double tap, Triple tap, Tap 5 or more times1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Tap controls table. Left unit: tap twice switches listening mode, 3 times Quick Access, 5 or more times lowers volume. Right unit: tap twice play or pause, 3 times next track, 5 or more times raises volume. Assignments can be changed in the app.
- Remappable controls
- Yes1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026
- Voice assistant
- Google Gemini, Google app voice assist, Siri, Tencent Xiaowei1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Manual pages for Google Gemini, voice assist function (Google app), Siri and Tencent Xiaowei. Gemini and Xiaowei are not available in all regions. Xiaowei is China only.
Sensors and health
- Sensors
- Bone conduction sensor2Press releasesony.mediaroom.com/2026-01-21-Sony-Electronics-Unveils-LinkBuds-Clip-Open-EarbudsRead 13 October 2026
- Heart rate sensor
- Not available
- Skin temperature sensing
- Not available
- Hearing aid feature
- Not available
- Medical clearances
- Not available
- Hearing test
- Not available
- Hearing protection
- Not available
- Health features
- Not available
Fit and durability
- Ear tips included
- Not available
- Ear tip materials
- Not available
- Stabilisers
- Not available
- Ear tip fit test
- Not available
- Dust and water rating, buds
- IPX41Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Water resistance section: the headset complies with IPX4 under IEC 60529. The charging case is not water resistant.
- Dust and water rating, case
- Not available
- Water resistance depth
- Not available
Software
- Companion app
- Sony | Sound Connect1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026
- App platforms
- Android, iOS1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026
- User firmware updates
- Yes1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026
- Finding network
- Not available
- Precision finding
- Not available
- Live translation
- Not available
Dimensions and weight
- Weight per bud
- 6.4g(0.2 oz)1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Specifications: approx. 6.4 g x 2 (headset). Taken as one earbud.4Retailer pageworldwidestereo.com/products/sony-linkbuds-clip-truly-wireless-open-earbuds-blackRead 13 October 2026Earbud weight approx. 6.4 g x 2. Case approx. 42 g.6Spec databasekakaku.com/item/K0001765684/specRead 13 October 20266.4 g per earbud including the fitting clip.
- Bud dimensions
- Not available
- Case weight
- 42g(1.5 oz)1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Specifications: approx. 42 g (charging case).4Retailer pageworldwidestereo.com/products/sony-linkbuds-clip-truly-wireless-open-earbuds-blackRead 13 October 2026
- Case dimensions
- Not available
Certifications
We could not find any of these 4 fields. Show them
- Hi-Res Audio
- Not available
- Communication certifications
- Not available
- FCC IDs
- Not available
- Other certifications
- Not available
In the box
- In the box
- Wireless Stereo Headset (1), Air Fitting Cushions for LinkBuds Clip (2), Charging case (1), Documents (1 set)1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026Included items list.
- Cables included
- Not available
Links
- Product page
- www.sony.com.au/headphones/products/linkbuds-clip3Maker product pagesony.com.au/headphones/products/linkbuds-clip/specRead 13 October 2026Sony Australia product page. It is blocked to the research agents. Used as a link only. No values were taken from it.
- Spec sheet
- www.sony.com.au/headphones/products/linkbuds-clip/spec3Maker product pagesony.com.au/headphones/products/linkbuds-clip/specRead 13 October 2026Sony Australia specification tab. Link only. The same Sony specification values were read through the retailer page below.
- Manual
- helpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdf1Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdfRead 13 October 2026
- EPREL registration number
- Not available
Warranty
We could not find any of these 1 fields. Show them
- Manufacturer warranty (source market)
- Not available
Compare with
Pick a earbuds to see both side by side. Differences are marked yellow.
Sources
We read 9 sources for this earbuds. The numbers match the markers in the sheet.
- Owner's manualhelpguide.sony.net/mdr/2999/v1/en/print.pdf
- Maker product pagesony.com.au/headphones/products/linkbuds-clip/spec
- Maker product pageexperience.sony-asia.com/sg/home/exploredetail/1214
- Spec databasekakaku.com/item/K0001765684/spec
See a wrong value? Tell us and name the field.





